First of all I say we don't need any of these complicated things in our country. We were just fine with how our grandparents lived. The new expensive lifestyle where people buy data instead of food has not brought any improvement to our life. Computers has not stopped poverty. It only helps the rich get Richter. So forth and so onn. If all the money we spend on those things are kept in the pockets of the poor, life will be great..
Bebeto 1 year ago
A country that corruption is like London bus; everywhere. The tax collectors are happy because MoMo and online transactions are down. Death to you all especially those at the customs @airports
YSL 1 year ago
We don't need any explanations,what we need is for u idiots to solve whatever the problem is, people are addicted to the Internet and are having internet turkey,solve the problem and stop the long talk.
IBRAHIM MAHAMA IS THE BEST MAN FOR THE JOB 1 year ago
The man who introduced galamsey on a grand scale to Ghana can restore the network within the shortest possible time. Abi he’s an Engineer and Planner. He also has access to state of the art underwater excavators
While aw ... read full comment
The man who introduced galamsey on a grand scale to Ghana can restore the network within the shortest possible time. Abi he’s an Engineer and Planner. He also has access to state of the art underwater excavators
While away with the Houthis, our polluted yellow rivers will have time to clear.
Thank God you’ve realised you’re an ape 1 year ago
Illiterate fool with a phone. Throw your phone away then you moron
The Lado 1 year ago
Why can't the Government,/ECG do same by informing has about the the problem just as MNO"s are doing by even proposing a time table if needs arise. I see dumsor but government still don't want to admit.
£EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 1 year ago
You are able to talk to us about your need to remain dense, without tapping into your God given brain with the same Internet medium. On that note we agree with you that we wouldn't have been suffered with this your nerve-wracking opinion...To succeed & make money, you have to be solution oriented. Become the go-to person, meet all cadre of humans daily by fixing the most important gadget, personal to humans today!. This March, MATCH FORWARD! The best business to do - or to sponsor a relative, friend or charitable gifting - is a service business, low capital(skill is your main capital). ACT NOW so you don't become a spectator this year. Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. Being intentional is important for achieving personal success & skilling up is a big part of INTENTIONALITY. Today, invest to unleash your potential this new year! Tired of unemployment, cashlessness? Take control of your life with our smartphone repair course(the first and best worldwide). In just three weeks, gain valuable skills to start earning on your terms. Join thousands around the world(check reviews) who changed their lives after JUST three weeks training with our books. Invest in yourself today with Chukky Oparandu's guide-book on Amazon(Search Chukky Oparandu on Amazon website). Act fast, before the current price ends in April. Break free from unemployment – start your journey to self-sufficiency now! #SmartphoneRepair #SkillsForSuccess #FinancialIndependence
Jesse 1 year ago
Utter nonsense, the world progresses, would you stop using electricity, cars, refrigerators all modern inventions? A lot of people depend on the internet MoMo to send and receive money for their business or daily survival. It’s up to the government to ensure this does not happen again, upgrade the subsea cables and allow Starlink from Elon Musk to operate in the country.
Pelicles 1 year ago
Hello, should everything be about food?
ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 year ago
gh must be control and in charge of these broadband internet vcables the same way Gh is in control of akosombo dam and maybe electricity Gh. then again, because of loans imf may have to buy put these entities and sell them or manage them and if you say no to gay trumu wahala....black leaders no sense
EFO KOKU 1 year ago
OFOSU AMPOFO AGAIN
Now the Pentecost elder has gone international. Arrest him fast before he causes more havoc.
OFOSU AMPOFO AGAIN
Now the Pentecost elder has gone international. Arrest him fast before he causes more havoc.
Sam 1 year ago
My friend then go and live in the Stone Age time. Life is about progress and innovations to make life better.
No Mercy 1 year ago
Everything is out of Service
Thank God you’ve realised you’re an ape 1 year ago
Poor country. Corrupt leaders. LGBTQ haters we have taken our internet go build yours
Babangida Casagrande 1 year ago
You made my day!
Armstrong 1 year ago
God is just disgracing this government. God is telling us their time is up
Cephas 1 year ago
We are good in laying blames on Russia/Ukraine , maybe this time the submarines of both waring Russia and Ukraine are in the Gulf and destroying our cables hahaha , Any update from Akuffo -Addo and Bawumia ? Anyway l can understand the situation the Country is state mourning. According to our culture and traditions you don't grant interviews when you are mourning.
Stephen Donkor: New York. 1 year ago
THIS IS NOT FROM RUSSIA UKRAINE WAR BUT IT IS DUE TO ANOTHER WAR. THE ISRAEL HAMAS WAR. GHANAIANS ARE LUCKY TO BE LIVING IN SUCH PEACEFUL COUNTRY: THE GOVERNMENT IS DOING EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO SUSTAIN ALL THESE GLOBAL CATASTROPHES THAT HAS BEEN INVADING OUR COUNTRY. THIS PROBLEM IS MORE THAN WHAT THE NCA IS SEEING IT. EVEN SOME OF THE GLOBAL POWER HOUSES ARE AFFECTED ! SO WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING SHOULD BE DEVOID OF POLITICS!
At least four undersea fiber optic cables, which carry approximately 97% of all Internet traffic, were damaged last week in the Red Sea, telecommunications providers are reporting, and instability in Yemen threatens to prevent operators from fixing them immediately. British-Registered Cargo Ship Attacked By Yemen’s Houthis In Red Sea The cables were possibly cut by the sinking [+] GETTY IMAGES KEY FACTS HGC Communications, a telecom operator in Hong Kong, reported the four cables that were “cut” in the Red Sea: SEACOM, TGN, Africa Asia Europe-One and the Europe India Gateway. HGC said that the damage has impacted an estimated 25% of their internet traffic, which is now being rerouted through mainland China and east through the United States. SEACOM, an African provider based in Mauritius, confirmed to the Wall Street Journal that their cable in the Red Sea was damaged, and that repairs would have to wait until at least the second quarter of 2024 due to ongoing instability in the region. The Europe India Gateway cable was built by a consortium of investors, including American telecom giants AT&T and Verizon, but as of Monday neither company confirmed if service has been affected. Tata Communications, the Indian telecom firm who operates the TGN cable, confirmed to the Associated Press that their cable was damaged near Yemen, and some service was down or rerouted (the company did not return a request for comment from Forbes). SEACOM, AT&T, and Verizon have not returned requests for comment from Forbes, and the U.S. State Department and other government bodies have not commented on the incident.
HOW IMPORTANT ARE FIBER OPTIC CABLES TO INTERNET ACCESS? A study published by the Department of Homeland Security in 2017 estimated that 97% of all intercontinental electronic communications took place using undersea fiber optic cables, which are routed beneath the world’s oceans. The same study offered a clear example of how vital the cables are in the Middle East. After three divers attempted to intentionally cut an undersea cable near Alexandria in 2013, Internet speeds in Egypt fell by about 60%. KEY BACKGROUND Reports on the possible damage to cables in the Red Sea began circulating last week. At least one Israeli media outlet blamed the damage on the Houthis, who have been targeting cargo ships in the waterway in an effort to support Hamas in the ongoing war in Gaza. The Houthis have vehemently denied the allegations. In a press release posted last Tuesday, the Houthi-controlled government said it was “keen to keep all telecom submarine cables and its relevant service away from any possible risks,” and also promised to provide facilities for the cables to be “repaired and maintained.” WHAT TO WATCH FOR Other observers have noted that the cables could have been damaged by the recent sinking of the British cargo ship Rubymar, which was targeted by Houthi forces on February 18 and abandoned by its crew. The ship was left drifting in the Red Sea for days, dragging its anchor on the seafloor, where it could have potentially cut one or multiple cables. A spokesperson for SEACOM told the Wall Street Journal that it was “plausible” their cable was damaged by the Rubymar, which has since sunk, but the company has not yet confirmed this. The International Cable Protection Committee, an NGO based in the U.K., said that an average of 150 incidents occur each year that damage undersea cables—and most of these are caused by activities such as commercial fishing and anchoring. FURTHER READING MORE FROM FORBES Ship Sinks After Houthi Attack-A First In Conflict By James Farrell
WaLL 1 year ago
@Steve.State Department won’t comment because they knew what went wrong.The movement of heavy heavy sub machines by these so call ‘collation of willing’.UK,USA ,France and others are the main cause .They don’t care because they don’t depend on fibre optic internet.Or maybe it is a conspiracy to botch Elon Musk Starlink to Africa.b/cos Must fell from #1st to Bezos by $1BL on world richest spot.All part of plan to sell businesses to Billionaires!!
Remember youre 3rd world. 1 year ago
Ghana doesn’t owe anything. Beggars but insulting Europe because you hate lgbtq. They have taken their cables. Go and manufacture yours with prayers and prophetic declarations.
Sam 1 year ago
There is nothing you people can do to help. Give us a break and let who can help do so.
I know you can’t read this. Those of us in Europe can 1 year ago
They’re deceiving you. Your governments don’t owe shit and have no idea what is going on. Punishment for anti lgbtq bill. Common internet you don’t owe. Primitive buffoons. Ho back to cave life.
Don 1 year ago
That's because of Akufo-Addo selling out the Russians to America that the have Wagner fighters in Africa.
Our president is very dangerous.
That's because of Akufo-Addo selling out the Russians to America that the have Wagner fighters in Africa.
Agbeli Kumordi 1 year ago
54 countries in Africa why can we design our own Internet like China
African leaders are not trying to be independent from the western world
Andy 1 year ago
look Ghana is not a liberal country in 2024 the gov suppresses voip what kind of stone age mind set is that? to get revenue from calls? how about the users having options? same thing and thinking regarding starlink its about control and revenue not liberty and competition . Its time the people are given a Government that has vision
kwame 1 year ago
I agree 1000 %
PAPERLESS-ERA 1 year ago
Maybe sam George can fix it.... Mr know it all and gay specialist.... mouth mouth nkoaa and I hope it stays that way and no Internet forever.... Guy Guy saaa and we don't how to solve and fix stuff....oh my black people it sad ooo...BABA God what have we done wrong???? please help us....
Nana Amoako 1 year ago
Some of us should try and learn a little bit instead of engaging in insults of the President, the government and always downgrading our own country as if we have another country to call our own. Some major news outlets here in the US reported that there is a damage to International undersea cables running across West Africa coastline that has affected Internet services in the following countries...Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Benin, Togo, Burkina, and other countries. This is International disaster affecting multiple countries. It's not only Ghana or Nana Addo doing that. But some idiots, who are illiterates and will never learn will quickly apportion blames and result in insults. Some of us should learn to be civilized because all your insults will not solve the problem, but it will rather show how stupid and uneducated you are.
Yabi Yabi 1 year ago
Here’s the problem I find with you and most NPP members, NPP closet supporters and particularly Diaspora-based NPP folks. Tell me which year Ghana had a complete and comprehensive distribution of electricity? Yet you folks blamed Mahama for dumsor as if he turned off or sabotage existing electricity supply. So if you want logical thinking to reign supreme in Ghana then Ashanti, Brongs and Kyebi folks in the diaspora and in Ghana should learn to be principled not hypocrites, learn to have foresight not ungrateful tribal bigots and above all love mother Ghana not tribes like all you NPP fanatics and foot soldiers have shown since the time of the late Kwame Nkrumah. Today none of you can use the word dumsor neither do you folks talk about thievery and mismanagement so let other be just as ignorant about the internet issue in Ghana as NPP dimwits have been since your foundations in the UP/dumbo- matemeho era, Nana Amoako.
THEREALTRUTH 1 year ago
Thanks for your information. It's true about all the insults here. It's like a disease. People are angry in the spirit. Why? I guess they really don't understand much about life. When people are fighting, either physically or mentally all is destructive. No one wins although people who feel they are stronger win. They are fooling themselves. Repeating the same mistakes over and over. Achieving the same results. NOTHING. People who live in harmony and care for one another have considerally less problems. IF the people could realize this and choose to follow people with these qualities instead of the macho sell outs who have been in power...Ghana and it's citizens could be living in near Utopia. I know this is unpopular what I am saying...But truth is....Don't vote for those political parties who have only followed the same mistakes......No progressive plans or ideas. We still have a british copied constitution...Which was written for their people...Not Africans....Another reason we don't progress. Living under someone elses rules and regulations... the system is decieving..its corrupt and will always be. Forget this political mess..IT JUST WICKED.
Ex-Pope 1 year ago
Those cables were poisoned.
Agbeli Kumordi 1 year ago
Akuffo Addo sold Ghanaian boys ass to Americans
And Europeans for 100 millions of dollars
Why Aku Addo refused to sign tge LGBT unnatural bill into law in Ghana?
Pelicles 1 year ago
According to some reports, the problem is from a severed submarine cable that is causing the internet shutdown.
Ato 1 year ago
Ghana has seen nothing yet. This stupid LGBTQI+ bill will surely cripple the country very soon. Go call that Sam George that man who some foolish Ghanaians are hailing as their savior to fix the internet problems. Worst days are coming soon get ready Ghana. Ghana go smell shit!!!!
Awurafua 1 year ago
Has Ghana tried to contact Dr.Thomas Mensah for any form of help ?
Sekou Toure 1 year ago
It’s conceivable that thief Akuffo Addo arranged for his minions to cut the undersea fiber cables to sell them for cash. Or he asked them to go down there and cut the cables so that he can have an excuse for the dumsor wahala. That man can’t be trusted with anything valuably, local or international.
OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago
NDC, no propaganda with this. A lot of countries have been affected, all the way from Portugal to South Africa. On the eastern coastline of the Atlantic Ocean. The NDC should read and be abreast with global events. Nonsensical party.
First of all I say we don't need any of these complicated things in our country. We were just fine with how our grandparents lived. The new expensive lifestyle where people buy data instead of food has not brought any impro ...
While aw ...
You are able to talk to us about your need to remain dense, without tapping into your God given brain with the same Internet medium. On that note we agree with you that we wouldn't have been suffered with this your nerve-wrac ...
Utter nonsense, the world progresses, would you stop using electricity, cars, refrigerators all modern inventions? A lot of people depend on the internet MoMo to send and receive money for their business or daily survival. It ...
gh must be control and in charge of these broadband internet vcables the same way Gh is in control of akosombo dam and maybe electricity Gh. then again, because of loans imf may have to buy put these entities and sell them or ...
OFOSU AMPOFO AGAIN
You made my day!
We are good in laying blames on Russia/Ukraine , maybe this time the submarines of both waring Russia and Ukraine are in the Gulf and destroying our cables hahaha , Any update from Akuffo -Addo and Bawumia ? Anyway l can unde ...
THIS IS NOT FROM RUSSIA UKRAINE WAR BUT IT IS DUE TO ANOTHER WAR. THE ISRAEL HAMAS WAR. GHANAIANS ARE LUCKY TO BE LIVING IN SUCH PEACEFUL COUNTRY: THE GOVERNMENT IS DOING EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO SUSTAIN ALL THESE GLOBAL CAT ...
@Steve.State Department won’t comment because they knew what went wrong.The movement of heavy heavy sub machines by these so call ‘collation of willing’.UK,USA ,France and others are the main cause .They don’t care be ...
look Ghana is not a liberal country in 2024 the gov suppresses voip what kind of stone age mind set is that? to get revenue from calls? how about the users having options? same thing and thinking regarding starlink its about ...
I agree 1000 %
Maybe sam George can fix it.... Mr know it all and gay specialist.... mouth mouth nkoaa and I hope it stays that way and no Internet forever.... Guy Guy saaa and we don't how to solve and fix stuff....oh my black people it sa ...
Some of us should try and learn a little bit instead of engaging in insults of the President, the government and always downgrading our own country as if we have another country to call our own. Some major news outlets here i ...
Here’s the problem I find with you and most NPP members, NPP closet supporters and particularly Diaspora-based NPP folks. Tell me which year Ghana had a complete and comprehensive distribution of electricity? Yet you folks ...
Thanks for your information. It's true about all the insults here. It's like a disease. People are angry in the spirit. Why? I guess they really don't understand much about life. When people are fighting, either physically or ...
Ghana has seen nothing yet. This stupid LGBTQI+ bill will surely cripple the country very soon. Go call that Sam George that man who some foolish Ghanaians are hailing as their savior to fix the internet problems. Worst days ...
It’s conceivable that thief Akuffo Addo arranged for his minions to cut the undersea fiber cables to sell them for cash. Or he asked them to go down there and cut the cables so that he can have an excuse for the dumsor waha ...
NDC, no propaganda with this. A lot of countries have been affected, all the way from Portugal to South Africa. On the eastern coastline of the Atlantic Ocean. The NDC should read and be abreast with global events. Nonsensica ...