Government orders Controller and Accountant General to block July salaries of Colleges of Education Teachers

Read Comments Comments (67)

• No work, no pay. Thieves! 1 year ago

Right move. The tax payers money should not be paid to people who have abandoned their jobs. How will students recover after government has met your needs? All lecturers should be on contract to be renewed based on performanc ...

• eddie 1 year ago

did you called this a right move. how i wish ghana was like Kenya, you would have known what is called right move. it seems you are not in this country to know how this stupid government has plunge this country into a total m ...

• Jack Toronto 1 year ago

@eddie, Ghana is Ghana and Kenya is Kenya. The students are the ones going to suffer for the actions of the lectures and not the government.

• A. A. G 1 year ago

Tell them

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

Only a foolish government will attempt to take on or go toe to toe with an Organise Labour affiliates.

Go and read the constitutional rights of unions and the history of
    foolish government's
    worldwide attempts to go bu ...

• Ofui, The Union is supposed to pay them, not governemnt 1 year ago

If these teachers embarked on strike due them being misled by their NDC Union head, they should go to him for their salary, and not the government. That Trokosi idiot has the penchant of instigating strike actions whenever th ...

• Kawaadwen 1 year ago

Kwasia your mother will be the first person to wear black and cry. Odwan

• Peeved 1 year ago

Kenyan’s are not that stupid to go on strike and expect to be paid.

• khanawu 1 year ago

Go and search for a job and stop blaming government for your downfall. Nothing stop you for organising a protest. Lazy cocoon

• GhanaWeb 1 year ago

Even diploma teachers were receiving Ghc1600($400) before Nana became president. Today he can't even pay them above $200. Any vote above 30% for npp is fake.

• I am a Ghanaian 1 year ago

Your comment just tell me that you don't know your constitutional right as a citizen of Ghana. Until we learn and know our rights, the Likes of NPP and NDC will take us for a ride. WORSE NPP government ever. Wickedness paa be ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Look at this Minister again. You don't do this in a campaign season, 4months to election. Just seat down with them.

• AAA+ 1 year ago

At Kofi, so there's elections coming, so government tolerate this nonsense right.

AND who even told Ghanaians if they vote against this government, the one who comes will be their messiah, let Ghanaians make such mistake a ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago

The incoming government will jail your cathedral pits of hell construction party's hierarchies.

Just take a look at Pwalugu dam crime scene.

So yes the next government not this useless government, is coming to save ...

• You must be mad 1 year ago

@ AAA+LGBTQ +++. You are an idiot wai. We prefer any new government that will come than this borla NPP government. We have seen how stupid they are. Imagine a foolish man like Lord Commey now building mansions on governmen ...

• Peeved 1 year ago

It is you not we. I will vote for any other party except NDC

• Yaw 1 year ago

You have been pampered for too long the least thing and instead of sitting down with authorities then you go on strike were you not been paid during COVID-19 for the number days that you stayed at home for not teaching even a ...

• eddie 1 year ago

who pampared who. how i wish ghana was like Kenya, you would have known what is called right move. it seems you are not in this country to know how this stupid government has plunge this country into a total m ...

• AAA+ 1 year ago

At Eddie, hahaha. What's even happening in other countries you're mentioning should even educate you dumbs well and tell you what the whole world, especially Africa countries are going through BUT since most of are dumbs, you ...

@eddue. You can turn Ghana to Kenya of Afghanistan. You are not patriotic at all

• NII... 1 year ago

@eddie...What are you waiting for? Abi you can start what happened in Kenya here in GH anaaa wony3 barima?

• BOsCO 1 year ago

Well done Minister

• eddie 1 year ago

a time is coming when we will hold these corrupt leaders accountable.

• Kawaadwen 1 year ago

How much do you pay as tax for government for you to write this nonsense

• Asantehene 1 year ago

You are going to worsen the case, TUC and others will join them and you will be all over

• AAA+ 1 year ago

On point, there's too much foolishness in the country

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

if you don't worked , you don't get paid .
    if you did not work for the month, why do you still want to be paid ?
    you have the right to go on strikes as an employee, the Government as an employer also has the right not to p ...

• Pantalon 1 year ago

Adwoa Sarfo. Adwoa Sarfo. Adwoa Sarfo. Did not work for two years yet the monkey man with an 80 year old short penis paid his girlfriend. Kwasea

I don't support Adwoa Sarfo and would never support her- but Adwao Sarfo did not declare strike.
    you have declared strike as an employee, it is within your constitutional rights to do so, The same way it is also within the ...

Some MPs collected double salaries.

leave your job as a Teacher, and join the MPs to also collect double salaries ,
    I hate people like you thinking , you are on Government payroll as a teacher, - you must do your job as a teacher,
    if your work conditions aa ...

• Benjamin k Aboagye 1 year ago

Well done Minister, no where in the world do workers strick and get paid except in this BANANA republic where politics has taken over? Kofi over to you.

• Benjamin k Aboagye 1 year ago

Sorry to use STRICK instead of STRIKE

• Zyogot 1 year ago

This action is too suicidal for our beloved NPP especially at this dying minutes of the game. Just wanting to throw away power just like that? No serious politician will take such decision in such a time like this. Remember J ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. 73u4h4 ...

• Kufour Kennedy 1 year ago

Another clear reason to VOTE OUT the NPP on 7th December 2024.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Adutwum is sabotaging Napo. You by passed him to appoint Napo. Do you think he is a fool?

• Good Boy 1 year ago

Walking on a dangerous path. I see signs of trying to trigger Kenya in Ghana.

• Teacher baako p3 1 year ago

2024. We go show NPP. We man the Methodist A & B varendas where the voting will take place. They should come and thief the elections again

• Sokoto 1 year ago

In advance nations no teacher is paid during vacation.
    You need to find a new job

• NAGRAT 1 year ago

@ Sokoto. And who is begging you not to do that? Are you not a man? Block headed illiterate . Why will that your Dwarf not get third class in school. Continue to look down on teachers. Your father is a foolish man

• +JOJO 1 year ago

This is the best move so far by government. Anyone who refuses to work must not be paid. During the COVID-19 period the sat home but were paid and when the country is in financial throes after the Covid they want to her to ra ...

• Raymond 1 year ago

@ + JOJO. I am disappointed in you. During Covid 19, the teachers worked through virtual teaching and learning using their own money to buy data for the sake of the children. I am surprised that you don't even know what is ...

• NII... 1 year ago

Which govt school teachers did that?

• James 1 year ago

Raymond, you are a twerb. Did you see any insult in the post you responded to? You rather behaved like you have no education and home training. You behaved stupidly with your insults. You are uncultured and a typical bushboy ...

• Yankey 1 year ago

It' should be strictly no work no pay. If you think you will punish NPP on this by voting against them, go ahead but NDC will not do anything better than the NPP. A change will only be a musical chair, don't be sorry when NDC ...

• Pope Innocent 1 year ago

I remember in the 1974/75 academic year GNAT declared a strike for over a week and government threatened to withhold salaries of teachers. GNAT had prepared for that and accepted to pay their teachers. I guess CETAG has the f ...

• Kbwill 1 year ago

Some people will be hot ooo

• PhD 1 year ago

We will teach your yellow track free SHS students when they come home for 4 months. Their parents pay us better. Take your foolish peanuts pay away. Who is begging you. Idiots. What school did Akufo Addo attend? Ask the babo ...

• Donkomi 1 year ago

During covid-19 lockdown in UK, workers stayed at home with no pay. I was wondering why so because in Ghana workers were paid in full during lockdown and I was told that when workers go on strike they are not paid for those n ...

• Charles Acheampong 1 year ago

If Akuffo Addo could have money for one Lexus ( V8) car to carry his chair around which cost more than Ghc1.2m and could charter a luxurious flight for $20,000 an hour for globe- trotting then his government should find money ...

• Joe 1 year ago

They deserve to be treated like that. They were always against Mahama. Now you have got what you wanted. Their Salaries should be frozen for the rest of the year unless they return to class unconditionally within a week

• CLOSAG 1 year ago

NPP fears organised labour like kakai. Has that thief bastard Bryan Acheampong gone into hiding at Abetifi? Heheheee. Why he no stand? so the foolish government was afraid of strike

• Kawaadwen 1 year ago

What has he steal from you. Stop this nonsense

• Kwasi Nimo 1 year ago

They have the right to go strike. But they should not expect to be paid for days that they stay off work. It is not done anywhere.

• Kwesi 1 year ago

It a very good idea! Every institution should face the same, if they go unnecessary strike.

• Kwasi Barimpa 1 year ago

RIGHT MOVE. Over here in the UK if you go on strike against your employer you don't get paid by your employer it is your UNION who pays you a token. You want pay without work?

• True Ghanaian 1 year ago

Great move. The indiscipline must stop. U are paid for the work u do. If u chose not to work, the employer can refuse to not to pay u. It's your right to strike. It's the employers right not to pay u when on strike. If govt a ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. Shdje

• Attuquaye 1 year ago

When you are on strike you don't get paid your salary by your employer as you are not working. It is up to your union to pay you from their strike fund. That is how organized labour works everywhere!!!

• Kwasi Barimpa 1 year ago

Tell them my friend.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

The government is absolutely right to freeze their salaries. Why should they be paid for no job done? In the UK strike going workers are not paid. You sit in your house not working and you expect to be paid.

• Kow 1 year ago

That is an excellent move. The minister lived in California and knows the deal. In USA no striking public servant is paid by the government. Your union should pay you. I support the Minister of Education. This should apply to ...

• Peeved 1 year ago

No work No pay

IS THIS THE DEMOCRACY THAT THE USA AMBASSADOR WAS RECENTLY TOASTING TO? THIS IS NOTHING BUT JULOR HOUSE AUTOCRATIC GOVERNANCE BY INTIMIDATION.

You have no right to block their salaries if they've performed their duties but ...

• I am a Ghanaian 1 year ago

It's only in Ghana that workers can not go on industrial strike for things to be resolved. This is the right of a every tax paying Ghanaian. I thought the president says he is a human right lawyer. Ghana's WORSE president eve ...

• Stephen Adjor 1 year ago

# Give financial clearance to the effect that university (diploma and degree) education graduates as well as pre-2022 colleges of education graduates would be recruited as permanent teaching staff of GES now !!!

Per the Co ...