You are here: HomeNews2024 03 15Article 1921687

Parliament must enact a law to cater for welfare of former MPs - Afenyo-Markin

Read Comments Comments (95)

• Livng 2 months ago

Ghanaians should say NO to this EVIL decision.

• Turning the Corner 2 months ago

After milking with the country with useless yeah yeah endorsements on party interests and after taking huge Ex-gratia every 4-years?? What nonsense is this?

• the Villager 2 months ago

Ofori Atta said he was working for free, if the whole finance minister works for free why wouldn't the MPs be satisfied with all that they haul from being MPs?

• His Excellecy The Ugly Dwarf 2 months ago

Gyimi, are you catering for the wellfare of those who sent you to parliament?

• Turning the Corner 2 months ago

If the MPs do a good job and not just pass stupid loans to let the government of the day misuse our resources, if the MPs do their oversight job well, the economy will be good for majority of Ghanaians and MPs will not have ...

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

Occult thinking from an occult man. Only myself and fraternity. Evil man who thinks sleeping with a 3 year old girl is ok. Evil man. I am sure he flies at night. Beyefu

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ 2 months ago

LGBT is part of Ghanaian culture and values.

• Idiots, for what 2 months ago

You idiots are paid the highest pay in ghana. Have free housing or cash for that, have free house boys, garden boys, cooks and free police security. You have the highest retirement benefits. Yet you are asking for more. Even ...

• Kweku Tsin 2 months ago

Good for them to get a taste of what they put this country through. If they had set up a system that worked for very one, they would have benefited from it. I want them to suffer for the same fate they put Ghanaians through.

• Naa Aula 2 months ago

Look at this Rogue. Thief man

• Idiots, for what 2 months ago

You idiots are paid the highest pay in ghana. Have free housing or cash for that, have free house boys, garden boys, cooks and free police security. You have the highest retirement benefits. Yet you are asking for more. Even ...

• Kumi 2 months ago

This one deeeiii you goof Afenyo….. Recently, you are making NPP unpopular with your childish thinking. What about the ex-gratia…. Then all public servants must take welfare as well….. Selfish man, you think Ghana is he ...

• OKRAKU IS USELESS 2 months ago

THEN TELL IS TO PAY OUR TAXES TO THE MPs. AFTER TAKING THOSE FAT SALARIES WITH HUGE EX GRATIA, PLUS THE CHOBOS ON COMMON FUND WE SHOULD PAY MPs WELFARE AAAABA! HOW MANY MPs DO WE HAVE? THIS IS THE MOST FOOLISH STATEMENT I HAV ...

• Ojah 2 months ago

THESE SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF CRUDE GARDEN IMPLEMENTS ALWAYS WANT TO DO NOTHING BUT RAPE THE COUNTRY. AFTER ALL THE BOUNTY THEY INDULGE IN AND ENJOY WHILST IN PARLIAMENT? SCREW DEM MUTHERS!

• I PRONOUNCE 2 months ago

Ah! SCREW DEM FATHERSTOO EH

• No Mercy 2 months ago

Born as a Slavies

• IS THE MP JOB BY FORCE? - Kwapps 2 months ago

This is the sort of thing every Ghanaian should resist with every fibre in their body, not that LGBTQ nonsense. Just as the president can only serve two terms, they should enact a similar law for the MPs too. Some of them wan ...

• NEW POISONS PARTY 2 months ago

B b BRAZEN THIEVES
    Bloody jokers in government and parliament. Who said MPs are suffering when they retire? The assets acquired by John Kumah, Cecilia Dapaah and Sir John alone can cater for all parliamentarians for the r ...

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 2 months ago

would you a percentage of your ex-gracia in a fund to cater for your welfare as a former MP????....Loose talker - u wont do that, you will chop all that money now and expect to be catered for after wasting all that free bono ...

• Sky 2 months ago

Thieves and nation wrecker brink this Robert bill on and you’ll see your smoothness .

• I am a Ghanaian. 2 months ago

God will judge you all. Which country caters for their ex MPs and legislators.
    Aww Ghana.

• Fake Professor. 2 months ago

Yeah, you are animal. After stealing all our money and sign useless contracts deal with foreign companies and stashing money in foreign countries you want us to babysit you.

• the Villager 2 months ago

On top of their ex-gratia Daabi da. If they will suffer after parliament then they should becoming parliamentarians. What nonsense is this boy from Winneba saying? Kwasiasem !!

• This Is Non-Sense To Me. 2 months ago

This Is Non-Sense To Me... You are paid monthly and ex-gratia. Form MP's ASSOCIATION. to cater for your out of office.

• Kom 2 months ago

It’s a no no no no nooooooooooo.

• Book 2 months ago

Afenyo Markin wants to be able to bully and torment a young father and his kids, fucck his wife and send national security after them because he has the power to do it. My guy beware of the seeds you sow today because you go ...

• Kom 2 months ago

Who forced you guys to become MPs. If you can’t take care of yourself after being an MP, don’t dare go there in the first place

• A 2 months ago

Animal markin. What. Fool and bustard.
    Who caters for the public who vote.
    Why can't mp create business.foool

• Truth 2 months ago

Has someone asked you to be an MP? You go there and you defend every stupid legislation? Look at the police man who was plotting to oust the igp what came out of this? You take kick backs and you wont the state to cater for y ...

• Zionism is racism 2 months ago

There should be a special pension fund to which all MPs must contribute when elected. Then on retirement, they will benefit from the fund. This is the practice in most civilised countries.

• 9924 2 months ago

Such timid and selfish fools,after your exgratia every 4yrs and another package to cater for rats infested mind,foolish guy,if you want quit parliament,fool of all fools

• Kofi Ghanaba 2 months ago

One thing that pains me most is that MPs also have free girl friends as one of their allowances.The are well fed so much that they need no help when they leave parliament.

• Gyan gyebi 2 months ago

They can go themselves

• Ojah 2 months ago

I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN, BRO!

• OBRONIBA 2 months ago

Gyimii gyimii, Mr gay man, go away with your foolishness and stupidity. What about the ordinary people? Selfish idiot with no manners and dignity

• Dwarf 2 months ago

The majority of the MPs in Ghana are greedy bastards and don't deserve to be in parliament. Stupid idiots

• Hastings Ekomato 2 months ago

Foolishness, MPs should first of all understand why they have decided to be MPs. Money and affluence shouldn’t be the yardstick. But integrity and service

• Kojo 2 months ago

Are MPs the old civil servants in the nation? You guys are so selfish

• Pioneer 2 months ago

CAPITA NONSENSE

• Momo 2 months ago

Just pure greed. An already very rich MP want to be pampered after looting and sharing ? Democracy is madness and Africa politicians are just taking the citizens for a ride. Cancel democracy in Africa.

• Lash 2 months ago

What new law, don't you take exgratia

• Gyasakala 2 months ago

The robbers are at it again!!!

• Nyamekye 2 months ago

Is your ex gratia not enough. You parliamentarians are conceited. Get lost.

• Sage Man 2 months ago

Taste to see the meals you cooked when enjoying in parliament. Shameless people!!

• Ama 2 months ago

Corrupt political class looking after their own welfare. what happened to your 4-yearly ex-gratia?

• Kwasi Colorado 2 months ago

By their words, you shall know their level of stupidity

• Nii Joromi 2 months ago

Selfish pigs!

• Koppong 2 months ago

You guys should contribute to SSNIT and enjoy the SSNIT pension like all workers

• Mama 2 months ago

Ghana's armed forces are now split into npp and ndc. They all lack the courage of Mali's military junta to step up and demand accountability.

• Abobeganim SK 2 months ago

Is it an indication that NPP going to opposition? Does it mean that you are afraid to loose your seat.
    I can’t comprehend

• Seeker. 2 months ago

How can these criminals be making laws for the country? May the devil punish all of you. You so called MPs with your stupidity and stupid party party nonsense have destroyed this country. Now you want who to take care of you? ...

• KWEKU ABAMOO 2 months ago

Crazy guy.Where in the world is this done.After being MPs and stealing the people's money,he expects the state to take of him with the taxpayers money. We think this guy needs some powerful psychotropic injections and then th ...

• Ga Ghanaba 2 months ago

I didn’t know this majority leader is such a useless fool. After all the ex gratias, huge salaries and incentives including free gas and Landcruisers MPs are receiving, you are still thinking about them after milking the co ...

• naaba 2 months ago

Why not pass a law to help suffering retired teachers who made you what you are today..

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 2 months ago

"WO YE KWASEA PII". WHAT ABOUT THOSE WHO VOTED FOR YOU THE PARLIAMENTARIANS ???? WHO IS GOING TO CATER FOR THEIR WELFARE ?
    GHANA REALLY NEDDS A COUP D'ETAT !!! THE N.P.P. SHOULD BE OVERTHROWN WITHOUT DELAY !
    WHAT I ...

• Kweku 2 months ago

Ghanaian MPs want to take ex gratia and also want a welfare scheme that will take care of them after leaving parliament. This proposal is not acceptable and scandalous. Parliamentarians want to take double pensions from the e ...

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

If what you are saying is true, why people fight every means to be an Mp? You don't deserve any welfare. You Mps are corrupt. You are lying

• Nana Addo 2 months ago

No wonder this idiot never got any appointments in this low performing government. He only thinks after talking. After all the privileges we dole out to MPs, you still want more? What about the poor Ghanaian ? Exwhat useful s ...

• Pa massa 2 months ago

USELESS LEADER'S. WHAT ABOUT THE ORDINARY GHANAIANS. IDIOT EDUCATED FOOL GREEDY MOTHERFUCKER

• Pelicles 2 months ago

Are you people serious, and what law should that be? Who are those former MPs who are more Ghanaians than those who made them MPs?

Now, I think these fools do not understand the basic work of MP. Reason, they try to please ...

• Ras_24 2 months ago

What about the Parliament prioritizing the welfare of the ordinary Ghanaians who struggle everyday and still cannot make ends meet. Total B.S. Unfortunately, they are the law makers and will pass a law that look after themsel ...

• +Jojo 2 months ago

Why do these MPs think that they must be the Pigs to drink all the milk as in George Orwell's Animal Farm. After receiving almost GHS 500,000 every 4 years as ESB, they now want the State to create a new welfare pension syste ...

• Joe Dude 2 months ago

Are u the only guys paying taxes???

• Sicily Powers 2 months ago

Stupid and selfish. What more welfare do you need after receiving fat salary as MP, ex-gratia after your service, your pension, etc. What else do MPs want from Ghanaians? Maybe you want to be paid for life. Nonsense. Who is A ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

The MPs get a lot of benefit and opportunities where by ordinary Ghanaian will never get, for example they get free accommodation, free healthcare, free fuel, diplomatic passports to travel anywhere in the world some of them ...

• EDWARD 2 months ago

Fool. You approved all those taxes and now you are crying about all manner of taxes being taken from your salary. "Na who cause am?" NPP MPs voted for every stupid tax bill that came to parliament.

• TAN 2 months ago

Huuuuuhhhhhh. No man no go chop ooo massa
    Be very careful paaaa.

• ASEM 2 months ago

These MPs. even get girl friends allowance. What is their problem? If you guys do good job as parliamentarians you will come and enjoy. The fruits of your labour. What do you guys take Ghana for?

• Joseph johnson 2 months ago

These people think the country belongs to them. Such stupid talk should not be tolerated at all. Am quite surprise that this MP had the courage to even think about such a thing after destroying the economy.

• Jak 2 months ago

This guy is becoming a clown as the days go by.

He is obviously an empty suit .

Saya things just to suit his puppet masters

• Ghana 2 months ago

This is Crazy!
    What about the Farmers Teachers Builders and the other productive sectors that drives the economy?
    What do parliamentarians produce???

• NONSENSICAL 2 months ago

These windbags & airheads only think about themselves. Au sit around singing - shouting in parliament while grabbing fat salaries, soft loan terms to buy cars & huge end of term benefits. Now you want a lifetime retirement sa ...

• Every Life Matters. 2 months ago

Selfish buffoons. How about the populace? You fools are highly compensated. What else do you motherfuckers want? Instead of getting real jobs and contributing to the economy of Ghana, you bandits have found this sweet spot ...

• Ken 2 months ago

Create a fund to cater for former mps.
    Tell us something better as a legislator. If you can't survive after service because of that, then don't go into politics. You are going to be a huge liability to the state.

• Kwasi 2 months ago

This greedy buffoon never seizes to eschew total garbage

• Pressman 2 months ago

Until you improve the working conditions of Ghanaian workers, you guys have no moral right to talk about any legislation to improve the conditions and living standards of the former MPs

• CJ 2 months ago

It's very clear now that black people are useless. Indians, Chinese, Asians etc are moving forward with ideas and this is what a whole majority leader in parliament is saying? I pity those who vote for these idiots

• Dandura 2 months ago

Nkeasiasem

• Dandura 2 months ago

Nkwasiasem!

• Nuumo1 2 months ago

This guy is increasingly becoming very foolish and self centered.
    How dare you say such a thing?
    Do you think we are fools in this country?
    Get away you bribe takers and givers who eagerly always pay their way through to b ...

• Pee 2 months ago

For what reason? That’s the reason you should contribute to SSNIT

• Frank Talk 2 months ago

This man Afenyo Markins is very self centered are MPs better than other citizens. All you need to do to know the true character of a man is to give him power and or money He needs to be kicked out by his constituency he has n ...

• Nonsense 2 months ago

Oh yeah! And how about the people on whose back you got to where you are....what have you done for their welfare? There are certainly a few MP's out there I admire for their good to their communities and mother Ghana...but fo ...

• LONGJOHN 2 months ago

THE CONSTITUENTS OF THIS STUPID LAZY0 BRAGGART SHOULD KICK HIM OUT OF PARLIAMENT THERE'S NOTHING GOOD IN HIS HEAD THAN SPEWING NONSENSE.. UPON ALL THE MONEY THEY STEAL AND THEIR FAT EX GRATIA THEY WANT TO STRIP THE COUNTRY NA ...

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

Yes, the selfish and greedy Horribles, who think the world revoves around them. Upon taking ex-gratia and other Perks and allowances including those for cleaning the stinky asses, they still want more. A friend's dad who ta ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 2 months ago

Who asked you to be an MP? Don't you even kill to win elections?

• Don 2 months ago

Ofui you deserve nothing useless maroons.

• guy guy 2 months ago

STUPID RAP

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

The real or needed Law to be Enacted is a Law prohibiting any Ghanaian citizen living in GHANA from buying a residential Property outside Ghana and having Bank accounts outside the country. Investments and re investments ne ...

• Asante 2 months ago

I am very disappointed of this MP. He should count himself lucky for where he is as compared to other Ghanaian citizens. The little income the country generates are used to make these MPs, lawyers, government officials comfor ...

• JIM 2 months ago

Greedy and crooked political nincompoop. Pay your social Security contributions and use it in your retirement and stop this nonsense
    You should be ashamed of yourself.

• It's True 2 months ago

Apuuuu!

• Ama Koranteng 2 months ago

Idiot

• Afenyo-Idiot 2 months ago

Vote this idiot out of parliament for suggesting that MP should retire with full salary after 4 years in parliament.. I’m going to vote against NPP because of this idiot and his nonsense. Who made him majority leader? Since ...

• OBRONIBA 2 months ago

Gyimii gyimii. Upon your fat allowances and exgratia, you still want more? How many public servants earn a quarter of what you take home after just 4 years in parliament? You chose to represent the people but in real sense, y ...