Why is cement price increasing moment by moment? We must support the government’s initiative to bring the price of cement down. The cement producers must cooperate with the minister to resolve this matter urgently. There has to be a honest discussion among all the stakeholders to resolve the ever increasing of price rises. The public must know the tax component on a bag of cement
Ananse System 1 year ago
Idiots in power. The solution is to fix the exchange rate problem. Akuffo Addo has truly disgraced himself latalatalata
Quran is toilet paper 1 year ago
Destroy islam before it destroys you.
FRANKIE 1 year ago
Hey K. T. Vulture head you dey? I thought you're a capitalist and a believer in free market economy! Why are you trying to take us back to price control regime? Your incompetence and ineptitude and mediocrity has been exposed big time. A very big shame to NPP. You're a total disgrace to Kwame Nkrumah's belief that "the black man is capable of managing his own affairs."
Erica 1 year ago
Capitalism everywhere has elements of price control without which companies with seeming monopolies will destroy the economy as we are seeing with cement in Ghana.
In the US prices of things like insulin and several other ... read full comment
Capitalism everywhere has elements of price control without which companies with seeming monopolies will destroy the economy as we are seeing with cement in Ghana.
In the US prices of things like insulin and several others are regulated.
I think we need to look into commodity trading, to see what role it can play in stabilising prices in our markets
Ghanaman 1 year ago
Some Ghanaians are funny people. When you mismanage the economy, inflation will drive cement prices up. Some people expect manna in the form of raw materials, to fall from heaven and keep cement prices stable. It's just like Rawlings and his army gangs, who brutalised and assaulted market women in those days of "control price". What did it achieve? ....empty shelves and markets and a few goods, stolen from traders by soldiers, being sold for a short while at control prices until they ran out.
mr amin 1 year ago
Why are they running from the media? It means they might be hiding something, well done minister more grease to your elbow
EFO KOKU 1 year ago
LONG OVERDUE
All the hardships Ghanaians are going through are their own making. They deliberately increase their prices and blame the government. Why are the cement producers shying away from the media? If they have a genu ... read full comment
LONG OVERDUE
All the hardships Ghanaians are going through are their own making. They deliberately increase their prices and blame the government. Why are the cement producers shying away from the media? If they have a genuine case, why aren’t they laying it there for all to know? It’s deliberate and Ndc has taken advantage of the situation. Government must be tough on these commodity producers. Not just cement but iron rods and market women as well. They have made the country so hard to live in and blame the government.
Ananse System 1 year ago
Shame on you for knowing the truth but shying away from it. This long write-up exposes your ignorance
J0eY l0nD0N 1 year ago
Don't be silly okay.
Out of the 100% over raw materials and components needed to manufacture a 25 kilograms of cement, 85% are chemicals and components are manufactured overseas.
Ask your stupid pepsodent reasons why ... read full comment
Don't be silly okay.
Out of the 100% over raw materials and components needed to manufacture a 25 kilograms of cement, 85% are chemicals and components are manufactured overseas.
Ask your stupid pepsodent reasons why common COVID-19 taxes still being applied directly for such commodities at the Ports?
Use your brains,do you see, how stupid they sit down over there, and were wickedly looking on for "essentials, life saving
drugs to go waste at the Tema ports?
All because they were cooking a scheme to steal money by capturing those drugs as a tax payable cargoes in backdoor budgeting strategy.
So don't come here with pedestrian propagandist agent nuisances.
Go to the ministry of trade and search for trades and tariffs and learn.
Cheers!
Kawaadwen 1 year ago
Ayi he will ask closeup not pepsodent
Watermelon Brains 1 year ago
Just fix the fundamentals and everything will be fine.
You claim others have coconut heads, what do you have? So sad that at your age you are only messing with the lives of Ghanaians.
Such a pity
You claim others have coconut heads, what do you have? So sad that at your age you are only messing with the lives of Ghanaians.
Such a pity
Kenneth 1 year ago
Check the following, and everything shall be okay:
*High cost of electricity
*High import duties
Better still, government should think of putting up a state owned cement manufacturing plant. Sell at lower prices than what ... read full comment
*High import duties
Better still, government should think of putting up a state owned cement manufacturing plant. Sell at lower prices than what's on the market, thus forcing prices down. The minister cannot just say they should reduce prices, when all the components for production are costly. Worse case, they would reduce prices and cut down on labour or salaries, because thye have control over that component. The minister is being unrealistic. Besides, what about rebar, paints, plumbing?
Yaw 1 year ago
Can you please tell the government to also reduce the taxes on the importation?
Cedi wahala 1 year ago
Everyday the Cedi weakens and the imported clinker price goes up. What do you expect Mr Minister? Now you want to price control the free market? Bad signal to investors.
A fool as a minister for trade and industry 1 year ago
When you have a fool as a minister for trade and industry, what do you expect. That’s how foolishness is the centre of akofo addo government
Farouk 1 year ago
Have you yet regulated the cache of monies stashed in your bedrooms.
Abraziaa 1 year ago
When you are part of useless people everything you do is foolishness akufo addo bawumia government animals old man in our society only Ashanti's and useless people will vote for idiots people has their leader's
Kwam 1 year ago
I don't understand his point,why can't he rather call for the duties and taxes imposed on materials used in the production of cement to be removed. So that the prices will automatically come down. If his government can't stop the depreciation of the cedi , how can he stop the increasing cement prices? This is a simply SHS one economics.
Sam 1 year ago
Prices are high because you ate hoarding the dollars in your bedrooms.
AB 1 year ago
Prices of local products that are not subject to exchange rate and taxes are also going up.
Concentrate on those products ie Food items if you are really serious about price control.
Price of products with a high compo ... read full comment
Prices of local products that are not subject to exchange rate and taxes are also going up.
Concentrate on those products ie Food items if you are really serious about price control.
Price of products with a high component of imported raw materials will continue to go up unless the Cedi devaluation is brought under control and some tax reliefs given.
Using political power to control Cement prices is not a step in the right direction.
Engage and offer reliefs that will prevent the producers from making losses otherwise you will collapse their businesses and it will hurt the economy.
Critical 1 year ago
I blame Ghana legislators
All cement companies were given tax incentives to start operations and now see wat they are doing all call on all Ghanaians to go on the streets and demand retrospective tax incentive given to any company to be paid back
Enough of the plunder and cheating
Erica 1 year ago
Very intelligent submission. All of the cement companies have benefited from governments magnanimity yet they make the economy unbearable.
Price control is needed so we get a formal formula for pricing.
Only suppliers s ... read full comment
Very intelligent submission. All of the cement companies have benefited from governments magnanimity yet they make the economy unbearable.
Only suppliers setting prices has caused too much instability over the years
Ebo 1 year ago
When you increase electricity bill every 3 months what do you expect?
Na who cause am?
Joy 1 year ago
Old coconut headed man think of getting cement to buy than the company to close down of debts. Everything made of cement is imported. And the current fuel monthly hike is causing this increament
Erik 1 year ago
Any sensible person would've called this meeting with the cement producing companies before coming out with this price control mechanism. You put the cart before the horse and now asking why are the manufactures not cooperating with you .You're not for the position you hold.
Danny Currency Trader 1 year ago
@Eric you are so right my brother. Put a mike and camera in front of this fool and he just starts talking without thinking of the consequences.
Kwame Nyankah 1 year ago
You are the best, KT Hammond! It is only people like you who can take bold initiatives! Cement producers are callous! Period!
Kwaku 1 year ago
HON KT, PLEASE REASON A LITTLE BIT. WHO SAYS THE HIGH PRICES OF CEMENT IS CAUSED BY PRODUCERS AND DISTRIBUTORS ? LOOK FOR THE MAIN SOURCES OF THE PROBLEM, FROM RAW MATERIALS TO THE FACTORY AND FROM FACTORY TO DISTRIBUTORS. ARE THE DISTRIBUTORS CO-LOCATED WITH FACTORIES. O- LEVEL COMMERCE THAT WE ALL DID IN SCHOOL.
Me 1 year ago
It was obvious that this guy had nothing to offer as a minister. He is empty and irresponsible. Only an irresponsible government will settle on someone like KT Hammond as a minister. Ghanaians are suffering because we chose mediocrity over substance
Father 1 year ago
Keep it up never give up.
Let it work before you go
Slim 1 year ago
A failed govt resorting to price control
Kwaku 1 year ago
Truly these people have no idea about what they are doing.what an embarrassment of a Trade Minister!
Appiah 1 year ago
Good work done KT, all the Ghanaians should support him to stop increasing prices without any reason. Since two months now at K Ofori cement from ghc66 to ghc 87 cedis, why why.
Willie 1 year ago
You don't want to fix the cedi dollar ratio but you want to regulate prices of cement. Fix the dollar then you can talk about whatever L.I you trying to lay before parliament. All the raw materials used in the manufacturing of cement are imported and the dollar keeps rising everyday and instead of doing something about it you rather want to regulate pricing.
Willie 1 year ago
You don't want to fix the cedi dollar ratio but you want to regulate prices of cement. Fix the dollar then you can talk about whatever L.I you trying to lay before parliament. All the raw materials used in the manufacturing of cement are imported and the dollar keeps rising everyday and instead of doing something about it you rather want to regulate pricing. When your fundamentals are weak your exchange rate will expose you. Na who course am?
Nii Akwei 1 year ago
KT is trying to take the path of least resistance. What happened to textbook definition of free-market economy?
BA 1 year ago
Why is kt Hammond not introducing legislation to control that prices of many items that have skyrocketed and has chosen only cement.
Batuta 1 year ago
The cement producers have formed a cartel and think they can use increases in the price to cause disinfection and send the government into opposition but they are deceiving themselves. A cartel comprising shylocks like the dead goat's brother will do anything to achieve their political and business ambitions.
Why is cement price increasing moment by moment? We must support the government’s initiative to bring the price of cement down. The cement producers must cooperate with the minister to resolve this matter urgently. There ha ...
Hey K. T. Vulture head you dey? I thought you're a capitalist and a believer in free market economy! Why are you trying to take us back to price control regime? Your incompetence and ineptitude and mediocrity has been exposed ...
In the US prices of things like insulin and several other ...
Some Ghanaians are funny people. When you mismanage the economy, inflation will drive cement prices up. Some people expect manna in the form of raw materials, to fall from heaven and keep cement prices stable. It's just like ...
LONG OVERDUE
All the hardships Ghanaians are going through are their own making. They deliberately increase their prices and blame the government. Why are the cement producers shying away from the media? If they have a genu ...
Don't be silly okay.
Ask your stupid pepsodent reasons why ...
Such a pity
*High import duties
Better still, government should think of putting up a state owned cement manufacturing plant. Sell at lower prices than what ...
I don't understand his point,why can't he rather call for the duties and taxes imposed on materials used in the production of cement to be removed. So that the prices will automatically come down. If his government can't stop ...
Price of products with a high compo ...
All cement companies were given tax incentives to start operations and now see wat they are doing all call on all Ghanaians to go on the streets and demand retrospective tax incentive given to any ...
Only suppliers s ...
Na who cause am?
Any sensible person would've called this meeting with the cement producing companies before coming out with this price control mechanism. You put the cart before the horse and now asking why are the manufactures not cooperat ...
HON KT, PLEASE REASON A LITTLE BIT. WHO SAYS THE HIGH PRICES OF CEMENT IS CAUSED BY PRODUCERS AND DISTRIBUTORS ? LOOK FOR THE MAIN SOURCES OF THE PROBLEM, FROM RAW MATERIALS TO THE FACTORY AND FROM FACTORY TO DISTRIBUTORS. AR ...
It was obvious that this guy had nothing to offer as a minister. He is empty and irresponsible. Only an irresponsible government will settle on someone like KT Hammond as a minister. Ghanaians are suffering because we chose m ...
You don't want to fix the cedi dollar ratio but you want to regulate prices of cement. Fix the dollar then you can talk about whatever L.I you trying to lay before parliament. All the raw materials used in the manufacturing o ...
The cement producers have formed a cartel and think they can use increases in the price to cause disinfection and send the government into opposition but they are deceiving themselves. A cartel comprising shylocks like the de ...