'Nobody should create the impression that a credit score system is some magic wand' – Dr. Abbey

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Sarah 1 year ago

Mumumadu Bawumia said he was the one who brought computer to Ghana. Liar

• Nana 1 year ago

This Randy Abbey guy is Empty Headed that is why Accra Aca don't even recognise him as their own.Dr Mahamudu Bawumia did not say every Ghanaian will be Credit Rated,what he meant was he will start from the working class(both ...

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 year ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 10 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Divine Ninja Of America 1 year ago

A credit system is what citizen of poor nations with less employment need, because people want to do something to earn income but have no capital. It will help people become financially discipline to some extent, because, onc ...

Bawumia is very smart to even think about that as one of his policies. These are some of the things that put him very far above his competitor John Mahama who is a corrupt visionless selfish greedy with first chance already a ...

If you implement a credit system, start commodity manufacturing to create jobs or cut down imports and also replace all political appointments with election by public or stakeholders in each sector, Ghana will surely develop ...

Most people have skills, time or desire to work but live in poverty and struggles. There are reasons why these happen and the reasons mostly include; foolishness, greed, selfishness, stupidity, corruption, pretense, hypocrisy ...

• mr amin 1 year ago

You can't create jobs unless our purchasing power is good when people are able to patronize goods and services that's where you can jobs but it stands the cedi is weak no jobs can be created, job creation is demand driven jus ...

• Adukwei 1 year ago

If you are not a pathetic fool, then, I don't know what else you are.

Having been the non-performing Vice President for almost 8 years, and having malfunctioned as the head of government's Economic Management Team, what p ...

• XYZ 1 year ago

Adukwei or whatever you called yourself , are you saying your John Airbus Mahama performed better as vice president than Dr. Bawumia? Can you please list two things John Airbus Mahama did as a vice president.? Dr Bawumia nev ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

Silly rat, we are looking for your paymaster daughters for the fake ambulance contracts.

Ofui,our eyes are red waa.

Gaslighting twerps.

• Nii 1 year ago

ADUKWEI needs his brains washed. He needs elevation of the brain because no sensible person would want 3 years of continuous Dumsor back when there was no global crisis

• GEN 1 year ago

@Nii was it the now government that fixed dumsor? Another, after the former government fixed dumsor, didn't the now government wait for election year and found another excuse to chop money by moving the measures placed by the ...

• Jahsonwilliams 1 year ago

You are too silly

• Agbeko Kulikuli Ede 1 year ago

Kuɛ Nii Abbey kpa kuaan… Despite your Doctorate degree, Mr Abbey don’t know jack shit. A simple technological advancement to make life bearable you sit in the studio and say things you have no insights but just to do po ...

• Hey 1 year ago

Masa. South Africa has this credit score system. Is not anything extraordinary. Meanwhile we have a credit Bereau. So what is so special about credit score?

• Laparti kofi 1 year ago

I am surprised Randy Abbey who holds doctorate degree speaking like a serial caller. For your information there are about 10 benefits one can derive from credit scores in economy . 1. Lowers interest rate, 2, It gives better ...

• waste if time 1 year ago

Hmmm. These stupid PhDs

• Oprege 1 year ago

Dirty NDC Pig with a fake PhD ! Credit score is a measure of how good an individual , institution or a country finances finances is doing so what’s this dude is talking about ?

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

What is the current credit ratings status for Ghana?

You can check it out with the major CRA .

Tell us Mr Multiplex !

And then tell us why amidst such a junkie ratings across all the major CRA , banks will be givi ...

Fool does it mean banks do not give loans again?

• Navapio 1 year ago

Am sure his doctorate was awarded after 3weeks I'm one of these fake universities.

• Anane 1 year ago

Doctor has become cheap in Ghana thanks to cheap noble DBA programs!

• M.T 1 year ago

Randy doesn't understand the credit scoring system. Credit scoring will eliminate the guarantor or collateral system for creditors, especially the informal sector. It's definitely a magic wand. With the credit scoring system ...

• mr amin 1 year ago

Why is the NPP still attending randy Abby s good morning Ghana it's always two against one randy is not neutral he is typical ndc

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

A credit score is not a credit card, DR? A CREDIT SCORE is a system creditors use to determine one's credit worthiness so they can lend you money. The ignorance in our country is debilitating.

• Nana 1 year ago

If Randy Abbey had taken his lessons seriously in 6th Form,Accra Aca teachers would have taught him the difference between Credit Score and Credit Card in Economics & Accounting.They are related but have different meaning.NDC ...

• Nii Adjei 1 year ago

The credit scoring system is a necessary and sufficient condition for the issue of a credit card. And both are dependent on the health of the economy and the financial sector for that matter. Why is this VP always putting the ...

• Nii Adjei 1 year ago

*Rather the cart before the horse

• THE TRUTH 1 year ago

You're confused just shut up.Do you have to wait till your wife delivers b4 buying the baby's dresses/clothes?Creation of a Credit Score could be part of building the economy if you care to know.

• Enock 1 year ago

What is the use buying baby things when your pregnant wife is sick and have nothing to eat? She may die with the baby. So, first things first.

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

Listen you are just making noise like your veep.

Tell him to fix the economy, and implement his policies right now so that Ghanaians can vote for him.

But here we are he is talking like an opposition leader, anyway can ...

• ELECTRIC FENCE AND CAMERAS. 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. fhfhty ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

I keep telling Ghanaians that NDC is a political party full of "truants and vagabonds" and people dispute those facts. If this guy is really a "Dr", what does he understand by a credit system?

Credit system doesn't mean G ...

• Kwam 1 year ago

Randy Abbey formerly of NPP? How did you get here? Randy is now fake. A move from NPP to NDC will definitely give you cognitive problems. Amazing host of GMG. No wonder only NDC People's text messages are read. Shameful.

• Nii 1 year ago

No wonder Randy Abbey has a big stomach. Stomach Journalist. No single policy is the magic wand... stupid. No sense in what you are saying Randy. A collective of positive policies is maybe what we need. Credit scoring is posi ...

• Kona 1 year ago

Abbey Phd. That's below you. There is nowhere in the world where everyone can take advantage of every financial facility made available. So I'm at loss as to the point you are making if not for cheap polical mischief.

• AKWASI adwepa 1 year ago

So you don't understand what Abbey is saying? Credit sore about what? You must have a job. You have to do a transaction.

Credit score or card is about traction. It involves costs. You must have a job and be paid to participate. Clear?

• Ernest 1 year ago

Akwasi everywhere u must work before u go in for long credit but they must see ur credit score b4 de bank give u anything mahama ofuii

• Adu 1 year ago

They shoot down everything NPP but never bring up any solutions. Abbey hasn't commented negatively against the so-called 24hr economy that everyone knows can't be a policy. Who says credit rating isn't economy driver?

• GEN 1 year ago

With the current unemployment situation we are facing us a country, having a system that runs 24/7 will give opportunity to most people, produce more, improve services and service our debt so we can be free of the oppression ...

• Van Halen 1 year ago

Is this the same Randy Abbey who used to speak for NPP on Peace FM Kokrokoo? Hmmm stomach politics.

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 1 year ago

Credit scoring system will fail from day one judging from our dishonest and discredited behaviors. Take MASLOC as an example. Also, banks and Bank of Ghana are struggling with non-performing loans (NPLs) just because borrower ...

• Johnny 1 year ago

The state is refusing to punish defaulters bcoz of politics.If they want they can easily be punished with Ghana Card numbers.The Telecoms can be asked to block all MASLOC Loan defaulters till they pay.They can also be track a ...

• Ruthan 1 year ago

Do you know that in Russia everybody has a number(Ghana Card).With that they have data on Criminal Records,Academic Qualification,Health records,Employment records,Tax Pmt etc etc of each citizen.With these information govern ...

• Foli Foli 1 year ago

Thank you for your point.

• Nii Adjei 1 year ago

I remember vividly well that during Kufuor's era, banks were chasing workers to come for credit facilities because they know interest rate was low and relative stability in exchange rate and inflation. Which sound credit hous ...

• THE TRUTH 1 year ago

The banks did it without a proper Credit Score which led to more Loan Defaulters.If the banks had it not everybody shd have been given.Mind you can even be a Bank Manager,Doctor or Accountant if you have a poor Credit Score y ...

Yes the banks were chasing workers. They had jobs
    That's what Abbey mean.

• Cooler 1 year ago

Not every worker was entitled to those loans if you care to know some have low Credit Score.A Kenkey seller or a Carpenter can have a better Credit Score than a Doctor or a Chief Accountant if you care to.NDC followers shd le ...

• Papa k 1 year ago

It's a good thing but not for Ghanaians. First you should check the interest rate, second period of time you are supposed to pay and then how much are you paying for each month. Majority of Ghanaians using electricity at thei ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

It is very possible you're making Dr Bawumia a magician.It is not everything that you argue about if you don't have the idea just keep quiet.50% of Americans or British don't have good Credit Score even with good economies.

• ben 1 year ago

Another journalist on ndc payroll, always spewing rubbish

• Kilogram 1 year ago

Bleeding is allowed, Dr Randy. Why do you the NDeCeivers always want to trivialise innovative policies by DMB??? By the way, have you taken your medication today? Listen again to DMB before making such unintelligent comments ...

• ROCKY USA 1 year ago

Bawumia is a retarded confused man. How many people is working here in Ghana before mentioning credit cards? Which company will give a credit card to buy smartphone and pay monthly 1or 2 cedis?. Unless Bawumia open his own te ...

• Serwa broni 1 year ago

Good points Dr Abbey, bahumia is a scammer and clueless

• aaaaa 1 year ago

ask how Randy goy phd and you will realize it's just useless one.

• Kk 1 year ago

And who said there are no jobs in Ghana?

• Kofi Akuse 1 year ago

Bawumia should send his credit score system to staff of bank of ghana, his campaign team and other likes who have stolen enough to invest and are credit wealthy to afford that. Esuka

• Kojois 1 year ago

Local boy ignorant as you are. I have $50000 credit card in my wallet. Poor as you are.

• Kofi Akuse 1 year ago

Bawumia should send his credit score system to staff of bank of ghana, his campaign team and other likes who have stolen enough to invest and are credit wealthy to afford that. Esuka

• Pee 1 year ago

This Bawumia guy brags too much, always creating the impression he’s the only one who had stayed outside the country. Twaaaaaaa

• Allan 1 year ago

If your Doctorate is from Swiss whatever, these are comments you will make. Randy Abbey and Paul are just unnecessarily political journalists.

• Kubut3 1 year ago

With a credit score system, a teacher can easily secure a credit to start a small business with better interest rate. He can employ one or two poor people, while he hold on to his teaching job. Randy Abbey is an idiot. A te ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Thank you Dr. Abbey. Peoole don't have a job but are talking about credit score. Its really funny

• ....... 1 year ago

Vote for the Party with vision and mission to increase the purchasing power of Ghanaians with good credit rating .
    The develop world depends on credit score to keep their economy growing.

• Kee 1 year ago

NDC people are very pessimistic, tweaaaa, apuuuuuuu. Let Randy Abbey deceive you into not finding a job and benefiting from credit scoring. Do you need a job before a system is put in place to help you, or system is put in pl ...

• Foli Foli 1 year ago

What is mobile phone purchase on credit compared to the daily life support for the citizens? Do you think that the system whereby people could buy on credit and pay small small does not exist in this country already. How do ...

• MyBigMouth 1 year ago

Randy, dont even go too far with they cant pay...most wlll not pass a check to be eligible for a credit facility, unless they are helped along by rogue companies.

• Tweaa 1 year ago

Dr Randy thank you , you explained it further, like Dr Bawumia said IF YOU HAVE A JOB you can take advantage of that , also the higher one’s credit score is the cheaper the buying power

• Kofi 1 year ago

A credit scoring system is an important element for an inclusive and expanded financial system that does not punish everyone for the sins of a few. I however also agree that it is not an end but a plank towards something else ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

This same man believes the bogus 24hr crap hmmm

• Go+to+court 1 year ago

Same as 24 jour economy ,Randy without jobs how can on practice 24 hour. Simplicita.

See this NDC fool call Randy Abbey too. But you believe 24hr economy is a magic wand? Kwasia bi te sɛ wo wate?

• Truth 1 year ago

Wode3 gyimie de3

• Kee 1 year ago

What else do you expect from NDC Randy Abbey. Is he saying everyone must be employed before the credit system is introduced,? He should be informed that a system is put in place for people to aspire to reach a goal. If people ...

• Sarah Abbey 1 year ago

Randy Abena Korkor toto eater. You have worms in your head.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Randy wil always find a way to discredit Dr. Bawumia. You admit it is good yet u have issues with it.

• Yaw 1 year ago

The naysayers is at it again they don't understand it and will not take their time to study it but rather conderm it then turn round to say they brought it everything is not possible

• Nana Kese, Newark, New Jersey 1 year ago

All these guys are said to be holding a Doctorate degree..he sees everything from the ruling party as bad..
    Your John Mahama..is not coming back to the presidential house.

• Too many idiots on Ghanaweb 1 year ago

A country where people are fleeing by the thousands and you think credit system is going to be effective?

Every nonsense biaa we want to copy.
    The reason credit system works in select Western countries is because they ar ...

• Puma 1 year ago

Dr Randy Abbey every sane Ghanaian knows that this system is for people who are in stable employment and not for lazy people so spare us this nonsense.

• Abu 1 year ago

Credit system in general is very dangerous, you need to understand it before you go there. With many financially illiterate people the credit system will make them poorer.

Most these credit cards companies charge high int ...

• Funny World 1 year ago

Randy Abbey is just one of the ndc rats that refuses to acknowledge the truth. Credit score is not a panacea to riches rather depends on your integrity, that's, how truthful you're to the system. Randy Abbey must know that, ...

• John B 1 year ago

Dr.Bawumia,please the credit cards and credit scores works in for advance countries.(1)how many Ghanaians have a social security number or social security card.(2)how many Ghanaians works and save their money in the bank.(3)o ...

• Kaya Man 1 year ago

Tye credit system is already in Ghana and it's called hire purchase. It's not a new thing. People, especially payroll workers buy things and pay them monthly. I have been a beneficiary of this system for a long time so what i ...

• Jobe 1 year ago

So 24 hour economy is a magic ward? Credit system us liked by every worker if it'll be embedded in our national life. ATM debit changed things especially online business so will it be with a credit system scoring using Ghana ...