SSNIT scraps sale of four hotels after public uproar, Rock City's bid withdrawal

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Dede 1 year ago

Better..

• Zoobie-Zoobie 1 year ago

ELIZABETH OHENE IS UNFIT TO BE SSNIT BOARD CHAIR!!!!!

A DIRTY CROOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• YSL 1 year ago

Mmoa, now dem see sey the power belongs to the people, if Ghanaians could unite as how the labour unions did, like no stupid useless politicians can ever take dem for granted, the politicians will always dance to their tune a ...

• Quran is toilet paper 1 year ago

I spit on sick dog prophet mohammed.

• Gingaary 1 year ago

Yes shit on him .... No wonder you've been made miserable and fighting success ... Go and read,learn to master ghe act of life and have peace with your soul.... You are just pathetic ...awww someone's child...hmm

Akuffo Addo is more scared of his own shadow in the Jubillee House than Kenyan President William Ruto who run away from the State House in Nairobi seeking refuge in Mombasa now. A little bit of protest especially through th ...

• ELIZABETH OHENE, YOU SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE SALE SO WHY DONT YOU GO AHEAD WITH IT 1 year ago

Disgraced Board Chairperson, Elizabeth Ohene, you claim there was nothing wrong with the sale so why dont you go ahead with it. Shame on you.

People's power has spoken and very soon some of you will be thrown into Jail.

May God richly bless Samuel Okudjeto Ablakwa and bless most of the Ghanaian women wombs to give birth to more Samuel Okudjeto Ablakwas to help us check mate the corrupt and NPP politicians and the system we are faced with. ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

That guy is a very miserable person. This is a public platform and to express such hate against someone’s faith really shows where he is in his life. If he is a Christian, he should back and read his bible.

• CAD 1 year ago

This NPP guy wants to divert attention from the germaine issues. He is all over. Muslims must be aware and ignore him.

• AB 1 year ago

Man pass man

• Digging Deeper. 1 year ago

Elizabeth Ohene, If the sale was bad and you were going through with it, you should resign. If the sale was good and you are not going through with it, you should resign.

• Prest 1 year ago

Sincerely, Elizabeth Ohene should have added that the SSNIT board has also resigned. I am surprised that with these years in the UK, Elizabeth Ohene did not learn to practice nationalism and patriotism.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 year ago

That is why organised labour should equally call for all those involved in this scam to be sacked.

• Francis 1 year ago

Why has Ghanaweb remove the poll about Ghana's best president? Is it because Akufo Addo is shinning in that poll and Mahama, Rawlings and Atta Mills are not faring well there???? Ghanaweb is trully an NDC mole.

@FRANCIS....

THIS IS NO POLL; IT IS FAKE:

GHANAWEB IS OWNED BY NPP MP. NO WONDER THE MOST INCOMPETENT CROOK AND A THIEF (AKUFO ADDO) IS DOING BETTER THAN EXPECTED!!!!!!!!!!!

• FAROUK ISSAKA. 1 year ago

You are right Nana and Kuffour were shinning more than the ndc dwanfunu and killer jj.

• Nonsense 1 year ago

I voted 10 times in that poll

• FEAR NDC &SAVE YOUR LIFE. 1 year ago

YOU VOTED 10 TIMES FOR MAHAMA BUT HE WAS STILL BEHIND. THIS SHOWS HOW GHANAIANS HATE CRIMINALS AS PRESIDENTS.

• AB 1 year ago

Can't you simply use your head and know that it is Mahama voters who gave their votes to Nkrumah. After all, Nkrumah is no more

• Adonis 1 year ago

Oh Francis, the poll is still ongoing. It's there not removed ignoramus. Look for it. And if you truly believe in Ghanaweb polls, then you should be concerned about the results of a similar poll which ask: Who will you vote ...

• Adonis 1 year ago

Anyway @ ignoramus Francis, like I said, the polls is still ongoing. Go and check the results out. Mahama has overtaken Kuffour and Nana. Ghanaweb is disingenuous in this poll. Let the question be between Nkrumah and nukpui N ...

• Gingaary 1 year ago

May God bless Ablakwa and raise more and betterbof his kind for mother Ghana who will ensure selfish and corrupt citizens are relegated to the cleaners

• FEAR NDC &SAVE YOUR LIFE. 1 year ago

THIS SHOWS NANA IS A LISTENING PRESIDENT, HAD IT BEEN MAHAMA HE WOULD HAVE SOLD IT SECRETLY WITHOUT NOBODY'S KNOWLEDGE. LOOK AT HOW THE NDC SOLD THE LITHIUM CONCESSIONS TO NUNU MENSAH'S SON IN 2012 WITHOUT NOBODY'S KNOWLEDGE ...

• BITTER KOLA 1 year ago

We're not angry enough; together with organized labour, groups like 'fix the country,' 'occupy julorbi' etc can bring this unworthy leadership of NPP crooks to their their knees.

Aluta!

Who say man no dey?

• godfather 1 year ago

Leadership of labour must now take charge of the leadership of ssnit.

• CKA 1 year ago

I think our leaders are not serious. Does it mean that SSNIT cannot appoint any CEO and give him a performance contract? This is a simple case. It is about management deficiency and can be easily set. LET SSNIT meet organise ...

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 year ago

It is a BIG WIN for well-meaning Ghanaians. Special thanks to Sammy Okujatoe Ablakwa and court of public opinion judges. This criminal case would have been lost in the our biased court loaded with very known NPP sympathisers. ...

• Kabila 1 year ago

You shall know them by their fruits! Therefore, Nana Addo is a devil.

@CKA...

THE PROBLEM WITH SSNIT IS THAT THE BOARD CHAIR IS UNFIT AND QUALIFIED, THE DIRECTOR IS UNFIT AND UNQUALIFIED AND MOST OF THE BOARD MEMBERS ARE USELESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Nana Kwaku 1 year ago

Don't EVER think you know more than those in the current SSNIT Management team or those who have been there since 1981.SSNIT main problem is purely political since late JJ Rawlings' regime.I am sad that Ghanaians are not look ...

• Good Boy 1 year ago

Nansis once again. I said next time you will see Kenya in Ghana. We are coming for all the thieves keeping dollars in their rooms. Delete it again and see..nansis.

• James Bassop 1 year ago

Ghanaians ought to rise up in similar fashion come December, 7th 2024 and vote massively against this government so we can recover all of our assets that includes lands, bungalows, funds stolen and grabbed by government offic ...

• Johnny 1 year ago

You've a BIG problem which is bigger than yourself.You need help.

• Ken 1 year ago

Hoooooo
    The thieves have finally swallowed the bitter pill

• Adpoc 1 year ago

WHERE WERE THE TUC AND ABLAKPA WHEN J.J. RAWLINGS SOLD NSAWAM CANNERY TO HIS WIFE, NANA KONADU AGYEMAN RAWLINGS..
    NDC YOU CREATED, LOOTED AND SHARED STATE ASSETS AND TODAY YOU ARE CRYING FOUL.
    GOD WILL ASK YOU, ONE BY ONE ...

• Elvis - Peterborough UK 1 year ago

THEY ARE STILL LOCKED UP IN YOUR DIRTY MOTHER'S NYARSH... GO DIG THEM OUT, YOU IDIOT!!!

@adpoc

ARE YOU AN IDIOT?

• Akufo Addo state capture stopped 1 year ago

The most nepotistic, corrupt and insensitive government in our history stopped. The next government should investigate all the looting and reverse this unprecedented state capture and greed.

• Johnny,Oyarifa -Madina 1 year ago

I don't think you live on this planet probably you just arrived.There is a particular tribe which is paying dearly for that tribal foolishness but doesn't care.Sadly they are just 13% of Ghana's population.

• Mr Ibu 1 year ago

This comes less than 24 hours after the minister after the labour minister had gone to parliament to justify the sale. Shouldn't the minister resign, if he has morals?

• Sammy 1 year ago

Enough is enough time to hit the streets and teach this criminals a lesson

• Sethoo 1 year ago

Nobody will go onto the street Ghanaians have learnt their lessons from Rawlings' time in 1981.People sacrificed for that FAKE revolution but in the end only the bastard and hid cronies benefitted.

• Asante 1 year ago

The sale should go on. How would Ken finance elections in 2928 and beyond. He is the main guy behind this acquisition. Rock just fronting

• kelewele 1 year ago

IT IS A DIVERSIONARY TACTIC!! They are intentionally deceiving the public with this. The deal will be done behind closed doors. Never trust any political party in Ghana. They are nothing but sophisticated crooks!

• Prof. Issifu 1 year ago

I thought they said Rock City has already paid for it? How do you just withdraw from the sale? These people are crooks! They’re just sharing public assets without paying for it. Sad!

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Bingo!!!! Spot on Prof Issifu!!!!!!

• Kimawee 1 year ago

Dem dey play!

• Asomani Samuel 1 year ago

Nonsense next time joke with the people.why is it that the government doesn't want to listen to sense.naniama.what u are doing is not good but still u are defending it . From now on no government should be allowed to fool wit ...

• Peter 1 year ago

I thought Elizabeth Ohene who claims she is fearless said she was right in approving the deal.Why is he backing down?

• Akut 1 year ago

After all they are not as stubborn as I thought. They have succumbed to the people's demand in the face of a general strike. So they have learnt a good lesson from the Kenyas.

• Justrac Africa Ltd 1 year ago

• Peace maker 1 year ago

Nana Addo government is actually most corrupt in Africa and in Ghanaian history... Akronfuor mu Akronfuor paaa

• Eddy 1 year ago

Termination of sales or withdrawal from purchase is not enough. TUC and Organise Labour must further insist of the dissolution of the SSNIT board entirely as well as the resignation of the Director of SSNIT the son of Osafo M ...

• Geeman 1 year ago

This woman was bragging that they follow the right procedure on the sales of these hotels , she went on to say that they should prosecute her if the right procedure doesn't follow, that ssnit will not back down because o ...

• Ewusiwaa 1 year ago

I completely agree. Gross incompetence and inability to do any critical analysis of the sales bids…

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 1 year ago

Organised Labour must force Akuffo Addo to resign, period

• Kwaku 1 year ago

How many Ghanaians are members of that organised Labour?Your party NDC and NPP have created employment for only 850,000 ppl.There are many Ghanaians who are unemployed so how can the few in organised Labour change govt?

• Eddy 1 year ago

Mr do u actually understand what you are saying.
    Do know the composition of Organise Labour?

• Adanko 1 year ago

SSNIT should reclaim all sold assets as well .

• John,Tema 1 year ago

There will be a problem bcoz former NDC appointees own most of those assets.The Ahwois who are godfathers of Ablakwa Okudjeto own majority of those properties.

• Tobiah 1 year ago

The board and political management should resign or be fired. Akufo Addo and his hench men are theives.

Ablakwa and the leaders of the labour unions deserve order of the volta awards.

• Digging Deeper. 1 year ago

Good. Now, resign for your failure to protect the public interest. If the sale was bad and you were going through with it, you should resign. If the sale was good and you are not going through with it, resign.

• Kofi 1 year ago

That Elizabeth Ohene is a BOMB. Now Ghana hate her the most. Evil woman

• Odjame 1 year ago

Management and the Board must go.

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

Naniama.
    Akuffo Addo is a curse.
    Bawulair Timothy is a disaster.
    Napo Arrogance is a Mess.
    Dead on arrival.
    Honorable Ablakwa the Demon Investigator has won the battle for Ghana. Hurray.
    God bless you Honorable Ablak ...

• Rose 1 year ago

NANIAMA YOU GO TALK TRUE YOU THINK SAY GHANA BELONGS TO YOU FOOLS, NEXT TIME COME AGAIN STUPID IDIOTS

• Toko 1 year ago

Goats, you guys just wait, the worst more than Kenyan would surely happen before end of the year.

• Citizen Gh. 1 year ago

All the boarded members must resign or be sacked, including Osafo Marfo's son.
    This guy has been planted there orchestrate the sale of SSNIT. Nation wreckers brigade. They should all be sacked by the next government. As for ...

• Kwaku Anansi 1 year ago

SO WILL ANYONE VOTE FOR BRYAN ACHEAMPONG?
    In a morally upright country, Bryan Acheampong would have resigned before rescinding the bid for the SSNIT hotels.
    He hasn’t done it and not a word from Ghanaians expressing thei ...

• Sam. 1 year ago

The power of the leader is not powerful than the power of the people.

Power to the people.

Finally The People Won!

• Quist 1 year ago

How can a character like Elizabeth Ohene be made a Board chair to manage SSNIT funds? We are not serious as a human beings in this country ooo. This idiot stupid girl

• Co2 1 year ago

No minister should be allowed to purchase any state properties including land, housing and other rejected projects. Why do a minister leave his job assignment and go chasing his own selfish gains forgetting he is the Agricult ...

• Boateng 1 year ago

Sad NPP government is taking Ghanaians for a ride.
    Now that destrotive labour strike is declared the board chairperson says she has terminated the hotels sales.
    Why.....

• Ananse System 1 year ago

That idiot of the son of osafo Mario all the board members should be sacked by the mother serpent of corruption

• Yaw 1 year ago

We leave to see how these hotels will operate for Ghanaians will then turn round to say ahh they should have sold them.

• Akua 1 year ago

ALL GOVERNMENT LANDS INCLUDING BUNGALOWS SHOIULD BE TAKEN BACK INCLUDING ALISA HOTEL POLICE BUGALOW

• CAD 1 year ago

Naniama ! You see Ghanaians want you out. Don't play any tricks. Just leave Ghana in peace NOT pieces!

• King 1 year ago

Both parties have bought government properties
    I hope we will list all government properties in the country and who owns them

• Boldsteven mother serpent of corruptionn 1 year ago

You see your foolishness and ineptitude you only have some few months to pack from the place. Have you now realised the power of workers to back out out now. Kofi Bosompem Osafo Maafo continue to engage if you can't get compe ...

• Tsotsoo 1 year ago

We have learnt a lot from past governments as Ghanaians. One thing is that it is always better for private partnership in some government businesses to avoid nepotism, greed and neglect. Due to huge financial requirements the ...

• Kofi Ghanaba 1 year ago

SSNIT should float the hotel shares on the stock market.

• Well done ssnit and rock city hotel for abrogating the sale of ssnit shares 1 year ago

Well done ssnit and rock city hotel for abrogating the sale of ssnit 60% shares in ssnit hotels.
    P/NDC has sold over 600 state owned companies to themselves what did TUC did.

• Can't think far 1 year ago

Just asking, did SSNIT board sit in the middle of the night and issue the statement, or Elizabeth Ohene issue the statement sitting in her bedroom???

• Baluk 1 year ago

They’ve terminated it because Election is drawing nearer that’s the reason. Even any ordinary Ghanaian with common sense can attest if not because of Election getting closer Bryan Acheampong will buy the hotels, NAPO will ...

• Who signed the Rock City letter. No name in the signature block? 1 year ago

The letter lacks credibility as there is no name I the signature block.

• Observer 1 year ago

People power. Now the Director General and Board Chair should both resign and be replaced with independent and professional people

• Ghanaboy, Dunkirk. Scotland. 1 year ago

Organised labour should ask for the dissolution of the board and the entire SSNIT management with immediate effect

• Batuta 1 year ago

The useless pressure groups and their NDC allies will belch with satisfaction that they have won but their actions will come back to bite them. When these hotels eventually collapse and rot, these same people will hypocritica ...

• GHANA CANNOT BE CAPTURED BY FOOLISH AKUFFO ADDO 1 year ago

GHANA WILL RESIST THE OPPRESSOR AKUFFO ADDO KWASIA RULE. GHANAIANS ARE READY TO DIE DEFENDING OUR ONLY COUNTRY THAT DOES NOT BELONG TO FOOLISH AND RETARDED FUCKING LUNATIC IDIOT CALLED AKUFFO ADDO. WE ARE READY FOR DEC 7 2024 ...

• Cc 1 year ago

Foolish leaders

• ABLAKWA A NATIONAL HERO 1 year ago

ABLAKWA is simply a national hero....

Give credit to those who truly deserve it without any political party affiliations.

ABLAKWA killed Nana Addo's SCAM CATHEDRAL AND SSNIT SCAM HOTEL SALE....

WHAT A NATIO ...

• William Ejisu 1 year ago

The buyer wasn't a private investor,...he was a high ranking Government Minister who was privy to insider Government goings on.
    What I would like to know is ,if the SSNIT WANTED SELL THEIR HOLDINGS IN THESE HOTELS ,WHY WA ...

• Shata Wale 1 year ago

NPP fears Ablakwa like kakai. Hai, hai, hai, Okudzeto come like kakai. Call me your headmaster. Ablakwa coughs and NPP runs amok. Heheheeee . Shitting in their pants. Saaaa

• DEEVINITY 1 year ago

Where's the signature????

• KOFI 1 year ago

This our leaders are given us proper cutting edge leadership. This urgent letter should have been first to be seen on SSNIT website but a search shows nothing is there. Something that is going to involve all Public Sector Wor ...

• Koko 1 year ago

Sack the management especially the osafo marfo and Elizabeth ohene. They are incompetent and corrupt as has been shown by their actions.

• BISHOP ROLLINS 1 year ago

Corruption kills. If Ghana cannot kill corruption, then corruption will kill Ghanaians.
    Its just as simple as that.