THE AKYEM CRIMINALS ARE ROLLING OUT THEIR AGYAPADIE AGENDA
Nana 1 year ago
VRA staff are fighting over their personal interest.Their emoluments and allowances are far better than Bui power.They think merging the two will weaken their bargaining power.How efficient is VRA for them to be protected
Osei, Kumasi 1 year ago
Then what prevent the CEO of Bui Power from doing same. They're just employing useless people just to chop while the main workers of Bui Power to suffer.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Did you read the bills very well? And the reasons they are brought on board? If You are paid to do all the dirty works like this, do it as a professionall atleast they pay you very very well to do this propaganda work.
K K 1 year ago
A condom would have saved us from this comment
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
They will stealing but they can't hide. At the right time they will vomit everything
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Steal
Steal
CAR TRACKING SYSTEMS. 1 year ago
TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. ddddddddeee
Ghanaman 1 year ago
Your argument is baseless.
If you claim to be efficient and the others are not, why not merge and make the whole system efficient for Ghanaians
Barns 1 year ago
Competition is always good for consumers.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Competition is not a crime in this country
Waakoma 1 year ago
Key response to the propose merger bill send to parliament: Response to debunk the government key intention to create Ghana Thermal Authority.
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU ... read full comment
Key response to the propose merger bill send to parliament: Response to debunk the government key intention to create Ghana Thermal Authority.
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU. VRA has already started a program called the life Extension Project( LEP) to prolong the lifespan of the plants. Aboadze Thermal plant this year as part of the project has replaced some of the plant obsolete equipment with new ones. The steam Turbine generator rotor has been replaced with new one, condenser water box had been replaced, sea water pumps had been replaced, feedwater pump motors had been replaced, debris filters had been replaced. With this project we expect the steam turbine life to prolong by 15years.
2. On the part of the gas turbines we have replaced low voltage switchgears( LSGT 1&2) with new switchgears. GT 1 diverted damper had been replaced and the major inspection this year replaced compressor rotor to prolong the life to about 10 years. GT2 is due for major inspections next year 2025 first quarter. We shall replace the diverted damper, overhaul the generator and the turbines to prolong its life to the next 10 years.
3. The proposed bill seeks to propose that the cost of thermal generation would be minimize if it privatize. Heat rate determines plant efficiency and our plant heat rates though old are far better compared to IPP like Cenit power etc. Aboadze after the major inspection was churning heat rate average 8300mmscf/ BTU which is far better than most IPPs combined cycle plants. Our simple cycle plants heat rate are better than most IPP simple cycle plants. Our heat rates reference to the age of our plants are better than most of our competitors.
4. The bill seeks to minimize cost of thermal power to our customers. VRA tariffs approved for its thermal plants by PURC is still cheaper than all the IPPs. Our combine cycle tariff is 8 cent/ KWH and simple cycle plants is around 10cent/KWH. This gives government leverage to protect its citizens against undue price hikes by IPPs. Our cost to customers is already cheaper than the private producer and therefore there is no justification to cede your plant to private investors. Only cheaper power can promote Ghana industrialization agenda and this can be achieved by state own power plants.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Go and merge NDC and NPP. Are they not fighting to rule Ghana? Who stopped who from making his company better? You don't buy a new car and give it to mate to drive and tell the chiefdriver to be his mate.
Bye 1 year ago
When this govt started misbehaving in 2017 many people thought whatever they were doing did not affect them so they all turned a blind eye. Today everybody has received their share. Even pensioners who are thinking of themselves at home in their old age were not spared when we see wrong no matter whether it affects u or not let’s speak . Very bitter lessons we are all learning
godfatherHuh 1 year ago
Why is this government like this?
ANOLD 1 year ago
The Agyapadie Agenda is being rolled by this Akyem criminals led by Akuffo Addo.
Asem 1 year ago
Wonders shall never end. Where they fall short is how they failed to detail out convincingly what the basis for their concerns is. Anyway, it shall be saved and followed on it to see whether they're acting political or professional. Time will tell.
Citizen8 1 year ago
Your reason for opposing the merger doesn't appear convincing enough. Or maybe you're being driven political or selfish motives. In fact your reason is rather very supportive of the need for the merger. I'll encourage you to read the countless literature that's strongly supportive of the merger of complementary public utilities. It appears to me that you're fighting a losing battle. Wish you good luck though.
Nii 1 year ago
Perfectly correct.
Waakoma 1 year ago
propose merger bill send to parliament: Response to debunk the government key intention to create Ghana Thermal Authority.
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU. VRA has already st ... read full comment
propose merger bill send to parliament: Response to debunk the government key intention to create Ghana Thermal Authority.
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU. VRA has already started a program called the life Extension Project( LEP) to prolong the lifespan of the plants. Aboadze Thermal plant this year as part of the project has replaced some of the plant obsolete equipment with new ones. The steam Turbine generator rotor has been replaced with new one, condenser water box had been replaced, sea water pumps had been replaced, feedwater pump motors had been replaced, debris filters had been replaced. With this project we expect the steam turbine life to prolong by 15years.
2. On the part of the gas turbines we have replaced low voltage switchgears( LSGT 1&2) with new switchgears. GT 1 diverted damper had been replaced and the major inspection this year replaced compressor rotor to prolong the life to about 10 years. GT2 is due for major inspections next year 2025 first quarter. We shall replace the diverted damper, overhaul the generator and the turbines to prolong its life to the next 10 years.
3. The proposed bill seeks to propose that the cost of thermal generation would be minimize if it privatize. Heat rate determines plant efficiency and our plant heat rates though old are far better compared to IPP like Cenit power etc. Aboadze after the major inspection was churning heat rate average 8300mmscf/ BTU which is far better than most IPPs combined cycle plants. Our simple cycle plants heat rate are better than most IPP simple cycle plants. Our heat rates reference to the age of our plants are better than most of our competitors.
4. The bill seeks to minimize cost of thermal power to our customers. VRA tariffs approved for its thermal plants by PURC is still cheaper than all the IPPs. Our combine cycle tariff is 8 cent/ KWH and simple cycle plants is around 10cent/KWH. This gives government leverage to protect its citizens against undue price hikes by IPPs. Our cost to customers is already cheaper than the private producer and therefore there is no justification to cede your plant to private investors. Only cheaper power can promote Ghana industrialization agenda and this can be achieved by state own power plants.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
This your name doesn't befits you. Are you truly a citizen. If you proganda money finish you will start to post sensible stuff. Change your name now
Citizen8 1 year ago
If you have nothing useful to add to the debate please don't waste our time hear. For some of you everything is about NPP or NDC. Pathetic soul.
Parliament Should Approve it Unanimously. 1 year ago
Ghanaians sit unconcerned on all national discoss demonstrations and will only make noise when it is about their parochial interest. Please don't mind them. They always think, they earn enough and will not mind anyone who is complaining.
Enyo 1 year ago
I don’t see the basis of this argument except that they think their allowances, emoluments etc will be affected by the merger. All three are govt owned entities how does merging them amount to a sell out?
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
If you see a crocodile is a river tell yourself is a wood and climb on it. When you get under the water all the five senses Allah give you will start to work
Barns 1 year ago
No way. They do same as they did to the banks. This is very dangerous.
They will manipulate the market and kill citizens with huge bills.
Never a good idea. When there is problem with one, it affects all and who suffers the most, consumers of electricity.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Isolating the sick and treating them till they recover is not a crim.
kabe 1 year ago
They are fighting for their stomach. They want the old order to remain where they are over rated, highly favored, high high salary people while the nation lose. What are they afraid of? Do they think about the nation more than themselves?
K K 1 year ago
Wait till it is announced that we are merging families who can't really take care of themselves with those who are trying their best to survive. And tell me that u will accept it whole heartedly.
Tina 1 year ago
Instead of you thinking about how they paid why don't you think of how much more you will pay for power when this merge happens
Why don't you take your time to read and understand the whole merge thing so you ca ... read full comment
Instead of you thinking about how they paid why don't you think of how much more you will pay for power when this merge happens
Why don't you take your time to read and understand the whole merge thing so you can appreciate what the staff are fighting for
The staff are fighting for the future of the country
So please read, learn and understand more so you can be sensible with your comments
Waakoma 1 year ago
The so-called doc is doing a diservice to academics doing clear, objective and fair work and giving them a bad name.
Efficiency Comparison
1. Doing spot analysis of fuel efficiency of various thermal plants is misleading ... read full comment
The so-called doc is doing a diservice to academics doing clear, objective and fair work and giving them a bad name.
Efficiency Comparison
1. Doing spot analysis of fuel efficiency of various thermal plants is misleading and mischevious. VRA's thermal plants built in 1997 has efficiency class quite different from new plants built with newer technologies. This is normal industry phenomenon which has nothing to do with mismanagement. In fact having plants of different efficiency classes and configuration in a power network is the norm to guarantee electric grid stability. However the fact remain that the thermal plants operated by VRA outperform similar plants built elsewhere in sub-saharan africa at similar period due to prudent management. It will be hard to find such well maintained plants elsewhere lasting for this long. VRA thermal plants having operated for 27 years but are still healthy in service operating within the efficiency class as provided by the OEM. This is enviable due to many operating cycles endured by the station running a mixed fuel and dispatch regimes i.e, Crude Oil, Diesel and Natural Gas for peak and continuous operations which normally would have led to rapid deterioration of the assets.
Most IPPs would resist such operational regimes raising all kinds of concerns.
2. The fair discussion should be to compare VRA TAPCo plant with Asogli Phase 1 plant which uses similar old tech accross a reasonable period of time to really begin an objective analysis. Just conveniently picking a day to do spot analysis is cherry picking and pure misinformation.
3. VRA plants in Tema are simple cycle plants which have a role to play in the national power system. Most power systems have emergency plants with quick startup times to support emergency grid challenges, the focus here is not efficiency but quick startup times to salvage sudden voltage/frequency deterioration. Comparing simple cycle plants and Combined Cycle plants are convenient and mishevious
4. The greatest misinformation is that privatizing VRA will inherently benefit the final consumer of electricity through lower costs due to “ efficiency gains”
a. Currently So-called “ highly efficient IPP Plant” total cost to the consumer is much higher than VRA’s “highly inefficient” simple cycle plants. There is no where in the world where simple cycle plants are cheaper than combined cycle plant except GH
b. So the so-called “debt burden” alluded to by the writer due to efficiency challenges by VRA’s thermal plants is a figment of his imagination. The fact remain that VRA’s plants are the cheapest out there comparing with IPP total delivered costs.
c. What is going to happen as usual is these private elements will connive with state actors to sell the assets at a pittance and turn around to charge outrageous tariff supposedly to recover their investments at very high returns. This will ultimately lead to higher electricity cost for the final consumer
5. The elephant in the room is that electricy supply is a national security issue. Allowing private actors to control 100% thermal generation is a recipe for disaster providing no leverage to the state when threats of shutdown are received leading to the country being held in ransom to these IPPs. Case studies from Indonesia and Malaysia clearly show the net impact of IPP in the energy market.
6. Additionally, VRA thermal plants perform various ancillary roles to support the power system for which IPPs will not do. All these help the system to function properly. These include providing expert services in LCO//DFO procurement for the use of IPPs, procuring additional gas to support power system during periods of supply disruptions. All this are done by VRA silently to sustain the system.
7. The fundamental issue of the power system in Ghana is the inability of ECG to collect and declare enough revenue to service the entire electricity value-chain. The main reason for such interest in VRA’s thermal plants to inherit the export access VRA has for private gain.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
This government is squander Ghana assets like there is no tomorrow. How many megawatt did they add to the grid? If You can't give your grandma token for kola ,then don't steal her last kobo. Because Allah is watching you.
Borbor 1 year ago
All state assets is gone. Merging to pave way to sell. How can we pay electricity bills should we loose VRA. Will the private man produce at high cost and sell it low? No. Arise for your country.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
If this government think giving the steering wheel to a mate is the best way why didn't he resign years ago and allow Bawumia to rule. Greediness will kill Nana and his government.
He should go and merge black star and the ... read full comment
If this government think giving the steering wheel to a mate is the best way why didn't he resign years ago and allow Bawumia to rule. Greediness will kill Nana and his government.
He should go and merge black star and the under 17 first.
Baba Kassim 1 year ago
Until you start using the new ECG prepaid meters and knowing what is in the Egyapadia book you may make a meaningful comment. EgyanaOne government
E k 1 year ago
VRA Staff are protecting Doctor Kwame Nkrumah,s legacy n mind u it's Ghana,s property . Where on this earth is an Organization that is making profit be sold.
Greedy politicians who does not think of the citizens . They did ... read full comment
VRA Staff are protecting Doctor Kwame Nkrumah,s legacy n mind u it's Ghana,s property . Where on this earth is an Organization that is making profit be sold.
Greedy politicians who does not think of the citizens . They did this to GPHA n Railway, where's Railways now
Pouv 1 year ago
Over pampered pooches, they think VRA is their " private" company. They easily forget who their employed them.
Just to continue stealing.
Steal
TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU ...
When this govt started misbehaving in 2017 many people thought whatever they were doing did not affect them so they all turned a blind eye. Today everybody has received their share. Even pensioners who are thinking of themsel ...
Wonders shall never end. Where they fall short is how they failed to detail out convincingly what the basis for their concerns is. Anyway, it shall be saved and followed on it to see whether they're acting political or profes ...
Your reason for opposing the merger doesn't appear convincing enough. Or maybe you're being driven political or selfish motives. In fact your reason is rather very supportive of the need for the merger. I'll encourage you to ...
Perfectly correct.
1. The bill seeks to address operational efficiency in the Thermal Generation SBU. VRA has already st ...
Ghanaians sit unconcerned on all national discoss demonstrations and will only make noise when it is about their parochial interest. Please don't mind them. They always think, they earn enough and will not mind anyone who is ...
Never a good idea. When there is problem with one, it affects all and who suffers ...
They are fighting for their stomach. They want the old order to remain where they are over rated, highly favored, high high salary people while the nation lose. What are they afraid of? Do they think about the nation more tha ...
Why don't you take your time to read and understand the whole merge thing so you ca ...
Efficiency Comparison
1. Doing spot analysis of fuel efficiency of various thermal plants is misleading ...
He should go and merge black star and the ...
Greedy politicians who does not think of the citizens . They did ...
* who their employer is"