Hepatitis B Foundation gives Prof. Akosa 7-day ultimatum to retract his ‘false’ comment

Read Comments Comments (70)

• ANO 1 year ago

ARHH THIS GUY PAAA-- YOU DONT KNOW THAT YOU COULD BE DRINKING SOMEONE"S SALIVA IF YOU EAT FUFU TOGETHER IN THE SAME BOWL?
    ITS COOMON SENSE. THIS PERSON WHO CLAIMS HE IS HEAD OF HEPATITIS FOUNDATION MUST BE FIRED

• WHAT'S PROF.'S PROOF, W/O PLAUSIBLE ASSUMPTIONS? 1 year ago

Well, I don't accept prof. Akosa's bald claim (a claim without proof) because it's simply a claim. Scientists attach evidence to their claims before publishing it, so why should a claim, stemming from the imagination of a sit ...

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

Oyiwa, didn't I say on here that the prof. was wrong?

• Kofi 1 year ago

The prof can never be wrong.
    What he's saying is 100% correct, but you're misunderstanding him
    From just simple logic, you could be eating with someone who has some sore in the mouth and the tendency of he transfering just ...

If one is to believe that unproven claim by this Professor, then one must also believe that kissing causes hepatitis and therefore humans should stop kissing each other.

• Peter 1 year ago

Ex Pope, you can go kids prostitutes. Good luck.

Mada faka, I'm waiting for you to bring your ashawo mother so that I can kiss her in your presence.

• RE: Ex-Pope 1 year ago

Some people in this country are hopelessly illiterate beyond comprehension. One does not need to have attained any measure of education - even at kindergarten level, to know that group eating in the same bowl is fraught with ...

• George Mould 1 year ago

Great

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

Prof was never wrong. The foundation rather disgraced themselves

• Bayaa Batiera Cyril 1 year ago

They're not thinking outside the box, what he said is the truth communal eating helps in spreading communical diseases. If they're saying is not true, then drinking from the same cup can't also spread it.

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

Massa, Prof. Akosa gave tangible proof of how hepatitis B can be transmitted through communal eating. It is common trite knowledge that when you eat, you dip your hands in your mouth and back into the soup. Therefore an infec ...

• True Ghanaian 1 year ago

Hep B is not transmitted through saliva. It's transmitted through blood, and sexual contact with an infected person. So if the prof says thru saliva he is wrong.

• The Spear 1 year ago

Though is very hard, it can be transmitted through kissing IF you had sore in the mouth and went on to kiss a person who has Hep B infection.

This said, it's ridiculous to give ultimatum to someone because of a statement h ...

You're right. The problem with the Professor's warning is that he has failed to elaborate on his reason for advocating against communal sharing of meals. If one is to grab the listener's attention, then one has to be detailed ...

• Jacob 1 year ago

Our great grandparents were eating from the Same bawl 4or more of them and we never heard of hepatitis foco. Mo mma yen dwene yen ho. All die be die

• Bush people 1 year ago

But we were told it is also transmitted through sweat and other body fluids

• Felix Kwadjo 1 year ago

Instead of you to be humble and learn from this highly learned man, you're hear discrediting him for saying an obvious truth in medicine. You're one of those google doctors abi

• truth be told 1 year ago

Hepatitis B is transmitted when blood, semen, or another body fluid from a person infected with HBV enters the body of someone who is not infected.

• Pelicles 1 year ago

FRANKIE, why do "WHITES" have hepatitis B? Do they eat together like us?

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

@Pelicles, communal eating is not the only way Hep B can be transmitted. It is just one of the ways.

• Justice agyapong 1 year ago

We don't need scientific proof in this. It is common sense and best practices. Eating together from one bowl has been part of ghanaian culture. I have come to realise that someone may not use soap to wash his/her hand after ...

• RE: Justice agyapong 1 year ago

The worse thing about this washing of hands is that it is generally said that one should simply rinse ones hands in water and not wash with soap before eating with ones hands. The reason? The scent of the soap on ones hands w ...

• Paa; . 1 year ago

Why don't you also produce your proof alongside your disapproval???

• Paulus 1 year ago

Researc has it that Hepatitis B is transmitted when blood, semen, or another body fluid from a person infected with HBV enters the body of someone who is not infected. This can happen through sexual contact; sharing needles, ...

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

We, the youth want LGBT in ghana! Many of us like to pound trumu daily and we want to do it legally here in this country...

• Yaa 1 year ago

You are s fool!! It will never happen.

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 year ago

Rubbish! Prof Akosah is saying the truth. In microbiology, there is something called formite which helps spread contageous disease very fast.

• Jon Yonny 1 year ago

Mr Owusu Ansa you are rather ignorant. Dont you know that hepatitis B can transmitted through saliva, semen, and sexual contact? What should Prof Akosa pologise for? For speaking the scientific truth? It it can be transmitted ...

• The Prof is RIGHT 1 year ago

We do the wrong things and turn around and blame Satan or government or family members. Hepatitis B is highly transmissible. More dangerous than HIV. If you share soups, cups, etc with a carrier, you will get it. Let's be b ...

• Eric 1 year ago

The guy is too narcissistic. Thanks for putting him right where he belongs

• Ghanabi Kofi 1 year ago

So this guy is furious because Prof AKOSA has destroyed in one day what he has taken 12 years to build.
    I smell selfishness here.
    Furious because Prof AKOSA has taken the fish from your kenkey.
    Hahahaha!!!!

• Re Franklin Cudjoeprof Akosa's Advice 1 year ago

Why the Threat? Does the Association really appreciate the basis for the Professor's Advice? Why not seek audience so that those do not appreciate where he is coming from may get further and better explanation or education. T ...

• WHAT'S PROF.'S PROOF SAVE PLAUSIBLE ASSUMPTIONS? 1 year ago

AND WHAT'S PROF AKOSA'S PROOF ASIDE HIS CLAIM? DESPITE A CLAIM BEEN PLAUSIBLE, IT TAKES MORE THAN ASSUMPTION TO ESTABLISH IT. THIS ISN'T PHYSICS PLEASE THAT'S ALOTTA ASSUMPTIONS BORNE OUTTA OBSERVATIONS OF AN ACTION. YOU PEOP ...

• Gana 1 year ago

The prof is a little bit right, why is it hepatitis is common in the North? The love we have for family and neighbours we eat together they been infected with the disease, l don't have scientific evidence, but a bit of resear ...

• K 1 year ago

But prof is making sense

• THEN WE SHOULD BAN KISSING 1 year ago

It will be the main means of transmission . Side chicks and side-boys will go to bed hungry if we havecto stop kissing. Or maybe we can just transfer kissing to the ears!

• JUST GOOGLE ABOUT SIDE EFFECTS OF KISSING 1 year ago

Our saliva contains more infectious bacteria than a woman's pus^sy fluids.....
    This is not a claim, it is a scientific proof, that diseases can easily be transmitted through saliva exchange ( kissing )
    Ki ...

• Ganiyu 1 year ago

The professor may have a point albeit tenuous. I just found an interesting journal article about some kids who had transmission of Hepatitis B from trace saliva on musical instruments:

J Hyg (Lond). 1979 Dec; 83(3): 487– ...

• Use Condoms when kissing 1 year ago

Now we would have to use condoms when kissing. It will be called bridom

• Mends 1 year ago

Rubbish…tell us then how hepatitis is transmitted… Anybody can just say a trash lately in this country..You and who will go on demonstration against the Prof??? Nonsense… You didn’t say anything…..just making noise ...

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Demonstration for what? If you don't agree with him you don't agree, why demonstrate?

• Foli Foli 1 year ago

Remember that hepatitis can be transmitted orally so the professor is just drawing your attention please. The effects of all hepatitis A,B,C and D affect the liver leading to death.

• SEE IGNORANT AND PRIMITIVE GHANAIANS 1 year ago

Everyone can simply google about the studies of HEPATITIS B TRANSMISSION and one will discover saliva is mentioned as one of the possible transmission of the disease ( HEPATITIS B )..
    How can you sue someone without ...

• Didi 1 year ago

Demonstrate because your a tion is senseless.

• Bk man 1 year ago

Owusu are you normal
    There is no any science
    To prove this is basic
    The country is in shambles
    Go and demonstrate for better ghana and stop this
    Foolishness. Think better!

• Dan 1 year ago

The Professor is fully correct and I am behind him. The Hepatitis B virus (HBV) is spread through blood and certain body fluids which include saliva. Though it is common through blood and other body contacts.

• Peace 1 year ago

The prof is certainly wrong.
    The hepatitis B virus can not survive the strong acid in the stomach and the likely of someone contracting hepatitis B from communal eating is so low that your chances of having your bedroom coll ...

• Op 1 year ago

No true, what Prof. Akosa said is just rubbish. He is trying to say everything about our culture is not good.
    He is getting sick mentally and needs medical
    psychological assistance.

• Kweku 1 year ago

Hepatitis A not B could be spread by communal eating.

• Francis 1 year ago

I guess Prof meant Hepatitis A. Hep B is blood borne infections just like HIV.

• Akompreko Dauda 1 year ago

The controversial prof. has done it again...
    People must heed that....
    Because communal eating is filthy, slimy,, primitive and dirty.....
    the professor is totally and absolutely RIGHT

• KWASI IN EUROPE 1 year ago

The prof is right though it is rare for such a thing to occur.

• Iddrisu Munkaila 1 year ago

The Prof. is right is his presentation, depending on how people eat. Some put the entire hand in their mouth and I have problem eating with those people. So I prefer to eat alone or with those whose eating habits are best.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 year ago

There’s no need for the professor to retract his comment. We know there Are other dangers in this form of communal eating anyway. It has in the past caused the spread of other diseases . Nobody should encourage it. The pr ...

• Funny World 1 year ago

Prof. Akosah is right . This Hepatitis - B foundation guy must be sacked with immediate alacrity. He doesn't know anything about the very foundation that he is heading and must therefore be kicked out.

• RE: Funny World 1 year ago

It is very clear that the said foundation does not exist. It seems the whole story has been cooked up by some idiot who has got a personal axe to grind with the Professor. Even for the low standards in Ghana, it cannot be tha ...

• Sofo Ali-Akpajiak 1 year ago

After reading the article, I searched for causes of hepatitis b. This is what I found:
    "Sexual contact. You may get hepatitis B if you have unprotected sex with someone who is infected. The virus can pass to you if the perso ...

• Oklemekuku 1 year ago

The Hepatitis B Foundation should be ashamed of themselves. They should be thankful to Professor Akosa, for doing their job. The foundation should have taken the lead in educating people of the dangers that come with differen ...

• nana Osei 1 year ago

Can I get hepatitis B from sharing food or eating utensils?
    No, *hepatitis B* is *not* transmitted through sharing food or eating utensils. You can *only* get hepatitis B from *infected blood* or some types of *body fluids. ...

• She go explain tire 1 year ago

Communal eating is backward. Simple

• Kwaku 1 year ago

The Professor is failing to make a distinction between hygiene infraction infection generally and specific bacteria/virus infections.

• Ghana 1 year ago

The prof can be right..one person comtracted hep b in our house and almost everybody had it..

• be wise 1 year ago

What did the man say wrong? Foolish hepatitis B Foundation... I didn't know this foundation had fools leading it.

• Nana Oduro Abonee 1 year ago

Please those asking Prof to retract his statement and apologize are rather those who have to retract their request and apologize to him. Transmission of infectious diseases, such as Hepatitis B, are diverse and those that hav ...

• Victor Caesar 1 year ago

For this disease to spread among the grpup eating particpants, at least one person in the group eating must have the hepatitis and so he or she can sprwad it among the rest. This is simple ligic looking one of the ways the t ...

• Ras 1 year ago

He gave his professional opinion. If you don't agree, go and burn the sea.

• Paa; . 1 year ago

Please, what is false about Professor Akosa' comment??? Is it not obvious??? Any serious observer must see this.

• Akonfem 1 year ago

Don't take Ghana chew pour pass serious professor serious. We know how they copy research. He takes akpeteshie

• PRUPRU 1 year ago

What kind of threat is this? What scientific proof do you have to disprove what the doctor said?
    Yes, we have been eating since the days of our ancestors.
    We are enlightened now. Let us follow the science and stop behavin ...