You are here: HomeNews2024 03 21Article 1922391

Ghana loses vessels traffic to Togo over high port charges – GNCCI

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Kwamena Quansah 1 month ago

They collapsed everything including the ports too. This one wants to become president of Ama Ghana? Hahahaha. Until you become president in 2025 b4 you compare both Togo and Ghana ports charges for remedy ? Your tendency o ...

• KD 1 month ago

This is why there’s so much corruption going on at the various ports especially Kotoka AirPort! I have a package there right now, and these officers are asking me to pay outside the box. The sums of duty charges unaccounted ...

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

Greediness!

• Togbe Agorkorli 1 month ago

Use the word GREED! ...sounds better n it's the same.

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 1 month ago

AKUFFO ADDO IS A DISASTER ON GHANA
    Akuffo Addo and NPP told us they have the men. Where are they? Dr. Anthony Osei Akoto told us, NPP didn't have any men. Within three weeks, they killed him. These animals told us they are a ...

• KA 1 month ago

It's crazy at Tema harbor. VST charges are greater than import duties. Many of the charges are duplicated. Above all, the officers and agents are corrupt. Tema harbor is daily becoming empty.

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 month ago

The VP’s words are that of a desperate man. Ghana is now the laughing donkey amongst the African countries. Once we had influence but after this clown of a president, we are seen as a joke….

• Akua 1 month ago

HOW COME PRICES OF THINGS ARE SO HIGH IN GHANA ESPECIALLY VEHICLES COMPARED TO USA ?

• UNCLE PEE 1 month ago

The man is not serious. The industry players need immediate relief now and he is asking them to wait until 2025 if he becomes president. It is now abundantly clear that the man is swimming in the abstract realm of fantasy. He ...

• GH8 1 month ago

Uncle Pee youve taken the words out of my mouth. Bawumia is behaving as if he is not part of the govt any more. Wow you are still the head of Economic Mgt Team and business people want economic solution to their problem and y ...

• Imagine the time wasted 1 month ago

The guys went to see the Vice President with their problems and serious ones indeed and after a long talk he says vote for me and I will fix it when I win. Just like thet? What a snob.

• Beautiful Nonsense 1 month ago

THAT IS THE RESULT WHEN THE EVIL RULES. SOME OF US ARE NOT SUPRISE AT ALL

• Guy jesus 1 month ago

What didn't you promised b4 2016? High cost of this and that I will reduce this and that drastically, the annoying one is COVID19 recovery levy you chop everything including bones.

• Dede Ayew 1 month ago

Upon those fees I don't know what they are using those monies for

• Neenyi Obo 1 month ago

It's better for GNCCI to see the guy guy old man driver himself not the mate.

• The Truth 1 month ago

A man brought a small car to Ghana and paid 40k for duty and other expenses. The NPP cannot claim to be Center right Party. They wouldn't create 16 regions and bigger government. Can't say more!

• Togbe Agorkorli 1 month ago

Don't forget, dumb dramani leased out the airport for 30 years .,.,..French man charges whatever..... John konsonkuo mahama is the worst thing that happened to GH. Borrowed 26 billion with nothing to show... except STOLEN AT ...

• william Ejisu 1 month ago

This was another dumb ,stupid,policy made on the run, by this incompetent Government of Ghana to raise cash to prop up a Government that is totally broke.
    The decision was short sited.....What were they thinking? They kille ...

• Concerned Ghanaian citizen 1 month ago

Am still trying to rap my head around the huge charges at Ghana port when customers have paid so much to shipped their items, Ghana port is demanding outrageous prices just to clear and allow entry into the country...it is cr ...

• Frank Talk 1 month ago

You are in power yet you are promising to reduce taxes when you are voted into power in 2025. I can't think far. By the time they leave no ship will dock at Tema.

• WEB AFRICA 91.T 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• DRIVER'S MATE DON'T TAKE DECISIONS 1 month ago

WAIT TILL 2025 HAHAHAHAHAAA.....BY THEN ALL TRAFFIC WILL BE DIVERTED AND NO ONE WILL BE WILLING TO RETURN

• Mama Tula 1 month ago

Bawuliar, a professional liar is not telling the truth, he definately will not reduce the taxes. We must forget that all these taxes have been imposed by him.

• Kwame 1 month ago

This is what we get for voting an incompetent Nana Addo and his NPP Party into power. They thought they were "doing" NDC, God will punish them all with shame and embarrassment.

• Buertey Earls 1 month ago

Our greedy leaders know the cause of this; TOO HIGH TAX and bureaucracy.

If we manage our affairs well, we don't have to burden the citizens with high taxes like that.
    IMF is always ready to conspire with our greedy looti ...

• greed and stupidity have a price folks 1 month ago

Ghana lazy and greedy 3rd world country of fools

• Alji 1 month ago

Comedian vice president, we wait until you become president before? Where are you before all this tax impose on us? Do it now then we know you are serious, where is the guarantee that you are willing the election?

• Elephant Farmer 1 month ago

At Mahama 's tenor, 100 MAN trucks could pass through Tema Port for free, you see? Make a railway from Togo to Ghana and bring all those containers from Lome. Tema Port is cribbing the Economy. I said it long time ago. EXPORT ...

• New 1 month ago

GREEDY GHANA! NOT SURPRISING!

• Kweku 1 month ago

It's very expensive to do business at the Port of Tema. To many taxes and levies on one imported item and duties are also very high.

• ISSAH ALI 1 month ago

WHY NOT GO AND LIVE IN TOGO ?

• Kweku 1 month ago

Why blame the president? Ghanaians, please shine your eyes, did the dead goat not lease Tema port for 35 years? Do you guys not think that new owners have a part to play in the high port charges? Yet the dead goat wants to be ...

• Gana 1 month ago

The port of tema has not been leased for 35 yrs brother, where the Chinese are building now is what the previous govt sign a build and operate contract, what's it means, example you have a piece of land and want to build shop ...

• FRANKLIN 1 month ago

ISSAH ALI AND KWEKU, ARE YOU GHANAIAN AT ALL, WISE UP.

• Kwesi 1 month ago

It's better to buy a used car in Ghana than to import. Taxes are killing.

• Jon J 1 month ago

If it was eazy to smuggle lyk we al go do som dis sh?t dey happen no be today

• CJ 1 month ago

If you have a corrupt, useless clueless gov't, aided by a corrupt media and clergy, everything collapses.
    This is present story of Ghana. All.these people deserve firing squad

• Akuffo Addo the clearing agent 1 month ago

Surprise surprise

• Choose Jesus Christ as a running mate 1 month ago

Foolish man Bawumia. You would reduced these charges after you win an election that would give you 4 yrs more. Who are you kidding? You would loose.

• For major Business in Ghana Hold 1 month ago

1. We have borrowed to misused it. The money is not free we have to pay interest. So with high interest on the loans government has to squeeze the money from the people. For any major investment in Ghana hold on otherwise you ...

• Great hardship on the way . Agyapade3 dealers had stolen the money 1 month ago

All the avenue we received money had been put on loan. Example Getfund money is on loan . Let say you work as a teacher and monthly salary is 2800 Ghana cedi, but you decided to go for 100,800 Ghana cedi loan at Ghana commerc ...

• Na lie 1 month ago

If he cannot do it in 2024 , forget about 2025.
    Just to deceive you for your precious vote. Mawumia is a very baaaad man

• Jkm 1 month ago

Importers please shine ur eyes, whatever this man promised before he became vice president, he hasn't done it. So be mindful of his promises. He cannot be trusted

• Mark 1 month ago

It's either now or never. Forget it Bawuliar.

• Joe 1 month ago

WHEN I LOOKED AT THE CHARGES ON MY IMPORTED CAR, I was surprised to see Covid-19 and some stupid charges still imposed on us. I can’t believe that they charge for everything you can think of at the port.

• Kweku 1 month ago

Importers can't stand the cost of doing business at the Tema Port. It's extremely expensive to do business at the Port of Tema.

• Efo Ho 1 month ago

Eiii so is this vice president not part of Akuffo government? Eii Bawumia!!