You are here: HomeNews2024 03 20Article 1922278

Financial Audit report on ECG reveals missing billions

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Kofi 2 months ago

Heads must roll for this rot.

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 2 months ago

No head will row under Akufo Addo's government where corruption pays off more than patriotic sincerity. The more corrupt you are, the more higher position you attain

• Kwame 2 months ago

JACK TORONTO HIMSELF IS CORRUPTED SO OTHERS TOO WILL BE CORRUPTED AND HE CAN;T DO FOKO

• JACK TORONTO 2 months ago

WE TOLD YOU THAT, GHANAIANS WILL SUFFER BITTERLY IF AKUFFO ADDO BECOMES THE PRESIDENT. WE HAVE NOT SEEN ANYTHING YET. MORE CORRUPTION REVELATIONS ARE LOADING.

• Social media is cheap 2 months ago

U don't have brain is akuffo addo ecg ooooh ghanafoo

• Saint Ato 2 months ago

Kwasia.....did we vote for ECG??

• Nana 2 months ago

SO THEY STEAL THE BILLS WE PAY AND TURN AROUND TO ACCUSE PEOPLE OF ILLEGAL CONNECTIONS. BILLS PDF COLLECTED CANNOT ALSO BE TRACED

• Babangida Casagrande 2 months ago

I went to pay my bills and they told me it’s not in the system but I got my meter from them and I asked how do they brought me the bills

• Sapiens 2 months ago

Abowa! STEALING of state funds is A PRIVILEGE, not a right, Mr. Samuel Dubik Mahama!

• Harryon 2 months ago

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 2 months ago

AKUFO ADDO CAME TO BREED CORRUPTION AND ARMED ROBBERS- YOU WILL GO FREE EVEN IF YOU ARE COUGHT

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

For the where?

• Ojah 2 months ago

No surprise under the Mother Serpent of Corruption, Akufo Addo. From PDS to WATERFALL MISSING BILLIONS! Corruption and blatant stealing pays. Actively stealing citizens, not spectators 'protecting' our national coffers!

• ek 1 month ago

i am not here to say the current MD is a saint but he is doing his best to clear the mess,it is not by wonder the ECG system was no working better for some time, the IT people and some management members were chopping badly b ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

And no big guy will get arrested and Addo and the other monkeys laugh at ghana again
    Corrupt evil greedy b@stards

• Togbe Agorkorli 2 months ago

Big guy? …. It’s always the small guys who do the most damage…. Selling fake meters, by pass connections.

• AKUFO KUFOUR GBEMI 2 months ago

THEY WILL ALL DIE OF STROKE ONE BY ONE.CRIMINALS RULLING GHANA.NPP NEVER AGAIN.MMMOA PARTY.

Far better than NDC

• Donatus 2 months ago

The figures are touching, hehehehehehehe!

• Twene 2 months ago

Create, loot and share during Nana Akufo-Addo’s administration. Watch another NPP scam on: youtu.be/Gmz40sTZ6WU?si=G7i1NK_WwnCpQAyh

Read the report well and know when the whole mess started

• Concerned Ghanaian citizen 2 months ago

So you are also a thief, eii NPP...y3b3 dii k3k3...!! carry on with your corruption. We are waiting patiently for Dec. 2024 to vote you all out...thieves

• ananseba 2 months ago

Blatant disrepect and disregard for rules and regulations by authority. Will heads roll? No, not in Ghana where corruption is the order of the day. Look at how government official are looting from the State- a la Cecilia Dapa ...

• Kwaku Mankata 2 months ago

GBEMELA REIGNING

• 000 2 months ago

Hahaha hohoho hehehe hohihi Hahaha hohoho hehehe hihihi

• Rolland 2 months ago

ECG congratulations well.. government appointees killing this nation call Ghana

• Gyanfua 2 months ago

Ghana is dead.
    No hope

• the Villager 2 months ago

For which period is this audit report?

• ROGUE LAWYER 2 months ago

and they would still ask for tariff increment so that the people of this country would pay more, for them to steal more.
    if these greedy bastards are not jailed , I won't pay any ECG bills again

• Justice Napare 2 months ago

CHOP CHOP Everywhere NPP. From Bank of Ghana, TOR, GRA, Ministry of Youth and Sports, ECG etc etc etc. and we are here promoting Guy for $3.0 Billion. Hmmm Ghana

Where is the Media? Why are you So Silent over all these lo ...

• IF YOU LIVE IN A GLASS HOUSE...... 2 months ago

Surely, you do not throw stones! But Mr Dubik Mahama OVERRATED his "No nonsense" and instead of doing his good works tactfully, he got consumed by arrogance, cheekiness and show of power! I admit ECG should recover its debt i ...

• Tugatuga 2 months ago

Hahahahaha

• James 2 months ago

Ghana is now completely collapsed, absolutely on auto pilot.....at this juncture I give up

• Abraziaa 2 months ago

Akufo addo the case president and most corrupt presidents in Africa

• Sul 2 months ago

THEY WILL TURN BACK AND ACCUSE THE CONSUMERS OF POWER THEFT.

• Akuffo Addo the clearing agent 2 months ago

As usual the uncaring president will clear the culprits and praise them for causing financial damage to ECG and Ghana. No wonder dumsor is back again

• Emily 2 months ago

Really and every day dumsor for innocent Ghanaians

• Sherlock Holmes 2 months ago

Aboaaaa. They are all stealing ohhhhhhh.
    Next thing you know people will be dying mysteriously

• Mensah 2 months ago

Lies upon lies from NDC apparatchiks

• Nee 2 months ago

They never read. There is nowhere in this ghanaweb useless report that they were able to mention any missing billions. Ghanaweb is noted for misleading , senseless and propaganda headlines.

• Nee 2 months ago

Where in this your report did you mention PWC saying billions are missing?.Ghanaweb is gradually becoming a sensational news portal reporting incurrate information..bluntly speaking false information. Enough of this type of ...

• Pikachu 2 months ago

If you know what goes on behind closed doors, you would have died out of shock. Asem sɛbɛ! Have you wondered how the current frontrunner for this party got monies to buy new campaign pickups? Tip of the iceberg!

• Ghana 2 months ago

Communicators by now are been coach what to say ..n some Ghana haters will support them..npp just lied to power to enrich themselves making other Ghanaians poor by imposing painful taxes on them..look at electricity tarrifs n ...

• Ghana 2 months ago

By now npp communicators are been coached the lies to use n defend this rot.. akufo ado will b remembered as the most corrupt n useless president ever in d history of Ghana...

• Lazy and pupilist journslism 2 months ago

Some Ghanaian journalists are very lazy. Just copy and paste with wild headlines to handwook the gullible citizens.
    What was the scope of the audit?
    Why did you copy the long report without incorporating the responses from ...

• Turning the Corner 2 months ago

ECG is rotten EGG

• Achakanapaya . The ship is moving. 2 months ago

This one be State Capture seriously. Shameless dishonest useless senseless clueless Thieves and Lai's brigade government.

• Mr. Osei 2 months ago

NPP is a very useless party

• Tygar 2 months ago

Is a pitty Ghana, anyway Clearing agent will clear each one of them

• HERALD DOING NDC DIRTY WORK! 2 months ago

Can we hear from the Auditor General or Post a Copy of the Report on Your Website and stop doing the Dirty work of lies for the bankruptcy ideas of Mahama!

• Jao Pinto 2 months ago

Hahaha, go under the sea and check the cables. If people are tapping the energy illegally then what do you think? Can you check all the bigger companies to see if they pay their electricity bills? Rich people don't pay elect ...

• Whistle blower 2 months ago

Courts and Parliament must pay their bills. A lot of the MPs don't pay their private homes bills. I know a lot of them.

• Ghana 2 months ago

You are a fool...the ones they collected are they untilizing it..?

• Powerful 2 months ago

They will share it for us to pay in the name of tarrif increment. Fools

• Umofia 2 months ago

Why is the digitization not stopping all these

• Os3mka Ni 2 months ago

The churches don't pay their electricity and water bills. Go to all these churches and see if they do pay their bills.

• BOYIIMEN 2 months ago

Financial Audit report on ECG reveals missing billions hmmmmmmmmm.
    No head will row under Akufo Addo's government where corruption pays off more than patriotic sincerity. The more corrupt you are, the more higher position yo ...

• ame 2 months ago

thieves

• WEBSITE FOR YOU.CDS 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

It seems everybody in Akuffo Addo/ Bawumia n npp govt is a THIEF..frm the head to the feet.

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

Not everyone in Akuffo Addo government is. Note that. But the whole country is corrupt including you. Corruption started massively in Ghana from the Rawlings time. So many Ghanaians outside the country have been trying to est ...

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

Electricity Coperation of Ghana should be privatized as is done in the US. Each region must have their own Electricity company by a private companies. Because Electricity company of Ghana is the most corrupt company in Ghana. ...

• Loyalist 2 months ago

This isn't a joke and funny. Ghana went to IMF for $3billion. Only ECG has $1.9billion. We the Ghanaian youth excuse my language with the greatest of respect are the "biggest idiots". The political class has taken us for gran ...

• Ghana Money 2 months ago

Criminality booms in a country where the judiciary is corrupt.
    Very very corrupt judiciary.

• Akwesi NyameAdom 2 months ago

Akufo-Addo, the worst president in the history of this country. He's just useless, wicked, dangerous and cunning evil.

• Neenyi Obo 2 months ago

Eeeeeiiii Ama Ghana paa nie, very painful

• Kojo Poku 2 months ago

The Looting bridgade at work. NPP gangs at the ECG stealing and looting. Why are you not matching the Electricity supplied to the invoices and the money you have received? Easy transactions-Purchase Orders-Matched to Invoices ...

• Ben Agyei 2 months ago

Until we get to the point where people are liable and prosecuted for corruption, Ghana will keep sinking.

• Jkmee 2 months ago

Ghanaians let's be serious here. Is Nana Akuffo Addo is in charge of governance of our country at this moment. Bawumia too is not in charge he just a poodle and stooge of Akyem Mafia. He is going around claiming that GRA is e ...

• John 2 months ago

Why ECG continue to own by Government?our problem will never be gone away if ECG continue to be Governments company. because most of the money collected go to individuals pocket. Simply they have to give it to private compan ...

• Ghana 2 months ago

We kept quiet when they tried to sell ecg as pds, now they are stealing from ecg..taxing us extremely..

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

You are right ECG must be privatized. They are very wicked and thieves. STC ,and all government owned companies must be privatized they're not making any profit, yet still government goes outside the country and borrowed mone ...

• John 2 months ago

This is not about politics. Its not about Akufo Addo nor Mahama. It is not politicians are working in ECG nor collecting the bills. In Ghana civil servants and public servants are corrupt than politicians. But they always tu ...

• Anim 2 months ago

Big men chop chop, small men dey suffer. The big men don't pay light bills in their homes and business places. Oh NPP!

• Good Mama 2 months ago

Publish the report,liers.

• Kwam 2 months ago

Honestly, l think the OSP or EOCO should be interested in the case ohh . Where has the money gone too?????

• Kofi Nokware 2 months ago

Mahama destroyed the akosombo dam volume and also Mahama told ECG in his time that his bills should be free for him and his entire family.

• Zanu 2 months ago

Elsewhere heads would have rolled but not ghana. As for Akuffo Addo ghana it is TAIL THAT ROLL not heads. Ghana is terebly wounded and will take years to be heald

• Gborlahn 2 months ago

Next should be VRA. I have always asked if these power generation and distribution companies are being run efficiently? Is it a case of 25 descendents of former employees doing the job of one person and passing on unnecessary ...

• Naa Adorkor 2 months ago

…. with board and management and directors supervising.

• Ebena 2 months ago

No wonder Nigerians don't pay light bills

• Ocloo Samuel 2 months ago

Oh I see so I am not the only person who knows about them eh?

Thank God a reputable organization like KPMG have made this observation.

So so stealing nkoa!!

• Kwaku Ananse 2 months ago

So with all the tough talk by Samuel Dubik Mahama Esq. He has cotton wool at his back, eeeii.

• Kwasi 2 months ago

In fact the stealing is too rampant in Akuffo Addo's Ghana

• Farmer 2 months ago

We are headed for the worst Dumsor ever.

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

They just steal the funds and then falsely blame dumsor on people illegally connecting for electricity service. But then again, this report comes as no surprise, given that Julor House id a den of corruption and most official ...

• Anonymous 2 months ago

The mismanagement of the Ghanaian economy has left us in a long economic depression and I wonder when Ghanaian economists will declare a state of emergency to save Ghana from these incompetent crooks. And with the onslaught o ...

• Kwaku Kantaka 2 months ago

GBEMELA STEALING UNDER GBEMELA GOVERNMENT= OUR WOES.

• Get the arrested. 2 months ago

So far as we know who are in charge of collecting the light bills we know who we are going to arrest. Call your Police to arrest them.We are all have our past receipts.

• One of you. 1 month ago

Someone should kindly explain all this in a way that a six year old will understand.

It looks like there’s discrepancy between the amounts collected and the amounts disbursed via the CWM. Not all ECG accounts have been ...

• Prempeh 1 month ago

If this story is true we may as well blame the board chair even tho I find it very difficult to believe it. Politicians and their blame games just to cover for their inability to manage the economy and the energy sector

• John 1 month ago

Ghanaians God will never forgive you guys for voting this Npp Criminals to power.

• Kwesi Akonu 1 month ago

ECG and the VRA are two criminal organizations running our electricity business in Ghana. Everything government runs in this country has become politically been crimilized and is not functioning right due to the criminal work ...