Comparing the number of Supreme Court judges to US is not well grounded – Chief Justice

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Abena 1 year ago

Chief justice don't waist you energy on this people who don't read to know what happens in other places

• A scheme by the Akyem Sakawa Mafia 1 year ago

@Abena

You're very clueless just as the person you sort to support. Why don't the CJ juxtapose her warped claims with references to other countries practicing the same unitary governance type of democracy?

I suspect th ...

• 99% of nppigs are fools 1 year ago

@Abena, I thought you had the monopoly to reading and yet you wrote "waist" for waste. You see how stupid you are?

• Turning the Corner 1 year ago

How do you need 20 Supreme court judges to just back unanimous Verdicts? It is not like each judge write their reasoned opinion! They are just there to say yeah yeah and why do we even need 10 judges to do this basic job??

• Obibs 1 year ago

Mr know it all. So how would you describe the person directly below the one you are so quick to criticise using "sort" to imply "sought" ?

• Our Homeland 1 year ago

Hahahaha…Pity isn’t it? The CJ statement contradicts her own assertion. Going by her own words, the US should still have a higher number in their Supreme Court than Ghana regardless of how you dice it. How can a country l ...

• Boat 1 year ago

Do you read if you do look for or borrow a constituion read Article 128(1) then move on to Article 1(1) and 1(2) if you have time I will give you decided cases to read.Where did The Honourable CJ substantiated a claim with co ...

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 year ago

'Waist' indeed...HARD TRUTH: no one is coming to rescue you from unemployment/lack! - it is every man for himself. Use that seed in your hand & Learn a service oriented skill to-Earn - it is much easier than buying-&-selling ...

• JACK TORONTO 1 year ago

ABENA, YOU AND THE CHIEF JUSTICE SHOULD HAVE MADE A REFERENCE TO THE UNITED KINGDOM WHICH PRACTICES THE UNITARY SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT LIKE GHANA.

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

YES MADAM ...SCHOOL THEM...THEY JUST OPEN THEIR MOUTHS AND TALK...IGNORANTS...TWEAA.

• Wisefolk 1 year ago

Sisi mu d3 ne gyimie nti, you can't even spell waste.

• DMB(Don't Mind Bawumia ) 1 year ago

Hahaaa

• Game Changer 1 year ago

What is she talking about at all to justify the over bloated SC judges we already have considering our population as compared to many other democracies who are more wealthy and most populous than Ghana.

• MC 1 year ago

How many states of the US is Ghana as a country bigger than? Appointing many judges to the Supreme will only add to the "problem". Depoliticising the judiciary will rather solve the "problem".

• Kkb 1 year ago

This woman should stop pretending by sweeping every legitimate concern under her pant! We r also saying that ur recommendation to ur bosom boss n friend, the president by specifically listed particular judges to be appointed ...

• Asantehene 1 year ago

The CJ has not made any sense here which of the states is Ghana doing better than?what is the population of those States compared to Ghana, what is their GDP as compared to Ghana, lazy chief justice who is just in to carry ou ...

• Nana 1 year ago

This is a bloody idiot. Nobody should be listening to her again. This is worst square peg who damaged the judicature.

• Nana 1 year ago

Madam CJ you are right and I agree with you, 100%. Most Ghanaians are fond of criticising everything even though they may have little or no knowledge about it. The US have fifty three Attorney Generals and fifty three Suprem ...

• Star from the North 1 year ago

She doesn’t make sense to me with this kind of juxtaposition of importance matters regarding our country. How long does the US supreme Court’s take to adjudicate cases? Simple cases in Ghana takes several years to come to ...

• Freewill 1 year ago

Don't worry we will approve give u. Who wouldn't like to retire on a fat salary?

• Tweneboah Amo 1 year ago

Madam Tokono see Ghanaian as fools with her talking about US number of judges at the US Supreme Court

• Balulu 1 year ago

Madam CJ stop spewing garbage in other serious countries by this time you will be fired from that your seat and be under investigation. Despite the fact that you are CJ doesn’t authorize you to recommend appointment of new ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

The comparison may not be well-grounded but for you to proceed on your instance to expand through recommendations for appointments without national dialogue is equally detestable.

• Edward 1 year ago

Wrong argument!!! Most of the individual states in USA have more population than the whole of Ghana and still they have maximum of 9 supreme Court judges per state. Stop assigning Supreme Court judges to sit as High Court and ...

• Dunia 1 year ago

Silly lady. Why are you doing your best to give real reasons to be removed by the incoming NDC government? You were not voted into office with Akufo-Addo, but you're determined to leave with him. Why?

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

what is this ?
    so these are the reasonable person we have given the mandate to give final judgement on conflict issues and criminal matters in the country?
    ahh-$
    those who made the comparison on the other side are more d ...

• Pee 1 year ago

Madam it is well grounded. What’s your country size and what’s the size of US. Your time will come

• Kelly 1 year ago

Foolish woman. I thought women are less corrupt and are better leaders until women started occupying positions. Kwasia woman like that.

• godfather 1 year ago

Madam CJ, you like controversies... You 1st controversy was transferring a judge for starting a case afresh in the opuni debacle, 2 controversy was transferring Dormaahene over his comments on the Assin North Mp case, 3 contr ...

• Takyi 1 year ago

This Chief Justice is a moron. Initially, I had really great expectations when she initially assumed office, but now I simply cringe anytime she makes her opinions on any subject matter especially those that border on the jud ...

• Ama Koranteng 1 year ago

Stupid woman. There are only 9 US Supreme Court justices. How can such a person be a Chief justice.

• Steve Williams 1 year ago

CJ, please have you realised the problem you have brought into yourself? If you had stayed in your comfort zone, and had not been a poodle of the president, all these would not happened. You have brought the image of the supr ...

• Steve Williams 1 year ago

Error: SHOULD READ OR THE JUDICIAL SERVICE?

• bugwbaba 1 year ago

corrupt people, Allah is watching All of you and your gimmicks.

What is not well grounded? Keep quiet and do your unanimousFC job! Who needs 20 judges to unanimously say Yeah yeah!

• Solomon Nana Agyemang 1 year ago

GHANA HAS 16 REGIONS. CAN'T SHE ALSO HAVE 1 SUPREME COURT PER REGION TO TOTAL 16 SUPREME COURT JUSTICES AT LEAST?

• Ghana Hard 1 year ago

If the supreme Court were your personal business, would you have employed 20 people to manage it when only 10 people can do the job?

• Micky Ronnie 1 year ago

Please go read agyapadee book page 31, and you would understand what they've asked her to do. Parking of the court is a strategy well planned and being executed gradually by the president of Ghana.

• Tygar 1 year ago

Oh black woman what is well grounded?

• Rory 1 year ago

Why not cite examples from Kenya and Britain with similar political systems?

Also, check their populations and number of supreme Court Justices.
    Kenya: population = roughly 56 million. Supreme Court Justices = 7.

Bri ...

• Joe 1 year ago

She is still not making sense because the US supreme court can overturn decision by any state supreme court

• Betty 1 year ago

PLEASE THE NEXT GOOD GOVERNMENT COMING ON SHOULD RETIRED ALL THE EXCESS NUMBERS OFJUDGES IN ALL THE COURTS

• Betty 1 year ago

PLEASE THE NEXT GOOD GOVERNMENT COMING ON SHOULD RETIRED ALL THE EXCESS NUMBERS OFJUDGES IN ALL THE COURTS. MAY THE CHIEF JUSTICE TELL US THE NUMBER OF PO[ULATIONS IN NIGERIA AND THE SIZE OF THEIR COURT

• Panafbooks.com 1 year ago

In Ghana the Supreme Court is the court of last resort and the highest in the country. There are Supreme Courts in New York State but they are not the Court of last resort. They are superceded by the Court of Appeals which is ...

• Slim 1 year ago

Incompetent stogies in wigs

• Man 1 year ago

United States has a population of over 200 milling people, and is about 7 time bigger than Ghana, so what is.this Lady saying?

• KofSam 1 year ago

That is a stupid call from the chief justice to ask for an increase in the number of the justices.
    Ghanaians have a right to compare Ghana with the US because that is what we do . Ghanaians just copy anything that is Americ ...

• Foolish woman 1 year ago

Foolish woman

CJ needs 20 cement bags to back unanimousFC decisions

CHIEF DISGRACE.

Madam Chief Justice, you don't make any sense. You're a lackey of Akufo-Addo and Dame, out to help those two crooked thieving nation-wreckers to pack the Supreme Court before leaving office. A country as sm ...

Our judges waste a lot of time over cases in their courts.
    I took a case in court in 2019 and the defendants did not step into the court, nor stray into it even once.
    The judge waited till 2022 to rule on the case.

• Born 1 year ago

This CJ is a criminal , she must be impeached when there is change in govt come 2025, how can you unilaterally recommend through your letter head judges to be appointed to the Supreme Court bench ? If the is not criminal and ...

• Asonaba asiedu 1 year ago

You and your fellow over pampered supreme Court judges should put in extra shift to clear cases instead of looking to overburden the already stretched taxpayers. You guys seem to be on holidays about 6 times a year. You can c ...

• COD 1 year ago

It is well-grounded, Madam CJ.
    The comparison of the number of Justices at our Supreme Court to that of the USA is well-grounded and well-thought out.
    The Justices at our SC in Ghana are too many.
    Basically, they must be r ...

• CAR TRACKING SYSTEMS. 1 year ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...

• Our Homeland 1 year ago

Too known. Quoting articles here does not make you more intelligent than anybody. You sound empty and petty

• Amanfour 1 year ago

What the CJ is saying makes a lot of sense.