You are here: HomeNews2024 03 26Article 1923146

Prison to presidency: Meet Senegal's 44-year-old president-elect, Bassirou Diomaye Faye

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Foli Foli 1 month ago

That you have not heard before?? You don't have anything better to say, keep quiet.

• ALETSE GBONTON 1 month ago

MEANWHILE,, GHANA HAS A DEMENTED 80 YEAR OLD TRUMU STOOGE WHO HAS ZERO RESPECT FOR THE CITIZEN... NANA ADDO HASN'T HELD A COMPUTER MOUSE BEFORE LET ALONE KNOW ABOUT CHATGPT... NANA ADDO IS A CURSE TO GHANA

• Nana 1 month ago

Ghana has had a 29yrs Head of State b4 in late JJ Rawlings who ruled for almost 20yrs yet change happen under his regime.The issue is not about age but we the ppl,there something wrong with we Ghanaians about the leaders we c ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33) 1 month ago

PROPHET AHWOI, PROPHESIED FOR ALL GHANAIANS!!!!!! WHERE IS NIGEL GAISIE, OPAMBUOR, ODURO, BADU KOBI AND OWUSU BEMPAH? WHY HAVE THEY LEFT THEIR DUTY AND AWHOI IS NOW PROPHESYING??????

AUTHOR :PATRIOTIC GHANAIAN
    - —-What ...

• P Djamgbe 1 month ago

Come on guys, effecting a change in leadership has nothing to do with age, so I don't see the wisdom in praising this guy yet - all because of his age? Let's just keep our fingers crossed and hope that Senegalese have done th ...

• Citizen8 1 month ago

@Djamgbe, you and who are the majority that know that Dr Bawumia will be the worst disaster if he wins the next elections? Please remember that it's honourable to talk for yourself and leave others to make their own choices. ...

• P Djamgbe 1 month ago

Citizen8, I said majority of us, I didn't say everybody. So if you are not among us (the majority) just pipe down kuraa and find somewhere sit! If you think upon the incompetence and abysmal performance displayed by your NPP, ...

• Raymond 1 month ago

Not true that Bawumia is the youngest flag bearer since Rawlings. In 2012, Mahama was flag bearer meanwhile he was below 60. Bawumia 61 years old.

• Citizen8 1 month ago

@Nana, kindly educate some of us about the change that happened under Rawlings. I'm struggling to see the changes brought about by Rawlings. Kindly help me.

• Ghanaian Teacher 1 month ago

Rawlings brought training college alawa. Kwasea like you. Where was your stupid Bawumia by that time. Being fed with NDC money brought home by his father. Kwasea

• kom 1 month ago

Go and call your failed, sorry and miserable father stupid.

• Nana 1 month ago

There was a typo error what I meant was there was no change in JJ's 20 year rule.

• Pelicles 1 month ago

Blame we Ghanaians and not the leaders. We Ghanaians are the worse ever due to our filthy mindset. If we want to see change in Ghana, it should come from us. Someone said, "You should be the change you want to see".

• Papa 1 month ago

Ghanaians World never have voted for Such a Person to effect change. All because He is too young and He was in prison, ex convict and All the unecessary stuff whiles corrupt politicians continue to Ruin the country. God bles ...

• BOO BOO 1 month ago

THEN THERE WAS 36 YOUNG DEMENTED SOLDIER WHO RULED GHANA FOR 20 YEARS BUT GHANAIANS SAW NO PROGRESS UNDER HIS SO CALLED REVOLUTION.MORE DEMENTED THAN THE 80 YEAR OLD WHO HAVE SEEN FREE EDUCATION IS A SURE ROAD TO DEVELOPMENT. ...

NANA OKPO ADDO WANT TO IMPOSE TRUMU TRUMU ON GHANA BUT 98% OF GHANAIANS WILL RESIST HIM TO THE BONE

• BOO BOO 1 month ago

BASTIE, IS PRESIDENT BASSIROU DIOMAYE FAYE ALSO FROM DORMAA ? I BELIEVE THE DORMAA STOOL IS A TWIN STOOL OF THE SENEGAL STOOL OR?

• Oprege 1 month ago

It remains to be seen how France reacts to Faye’s victory . If the Elysee wants him , he succo , if for whatever reasons the French don’t agree , no matter what he’s going to fail

• £EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 month ago

Very remarkable fellow...This business opportunity for you or a relative, friend or as charitable gift to anyone, is a great service-provider business with low capital (as skill is your main capital) to startup. ACT NOW so yo ...

• Bri 1 month ago

Congratulations to Senegal. The fathers are allowing the bright young ones to rule .

• Amazing Grace 1 month ago

Congratulations sir

• Nonsense. 1 month ago

His head is like abion. Badas man

• OUR CHILDREN FIRST 1 month ago

Full of wisdom than yours. The people like him so so not like some European description of beauty locked in your head.

In fact, two women love that head. Cheap you.

• Kanawu 1 month ago

Better a young man than an old men who like to lick Serwaa Bronii's

• Kanawu 1 month ago

Better a young man than an old men who like to lick Serwaa Bronii's

• Robert 1 month ago

Stop talking rubbish

• PLANNED EPIDERMIC 1 month ago

the new force!!!!!!!

• Anane 1 month ago

Far better educated on policy issues than your semi-illeterare new force guy that talks like a child!

• The time of these old men are over 1 month ago

Ghana should take a cue from this and have sense enough to drop these old cronies who have hijacked our country to ransom. Enough of NDC & NPP politics.
    We need a 3rd force NOW!

• Deen 1 month ago

I knew Senegal would come to this stage if anyone has closely been following their politics.There was a collision govt somewhere along the line weakening the two biggest parties.This guy's party took advantage to slip thru.Gh ...

• TRUTH 1 month ago

Well said,

Let's now try skirt, blouse and trousers.

The skirt and blouse has slowed down the thieves. Now let go for the 2 parties like Senegal.

We started with them in 2000 but they are far ahead.

• Wont Happen in Ghana! 1 month ago

The French do not have a first pass the post system like the UK system which we practise and guarantees a 2 Party system (Either Labour or Conservative) or in Ghana (NDC or NPP).

It is the sane system in France which allo ...

• Oyibo 1 month ago

Young African president, already with 2 wives @ 44, I pray he succeeds.

Massa, in their environment it's a normal thing. He's also a Muslim so whats your problem.. Think about yourself.

• Kwaku Tee 1 month ago

You're confused the same person complaining about gays and lesbians yet you don't want a strong well endowed 44yrs old man to go in for 2 wives.Wetin bi your problem?

• You prefer side chic?! 1 month ago

How many 44 year old married men don't have side chic? You rather prefer that? I don't care if he has 10 wives. As long as he serves his people well. Dog head

• Heart Surgeon 1 month ago

@ Oyibo. You are a fool. Do you think he is an LGBTQ dog like Bawumia? Kwasea. Your mother

• kom 1 month ago

Your failed, sorry and miserable father is not an LGBTQ dog? Some of you from miserable homes talk nonsense.

• King 1 month ago

Congratulations Fellow Patriot

• King Kong 1 month ago

Is time for the youth to take over the African continent na the old people are bogus

• Nii 1 month ago

The youth we have in Ghana politics are Sam George,Ablakwa Okudjeto,Sammy Gyamfi,Sammy Awuku,Nana B etc etc.Do you have confidence in them and are you proud of them?

TAKE OUT NANA B & SAMMY AWUKU AND ADD ZANETOR... THE REST CAN RULE GHANA EASILY

• Citizen8 1 month ago

Take out Zanetor, Ablakwa, Sammy Gyamfi and Sam George. The rest can lead Ghana with excellence.

• Tony 1 month ago

Any leader who makes very sweet promises be ware that luxurious life person like Akufo Addo can't deliver those promises, to deliver on ur mandate as president u must be disciplined by urself not living a luxurious life as a ...

• Viva 1 month ago

Congratulations. This is the new beginning Africa needs. May God grant you wisdom like He did Solomon, to rule well.

• Lost hope in the coup plotters already! 1 month ago

So you dont have confidence in your young coup plotters in Burkina, Mali and Niger anymore. What happened to them@

• AA 1 month ago

It is a fine opportunity for him to showcase what the youth are capable of. I hope he does not mess up this chance for the youth of Africa

• OBRONIBA 1 month ago

Ghana, never again shall we vote for old corrupt bastards with no manners and dignity who end up ruling us with their foolishness and stupidity. They know nothing about good governance apart from dancing to the tenets of the ...

• Fredo 1 month ago

It will happen in Ghana, enough of ndc, npp... Ghana first.

• Mr Bones 1 month ago

New force ! Enough with the old liars

• Kojo 1 month ago

Is this a sign that cheddar should be Ghana's next president anaa? cos we are tired of these two old liars of men Nana Addo and Mahama

• Kofi Mensah 1 month ago

You think money is all?

The new Senegalese president is highy educated person, speaks English much much fluent than almost all Ghanaian parliamentarians, French, of course and German.

He won not because he has money. No ...

• Fosuwaa 1 month ago

President with two wives is now the order of the day Ghana is waiting for one

• Justice Napare 1 month ago

Ghana, change is coming soon. God bless Ghana.

• TRUMU TRUMU AKUFFO ADDO 1 month ago

PRESIDENT: SAMMY GYAMFI. VICE: ABROKWA

• Abudu 1 month ago

Who will vote for a rat like Bawumia?

• Sage 1 month ago

Your stupid Pepe watchman father with rotten kola-stained teeth.
    Sheege Abudu.

• Mama 1 month ago

Ghanaians prefer corrupt old men as presidents. See how Nana's gang butchered Ghana. Ken is now richer than Ghana. This is why we need a tortured young man who understands what change really means.

• Mama 1 month ago

Western leaders are scared right now. After conniving with old men to destroy African economies, they now face the danger of expulsion since we're gonna get rid of all the corrupt old men.

• Lost hope in the coup plotters already! 1 month ago

Lost hope in the coup plotters already!just now
    So you dont have confidence in your young coup plotters in Burkina, Mali and Niger anymore. What happened to them

• Killer 1 month ago

We also have some smart guys who can bring the sea to Kumasi

• Bishop 1 month ago

It is paining NPP that opposition has won elections in Senegal. Heheheeee. They are bleeding from stomach ulcer. Nkwaseafour

• Kwame 1 month ago

Is is not about age but great policies that can transform a nation. We have had a 29- year old JJ Rawlings in Ghana,far younger than this Senegalese guy but what did we see? Disaster, disaster and disaster. Look, under JJ we ...

• HIS POLICIES REMINDS ME OF RAWLINGS 1980! 1 month ago

He was full of left wing idealism. He was made to face reality by 1983.

He needs to take it easy with fanciful ideas. Even his colleagues with guns in Mali, Burkina and Niger wirh youthful wishful ideas has come to reali ...

• They all become dictators in the end! 1 month ago

The post ibdependence leaders in Senegal has all come in as promising democrats who at the end has turned into dictators wannabe and has to be forced put. From Abdou Diouf who wanted to change the Constitition and stay on but ...

• Muni kwans 1 month ago

A man with 2 wives as a president, l am sure he'll not to anything good than looting and atopa nkoaa. Wo be di 3mmaaa no saaa, ne ti s3 kube. We have a younger man like Bawumia too.

• Muni kwans 1 month ago

A man with 2 wives as a president, l am sure he'll not be to anything good than looting and atopa nkoaa. Wo be di 3mmaaa no saaa, ne ti s3 kube. We have a younger man like Bawumia too. At 44 , ah, kronon nkoaa, wo p3 a fa Sa ...

• Abudu 1 month ago

Who will vote for a goat like Bawumia?

• New Ghana 1 month ago

New Force is coming like kakai.
    Senegal ayekoo !

• Bishop 1 month ago

This news is paining NPP paaaaa. Why? Last kicks of a dying horse

• Alapain 1 month ago

Bawumia is coming like a warrior. Bawumia is our choice.

• Agbeli Kumordzi 1 month ago

What is he talking about is on going in Ghana
    Americans are taking our petroleum for a penny
    giving Ghana just a chicken bones our gold control by the British and American companies our nation getting nothing from our own G ...

• Bright Heart 1 month ago

I pray France does not interfere in their politics so he has the free hands to implement all the great ideas of his friend Ousmane Sonko.God help Senegal.

• WEBSITE GHANA hmui 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Kojois 1 month ago

Some times is better not to comments becos most of the ndc followers are illiterates when I heard the. Insulting Bawumia. Even they are bold to defend the thief dead goat. Local politicians. How do you compared French colony ...

• Oklemekuku 1 month ago

Kwame Nkrumah, Nelson Mandela and the likes. Don't forget the youth that stood by you. Give them economic independence.

• AMBASSADOR 1 month ago

ANOTHER DR KWAME NKRUMAH AND NELSON MANDELA.FROM PRISON TO PRESIDENCY. I WISH YOU ALL THE BEST.

• Kofi 1 month ago

Congratulations Mr president elect

• Bitter truth#1 1 month ago

Congrats to u Mr Faye..this even shows that The new force is here to stay..it’s not easy but we will break the duo in politics..this is the time for young Africans to take our own destiny into our own hands..we have to brea ...

• Joy 1 month ago

My advice to you this young guy is that rule Senegal with no friendship, family or tribal mindset. With this you can help build Senegal to add your name to good history books in the world. Now friends and families and your ...

• Pelicles 1 month ago

Easier said than done. I wish you can talk to this guy after assuming office, and he will tell you that being a president is not an easy meal to eat. Do you understand what you are saying? Internal and external pressures are ...