Galamsey: Yam and other food exports from Ghana contaminated with heavy metals – US-based engineer

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Noble Gas 1 year ago

Yam depends on rain water , I believe the land on which those crops were cultivated contains the heavy Metals...am wondering

• Johnny 1 year ago

If Akuffo Addo or whoever becomes President in future starts giving life prison prison term to these Galamseyers and confiscate their lands to the state this same scientist will come and talk about human rights.

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 year ago

When you have leaders who dont think past their noses what do you expect they do things anyhow without taking into account the future ramifications of their actions. this is why france had their revolution because of dumb lea ...

• THIS IS FAKE NEWS 1 year ago

This is fake news. What research did this phantom 'Dr' do to come up with this ridiculous conclusion. She should publish her findings in a reputable science publication. I will rather have a Dutch passport than a Ghana PH.D.

• Apraku 1 year ago

America won't allow infested food items on its markets.They control everything. So who is this engineer claiming Ghanaian foodstuffs contamination in America? And even FDA Ghana won't allow such foods as export to America. A ...

• JACK TORONTO 1 year ago

I support your comments, but where I don't agree with you is; does the FDA conducts any credible tests in Ghana? Most imported food items are conterminated, but they get their ways to the markets.

• MINOR CASE 1 year ago

What about Cassava and Cocoyam that are grown in Galamsay areas ?

• Joey 1 year ago

Keep burying your head in the sand.

• Kofi Asare 1 year ago

Are you for real, should the situation start claiming lives before you could comprehend. The fact of the matter is Ghana water ways are being polluted and destroyed by GALAMSEY. Let's not kid ourselves, one should lament over ...

• TrueTrue 1 year ago

Important: TELL NPP's 'JFK' THIS >>>>>
    He MUST instruct ALL the NPP Communicators to drum the following message into the minds of the electorate: Anyone who is planning to vote for JOHN MAHAMA & NDC must start saving money t ...

• Uncle Ben 1 year ago

FREE EDUCATION CANNOT MAKE UP FOR THE DESTRUCTON OF OUR ECOLOGY, ECONOMY AND EDUCATION. (3 ES)
    ANY GOVERNMENT THAT DESTROYS THE ENVIRONMENT IS DESTROYING THE VERY EXISTENCE OF POSTERITY.
    FAILURE IN ALL ASPECTS OF GOVEERNANC ...

• Truth 1 year ago

It beats my imagination how so called intelligent people can easily fall for cheap political manipulation and propaganda. Does it mean all yam producing areas like Banda, Kintampo, Bono, Bono East, Oti, Adwira, Dambai etc etc ...

• Liar. Provide the evidence 1 year ago

NDCs desperation for power knows no limit. Most yam growing areas are in Oti Region, Voltage, Northern Region and Upper West Region where there is vutually no galamsey. Did the heavy metals enter the crops after harvest, and ...

• Omani 1 year ago

Good question ⁉️

• Peace 1 year ago

Good question

• Good citizen 1 year ago

Thanks

• Bassi 1 year ago

That's a great question, and I was just about to ask the same thing.

• CORNEY 1 year ago

Yes, but it’s not NDC, that girl doesn’t know what she’s talking bout, very, very, very unprofessional, they need to take her license away.

• Kwame King 1 year ago

We are talking about the effects if. Galamsey abd damning consequence because we are in elections year. Have we also paid attention to the sky rocketing rate of youth unemployment? Labour us the unions are the fundamental cau ...

• Test 2 1 year ago

NONSENSE
    YOUR AKUFO ADDO IS THE KINPIN OF GALAMSEY
    TWO YEARS AGO WHERE WERE YOU WHEN ALJAZEERA DOCUMENTARY ECPOSED YOUR CORRUPT WICKED UGLY AKUFO ADDO OF USING ONE ALSTAIRS MATHIAS TO SMUGGLE $50ML WORTH OF GOLD EVERY MONT ...

• Ghana Mike 1 year ago

Galamsey has been an ongoing problem for YEARS now!! But the NPP , Alias Akufo Addo and his corrupt government have done absolutely nothing about stopping Galamsey! Some food and water is affected but as another has said, mo ...

• Yaw Wontumi 1 year ago

If a country has a mentally deranged president this is what happens. Idiot akuffo addo. Gbemela akuffo addo.

• Yaa 1 year ago

Ghana yam has been on international market for years. How suddenly Ghana yam contains metals. This is a propaganda where someone like you Yaw wontumi who is an illiterate will not think but come out with insults. Fix your m ...

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

You got a choice to eat whatever

• NATIONAL DEMONIC CONGRESS 1 year ago

A whole heap of lies! Its a plot by some political party to increase unemployment in the country. They faked this news for the Western world to ban food being ship to abroad and some businesses will collapsed.

• NATIONAL DEMONIC CONGRESS 1 year ago

Juliet Ohemeng bring evidence please else your PHD is bogus a fake certificate.

• It's Not True 1 year ago

You mean the yams in the mounds don't suck water from underground for maturity? Where did you get your uninformed information from? And do you mean to say yam uses rain water so it's ok for galamsers to continue destroying th ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Enough of those nonsense.There was a Chernobyl nuclear accident in Russia/Ukraine in 1986.Does it mean all the wheat and sunflower cooking oil they export to Europe contain those poisonous chemicals?We tend to be so loud when ...

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

Go to Chenorbyl & see the effects eve today

• Otoo 1 year ago

Sometimes politics can turned wise people look stupid.
    How did the metal entered the fruits?
    What science process approved that ?
    Politics turned people mad and talks like they have never been to school.
    If US based Dr ...

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 year ago

otoo, really? everything is connected. use your brain. not only have the water bodies been destroyed. the land as well. soon nothing will even grow and whatever u are able to harvest wont be eatable or exportable. your pea br ...

• Ivory Mensah 1 year ago

I'm a yam exporter. Early July this year, my consignment failed the standards tests.
    Sometimes we talk about things we have no knowledge about. All foodstuffs depend on water. So if the waters are polluted the cr ...

• TT 1 year ago

That’s a smart move. Our leaders have given up hope for the country.

• Otoo 1 year ago

You can be a Prof, Lawyer, Engineer, Lecturer or any noble institution but there is one political party in Ghana that if you joined, you will immediately be talking like a mad person, stupid, a child or illiterate.
    People d ...

• Wonders!! 1 year ago

Why hasn’t Ghana Standards Board been silent on this finding all this while. Madam ? Very funny indeed. Mahama and NDC propaganda has reached another level. Scary!!!!!

• Wonders!! 1 year ago

Correction. Why has Ghana Standards Board been silent on this finding …….etc

• Ama 1 year ago

You know why. If you’re still wondering as in wonder your name then you have a problem.
    Their pockets are being greased . It’s that simple.

• Critical 1 year ago

Foolish woman why are u trying to destroy the business of food exporters to the diaspora
    Galamsay is not good but please let us stop it by attacking the practice arresting practitioners and destroying their equipments
    Plea ...

• Omanba 1 year ago

The foolishness of Ghanaians on display here. What this lady in the US is saying is absolutely true and has been proved scientifically. Yet because of politics and ignorance Ghanaians are insulting her.

• @Litwit 1 year ago

You really think the Americans are that stupid? Why have they not banned yam from Ghana?

• Ama 1 year ago

Americans are NOT eating yams. Ghanaians are. Also, my husband and I are in healthcare and he had said this since last year about our water bodies and food getting destroyed and for people in Accra NOT to think it won’t aff ...

This is very speculative since exportable yams are sourced from the forest-savanna transitional and the savanna agroecological zones. Well, there could be some enclaves in these areas experiencing galamsey.
    For me, we should ...

• Nana Kwaku 1 year ago

Perfectly right may be she could have said Yam produced in Galamsey sites in the South.I know 95% of the Yam we export is from areas without Galamsey so how did metals enter those soils?

• Shallom Shallom 1 year ago

I wonder why suddenly even intellectuals have all turned to idiots. For your information, no yam producing village has gold on their land so is a big lie stupid girl. You came to denigrate our food bases so you turn around to ...

• Outlaw 1 year ago

Please media houses ask for more and better particulars like a n official report backing some of these claims. Media houses are to educate and inform so without asking further questions to back some of these claims makes me o ...

• Yaa 1 year ago

Ghana yam has been on the market for years. When did she start her investigation.? Propaganda. There are other countries who produce yam. Has she investigated their crops. Ghanaians we are our own enemies. All of a sudden Gh ...

• rasco 1 year ago

Just lies

• Anonymous 1 year ago

Over exaggeration. Does it mean yam farmers uses galamsey water to irrigate their farm? Is Yam a vegetable?

• All GALAMSY supporters should be put to life in jail 1 year ago

The PEOPLE ENGAGE IN GALAMSY SHOULD BE TAKEN AND WOOPED AND SEND TO JAIL FOR LIFE. They áre trying to kill us all by destroying our water bodies which is the source of life and of our economy.

• Dr pepper 1 year ago

Yes galamsey threatening food security more than anything. Foolish leaders aiming to cause holocaust. In fact if it were to be an advance country, these evil leaders need to sit in electric chairs for execution. These lea ...

• Emmanuel 1 year ago

HE IS A BIG LIAR
    HE HAS BEEN CONTRACTED
    TO USE HIS CREDIBILITY TO
    DAMAGE GHANA…..!!!
    THIS IS PURE WICKEDNESS OF
    BLACK AFRICANS TO THEIR MOTHERLANDS

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

She not he.

• Jidoshaki 1 year ago

Foolish talk do galamsey exist in northern and Oti regions where most of our yam come from? Ndc and propaganda

• Edzrekese 1 year ago

NPP is a big threat to global food security. World leaders needs to sanction and destroy this evil party. The earlier the better. NPP is a big threat to Africa and the whole world.

• There is more . 1 year ago

The weedicide that is being used to prepare the land for cultivation how safe is it ? If it has the power to kill weeds so fast then that stuff is super toxic Like the galamsey. FDA

• Max 1 year ago

This is not as a result of Galamsey, lets think about the rampant use of weedicides and pesticides by our farmers.

• Awasco 1 year ago

Ghanaian are not serious at all. If we have agreed to stop illegal mining because of the contamination of our water body fine. I agree. Just bcus laptops are cheap and television stations don't have any thing relevant to disc ...

• WEB/APP DEVELOPMENT. 1 year ago

- Business / corporates websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...

• Wow Indeed NDC is an evil cult party 1 year ago

Look how they’re propagating lies about Ghanaian food with their fake news media and John Mahama paid journalists and experts. NDC are evil and I will never ever in my life support this evil party

• Odasani 1 year ago

Liar- it contained heavy metals and yet allowed to ship to the US? She is lying!

• A Word To The Wise 1 year ago

Do you know all the "Bigmen" Have Their Farms they eat from?
    Why will they care about Galamsey.
    It's you the Ghanaians who are refusing to see Galamsey has already poisoned you already. Why are you exports been rejected

• The demagogue president 1 year ago

She said only yam or yam and other food?
    she may be exaggerating, but no one can deny that some of our agricultural products are contaminated.

• Albert Dwomoh. 1 year ago

So must people hit the streets before the government takes action on the galamsey menace.what a shame.I urge all well meaninging citizens to go out massively and vote this government out.

• Peace 1 year ago

Nonsense

You have no fact

• Appiah 1 year ago

It i

• Appiah 1 year ago

It is very sad that joy TV and fm are using fake news to distroyed the country, l don't think God will not be happy about it. Joy news always try to get people to manipulate our elections to distoy the country.

• Agyaaku 1 year ago

Madam, please tell your relatives, friends and all those you know in Ghana to stop doing GALAMSEY. That's how you can also help in fighting this menace. It's not the BLAME POLITICAL GAME.

• Popski 1 year ago

Ìs never true nonsense talk

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

Dr. Please start your galamsey demonstration in America and leave Accra alone. Why they can't take it Ashanti region where the galamsey is only their job they know. Nonsense illiterate educated slave worker.

• Nana 1 year ago

Why are we doing this to ourselves because politics? You destroying the reputation of the country you want to rule to the international business community, don’t forget about the harm you are doing to the country as a whole ...

• Twum 1 year ago

The problem is, we have a government in Ghana that can’t can’t deal with galamsey…because the party members are involved. Funny.,! Kick out Nana Addo and his corrupt government.

• Non partisan 1 year ago

GHANIANS AND IGNORANCE, OUR LADY IS ABSOLUTELY RIGHT, THESE ARE REAL FACTS, AND WOULD HAVE VERY NEGATIVE EFFECTS ON US. AND YET SEE THE INSULTS. PLS STOP IT. NO WONDER A LOT OF GHANIANS DONT EVEN BELIEVE THE CORONA VIRUS EX ...

• Kai 1 year ago

This is NOT true!!!!!! Stop badmouthing Ghana's pesticide-free vegetation.

• Mosesmm 1 year ago

It sounds like a fake news. Many of our yam.producing areas are not mining areas

• Pee 1 year ago

When and who said people in Accra should not worry about the galamsey activity? It is only important to note that people in Accra rather earlier cared less about it, especially when the government or precisely the President a ...

• Very True 1 year ago

It's true but I was even thinking she would talk more about the dry fish and the koobi imported to USA and other parts of the world. If care is not taken, very soon, all these people are going to lose their jobs because they ...

• No…sense 1 year ago

You guys should follow politics and destroy ur business! Is yam grown In galamsey area??? Destroy Ghanaians business for the sake of politics!!!

• Koo Lupu 1 year ago

The ticking bomb waiting to blast on all faces in Ghana is the over application of agrochemicals in Ghana lately.

Nowadays to farm means application of weedicides, planting of genetically engineered seed/seedlings, applica ...

• CORNEY 1 year ago

That’s a lie, the US based person got the information from a Ghanaian working in Ghana Standard board and unprofessionally without any proof went on air to say that and instead of reporting it right we want to make it look ...

• Obeye yie daakye !!!! 1 year ago

This galamsey can be solved easily if those in authority are not enablers. We need a new leader not from NDC or NPP and certainly not that young ‘Mese mese guy seen on billboards all over Accra , to lead this country. Those ...

• Bri 1 year ago

But who cares and who is listening. Certainly not those who can effect change. Mercy Lord.

• Spinoza 1 year ago

The galamsey kingpin,Nana Addo Dankwa the Akyem midget will never believe you

• francis 1 year ago

When people who are highly educated just speak to get attention of others. Every product including fish has some level of heavy metals. the question is that is the level of the metal harmful to humans and other organisms? fi ...

• OPANA 1 year ago

This is fake news. Taking advantage of the unfortunate situation to lie.

• Nicman 1 year ago

Ayeeka I saw it coming

• Obuobisa 1 year ago

I very much doubt this assertion. Most of Ghana yams come from the north under rain fed agriculture, and those areas are arguably galamsey free. So where from that cooked research. This story would have been believable if it ...

• BB 1 year ago

Can I get a link to the research paper on this findings?

• Kwasi 1 year ago

Not accurate. Yams are grow in the North, BONO, Afram plans where there is currently no mining activity.
    Yams are not grown in the forest areas or by the rivers. Report is in accurate.

• Judith 1 year ago

Well I think this matter will sort itself out when these produce are no longer patronized by Ghanaians and other Africans in the diaspora. They will all shift to alternatives from other countries, because come to think of it. ...

• Paa Kwesi 1 year ago

Stop lying. Are you a yam importer.

• Uncle Ben 1 year ago

The seriousness of galamsay issue needs no exprct to say it.
    THE FIGHT AGSINST GALAMSAY SHOULD BE SEEN AS GHANAIANS AGAINST ENEMY OF GHANA.
    GALAMSAYERS ARE WORST THAN THE DEVIL HIMSELF.

• Aboagye 1 year ago

This may even fetch good attendance for Ghana vs Sudan clash in Accra Sports Stadium.
    #notogallamsey