UTAG at this point need to step into stop this galamsay thing that has become a national crisis if this useless Akuffo Addo who is heavily involved does nothing. Read their Agyapadie book and you’ll see that the Akyem mafia are the Brian behind this rampant galamsay that has destroyed all our water bodies and environment. They have formed over 400 galamssay companies to destroy our land and water bodies so that they can use the proceeds to control Ghana . These people are more than wicked . Bediatuo, Gabby Asare Okyere Darko , Ofori Atta, Akuffo Addo are the kingpings of this galamsY menace so they will never do anything about it unless we the citizens rise up
Oyibo 1 year ago
Misplaced priority; why not on sex and buying lecturer notes for grades - that's your domain.
TWEAA DC 1 year ago
EI!...UTAG OR WHATEVER...WE HAVE SEEN YOU..'Y'AHUMO'...TWEAA...APUUU...NO MORE SEX FOR GRADES...TWEAA.
Dutch passport actually better than Ph. D 1 year ago
When you use archaic notes and design course that prepare graduates for unemployment and turn round to blame government it us so pathetic. If all your graduates were employed they would have helped their brothers and stop them for looking for money through galamsey.
Batuta 1 year ago
This is not a genuine call. If these Lecturers are serious about fighting galamsey why were they silent when John Mahama and NDC activists were touring mining sites before 2020 elections encouraging the practice. Some of these Lecturers behave as if their lives are meaningless if NDC is not in power. But this same NDC continuously failed to pay their book and research allowance when they were in power. These Lecturers are NDC activists who are cowardly hiding behind UTAG to execute NDC agenda.
Afua Iceland 1 year ago
Ofui people are dying, developing all manner of diseases and you are here talking about politics. Aboa bi ba. Wait till you develop kidney and liver problems and see what NDC and NPP will support you.
Righteous 1 year ago
I love UTAG with passion. GNAT, NAGRAT, CCT and GMA must follow suit to force this government to do the right thing in order to save lives and property.
AM 1 year ago
Despite the seriouness of the galamsey problem utag should be careful. Some of your leaders did a similar thing with with the sunnon asogli workers issue and and how did that end
Jungler 1 year ago
With people like Prof Gyampo leading this group, this is not strange.
How long has galamsey been going on and is it now that there's such a crucial election ahead of us that you want action on galamsey?
Stay on the streets ... read full comment
How long has galamsey been going on and is it now that there's such a crucial election ahead of us that you want action on galamsey?
Stay on the streets daily and,I bet you, nothing will happen.
Kobby 1 year ago
Nobody should take this politically tainted and attention- seeking leaders of UTAG serious. Is it not funny for an Association of its calibre to demand a ‘ban’ on something the is already ‘illegal’? The fact that it is illegal means it is under a ban, the issue is enforcement. I expect UTAG to suggest a workable, pragmatic and intellectual step to enforce the law on illegal mining rather than a threate of strike when UTAG is unable to embark on, and sustain a strike action on matters than directly concern them. As we speak, the book and research allowance for the last academic year has not been paid, their conditions of service are so bad, yet they are quiet. Galamsey is a serious matter and therefore must be tackled seriously.
Martin Kreisler 1 year ago
I am a bit confused by the threat of my Honourable Learned Sirs.
How does one ask (or threaten) the Government to ban something that is already 'illegal' as you have said. I would have thought they would have admonish the Government to enforce the laws (and penalties) against illegal minning effectively, without fear or favour of any personality, including their own party functionaries if they are found culpable. Such enforcement measures could involve a State of Emergency, considering the national crisis that has been created by illegal mining, and probably those with genuine concessions, but are not operating according to mining regulations.
Kofi BA 1 year ago
I believe this nonsense is being spearheaded by that sex offender Ransford Gyampo. If UTAG has any solutions to the galamsey menace, they should collaborate with government and other stakeholders to help fight it. What has galamsey got to do with UTAG going on strike? This threat is a complete idiocy
Kofi 1 year ago
The strike must happen. It is the only language this stupid government understands
Koki 1 year ago
@KofiBa
Check those behind galamsey. Ask yourself why the president has reneged on his sworn promise to fight galamsey. Leave UTAG alone
@KofiBa
Check those behind galamsey. Ask yourself why the president has reneged on his sworn promise to fight galamsey. Leave UTAG alone
pa 1 year ago
Utag you are the intellectuals.
What is your solution? Just to stop it for stopping sake? Visionary Bawumia will transform that sector for good.
WEB SERVICES. 1 year ago
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for mo ... read full comment
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for more info. 5665656
Koki 1 year ago
A good move by UTAG. But why now? The terrible harm the nation is experiencing as a result of galamsey could have been slahed if UTAG had taken this action before now. But It's always better late than never.
System 1 year ago
CLOSAG and TUC how far?
Tt 1 year ago
It's too late UTAG, if you have a small wound at your leg and you didn't treat it as early as possible before you could realized in a few months the wound become so big for treatment. So as galamsey needs to stopped as early as possible now it have escalated across the mining communities. Government need to be blamed without putting in much effort.
Afua Iceland 1 year ago
Wholly support your efforts. Coward Ghanaians. Those in Accra, the Densu river is also polluted. You will die slowly not galamsey areas alone. Be wise... ...
UTAG at this point need to step into stop this galamsay thing that has become a national crisis if this useless Akuffo Addo who is heavily involved does nothing. Read their Agyapadie book and you’ll see that the Akyem mafia ...
When you use archaic notes and design course that prepare graduates for unemployment and turn round to blame government it us so pathetic. If all your graduates were employed they would have helped their brothers and stop the ...
This is not a genuine call. If these Lecturers are serious about fighting galamsey why were they silent when John Mahama and NDC activists were touring mining sites before 2020 elections encouraging the practice. Some of thes ...
Stay on the streets ...
Nobody should take this politically tainted and attention- seeking leaders of UTAG serious. Is it not funny for an Association of its calibre to demand a ‘ban’ on something the is already ‘illegal’? The fact that it ...
How does one ask (or threaten) the Government to ban something that is already 'illegal' as you have said. I would have thought they would have admonish the ...
I believe this nonsense is being spearheaded by that sex offender Ransford Gyampo. If UTAG has any solutions to the galamsey menace, they should collaborate with government and other stakeholders to help fight it. What has ga ...
@KofiBa
CLOSAG and TUC how far?
It's too late UTAG, if you have a small wound at your leg and you didn't treat it as early as possible before you could realized in a few months the wound become so big for treatment. So as galamsey needs to stopped as early ...