You are here: HomeNews2024 03 12Article 1921232

Sankofa Series: Here is why I.K. Acheampong implemented Operation Feed Yourself in 1972

Read Comments Comments (19)

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ +

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

This man was the only Ghanaian to make us self sufficient in food production. Just like Nkrumah did not amass great wealth. Yet the one who gave us rawlings chain and took state property and gave it to his wife for free or ch ...

• Your Stupid Mother Killed Mills 2 months ago

Kwasia buulu tokebelleh..!!!!!!! At this grand old age of yours, you still need help that would enable you to strike proper thinking! Olooshie... if you were not that stupid, you'll notice how your lifelong idol & wee smoking ...

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

OO HOO my brother. It's my name keke. But who kill am.

• Agya 2 months ago

And the end what was the result?Kalabule and Ginabu and all sorts of problems no wonder he was toppled by his own Generals.Most of Ghanaians problems was caused by Him and Asomasi.

• Paul Police 2 months ago

Agya. You forgot to add fawoto b3j3 Golf his hobby. Women were doing most of the street slaps all in the name of I.K.A

• Angel 2 months ago

Where's your evidence? Empty words, empty brain.

• Greed 2 months ago

Today politicians are not dashing golf but v8 vehicle's and mansions

• Angel 2 months ago

The "end result", as you put it, wasn't caused by Operation Feed Yourself. It was mainly caused by the OPEC oil crisis which saw prices inflated massively, across the world. Even the UK had to take drastic measures by impleme ...

• Osei Kwame 2 months ago

It was the OPEC Oil crisis which derailed what would have been a very successful programme of Operation Feed Your Self. We had not discovered oil then. Still a very good initiative.

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

SOME CREDIT MUST BE GIVEN TO THE REAL ARCHITECT OF THE OPERATION FEED YOURSELF COL. BERNASCO WHO WAS THEN THE SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE...TWEAA.

• Osei Kwame 2 months ago

Barnasko played significant role. It was teamwork and the original idea came from Acheampong. He got the idea while he was on a military course in Fort Levenworth, Kansas , USA. It is documented in the Book by Baffour Agyema ...

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

Kwame Nkrumah and Acheampong are the best head of state Ghana has ever had. Under Acheampong government all the factories and institutions that Nkrumah established were all working. But as soon as Rawlings came everything col ...

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF 'BEST HEAD OF STATE'?...TWEAA.

• Anim 2 months ago

Acheampong's operation feed yourself period was far better than this NPP regime. The Supreme Military Council government made sure Ghanaians had food at low cost to purchase. They didn't make Ghana indebted to foreign loans l ...

• Kofi 2 months ago

Operation feed yourself,Dawenya irrigation project,right hand drive were all policies laid down by Busia.Acheampong laid hands on them after the coup only to fall into disgrace.
    His coup was the most useless in Ghana history ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

Much as I detested Acheampongs's regime, I think giving useless Busia a taste of his own evil coup machinations was the best. And, am glad hopeless Busia also paid a price. The useless western poodle could not convince his W ...

• From Acid to Poison 2 months ago

One day Acheampong will be honoured. A statue will be built in his honour. A major infrastructure will bear his name. What they said he did as compared to what is going on now is so small you will need an electron microscope ...

• Saint sheriff richmond 2 months ago

Was he praised when he was in power? same we are doing for nana,he did everything possible for us just that he met a trying era,time will tell