How Ghana's 5 regional airports generated GH¢13.13m after expenditure of GH¢39.14m in 2022

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Mohammed 1 year ago

Sell them to Bryan Acheampong

• Nana Akomea 1 year ago

Yes. Bryan Acheampong. Add Accra Airport Terminal 3 for sale to Bryan Acheampong. Who was in.power in 2022? No wonder STC Daewoo buses are rotting by the day

• DotCom 1 year ago

You can’t fool all the people all the time. One day Ghanaians will be wise enough to ask serious questions about how our resources are being used. If people will have a sense of how much income Ghana has generated in the pa ...

• Ghana Kanea 1 year ago

Comrades, after gaining a lot of money and building a mansion in Accra or Kumasi, if you don't think of building a good mansion in your hometown for yourself and your relatives, somewhere in the districts, then I don't know w ...

• Kojo 1 year ago

REDUCE THE AIR FARES. IT IS TOO EXPENSIVE. THAT IS THE REASON PEOPLE DONT PATRONISE AIR TRAVEL. IT IS BETTER TO REDUCE TO ATTRACT MORE PASSENGERS THAN MAKING IT EXPENSIVE AND FLYING EMPTY AIR CRAFTS.

• Edward Wiredu 1 year ago

Turn kumasi airport to a fufu joint, Ho airport to an akple joint, Tamale and Wa to Tzet and waakye joint respectively. Ghanaians love to travel far for food. May be then they will appreciate the facilities. Banana republic. ...

• EFO KOKU 1 year ago

DUMBHEADS IN CHARGE
    How many airports does New York have? What about the state of Illinois? What about California? And a country like Ghana where people are paid a scanty salary of 350ghc is obsessed with the construction of ...

• Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 1 year ago

They should’ve heavily invested in a modern high speed rail infrastructure. From Accra to Paga. Ho to Takoradi. Tamale to Elubo with stops in significant towns and cities

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY FIXING IN 3-4 WKS 1 year ago

.You can earn up to a 1,000 times the cost of this resource in just 1-2 days after learning! The time is now to avoid wasting another 6-months. This is the most comprehensive standard smartphone repair course (the first & bes ...

• GPS 1 year ago

Business without a profit is NOT a business. We invest on non profitable businesses in Africa. That is why the country is not developing. Corruption, and mismanagements all over Ghana. We don't have thinkers to manage the cou ...

• WHAT DID WE EXPECT ? INFLATED COSTS,KICKBACKS,CORRUPTION, INEFFICIENCY AND WASTE AT EVERY LEVEL 1 year ago

What did we expect when every contract ,every project becomes a channel for some folk to siphon off public funds, get massive kickbacks after over-inflated estimates and .Inefficiency , incompetence and waste have become a wa ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Travelling by air in Ghana is too expensive. That's one of the reasons why people choose to travel by road. People would have travel by air if the price is affordable.

• Stan & Ollie 1 year ago

Low passenger patronage is a reflection of the economy. There is no money in the pockets of potential passengers. Simple like that. Do you want others to invest in an airport shop or restaurant by this time? It doesn't look l ...

• Ghanawatch 1 year ago

And Bawumia is promising to establish another airport in Cape Coast just for votes without thinking about its economic viability. Our politicians are only interested in power and not the economic interest of the nation.Lo ...

• wofa yaw 1 year ago

At least that is a tourist centre. It makes it easy to travel from Accra to Cape Coast, Kakum and Elmina. It will be more profitable than Ho, Tamale, Wa, Sunyani all combined.

• Earl Jones 1 year ago

What an unfortunate statement. If these airports are investments, we are not interested in what is left after expenditure. We are interested in the return of the investment. How much was spent to build these airports? What re ...

• BEKYEMNKHWANTA 1 year ago

Whose idea brought about that useless Ayigbe HO airport.?See how the Ewes intentionally misapply and steal Ghana's resources which generally come from Akan lands.

• Sule 1 year ago

It's sad that Internet has allowed anybody to comment on anything, anyhow anonymously. If you'll let somebody who understands English read this and explain to you, instead of just looking at the picture posted, you'll see tha ...

• HO GENERATED NO INCOME! 1 year ago

Read again my friend, Ho is the only one that failed to make a single cedi. Any fool could have told Mahama that building Ho airport would be throwing money away but because of the kickbacks he was getting, and just like the ...

• Gaskia 1 year ago

So without Ho airport, would the others have made profit?

• Kwame nkrumah 1 year ago

A 30-minutes domestic flight is an indication that surface transport is choked. There is the need to redefine domestic flight in West Africa sub region. Why nor ECOWAS as one air region

• Ghanaian 1 year ago

I think the audit report was too hasty in its conclusion on the regional airports. Airports are strategic national assets and investment which outlive their economic estimates. The report covered one year period. Do we know w ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. U3j3h

• Mubi 1 year ago

If they decide to offload some of their shares to private investors too Alblakwa and co.will be making noise. Is there any sense in running a country like this?

• Mubi 1 year ago

If they decide to offload some of their shares to private investors too Ablakwa and co.will be making noise. Is there any sense in running a country like this? With all these NDC is still promising to build airport in all six ...

• Flag of Ghana 1 year ago

Kwasea called Mubi. Is that the reason why your government deliberately runs it down and then turns round to offload the shares to their cronies? You are a big fool

• Abugre 1 year ago

What was the expenditure on? Capital or operational? Without the breakdown, it will not be fair to comment without further details.

• Nico 1 year ago

A child could have done the calculations, promising airports as political Christmas gifts. NPP's financial imbeciles.

• Jerry 1 year ago

Tell us what were their expected earnings vis-a-vis the actual earnings you’ve reported. I bet they don’t have any expected revenue. That means no analysis was done before constructing the airports, they were just done as ...

• Alberto 1 year ago

So is this a lost? I thought fixed assets have a long term returns life span so why did the auditors want an instant profit.

• Guv'ner 1 year ago

If the report of the loss is from ALL our domestic airports, why did Ghanaweb use the picture of Ho airport to highlight their report?

• Togbe Novi 1 year ago

Accra is choked.Everbody want to build in.Accra.Spread the.Population across the country. Mojority of Ghanians are Ewes and Ashantis.I dont see why kumasi and the aiport in the Eweland are not doing well.

• Eworze 1 year ago

Hmm, to me Eweland is so close to Accra, so even if Ewes travel home (which they don't do at all), it'll always be by road. But Kumasi own might become profitable somewhere in the future.

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

Geographically Ghana as it stand now must have only 3 Airport- the coastal belt which is the Accra international Airport, The middle belt which is the Kumasi International Airport and the northern belt which is the Tamale in ...

• They need to be strategic 1 year ago

Constructing the Ho Airport was only an NDC Political decision. There was no economic consideration for it. Maybe it should be used primarily as a Military airport. Where Airport needed to be constructed is Bolgatanga that ca ...

• Gaskia 1 year ago

Another one. The article talks about "Regional Airports", you're talking about Ho airport. It's obvious that Free SHS has wasted our money for nothing for your level of education.

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

Poul Adom whatever he called himself. He is very incompetent as the word .

• Good Mama 1 year ago

Useless article,do you expect such a huge investment in a year.?

• Twum 1 year ago

Simply put, Sunyani air port performed better. Didn’t cost the state too much compared to the rest..!

• PK 1 year ago

It would have been a miracle to recoup all the expenditure within a year. Capital investments take time to even break even.

• Jibril 1 year ago

Another very stupid analysis. Do you start harvesting cocoa or corn a day after planting? When did the new Tamale Airport terminal become operational? Kumasi became operational only last month, which means it was still under ...

• Jack Toronto 1 year ago

When the wicked RULES, the people suffers. Ghana has been put to a REVERSE GEAR.

• Development without Growth 4 months ago

Tony Killick told us this a long time ago. The show off is too much. Let’s focus on development. We have auditors but do we have cost accountants to evaluate these projects before they are undertaken?

Partisanship and ...