COCOBOD CEO suspects some foreigners are behind cocoa smuggling in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (147)

• Koliko 1 year ago

Animals

• Lithovit liquid fertilizer 1 year ago

Square Peg in a round hole. Are you not a political appointee? Incompetent fool. Blaming all around you except yourself. Massa you don't know the work. Let a better person take over. Why is the smuggling flowing outwards bu ...

• Election Smoke 1 year ago

Brainless primate blaming everything for his and his masters cluelessness and wickedness. Arrest Wontumi!

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Another useless and clueless and corrupt misleader blaming everyone and everything for his failures except himself! Are you blind to the debilitating effects of galamsey on cocoa products? Just as your equally useless and clu ...

• L 1 year ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed. 0557430128•_•

• Huckenburg 1 year ago

That's an understatement. They're IDIOTS

• £EARN & EARN - SMARTPHONE EXPERT GUIDE 1 year ago

Pray to God, trust God BUT put your mind and skill to work for Him to bless. Frankly, today, You are GUARANTEED to earn up to 1,000 times the cost of this resource in just 1-2 days after learning! This is the most comprehensi ...

• SALY : 1 year ago

Blame your government failures and stop finding excuses and pointing accusing fingers to Russia. The NPP never accepted their mistakes and failures but always trying to hide behind unnecessary propaganda excuses.

• Papa Agik)kya. 1 year ago

This idiot's story does not add up. WE are witnessing the effects of galamsey on cocoa farms. Akufo Addo has put people with no agriculture background in charge of the ministry. Cocoa output has been declining since 1019.

• King James 1 year ago

Exactly! Making excuses for everything. Blaming everything for their failures except themselves.

• Percy 1 year ago

Look at his face like butter. Kwasea at COCOBOD

• Nana Kwaku 1 year ago

These are some of the problems of our Constitution. The President shd not be in charge of appointing CEOs for SOEs. This man plus Dr Opuni were not qualified to head Cocobod,the problems are all over the place to prove my poi ...

• Im 1 year ago

Be mindful that Opuni did not ran down Cocobod. Cocobod made profits the entire tenure of office of Opuni. It is this incompetent fool who has almost collapsed the entire industry and the board.

• Ralph 1 year ago

That Aidoo Boahen has been inflating and awarding unmerited overpriced sole sourcing contracts to his son.
    This is part of the reasons CocoaBod is collapsing.

• Kwadwo 1 year ago

Wei?

• Bk man 1 year ago

This is a plan to intimidate voters to prevent them from voting especially the ndc strong hold.They want to scare them .Because is about crossing boarder why not use the immigration or the customs. Then you are blaming Russia ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

He is just too stupid Russia has done no wrong may be he felt bcoz that country has been painted black by the West Ghanaians would accept his excuse.Newmont from USA & Shell from the UK are all exploiting we Ghanaians so if R ...

• Ojah 1 year ago

These incompetent fools will say anything and blame anything but their incompetence for our quagmire. It is frightening to realize they went to school.

• Pblo 1 year ago

Hahaha. Good one there!

• Mike 1 year ago

Why is the smuggling flowing outwards but not inwards. Pay the cocoa farmers better price than the neighbouring countries and the smuggling will come to Ghana instead of going away from Ghana

• Nuumo 1 year ago

Is this man idiot?

• John 1 year ago

Another attempt to intimidate voters.
    Blaming their incompetence, greed, corruption, nepotism, looting on everyone except themselves.

• King James 1 year ago

Exactly my thoughts. Thank you my brother. The NPP and his functionaries and government appointees have taken Ghanaians for granted

• Wisdom depravity 1 year ago

God help Ghana. Is it the work of the police ? What about those involve in illegal mining?

• Angela 1 year ago

Dr Opuni the best so far. God bless him for his sacrifice. God protect him from this wicked and evil NPP hand and Judges

• Holy Village 1 year ago

Stop blaming others and focus on fixing your country. Only a fool would like to invite Russia for a fight. IDIOTS. First, it was Covid, then Russia /Ukraine war, then, every God damn excuse in the world and then now Russia ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

The point is he or Cocobod has not arrested any Russian to prove his point so why come out publicly to condemn that country.Boahene at his level of education shd not be brainwashed by the West to talk by heart.

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

This man is a candidate for Nsawam Prisons. Opuni is a saint ooh.
    Shameless, dishonest, useless, senseless, clueless, thieves and Lai's brigade government. Nation wreckers party.

• Kwame Yeboah 1 year ago

Why the insults? What C to y my e man said should not lead to insults. And Ghanaweb is leading the stupidity. Useless headline and your illiterate readers start insulting. One insult and the infection starts. Everybody then ...

• Eric Asante 1 year ago

@kwame yeboah, wo maame tw3. Lol

• Lareba NPP communicator 1 year ago

@ Kwame Yeboah.Why are you insulting Ghanaweb? Stop the insults. Your teeth are like a garden rake. Fool

• Kwame Yeboah 1 year ago

Why the insults? What C to y my e man said should not lead to insults. And Ghanaweb is leading the stupidity. Useless headline and your illiterate readers start insulting. One insult and the infection starts. Everybody then ...

• Agbagba 1 year ago

Election year so they want as usual to send the military to intimidate boarder communities. First it was cereals now it's Cocoa. You will lose no matter what you do.

• LONGJOHN 1 year ago

BAWULIAR SAYS HE DOES NOT KNOW THE COCOA SECTOR IS COLLAPSING

• Jean Kelvin 1 year ago

Don’t forget Bawumia is a liar.
    Thank you

• Boye/California 1 year ago

This Man is talking nonsense your people are snuggling Cocoa and you are blaming the Russians the Galamsey spoil the waters of Ghana and the Land Nana Addo with a Big Head can't see the stupid Chinese are spoiling our waters ...

• Yaawa 1 year ago

Really? NPP what is happening?

• Asiedu Nketiah 1 year ago

My friend leave all this nonsense. Galamsey mpo they took money

• Old thief 1 year ago

Bloody fool

• Amos 1 year ago

Sell the cocoa to the Russians at a higher price and the smuggling will stop. Does the ban on Russia from the EU market stop you from trading with them? This is the time to get the real value for your cocoa.

• Kelly 1 year ago

Wisdom. Ghana is a sovereign country. If the EU bans Russia, Ghana can sell to Russia at a good price

• Sethoo 1 year ago

Ghana as a Sovereign country has been buying Russian Crude Oil from 3rd parties so if Russia is sending 3rd parties to come and buy our cocoa wetin be Mr Boahen problem.RUSSIA/UKRAINE WAR IS REAL we better sit up.

• What a dumb assertion! 1 year ago

The farmers and their families are struggling in the farms while the ceo, big workers, government and their European together with their west cronies enjoy the labours of the farmers. Farmers suffer alone to produce cocoa the ...

• MR BIG MOUTH 1 year ago

Give them a good price and stop talking. Smuggling through where ivory Coast or Burkina..if you can't spell don't write

• Kwesi 1 year ago

Eihhhhh!!!!! So this government or administration cannot take responsibility for anything. How can you solve a problem when it is always created by someone else, and you remain oblivious to your role. Under this Aidoo admini ...

• Joe 1 year ago

We have the men!!! So sad I wasted my vote.. Nana Addo and his government have really disappointed me.

• FIRE 1 year ago

Hmmmm. Always shifting blames.

• AJ 1 year ago

Massa, pay the coco's farmers well and stop the bull crap of wasting money on getting the military involved.

• Arafat Husain. 1 year ago

Look at this lunatic in charge of our cocoa sector foolish man if you were buying the cacao to the world price how can it be smuggled avukoklo

• Tommua 1 year ago

There was a time we know who is for everything

• Segun 1 year ago

This CEO is not making any sense amd he seems not to understand his brief properly. Russian govt has not caused smuggling problem you are just incompetent and lookimg for someone else to blame for ypur problems.

• King James 1 year ago

He won't make any sense because he's a failure and doesn't want to accept he has failed

• Tommua 1 year ago

This idiot should have been in North Korea not in Ghana that they teach them how they to be responsible

• Moshe 1 year ago

Armed robbers are killing innocent people but this clueless government is busy thinking of sending soldiers to intimidate voters by all sort of fake illogical excuses purposelyto send NPP soldiers and Delta forces to kill peo ...

• Maame Abenah 1 year ago

This is the year of elections. Our security must be increased. The government must secure Ghana or else we will no ourselves to blame. How are these political parties funding their campaigns? Please secure our borders for our ...

• . 1 year ago

Senseless people calling themselves leaders.

• Reubens 1 year ago

You blame every body... exogenous factors rather than yourselves.Dead incompetent, brainless idiots.

• Kwam 1 year ago

There he goes again apportioning blame for his lazy and inefficiencies. If you can't perform don't blame any country. You have been the worst CEO of Cocobod since it's set up. What about the galamsey menace destroying cocoa f ...

• King James 1 year ago

He's not serious and can't be serious.. a vibrant cocos sector handed over to him in 2016 has been collapsed and instead of taking responsibility for his incompetence and inefficiencies, he is a sovereign country somewhere. U ...

• Kaakyire Kwasi 1 year ago

ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND YOU USELESS CEO YOU WHO APPOINTED YOU GOD HELP GHANA

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 1 year ago

Do they tell Ghanaians when they get goodies from Russia and Ukraine? Ugly, useless, senseless, shameless, worthless, clueless, reckless, careless, gormless, lawless, stupid, corrupt, foolish, deceitful, ignorant, arrogant an ...

• SICURA 1 year ago

Why didn't the Ghana President REPORT this Russian cocoa smuggling activity to Anthony Blinken when they met in Washington? What are American military bases in Ghana, Ivory Coast and other African countries that don't like th ...

• Akwasi Addai 1 year ago

This man chose to talk so foolishly in the Ashanti Region where the people are so stupid and gullible to accept any lies by this criminal government.

• Nana koti botor 1 year ago

Putin should just send one bomb to these thieving idiots in this criminal government. Always blaming their failures on everyone but themselves.

• EDWARD 1 year ago

Just another ploy to deploy millitary to the borders to intimidate voters. Galamsey is the real enemy of the Coacoa industry not smugling. Request the millitary to help fight the political figures engaged in the galamsey.

• Saint Ato 1 year ago

Since their strategies to use the ÈC to rig the 2024 elecrions are failing, they have resorted to plan B.... position the military at the borders with the pretext of checking smuggle but in reality to suppress votes in the b ...

• Now is only Russia what about ucraine? 1 year ago

You and your goverment have failed Ghanaians big time.Idiot and a criminal like you must not be in that position but becuase is family and friends goverment see the mess you have brougth to our cocoa industrie and now youre b ...

• Today it's Russia 1 year ago

Always blaming people for their failure. We know galamsey and mismanagement are the main cause of decline in production

• Apuuh 1 year ago

Stop cheating Cocoa farmers by allowing them to participate in fixing the price of the commodity and this smuggling will cease. This is the simplest solution to the problem and not the involvement of the military. You sit in ...

• Ama Koranteng 1 year ago

Useless man

• Gyimie Nkoaaa - Excuses 1 year ago

This Man can give excuses to make himself look so stupid. At what point t does the Russian government done anything to destroy our system before ? Why is he trying to make it seem that , we are all stupid and ignorant .

• Gborlahn 1 year ago

Herh! First, it was the Chinese led by Aishav Huang, came to sabotage our cocoa production under the guise of galamsey and polluting our water bodies as bonus. Now it's the Russians. Amazing!

Was Opuni giving these excuses ...

• Alkebulan 1 year ago

I hated it when this illiterate Bastard saying government is( comited )in every opportunity they had, which isn't there to see. I could've urged the youth to stone the hell out of him for being every single day liar. Ghanai ...

• Putin must hear this 1 year ago

Putin should be informed
    Please let us tag Putin so that they can tell us Ghanaians whether it is true or not.

• Win 1 year ago

Ridiculous

• Samwise 1 year ago

80 days more and your trial will begin ,so use a bogus initiative to amass more resources towards his persecution, the npp has awakened the stupidity and shallow minds of the ashante tribe, even a professor t ...

• Abu D 1 year ago

The NPP will never take responsibility for any of their failures. Consistently blaming Covid-19 and Russian-Ukraine war for their economic mess. They have moved a step further to blame Russia for supporting cocoa smuggling in ...

• Let the Parrot Parrot 1 year ago

The got of Ghana and COCIBOD should RATHER embrace the Russian Ukraine war. It's a natural phenomenon to benefit from someone's misfortune. Just enter into business partnership with Russia for a higher price. Both the farmer ...

• Elnie 1 year ago

Russia and China are destroying Africa.Russia portrays itself as a super power but they are not.America have done so much for African.But African intellectual fools always think opposite.South African help Russia to destroy A ...

• Royal African Company. Gate of No Return 1 year ago

IMF will always impose conditionalities on you fools. You think the West are your friends. You fucking Slave. Negro

• Diasporian,London 1 year ago

To use the army to fight cocoa smuggling? Then Ghana is finished as a nation depending on the export of cocoa to earn foreign exchange.Like the former Border Guards they will just go and aid and abet cocoa smuggling to enrich ...

• Ghanani 1 year ago

To deploy soldiers to fight cocoa smuggling? It will truly be the time for them also to enrich themselves..The former Border Guards used such operations to enrich themselves.

• Papa 1 year ago

Clueless govt , where is the evidence to support the claim ? Foolish people , these leaders of today Ghana are idiots , instead of dealing with Galamsey look at the nonsense. Why not mention china , Chinese nationals are here ...

• Zionism is racism 1 year ago

The smuggling of cocoa has been a problem since Nkrumah's era. The reason? Farmers earn more money.

• Nana 1 year ago

Russia is blamed for everything in Ghana eeii

• Kofi 1 year ago

Where is the cocoa to smuggled?

This is a smoke screen to intimidate prospect voters from neighbouring countries

• John K(He is lying. They Stage the smuggle to justify the Military Deployment) 1 year ago

The Government just want an excuse to deployed the military in their thousands at the Boarders to suppress votes. Why the Russians can get their friendly Countries or agents to buy the Cocoa for them and reship it to Russia i ...

• Tryme 1 year ago

Cotton headed people .Godd for nothing entities. Tweaka

• Godfred Nsiah Omaye 1 year ago

Please, if we want to stop cocoa smuggling, the government should increase cocoa price very well?

• Danso Abiam 1 year ago

They used galamsey to kill the cocoa sector and they are blaming who? They can increase the Cocoa Price but where is the cocoa. NPP never again

• Laud 1 year ago

Mr CEO,
    Simply increase the producer price of cocoa with the funds you intend to spend on anti-smuggling campaigns. There will be no need to send cocoa outside GH if farmers can get even same amount they are getting outside. ...

• C.K 1 year ago

This government blames everything and everyone for their failures except themselves.

• C.K 1 year ago

Honestly I am not surprised this is coming from an irresponsible leader like Boahen Aidoo. Irresponsible leaders always blame their failures on others rather than accepting responsibility.

• Sulemana Hanan 1 year ago

This unfortunate

• Watara 1 year ago

Ghanaian AGYAPA has become Russians what a corrupt government we have so far in the history of ghana

• Watara 1 year ago

We need Ghana back from corrupt Bawumia

• Watara 1 year ago

You will just go to jail as far new government is concern

• MohammedOly 1 year ago

Very useless CEO. Irresponsible comments

• Tuga 1 year ago

You came to meet a well structured and thriving cocobod, you’ve allowed yourself to be used by Akuffo Addo and his cronies to bring Cocobod on its knees. All you’ve done is to follow political persecution which is bound t ...

• C. K 1 year ago

Eeeeii! He has adopted the Bawumia strategy, no wonder he is blaming Russia for his incompetence and reckless mismanagement of Cocoabod

• MohammedOly 1 year ago

You and your likes are candidates for jail. Your day of reckoning is much more closer than you expect

• King James 1 year ago

Persons in leadership must be responsible and take responsibility for their failures and successes. The COCOBOD boss should get serious with his explanation for his failures and running down the Cocoa sector.

• Danso Abiam 1 year ago

They will blame everyone but themselves. Clueless people. NPP never again

• C. K 1 year ago

This is a mark of an irresponsible leader. Like Bawumia, Boahen Aidoo is also blaming Russia for his failures.

• Sam 1 year ago

So when will you accept your failures. You’ve supervised the collapse of our cocoa industry. All you’ve done since your appointment is to enrich yourself and your party at the detriment of Ghana. Today you are here to bla ...

• De. Political Governor 1 year ago

I'm not sure this man sanity level is intact, he needs a quick psychiatry attention to maintain his sanity for jail.
    He might've messed up the cocoaboad but let's not allow him to messe up with his health to invade prosecuti ...

• King James 1 year ago

So when will the appointees under the ineptitude and clueless Akufo-Addo take responsibility for once. But am I surprised. Definitely not. The fish rots the head. The appointor himself blames everyone except himself for his f ...

• Jean Kelvin 1 year ago

He is learning on how to lie from Bawumliar and shift blame for his failure at cocoa bod!!

But in the words of Malik Basintale; he will go to jail in 2025!

• King James 1 year ago

This man is a failure just like the one who appointed him. He can't be serious with this kind of excuse for running down one viable cocoa sector. He's not fit for that office of the CEO of COCOBOD

• Kobby 1 year ago

This man needs medical attention. You have failed your mandate.

• Fayol 1 year ago

This NPP government is blaming everybody except themselves. JM is coming.

• Jean Kelvin 1 year ago

Don’t forget Bawumia is a liar and they're learning from him.

• Darko Jarvis 1 year ago

Look at this incompetent man

• King James 1 year ago

These people have no shame. If you can't fix the problems where you've been sent, you don't have any business staying home. If we're to be in a serious country with leaders having integrity and credibility, he should have res ...

• Ralph 1 year ago

Aidoo Boahen and his son have been stealing from CocoaBod and hence the mess we find ourselves in.

• Bozzman captain 1 year ago

you are crying?, you will be accountable for the mess soon, Try following Opuni case, soon you will be in the box

• Truth 1 year ago

No responsibility always blaming others. Irresponsible government in the history of ghana

• CAD 1 year ago

What does NPP take us for? Nonsense!

• James 1 year ago

TRAVEL OPPORTUNITIES THAT GUARANTEE PAYMENT AFTER TRAVELLING DOCUMENT IS ACQUIRED.
    Seeking parents who want to sponsor their children 17 to 26 years abroad. You will not pay any amount till travelling doc is acquired. If you ...

• David James 1 year ago

Always want to blame someone your mismanagement, if you people were to be buying the cocoa at a good price for the Farmers and pay them on time, I don't think they will smuggled cocoa out of the country.

• Akora 1 year ago

Foolocrat nonsense!

• RAM 1 year ago

Boahen Aidoo needs to resign. He has lost focus and need not to continue as CEO of ghana cocoa board.
    Most cocoa farms has been destroyed by galamsey and the issue persist.
    Rubber plantation which compete land with cocoa ...

• Buwumia Miaing Ghanaians 1 year ago

This time around, the border communities must gang up against whoever the Nana Addo government sends, they must STOP the political intimidation of voters! They have destroyed Cocobod, and Galamsey can't be stopped yet they wa ...

• Citizen 1 year ago

Enfa nhye wo kora, na enye onoa
    If you can't carry your load, don't blame the pad

• Mr. T 1 year ago

Foolishness

• Politrickciens with their jokes 1 year ago

Leave Russia alone. They ain't doing anything. Bring you evidence Mr. Politrickcian

• s))mli 1 year ago

wow!

• muntari 1 year ago

he is sick, mental issue.

• Citizen Watch 1 year ago

Russia has really suffered in the hands of this government. Whenever there is an impending election under this government they find excuses to deploy the military. Cocoa smuggling has been going on since COCOBOD was set up. H ...

• Emma 1 year ago

How is cocobod helping farmers? All the items you mentioned are bought from the farmers own sweet. Pay the farmers higher price and the smuggling will stop.

• Kofi Mensah 1 year ago

What nonsense is this? So you people have to blame every incompetence on some other countries? Then anyone, any fool can become a President or CEO. WHY DONT YOU PAY THE FARMERS WELL so that they won't spend time and energy se ...

• K. Idan 1 year ago

I am afraid that, the Russian government will respond to this useless accusation in fearless way. Akufo Addo and his cohort are always putting Ghana's name in a bad light into the world.

• Dan 1 year ago

don't blame russian for African leaders bad decisions

• Dan 1 year ago

Joseph aido is either brain-dead or a puppet

• Nana KOOMSON 1 year ago

This popular adage has it that " if you cannot carry your load don't blame the pad that support your head"

• Jessi Williams 1 year ago

Does Russia tells you what you need to do, don't put your blame on other people if you don't know how to manage your country ,shame on you people

• Ofori attah the devil 1 year ago

Shameless people. You are blaming Russia for you failures. A square peg in round hole paa. Wagner buying cocoa beans? Well at least they are giving the farmers fair price.

• Kobena Nsonaba Obibini 1 year ago

The fact that some don't grow cocoa doesn't mean they can export cocoa.
    They can import cocoa from other countries like Nigeria, Cameroon, equatorial quinea or even China and some of the South America countries preserve the ...

• Bongo 1 year ago

These NPPigs are now blaming Russia for their incompetence, after blaming COVID-19, Russian/Ukraine war, Queen Elizabeth's funeral, Joe Biden debate flop, spilling of the Bagri Dam, my grandmother's constipation, 8 ago NDC, f ...

Liar.

• Siro 1 year ago

Aabaah. American government ha brainwashed all of so you think your problems are caused by Russia.
    Russia is the best country in the world
    No colonial history
    No killing of our leaders
    No military base in ghana
    No Involv ...

• Bibi 1 year ago

This is yet another ploy to send many many soldiers into the Volta Region to harassed them during the election.

Mark my words. It is a well-ochestrated diabolic plan to destabilize the Volta Region

• Willie 1 year ago

What are you doing about the galamsey also dwindling the cocoa sector. You don't blame Russia if you can't manage the cocoa sector. Blame galamsey which has destroyed and continue to destroy cocoa farms also. You people had e ...

• Paa; . 1 year ago

Is it Rudsian Wagner group or the effects of galamsey that is affecting the fortunes of Ghsna cocoa.

• Paa; . 1 year ago

Is it the Russian Wagner group or the effects of galamsey that is affecting the fortunes of Ghsna cocoa.

• Kim 1 year ago

Eiiii, Russia government is suffering from akufo addo and his co-host, economy is blamed on Russia, Cocoa Smuggling Russia, Water shortage Russia, Cedis depression Russia, Uncomplicated national cathedral Russia, hmmmm,Putin ...

• Charles Acheampong 1 year ago

This Akuffo Addo's government is jinxed because Akuffo Addo has deceived God by failing to honour his promise to build a cathedral for God. Dr. Opuni did a good job with Cocobod not posting losses during his tenure but becaus ...