Deadly collision claims six lives on busy Accra-Kumasi road

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Details of the collision should be available for people not to prejudge.
    By the way, accidents occur due to "HUMAN" error and nothing else, though mechanical failure can result in such deadly collision but that is not too of ...

• Ursula 1 year ago

That road is full of witches

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

Stop talking about witches and speak about common sense and responsibilities. I lived at the Suhum junction and only God knows how vehicles sped on that road. That road can be rightly called DEATH TRAPS.
    I also think we can ...

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

Why is it always VIP buses? You will hardly hear of an STC bus in involved in a serious accident. The government has to do something to protect the public.

• Kojo 1 year ago

That's a good question bro

• Jonas 1 year ago

Those VIP buses overspeed a lot. I was driving once and had to slow down due to a huge pothole across the road just after Nsawam and a VIP bus following me hooted his horn loudly at me not bothering that I had to slow down du ...

• Kofi, USA 1 year ago

The ratio of VIP buses to STC is probably 100:1. That's why you hear of more accidents involving VIP than STC.

• Hospital Blanket 1 year ago

Witches from where? The solution is dualization of the Kumasi- Accra Road.

• IF GHANA'S LEADERS WERE HUMAN BEINGSS WITH BRAINS, THAT ACCRA - KUMASI ROAD WOULD'VE BEEN A KERBED CLASS A THREE-LANE DUAL CARRIAGEWAY WITH HARD SHOULDERS AND MEDIAN STRIPS DECADES AGO 1 year ago

IF YOU VOTE FOR BUSH AKAN FREELOADING PRIMITIVE AKAN THIEVES TO DECIDE YOUR DESTINY AND DIRECTION, SUCH GORY ACCIDENTS ARE WHAT YOU'LL ALWAYS GET IN A BANKRUPT HOPELESS HIGHLY-TAXED GHANA.

• IF GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE LEADERS WERE HUMAN BEINGS WITH BRAINS, THAT ACCRA - KUMASI ROAD WOULD'VE BEEN A KERBED CLASS A THREE-LANE DUAL CARRIAGEWAY WITH HARD SHOULDERS AND MEDIAN STRIPS DECADES AGO 1 year ago

THIS IS THE DIRECT RESULT OF VOTING FOR BUSH PRIMITIVE VISIONLESS AKAN FREELOADING THIEVES AND "FLYING SAUCERS" AT THE STRUGGLING GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS EXPENSE.

• Kobby 1 year ago

ITS SAD YOUR NDC DID NOT A KILOMETER OF DUO CARRIAGE IN ITS 27 YEARS OF RULE. KUFFOUR DID DUO FROM OFANKO TO NSAWAM. FROM NSAWAM TO APADWA DUO DONE BY NPP. NSAWAM AND NKAWKAW BY PASSES DONE BY NPP. THERE ON GOING BYPASSES AT ...

• Wontumi (London) 1 year ago

@Kobby! Stop this archaic mentality and reason like a human being, created by God Almighty. It is not everything that we have to do comparisons. Because Ndc didn't do it, though we're voted out, your Npp which is now in pow ...

• Kwaku Ananse 1 year ago

Wontumi (London), what precisely is your issue with the comments Kobby made? He is giving factual rebuttals to ad hominem irresponsible attacks and you say what?

• OXYGEN 1 year ago

@Wontumi(London) Kobby is only responding to that silly comment from the AKAN hater. Just be in your lane. Don't forget that NPP cannot do everything within their eight year governance. Even if the highway is dualized and the ...

• THE HIGHWAY FROM TAX-FREE QATAR TO TAX-FREE SAUDI ARABIA IS AN ULTRA-MODERN CLASS A THREE-LANE DUAL CARRIAGEWAY CALLED SALWA ROA H J D 1 year ago

THE HIGHWAY FROM TAX-FREE DOHA, QATAR TO TAX-FREE SAUDI ARABIA IS AN ULTRA-MODERN 3-LANE DUAL CARRIAGEWAY WITH STREET LIGHTS, KERBS, ROAD SIGNAGE, LINE MARKINGS, SURVEILLANCE CAMERAS, CENTRAL MEDIAN STRIPS ETC RIGHT FROM TAX- ...

• Speed up NEW Acc-Ksi Road 1 year ago

The new Accra Kumasi highway dualization should be expedited with rapt seriousness

• The Spear 1 year ago

You seem not to know the reason for the rampant accidents, so let me spell it for you: I.n.d.i.s.c.i.p.l.i.n.e!
    Even if there's four-abreast roads in and out, there's still going to be accidents unless those drivers underst ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

Why don't! Lol, I didn't even see this.

• WHY ARE PEOPLE STILL USING VIP. ITS A DANGERIOUS BUS TO USE. 1 year ago

NPP BLOOOD SACRIFICE HAS STARTED

• Elizabeth 7 months ago

What's the causes. Pls discuss it for me

• I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT GHANA HAS A GOVERNMENT 1 year ago

WHAT WE HAVE NOW IN GHANA IS A GOVERNMENT OF CRIMINALS AND FOOLS WHO DONT CARE ABOUT THE LIVES OF ITS CITIZENS. NKWASIAFOUR, HOW CAN SUCH A DANGEROUS SINGLE LANE LIKE THE ACCRA-KUMASI ROAD BE ALLOWED TO REMAIN AS DANGEROUS A ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

Ashanti/Akims NPP criminals organization need blood for sacrifice for their Okomfou Anokye gods, the election time is near. May those poor citizens souls rest in peace.

• One nation 1 year ago

The driver is Asanti nii ooo. Please start the insult wai

• One nation 1 year ago

The driver is Asanti nii ooo. Please start the insult wai. Wait wait, let the small brain begin, follow by those who are financially very poor as always

• Akosua Kuma 1 year ago

@one Nation.Useless creature by all standard and angles

• One nation 1 year ago

One of God's creatures who can't think far. It's a jab to those who always insult Asantifuo, but you couldn't comprehend this small analysis. You fall under those with "smaller brain".... Why insult me when I'm trying to STO ...

• Otafregya 1 year ago

Driving without common sense. Stupidity and lawlessness all over the country. Now the devil is in trouble now!!! Too many fools in the country.

• Nosacrilege 1 year ago

ACCIDENTS LIKE THESE ARE COMMON IN GHANA. THESE ARE OCCURRENCES GHANAIANS TERMED ACCIDENT. I CALL IT NEGLIGENCE. IF YOU HAVE BEEN IN GHANA AND SEEN HOW MOTORIST PLY OUR ROADS, YOU WOULD ASK IF GHANA HAS TRAFFIC CONTROL BODY I ...

• Shepherd. 1 year ago

What are the law enforcement agents doing on the road? There are several check points with police personnel, what are they doing there? You only to..... and the law gets quashed. So long as the laws fo mot get enforced, what ...

• Opanin 1 year ago

God have mercy. Akufo Addo diverted Kumasi Accra road funds to construct Akim Abuakwa roads. Not that the latter are unnecessary but priority should have been given to the busiest trunk road in the country. Akufo Addo's l ...

• Otu Ernest 1 year ago

VIP bus again!

• KWAME NKRUMAH NOA NA OMPER YASEM NO 1 year ago

Don't call Accra Kumasi Road Highway, it is an insult,anyway bad roads especially Accra-Kumasi road is a killer road it is VIP death trap associated by blood and ocult VIP buses owners way of using African witchcraft method ...

• Truth 1 year ago

Accident with VIP Buses is becoming unbecoming! What is actually happening?

• Citizen 1 year ago

Compare accidents on the single lane roads to those on dualized lanes like the Nkawkaw by pass. The solution to these sorts of what carnage if the dualization of our roads. Dear politicians fix our roads

• Nii Akwei 1 year ago

VIP is now RIP

• Umofia 1 year ago

The Blackman will never learn sense..Accidents happen everywhere but some are avoidable

• Umofia 1 year ago

Can’t the country get double roads?Are we stupid or what

• Carelessness of VIP Drivers 1 year ago

The VIP drivers are careless and overtake at the least opportunity. I think there buses should have their accellerator locked at certainly speed limit and anybody who is involved in accident has his licence revoked and the o ...

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

This VIP buses are becoming deaf traps seriously.

• Asantehene 1 year ago

Banana state. Nobody is in charge of this country.

• Nicman 1 year ago

Thank you .As a safety person for you something dangerous I had discovered talked about?
    In US, Canada and the EU where we buy used tires, there have different tires for every season especially the winter. The winter tires ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

Until we cease to become all knowing, captains and responsible, these road accidents will continue to claim lives. Whenever a government attempts to introduce interventions, Ghanaians will fiercely resist and would careless a ...

• Asantehene 1 year ago

The government is only interested in launching useless app and trolling fkrmer president who will anyway become the president in 3 months time

• John Tettegah 1 year ago

This short 169 mile road has NOT been reconstructed since the 1960s. Ghanaian leaders ,
    apart from Kwame Nkrumah, are VISIONLESS.

• Buluu 1 year ago

Year of Road Mr Amoako Atta. 4more to do more

• KWAJO LUKMAN 1 year ago

Of what use is the National Cathedral Akuffo Addo is spending millions on or the HO Airport built by Mahama/NDC?.Proven that the black skinned Ghana man needs to be overhauled and created anew.Tribalism championed by Rawlings ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

I said it ooo. Election year, they have started it again.

• JK 1 year ago

Stupid drivers and stupid driving. Overtaking on blind spots(on a hill, on a bend etc) not knowing what's ahead. The VIP buses and 2M type of mini buses drive anyhow and cause oncoming vehicles to take into the bush. These dr ...

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

Why is it always a VIP coach? Do the gods of its owners always demand blood sacrifice to keep the business surviving? Something is not right with the VIP coach company.

• Kwaku 1 year ago

None of our presidential candidates is promising to transform our major roads in dual carriage. No wonder that, someone prefer digital than 1,000 of roads.

• Nicman 1 year ago

So where is the leadership, compassion, responsibility education, empathy in this country? A country where another type of entertainment is funerals coffins decorations music food and drinking? Can't one bold person in leader ...

• Cici 1 year ago

Do you know in terms of lowest IQ Ghana ranks the 8th in countries in the world? Secondly our politicians are mostly the third class degree holders from the universities they branch into politics because they can't exel in an ...

• King 1 year ago

Now Organised labour can go on strike to ban all drivers because this is their polical propaganda.

• Samuel 1 year ago

May the soul of this people rest in peace, Ghana needs only import five years own cars to come to Ghana, It'll solve the accident, The duty must reduce dramatically because it's too high, Does people import old cars to the co ...

• King 1 year ago

The accident has nothing to do with 5 years old car import. It's all about unnecessary overtaking, overtaking on curves and on hills without seeing if a vehicle is coming. Over speeding is also a problem and most of the drive ...

• Kojo 1 year ago

I came ghana and drove that same road. The users do not care abt their lives. It took me 6hrs, but before I traveled 2hrs was enough. I had think for them, they overtake even if they can't see more than 200m or even on curve. ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

May their souls rest in eternal peace and speedy recovery to the sick

• OPANA 1 year ago

THE DEADLIEST ACCIDENTS HAPPEN IN THE AKYEM TERRITORY
    From available statistics, 73% of the deadliest accidents occur within the Akyem stretch.

• Ursula 1 year ago

Witches nkoaaa in that territory

• The Spear 1 year ago

Yeah, Ursula is a witch.

• John 1 year ago

VIP buses is becoming too much. The blood money should stop .

• Wasteman 1 year ago

WHEN WILL THERE BE DEMO TO BAN VIP BUSES??!

• Kume Preko demonstration 1 year ago

Ask Akufo Monkey Addo. He is demonstration contractor

• K 1 year ago

Serious re training and education together with drug testing needs to be given to this VIP bus drivers. until this happens they must close the station down. Far too many life's lost.

• The Truth 1 year ago

Ghana is a joke

• Kwabena 1 year ago

Most of the drivers are inexperience and are not qualified to drive Big trucks, some don't even have the license in the first place especially weekends, lack of education to keep to proper usage of road signs are taken for gr ...

• Too much reckless driving on Accra-Kunasi road 1 year ago

Anyone travelling on that road marvels at the level of careless driving along the way. Drivers overtake anyhow and sometimes you wonder whether they have some juju against accidents. The motor unions should be sanctioned for ...

• Donatus 1 year ago

These VIP buses.

• Paa solo 1 year ago

THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON THE SPOT KILLING 6 INSTANTLY?
    What sort of english is that?
    Is that a Graduate english or SSS english?

• TAN 1 year ago

Hmmm. RIP Precious People. VIP-=RIP. DONT patronise it pls.

• Eric Fynn 1 year ago

We need STC and government buses as our public transport. It is hardly to heard government bus has got accident and passengers has died.
    This our old system trotro and vip buses owned by individuals is not helping us as a n ...

• Seniorman 1 year ago

Majority of accidents are human error simply put.

• Jerry 1 year ago

This road shd have been a two Iane dual carriage road years ago. It is too busy for an in and out road.

How many more people must die before wd do something as a nation

• Solo 1 year ago

VIP bus drivers.
    Ayekoo to all of you.
    You are big guys and do not take instruction from anyone.
    Killing travelers is your delight.

• TAN 1 year ago

We too, we need to DEMONSTRATE PAAA. WE no go sit down make them VIP/Sprinter KILL US EVERYDAY

• Babbs 1 year ago

It all boiled up to our corrupt and greedy leaders who think more of themselves than the good people of our great mother land Ghana. From the presidents, MPs, ministers of state, municipal, metropolitan, District chief execut ...

• Meet Russian best hacker good best 1 year ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    Chase bank
    UBA bank
    First bank
    And other banks accepted ...

• Nsemsem 1 year ago

While everyone is babbling, please be reminded that the only solution is dual carriage highways. However, your hopeless politicians only know how to play primitive and tribal politics, filling their bellies and lining the poc ...

• BISA 1 year ago

MR PRESIDENT STOP THIS VIP BUSES THEY CALLED THEM FROM OUR ROADS TO PROTECT LIVES

• Mallam Kolba (bottle) 1 year ago

These buses again. You see their bloody colours

• Kojo 1 year ago

These VIP buses are having too many accidents! MTTU should check the company driver recruitment system and processes and on their drivers to see if they are well qualified to driver these vehicles??

• Robert (US) 1 year ago

Can we please say a prayer for those on the bus? My fiancée was on that bus and texted me what happened. She was one of the six relatively unhurt except for some internal damage. She was lucky! The driver was burned. Someone ...

• Yaw Boakye 1 year ago

It's time for a grounding of these vip buses until the drivers undergo further defensive driving training

• Acheampong 1 year ago

The appalling state of our roads are majorly responsible for a vast number of these tragic incidents. It appears that, as a country, we have lost our Collective sense of carrying out maintenance of our roads, and for that mat ...