ECOWAS set to unveil single currency ECO

Read Comments Comments (78)

• FOCUS 1 year ago

Which is which? Eco or interoperability?

I suspect its because Ghana for now as a result economic and Monetary meltdown cannot meet any of the prerequisites for Eco
    Let the truth be told.We in Ghana are not smarter than ...

• GhostWriter 1 year ago

Your comment reveals you as someone with a low IQ.

• Eco and the printing of cash 1 year ago

The introduction of the Eco means the NPP govt cannot "lean" on the BOG governor to print cash, which is why Bawumia is pushing for interoperability.

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 year ago

@FOCUS you are 100% correct with your comments. This vanity project will fail like everything else Africans do, a baseless foundation for which we can’t even manage our own respective currencies, fools…

• Nana Yaa 1 year ago

Who.listems to bawumia these days? Even his party don't! He knows nothing about economy and currencies!

• ECO can’t solve all the region’s problems BUT 1 year ago

Ghana is not more important than any other member of ECOWAS. All have comparative advantages they bring to the table. Which west African country is Ghana feeding? Even Nigeria has to dash Ghana common child immunization va ...

• SOLOMON 1 year ago

Depending on cote d'ivoire and Nigeria for power? Please come again.

• Nana Yaa 1 year ago

Yes off course you get your gas supply from Nigeria. You don't know that?

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 year ago

Jokers...No one is coming to rescue you! - it is every man for himself.Use that seed in your hand & Learn a service oriented skill to-Earn - it is much easier than buying-&-selling which requires you looking for capital. As a ...

• Spear 1 year ago

FRANCE is paying close attention. Any minister who foils this plan would get free visa to France. I bet you!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

Will OmoGhana and ZOOGERIANS be involved? I cry for my beloved country. ZOOGERIA should not be part of the participating countries. Do we know that the Great Britain was not part of the European Union currency. She did not t ...

• Sekyi 1 year ago

Now you where Britain is today with inward Looking after ww2 and Brexit now everything is expensive and companys moving to Europe etc and finally vote the the Conservatives historic out of government

• Nana Yaa 1 year ago

But the British economy is far better than many EU countries! Am sorry but the eco will be a useless currency, dispersely used now that west africa is so divided. I think west africa has too many issues now than to bether wit ...

• Elvis 1 year ago

Both Eco and Interoperability. The physical and the ecash.
    Yes, the convergence criteria, we in Ghana may not be ready now because of economic downturn. The way our economy has been run into the gutter by Npp government, it ...

• Nana Yaa 1 year ago

I 100% agree. Please don't let bawumia anywhere near the eco. A word to the wise is enough. Anything bawumia touches is crap!

• Major 1 year ago

Ecowas is a joke. A corrupt and dead institution.

• Citizen GH 1 year ago

Absolutely bro

• GHANA MUST NOT BE PART OF IT.NIGERIA BEHIND IT 1 year ago

LOOK AT THE TRICK NOW!!!THE NIGERIAN CURRENCY IS THE WORST PERFORMING CURRENCY AT THE MOMENT THAT IS WHY NIGERIA IS PUSHING FOR THE ECO CURRENCY.THIS IS WILL BE A DISASTER FOR OTHER ECOWAS COUNTRIES THAT DECIDE TO BE PART OF ...

• Nana 1 year ago

Unfortunately nigeria will have to endure and wait. There is a convergence criteria which I don't think they can meet at the moment. It's not as simple as that!

• FOCUS 1 year ago

Why this peacock mentality when we have only humble pie to eat?

• Daniel Akesseh 1 year ago

More talk less action typical of blacks

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Disaster waiting to happen. 12 out of the 15 countries are bankrupt and Nigeria the biggest economy has the worst currency in the world.

• Panafbooks.com 1 year ago

Action speaks louder than words. Seeing is believing.

• Abidjigè. 1 year ago

Which of the countries have met the five criteria to make it operational? It has been the wish of the five English speaking countries to adopt the ECO for more than three decades. Which country has the economic might to absor ...

• Jane 1 year ago

The end is nearer. May God save us all. Amen.

• Raymond 1 year ago

Ugly currency. Bring us the 1978 muri muri. Great Murtala Mohammed. The man I trust when Nigeria was Nigeria. Not this Borla Tinubu

• ZUTAH PHILIP 1 year ago

Don't mind our leaders, they are a bunch of zombies they do not know what they are saying. We have heard this over and over. They should give us break.

• Andrew 1 year ago

I’m not an economist but the basic principle behind a strong currency is all trust. If we think and plan well this can end up saving our collective disastrous currencies.

• Mr bones 1 year ago

Got paid 3 million CFA in Mahama time it was 12,000gh , today the same 3 million CFA is 72,000gh, Ghana money is like toilet paper yet idiots are singing praises to a criminal like OGAR 1GH CARD.

• Gimmy 1 year ago

Your bones are confused. Lol

• Gondwana 1 year ago

Ecowas has now realized that the Sahelian states are preparing to have their own currency that will hugely affect other state members. For that reason they want to push the Eco in advance. Shame on you. Instead, think of how ...

• Anokwale 1 year ago

I thought this was tried years ago...I believe it was called the WAMZ but it never took off.

• GHANA MUST NOT BE PART OF IT.NIGERIA BEHIND IT 1 year ago

VERY TRUE.THE ECO NEVER TOOK OFF BECAUSE THE NIGERIAN CURRENCY THE NAIRA AT THAT TIME WAS QUITE STABLE.BUT AS OF NOW THE NAIRA IS THE WORST PERFORMING CURRENCY IN THE WORLD.THAT IS WHY NIGERIA IS PUSHING FOR THE ECO.IT WILL B ...

• Ali bAba 1 year ago

blacks are wicked ,I say on authority.

• Bitter truth#1 1 year ago

Just take zoo Nigerians out of this one currency and it will work perfectly..As long as zoo Nigerians will be part of this eco currency, it will not have any value..they will use their corrupt behavior to make the ECO useless ...

• Ghana is a failure 1 year ago

How can sensible Nigerians who are born to succeed hence hustle their asses off share same currency with subhumans like you with no economic value.
    How can Nigeria share a currency with a country that has proven time again ...

• Ogo 1 year ago

Nigerians are hardened criminals. They will print fake currencies and would make the entire currency worthless.

• Ghana is a failure 1 year ago

Thank God subhuman Ghanaians created by Satan with no functional brain cells are the ones printing FAKE everything including fake Guinness world record certificates

• Ogo 1 year ago

So you forgotten that tinubu has fake certificate

• TINUBU HAS A FAKE CERTIFICATE 1 year ago

TELL HIM AGAIN.HE DEFINITELY HAS FORGOTTEN EVERYTHING ABOUT NIGERIA IS FAKE INCLUDING THEIR PRESIDENT WHO HAS A FAKE CERTIFICATE

U mean those zoo Nigerians who are sub humans and are in that zoo called nigeria..Nigeria na zoo now..How can intelligent Ghanaians mingle and share the same money with criminals from zoo Nigeria..Nigerians are too criminals ...

• Ameh Goddey 1 year ago

I was thinking that Ghanian more intelligent enough to recognize that with eco currency they don't dollar to transacts business with neighboring countries that could be a relieve for cedis exchange rate which already under p ...

• Bestbuy Ent 1 year ago

Buy your catfish fingerlings from us to start your business. And also get after service support to help you succeed .0557430128___~.

• Anthony 1 year ago

This Ecowas ass wipers of the west think now is the time to lunch the Eco just because the junctas are planning to lunch theirs. Western puppet Ecowas

• Auntie Love 1 year ago

Ah!!! Sika no eny3 f3 koraa! Who came up with this design for the ECO? It doesn't looks like authentic money. Could have come up with a design like the current money that is in circulation. Eyi di, eny3 koraa!!!

• Bravo Burkina Fasso, Mali and Niger 1 year ago

The grand conspiracy to perpetually subjugate Africa financially, has now been exposed by the self-reliance of the three Sahelian States of Burkina Fasso Mali and Niger.
    Why the scramble to introduce the Eco now after France ...

• Zonu Benson 1 year ago

ECOWAS cannot, this institution is just a toothless dog. Africa we have paper plans but poor implementation.

• Pa massa 1 year ago

Useless puppet ecowas leaders
    Criminals motherfuckers thieves

• KWASI 1 year ago

We have heard this before !!
    Moma yendwene y'eho.

• Duse Robert Kofi Killian 1 year ago

It will be a nice thing to use at least we will basically and clearly see the country that have better standard of living in no time

• Yaw Appiah 1 year ago

This is good news . It might make our economy stable

• FOOLISH TALK 1 year ago

Stop this nonsense. Nigerians will print a lot of fake currencies.

Ecowas with that zoo Nigeria is totally useless..they will print fake money and make the ECO currency useless and worthless..those criminals from the zoo nigeria will make this eco useless and worthless..look at the naira, th ...

• Northern Boy 1 year ago

I'm confused. Is ecowas made up of 12 or 15 states? Because 3 have left

• MJ 1 year ago

To unveil thrash

• Enyan Bridget 1 year ago

Nonsense,France will torpedo it

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

ECOWAS SHOULD MAKE SURE - AfRICA HAS ONE CENTRAL CREDIT CARD TERMINAL, to deal with online transaction, especially credit card.
    the bloc and the implementation would be much successful if Africa do away with physical mone ...

• Babaspirit 1 year ago

Bro, what are you talking? How many Africans do even have common Bank Accounts.

• Ghanaian 1 year ago

Just implement it, it’s been 22 years, since , I heard we are coming to use ECO as a currency.

• Nsia 1 year ago

@Ghanaian, nonsensical single currency is not the solution to our problems. Our problem is excessive corruption. Now, non of these these successful countries..... Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, South Korea, China, Malaysia, etc a ...

• ghboy 1 year ago

since when

• Worried citizen 1 year ago

IT LOOKS LIKE NIGERIA IS THE CEO OF WEST AFRICA,WHICH IS A SMART MOVE LOOKING AT THE AMOUNT OF CITIZENS AND THE COUNTRY SIZE NIGERIA WOULD BE AN EMPTY PIT WITHOUT ECOWAS . NOBODY TRUST NIGERIA, BUT NIGERIA USE OR FORCE OTHER ...

• James Dede 1 year ago

Please, we are for the ECO. Mr vice president, we beg you. Regional common currency is the way to go.

• Son of Sam 1 year ago

Not in this lifetime

• King 1 year ago

I’m praying it works

• Alkebulan 1 year ago

Why not ACO but Eco.

• King 1 year ago

Maybe some of us were too young or where not even born when they first planned to use the ECO,but I always ask myself when it couldn't materialize and I've come to realize that there are some leaders sabotaging the one curren ...

• Aba kade 1 year ago

Boot likers,irs keeping too long,

• Ezzyboss 1 year ago

This is good news. We need ECO now to relieve us dollar war.

• VK Offei 1 year ago

The ECO has been on the drawing board for far too long and it would an awesome idea when the currency is quickly introduced as legal tender into Economic Community States. Thanks

• Nsia 1 year ago

Our problem is corruption not some daft currency based on some lofty principles. As I said earlier, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Malaysia, China etc have all succeeded economically without a single currency. They ...

• Pouv 1 year ago

For nations that's shown itself not capable to get anything done properly and right. This eco is another nonsense

• Sian Chain 1 year ago

The major problem holding back the rollout of the ECO is greedy bastard African leaders, bastards like Akufo Addo and others like him. But don't worry, the Gen Zs are coming for you and we will replace all currencies with Dif ...

• Forte brown 1 year ago

It will be a very good idea, with that all African countries will stick to the same exchange rate for any foreign currency

• O'Dada 1 year ago

That's like importing the inequities of the northern Nigerian hegemony into every member of the ECOWAS union, including fraudsters, commercial banks and pastors

• Seth 1 year ago

@ Elvis. NDC and propaganda! You are jokers. When Africans are discussing serious issues to resolve sub regional challenges, you are worsening with divisions. The Afrian liberation struggle is bigger than any political party. ...

• mr amin 1 year ago

I don't believe them till I see it the launch date has been changing since the time of kufour secondly we don't want a weak currency, tea drinking leaders, look at the European union they were able to launch the euro and it's ...

• Dr. Alhassan Abdul Malik 1 year ago

It long over due and is far from reality, (they would not allow you)