You are here: HomeNews2024 04 05Article 1924602

Our country is dirtier than when there was no Ministry of Sanitation - John Mahama

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ 1 month ago

LGBT is part of Ghanaian culture and values.

• Accra is the dirtiest city in the world 1 month ago

I have traveled to many cities but Accra is shocking. Ghanaians are the dirtiest so far. Togo, Ivory Coast are so clean. Ghana so dirty and stinky

• HE The Ugly Dwarf 1 month ago

1. I'll make Accra the cleanest City in Africa.
    2 I'll make the Odaw River and Korle Lagoon a tourist attraction.
    3. I'll turn Ghana around in 18 months.

• My People Perish 1 month ago

People still defending this government should simply understand that they are just stupid fools. Sometimes it's a good thing to stand in the mirror to see if you can recognize yourself.

• Koliko 1 month ago

Because the minister decided to packed the monies under her bed

• Ghanaians are generally dirty people 1 month ago

The dirtiest country in Africa is Ghana. I visited Ghana and I was shocked. Accra smells. Rubbish everywhere. People selling food in the most unhygienic places in Accra. Dirty dirty country

• Apraku 1 month ago

See if this Mahama hasn't been a president before , l would have buy into his ideas.But this is a case where this man has seen all these things that he is preaching about, you couldn't solve them. Is there going to be a mirac ...

• CITIZEN 1 month ago

How could Mahama have solved dirts problem that have been created in the Akuffo Addo era??
    You lost your senses when you become a "political animal"??

• Samed 1 month ago

You seem not to read before you comment, Massa who was the President of Ghana 2012 to 2016 was it not John Mahama.... but that was the time dirt was killing Ghanaians. NDCIEVE members will be the only people that will belie ...

• Accra, Ghana was cleaner during Manama's era 1 month ago

I was hoping as citizens we can depoliticised this issue. It is of mutual concern to all of us. A clean environment contribute to the general socioeconomic wellbeing.

• GHANA IS ALWAYS BETTER OFF WITHOUT AKAN POLITICIANS. THEY MUST BE SHOT! 1 month ago

GHANA WAS BETTER OFF WITHOUT POLITICIANS. IF YOU HAVE THE LIKES OF UNCIVILIZED EFUOM AKAN CRIMINALS AND FREELOADERS SUCH AS CECILIA DAPAAH AS EX-SANITATION MINISTER AND AKUFO-ADDO AS PRESIDENT, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?

GHANAIAN ...

• Jennifer 1 month ago

That's outrageous. You are below animals. Akans have made Ghana possible not through violence but civilisation. A civilisations that surprised even the British.

You are just a CANNIBAL. YOU PROBABLY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY Y ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

What civilization from Akans? The old, fabricated stale history? if you win one out of six wars against British you are a looser, NOT a warrior. You were not even present for the fight for independence. Other fought for your ...

• NoToBloodshed 1 month ago

You saw the sad demise of the tyrrant who murdered Ghanaians. Murdered Judges Bussiness men confiscated our savings, monies,introduced Criminal Libel Laws to gag free press and free journalism in Ghana.What did we see in the ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

Look, get over yourself. Asantes were not the only people who were murdered. The Ashinkinshan yee of Accra lost a lot of money. If all corrupt Ghanaians should be rounded up for firing squad, more Asantes will be caught up, b ...

• TRUE PATRIOT 1 month ago

A FOOLISH AYIGBE MAN GROUNDED GHANA FOR 30 YEARS ALL IN THE NAME OF REVOLUTION, PROBITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY WHAT DID THAT FOOL LEAVE BEHIND? KWASIA TROKOSI APE WHERE WILL GHANA BE WITHOUT AKANS YOU FOOLS WILL BE LIKE ANIMALS I ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

If it wasn't for him, you will be under military rule for ever. It begs the question, what have those Asantes who took over done? Nothing but stealing, stashing money, and saddling Ghanaians with debt.. Having babies overseas ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

His opinion tho...But if you will build a house in Ghana, you must think of drilling a water borehole; and if it must be done well, think of waterboons.com

• You Ghanaians are just dirty people 1 month ago

You throw rubbish everywhere. You pee and poop in public both men and women. Y’’all just unhygienic people. Accra Kumasi etc all dirty and full of diseases. Dirty people all over. Look at Accra.

• Togbe Agorkorli 1 month ago

Gaslighting….u couldn’t do that while in power, you have no prove you can do it….the whole world will laugh at us if we vote the dumb dramani.

• King 1 month ago

Bawumia promised to use Ghana card to solve all our problems including keeping Accra clean. The country is dirtier now. Whilst in power he is still promising that when voted into power he will fulfill his past promises includ ...

• Oye Onye and Kuffour ABEKA 2 Trokosis . 1 month ago

@king ; your assumption is si*ly ! Tell your people to stop parading cow

• Sethoo 1 month ago

With Ghana Card offenders of sanitation will be arrested and asked to do community service.With your number in system you can't run away.Bawumia digitalisation can do many things

• Yaw 1 month ago

When? In 2045? Or when his party is voted into power? A sitting president should not use promises as campaign messages. He should be judged by already done work. Period! Like built hostels for porters in Bawumia’s dreams la ...

• Betty 1 month ago

AGREED WITH JM, NO MORE CECELIA DARPAA

• Kweku. Com 1 month ago

John Mahama said people forget so soon he was right. There were piles of rubbish in the markets in the streets almost everywhere when Mahama was around. All the big gutters were choked and cholera became devastated. It is the ...

• Brain's 1 month ago

It even the capital city self is very dirty

• GHANA'S WORST CHOLERA OUTBREAK - Kwapps 1 month ago

Eii Mahama, have you finished talking about the shs laptops? When it comes to filth, Mahama was in charge when Ghana recorded it's worst cholera outbreak in 2014 but look at him calling the kettle black! It's so good we can t ...

• koo fori 1 month ago

You politicians are dead goats . Yoy were there what did u do. And that one in government too, nothing. You guys prefer to buy houses abroad. Yet you die in your country. Waste of sense.

• Atsu London 1 month ago

Today de3 John mahama talk sense small. I think he' hasn't taken the hard liquor some.

• Jkmee 1 month ago

I applaud you for that. Our assemblies are idle as our communities are full of filth

• Kay 1 month ago

Apart from Ashanti region NDC has been winning all elections in areas which are very dirty.In fact NDC prefers very DIRTY ENVIRONMENT why can't John Mahama advise them to improve their sanitation.

• Agbeli Kumordzi 1 month ago

What do you expect from cocoa farmers government
    Today NPP government turned the entire country into a kokoase

• Balman 1 month ago

Mahama u are talking too much. Because of power. I wonder why u still want to be president. We know what u can do. When u were in power Ghana was the cleanest city in Africa.

• Joe 1 month ago

He dissolved teacher training allowance
    He scrapped nursing training allowance
    He froze public sector employment
    He stopped payment of NHIS claims
    He only paid three months salary to teachers who have worked for three yea ...

• Kojo 1 month ago

The typical lies will not work this time.
    Under Mahama one dollar was 4 cedis. Today one dollar is 14 cedis? The exchange rate will expose you!

• Robert 1 month ago

Master how many year's r u talking about the world is moving forward pls stop this ofui comment

• Animal Kingdom where criminals fester 1 month ago

@Robert

And has your earnings also rise commensurably? You're such a fool bcos u eat rat toilet as a delicacy. Togo and Ivory coast don't record even half of the currency depreciation we're seeing in Ghana. Opuro

• Mensah 1 month ago

You are a small boy I believe. Your comment is so so babyish. Make your own input if you have some mature things to say and stop the hangoff

• @KOJO, COMPARING IS GOOD - Kwapps 1 month ago

Can you tell who the exchange rate has exposed below?
    Kuffour 2008 $1=Ghs1;
    Mahama 2016 $1=Ghs4;
    Akufo-Addo 2024 $1=Ghs14

• Nash 1 month ago

Work on the 'migrated dirt' also. Easier said than done. Some of us are witnesses to your governance . Making slay queens super rich and powerful. We are giving the youth a chance to rule the country this time. The more you ...

• Jennifer 1 month ago

Big Government is no doubt a job for the CRONIES. That said, I don't think that you did a better job either. Just look deep into your past. WORDS like a DEAD GOAT CLARIFY YOU AND YOUR GOVERNMENT. A DEAD GOAT STINKS AND THAT'S ...

• Kweku 1 month ago

This NPP government has disappointed Ghanaians. It never listens to the good advice from the good people of Ghana and has created so many ministries and agencies for themselves, party members and cronies

• Papa Osei 1 month ago

And you create Ministry of Sports and also create Ministry for the Youth. But to square one. Come out with policies ooo tom. Asem ben koraa nie

• Nii Adjei 1 month ago

For once I agree with John mahama. That ministry was created to rob Ghanaians

• Guy guy 1 month ago

That wicked chempanzee has sinned alot and a painful death awaits him sooner than later, Ghanaians made a big mistake with this ugly, ungodly akofo ado

• Kolo 1 month ago

Very true because Zoomlion is bribing his way out day in and day out...

Zoomlion has failed and the monopoly should end.

Lets be bold and tell Zoomlion he has failed the country.

• Nii Odoi 1 month ago

Who is talking about sanitation? More than 200 people died of cholera in Accra alone in one year under Mahama. Accra is dirty yet no government seem able to tackle the problem head on.

• Ruthan 1 month ago

That is a good jab in fact it is an uppercut to JDM /NDC.

• Mahama's time was full of cholera & deaths 1 month ago

As for this Mahama only dumb heads will wish him back

• PAPERLESS-ERA 1 month ago

May God put all Ghana haters into shame and those foreigners who are always here on comments section....MAY GOD ALWAYS BLESS OUR HOMELAND GOLD COAST GHANA....

• Nii Odoi 1 month ago

Ghana needs a sanitation revolution.

• Donatus 1 month ago

Ghana dirty pass, apart from Bolga and Akosombo.

• AAA+ 1 month ago

Coming back as if he’s got some extraordinary idea to change the country for good, but only the goal to still create, loot, share and to double up salaries of appointees to rip mother Ghana apart completely, such person is ...

• Bow-legged Oldman Mahama stole our bauxite 1 month ago

This Mahama stole our bauxite and elevated beauty queens, big buttocks and slay queens into ministerial positions. He's promising heaven just to get the chance to come and steal more for his sexual escapades. He's incompete ...

• Merby 1 month ago

God will judge NPP. Your deception and tricks in known in heaven, to cover your crimes with cathedral is the greatest sacrilege.
    God will surely judge this government individually. Nobody should cry when it starts very soon.

• LB 1 month ago

I agree with John Mahama. I support you in this regard. The country is too filthy. It's a big shame paaa.

• Saint sheriff richmond 1 month ago

Most time mahama speaks as if he ve never prezo b4.

• Mensah 1 month ago

Now that he's seeing clearer does not mean he cannot or shouldn't talk. The town is filthy regardless. There is no more communal labour our communities because everything has been politicized. Chiefs, assembly men, opinion le ...

• K-Lart 1 month ago

Spot on John Mahama!
    Create, loot share and Ministries. These are the issues we want you to champion in the campaign.

• Zeporopo 1 month ago

Way to go JDM. All these Ministries have been created just to satisfy "job for the boys".

• Joy 1 month ago

Npp and ndc must be vote out by ghanaians voters to bring Alan to form a newly unified third party to put fear in npp and ndc. Else trust me Ghana won't forever be a good place to stay.

• Kwasi 1 month ago

How clean was Ghana under John Mahama? Atta Mills/John Mahama promised in 2018 that if they win the elections, they will use 100 days to make Ghana especially Accra clean. What did we see. They were rather fighting Zoomlion a ...

• Mubi 1 month ago

Has Mahama forgotten that we had cholera in their time when they promised to have clean Ghana in 100 days when they come to power? Not all of us have short memories. The records can be checked at ministry of health.

• Ghana man 1 month ago

Who do you blame, the Gov't or the citizens?

• NANA OSEI@KUMASI 1 month ago

EXCELLENT IDEA PAAAAAAAA.THIS PROPER GOVERNANCE.

ITS ALSO WRONG TO GIVE SOCIAL ENTERPRISE TO A BUSINESSMAN TO MANAGE.COLLAPSE ZOOM LION TOO.
    DECENTRALISE SANITATION TO MMDCE LEVEL.MAKE IT TOTALLY INDEPENDENT MMDCE SOCIAL ...

• Guy guy 1 month ago

I blame dady lumba for all this mess,his song for NPP was soo super

• Mensah 1 month ago

There is no more communal labour our communities because everything has been politicized. Chiefs, assembly men, opinion leaders are all sitting on the fence

• ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV. 2aF 1 month ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV CAMERAS. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com G5F

• Oldman DeadGoat 1 month ago

Old wrinkled dirty expired thief Julor Fiafitor Barawo mahama you are the dirtiest stinkiest most corrupt incompetent greedy thievery dangerous Exgratia return from Pension greedy Bastard president Ghana has ever had. Give us ...

• ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV. 2VF 1 month ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV CAMERAS. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com G4F

• King 1 month ago

Government can be changed but if Ghanaians doesn't change their character and mindset , no amount of retorics and promises from these politicians can hold. Hygiene and health education and self-discipline MUST begin from KG a ...

• Kay 1 month ago

Advice our people and don't speak evil about the ministry.

• .com 1 month ago

Ndc members are to blame for the act for win of election because NPP has succeeded to spread science education to every corner of the country to have influence on populace to know the need to keep our environment clean.

• Accra is dirty.com 1 month ago

Akufo Ado government is just useless,NDC government will make Ghana leaner but for the moment Accra is dirty.com

• Qqqqy 1 month ago

John Mahama pls remember you have only 4 years to stay in power

Is it guaranteed that who whoever wins the coming elections will have 8 years at a go?what a stupid thinking don't people know that the mandate to govern is only 4 years?If Bawumia wins his 4 year terms and doesn't win the ...

• Nana 1 month ago

Mr Mahama, I leave you to your conscience

• Nana Yao 1 month ago

True talk

• Samamkoto 1 month ago

During your time dirt chocked accra too so much that the odaw river couldnt contain it, and that caused the flooding which killed people when water and fire engulf circle, what are you saying mahama.

• Nana 1 month ago

Kwasea man

• Kwam 1 month ago

Even if you bring Jesus Christ as President, Accra will be the most dirtiest city in Africa. Ghanaians throw rubbish anywhere into open, drains, Streets, Rivers, Sea . Until we change our attitude we are going nowhere.

• Tosh 1 month ago

It is three times dirtier. Even the so called ceremonial streets are heavily littered.

Making Accra the cleaner city in Africa doesn't mean that ministry of sanitation created by Akufo Ado government was the game changer to Make Accra the cleaner city without putting in measures and labour force to back th ...

• Oyibo 1 month ago

Mahama knows the dirtiest people in Ghana, he must be bold and say it. He gets most of his votes from the dirtiest places, he dare not say it.

• Paul 1 month ago

Please note, another one. Something Mahama will change in the unfortunate circumstance
    fry he becomes President. Nothing new apart 24 hour economy such as encouraging night vulcanizing stations on Accra-Kumasi road and the ...

• Afro Moses 1 month ago

I thought Mahama is going to say his after his mouth the country is dirtier.

• Kwabena Francis 1 month ago

Shit hole country

• OTOYO 1 month ago

Can the ex-president do all what he promised to do when he win the election? The promises are too much to be done in four years

• Obestebie 1 month ago

The ordinary Ghanaians are filty people. They walk around and throw empty packages where ever they are. We need to check people when they throw trash around. Nasty people!

• Obestebie 1 month ago

Maybe you should EDUCATE Ghanaians that cleanliness is Godliness!

• Kwaky 1 month ago

We all no where the most filth is created in Ghana.