You are here: HomeNews2024 03 06Article 1920257

MP carries kenkey, bread, rice to parliament to show Akufo-Addo the ‘True State of Ghana’s economy’

Read Comments Comments (95)

• JJ 2 months ago

GOD BLESS YOU MUM - YOU HIT THE NAIL RIGHT

• OSABARIMA MENSA 2 months ago

If the buga buga party was in power during covid and post covid, there would be no kenkey to be found. We were importing foodstuffs from the Ivory Coast under the incompetent one's government. Thanks to PFJ, there are no food ...

• Moron MP 2 months ago

In 2016 Kenkey was sold at Ghc 1.
    In 2024 kenkey is being sold at Ghc 5. In 8 kenkey increases by Ghc 4 ghana cedis with all the economic crisis all over the world due Covid-19 and Ukraine war. So ghantis doing well after al ...

• Marco 2 months ago

Please elaborate how covid and Ukraine war affected our economy???. What was Ghana's trade volume (in dollar terms) with Ukraine before and after the war???. Regarding Covid, how did this event specifically affect our economy ...

• Pelicles 2 months ago

@Marco. Elaborate how ebola led Mahama to the IMF. Also, explain how "a slow in China devastated our economy under your stupid Mahama and his NDC government. Mahama sent Ghana to the IMF with the useless excuse that ebola, an ...

• J0eY l0nD0n 2 months ago

Stop your excuses and lies , how much was clandestinely allocated to your cathedral ? Thieves and liars !

• Sarfo Bedoako 2 months ago

Pelicles, you have shown that kind of a person you are. When Marco was making his comment, he never insulted Akuffool Addo but in your comment you attacked him and insulted Mahama. That is the traits of the followers of Akuff ...

• Y 2 months ago

Read read international news and you will get the answers.

• Opoku 2 months ago

Marco you see how myopic you are?Answer Pelicles.

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

Idiotic and brain dead Pelicles displaying his usual senseless rants by using fake names. Who in his right mind will answer your comment which has got all the dignity of a piece of turd.? No different from your mindset. Any ...

• Kimawee 2 months ago

Liar liar do you live in the USA. I’m living in Westfield in Massachusetts. Please don’t lie to Ghanaians. The price is 2$

• Nana Kofi Foffie 2 months ago

In Denver Colorado, a ball of Kenkey sells at $3.00.

• So 2 months ago

Don’t compare kenkey price in Denver to Accra price. How much does the poor Ghanaian earn?

• Y 2 months ago

Even the price of eggs is about $5.00 to $6.00 per dozen.Sometimes you can even find stuff.

• Teye 2 months ago

Weak mind, were the crop affected by Covid in the farms, where is the benefit of the huge money spent on the useless planting for food and agriculture? Perhaps the crops were rash to La General Hospital and they couldn't make ...

• Y 2 months ago

Yeah.

• Stop looting state resources and 2 months ago

Build a better nation for all to live in peace and stop going round for begging so that lesbian Virginia can't talk shit in our country, who born shit dog Virginia

• Mary- Ho public toilet 2 months ago

These Togolese!!

• Bobby Stones 2 months ago

Well done Hon. Della Sowah, more grease to your elbows.

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

ONCE UPON A TIME, THE NDC SENT 'ADWENWO' TO PARLIAMENT...SO THIS IS NO NEWS...TWEAA

• KWAME 2 months ago

AKUFO ADDO AND BAWUMIA NEED DELIVERANCE FROM GODS OF GHANA FOR TELLING US LIES UPON LIES FOR OUR VOTES:

• Kofi 2 months ago

@Kwame... you rather need deliverance. You must thank your stars that NPP is in power during Covid-19 and the ongoing Ukraine war, else, you'll be crying everyday for food. More also thank God that at least there is food in ...

• Kwaky 2 months ago

This foolishness in NDC continues Worthless MPs.

• Rev. Okusie Adu Gyamfi Identify I & II 2 months ago

I remember Akufo Monkey Addo holding a kenkey at NPP rally and asking the 99% buffoons why they should sell the kenkey one cedi

• Ben Adu-Yirenkyi 2 months ago

Can't you just comment without insults, listen to your name and compare yourself to Akuffo Addo and you would see your level, shame unto you

• Nana 2 months ago

She is not a fool our constitution and the EC has caused this problem.Why shd a small country like Ghana has 275 MPs?The result is why the quality of MPs has dropped.Some of these MPs could have been on the farm.

• Ruta 2 months ago

@nana You should ask yourself this question, why is Ashanti region has 47 mp's fool.

• VILLAGE HEADMASTER 2 months ago

Thank You for bringing this out. The comparision was excellent BUT Oga kpatakpata does not care of what u are doing bcos the sychophants bshind him keep praising him that things are going smoothly. the only antitote is KICK T ...

• Power to the masses 2 months ago

How do you a ball of kenkey to be sold? It is not the fault of the government, how many of us farm to produce our staple foods. We have left farming to the old people in the village. If we want food to be cheap let's go back ...

• Joeboy 2 months ago

Get real! You destroy local banks you destroy the local economy. Finished!

• The DON 2 months ago

Hmmmm NPPIGS may God ALMIGHTY the master, creator and sender of Jesus Abraham Moses send them into opposition and keep them there for 50 years. Amen.

• Taxi driver @ Kayayoo Hostel 2 months ago

I will vote for Mahama. Bawumia is complete borla. Suitable for biodigester in Agbogbloshie 1 million toilets campaign promise

• WEBSITE AND MORE 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting. Call: 0501796870 . Visit: www. ...

• Sukuuuura flamingo road sukuuukuura 2 months ago

Madam stop the nonsense both of you parties npp/ndc are the same nothing good come from them. The only thing you know is borrow and share. For Ghana to progress this paries ndc/ npp must be rooted out. Corrupt ok on garllore ...

• Has her salary still the same from 2016? 2 months ago

Bad economics.... Please go sleep somewhere .. This your calculations don't make sense.. Why didn't you tell the house how much you were earning in 2016 and now 2024 how much you are taking home. Lies lies. this politicians p ...

• ofi Adu 2 months ago

Dela Adjoa Sowah ,2016 food prices your are comparing ,that time how old were you?and how old are you now? Prices never stays the same ,but since food is available in the market that is the most important

• TJ 2 months ago

All parliamentarians who took the $100,000.00 car loan should bawled down your heads in shame. A total amount of approximately, 37.5 million US dollar was given to you MPs as car loans which was indirectly free. Now, you’re ...

• ZUZA 2 months ago

Cheap popularity.

• Nonsense 2 months ago

In 2016 Kenkey was sold at Ghc 1.
    In 2024 kenkey is being sold at Ghc 5. In 8 kenkey increases by Ghc 4 ghana cedis with all the economic crisis all over the world due Covid-19 and Ukraine war. So ghantis doing well after a ...

• Nana 2 months ago

ABOA BA,ARE YOU LIVING IN GHANA? LET THOSE WHO LIVE HERE CRY. ABOA BI BA. THOSE WHO ARE IN AKO GOVERNMENT DOESN'T FELL IT. LET'S CRY OUR OWN CRY.ABOA

• Yaw K 2 months ago

Come again gentleman. Prices can never remain same in this part of our world. As an MP, have you received salary increment over the 4 years? If yes then please stop your propaganda.

• Robert 2 months ago

Yaw God continue bless you

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

@Yaw,,,And, in your daft opinion the average Ghanaian and our MPs have got 400% pay rise over the last four years. Is it so hard for supporters of useless Akufo Addo to reason and think coherently?

• Nana 2 months ago

1 TRILLION CEDIS IN REVENUES=78.1 TRILLION DOLLARS AND HERE WE ARE TODAY.

• GOD BLESS THE SISTER MP OVER TO YOU NANA 2 months ago

WHAT SAY YOU TO THE FACT PRESNTED BY OUR SISTER OOO?

• Sage 2 months ago

Stupid Ewe whore.
    Infantile comparisons.
    Mahama is a Thief.
    Bawumia is the next President of Ghana.
    Nonsense

• Nana 2 months ago

ANOTHER GOAT;1 TRILLION CEDIS IN REVENUES =78.1 TRILLION DOLLARS. BAWU PROMISED KAYAYEE TOILET AND WASROOMS AT AGBOBLOSHI 4 YEARS B4 THE ELECTIONS. UP TILL NOW. NEXT PRESIDENT? IF YOU NOT A SILLY COW.ABOA

• John 2 months ago

Is your mother who's a whore and your entire generation's respect yourself

• Nana Oppong Sikafuo 2 months ago

This is not the first time that kenkey has been sent to parliament I remember late Kwaku Baah who was also an (MP) did the same thing. A country where everyone is looking for the white man job (2) it's because Ghana doesn't ...

• Queen 2 months ago

The cry of a FOOLISH Woman. Did I tell you that I can not put food on my table? I thought your men were stupid but apparently the women are STUPIDIER.

• Zomor 2 months ago

Leave parliament and farm not only the poor farmer will continue feed you .

• Kwaku 2 months ago

Madam what was the minimum wage in 2016 and what is the minimum wage in 2024. Have you heard about shrinkinflation?

• U.K boy 2 months ago

Childish politics.... still incompetent in opposition

• J0eY l0nD0N 2 months ago

Fool, how much was the price of a ball of Kenkey in 2016

Do you remember your silly pepsodent saying if he was jdm, he would have resign just because the dollar was being sold for Ghana 4 new cedis.

Ofui, do you remem ...

• Nee 2 months ago

When did her constituent started eating kenkey instead of their own delicious food?. NDC and cheap political antics. This will not bring your candidate Mahama to power. Anyone in NDC may be better but definitely not mahama. H ...

• Kofi 2 months ago

Akufo Addo is very incompetent. Useless. An ugly short fool

• Joy 2 months ago

Here in agona swedru we buy kankey for 10 Ghana at some joint but we don't care because it taste good.

• K B 2 months ago

Massa,,which part of Swedru do you buy a ball of kenkey for GHs 10.00,,,,please I want to know.

• Ben Adu-Yirenkyi 2 months ago

Poor NDC and kenkey politics , how old were you in 2016, nowhere in this world would prices remain the same after some years,I get bored when I hear statements like the dollar was 4 cedis in 2016 ,petrol was 5 cedis a litre , ...

• Pa kay 2 months ago

Her ex-gratia then and now, are they the same?. People talk as if Ghana has been all smooth sailing and somebody intentionally came to mess it up. NDC are part of the problem we face now. How much are we paying for the power ...

• THE M.P STATING FACTS AND MOST PEOPLE AGREE WITH HER 2 months ago

IT MIGHT BE HARD TO HEAR THE TRUTH BUT IT IS THE TRUTH

• Kilogram 2 months ago

So pathetic! Blame it on your fellow greedy Ghanaians! How will you feel or what will you say if the government introduced "price control"? How did such people find gheir way into parliament? No wonder being a parliamentaria ...

• Kilogram 2 months ago

So pathetic! Blame it on your fellow greedy Ghanaians! How would you feel or what would you say if the government introduced "price control"?
    How at all did such women (bleached and wearing a wig) find their way into parlia ...

• Kwesi 2 months ago

It will go against you, if your government come to power! We are moving forward back awards never!

• EWI 2 months ago

NDC MP WHO SOLD ALL OUR FACTORIES TO THEMSLEVE
    YOU SHOULE 1983 WHEN NDC WAS IN ON FOOD PLEASE TRY TO TELL THE TRUTH NOT RICE THE WHOLE WORLD ECONOMY IS IN TROUBLE AFTER COVID. BIG THANK FOR PLANTING FOR FOOD.

• Ray Alan 2 months ago

Cheap politics this is not the first time an MP has taken food items including kenkey to parliament it happened in the 3rd republic and it never solved our economic problems. This kind a stuff would not help you win power com ...

• King 2 months ago

It's all nonsense. How much was kenkey price in 1957.

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

It's simple like that, when the driver rules, we have three meals daily, when a mate rules, 1 daily meal. We don't mention independence day. Independence from what? Ape, Chimpanzee or monkey? Themselves used helicopter.

• Opesaw 2 months ago

THE ECONOMY WOULD HAVE BEEN WORSE WITH NDC DOUBLE SALARY THIEVES, THE LOOT AND SHARE NDC GOVERNMENT

• Robert 2 months ago

Why Ndc leaders are soo much fools why?

• Crank shaft 2 months ago

What’s did she expect when Mahama supporting galamseyers to destroy both cash crops including maize or corn to prosper for gold and expect kenkey to cheap.so fools sees this imbecile as food hero MP.She should rather quit ...

• dede 2 months ago

let us go back to operation feed yourself which Acheapong started

• Obi 2 months ago

NDC IS GHANA'S DOWNFALL. A VERY CORRUPT PARTY CALLED NDC, THE MOST CORRUPT IN AFRICA

• WHO KILLED ALIU MAHAMA 2 months ago

Hmmmmmmm to be honest the most corrupt, selfish and arrogant govt that I have ever experienced in Ghana is this one Gossh. Mahama and co were not saints they were corrupt as well but this gov't is the worst of all. Stop chatt ...

• Citizen8 2 months ago

Madam kindly share with us what NDC would do differently if they win elections in December 2024? We haven't heard much apart the 24-hour economy that most of us don't understand.

• Snyder 2 months ago

Ndc agyimifoc without ANY MESSAGE will remain in opposition until their kingdom comes. Nkwaseafoc

• KA 2 months ago

Why didn't they take tattered dresses to Parliament? Hypocrites of first class.

• Garnacho 2 months ago

What a villager MP. Even Go to the USA, Canada or the UK and see how prices are soaring. You are in Parliament and you know that the whole world is facing challenges economically. So MP grow up.

• Eric Fynn 2 months ago

You do all madam God richly bless you for fact spoken.

• Kenneth 2 months ago

We’re lucky to have Nana to lead us now. If the NDC were to be in power by now, most teenagers will get be thieves, burglars and prostitutes. How much was an MP earning in 2016 and how much today

• jesus 2 months ago

ID 1F, MANHOLES FOR DAMS, PDS AND YOU DON'T THINK YOU ARE STUPID FOR THE ABOVE COMMENT? USE YOUR GOD GIVEN BRAIN!

• J Pratt 2 months ago

Stupid Ndc party, murderers, thieves, armed robbers, looters, lies , etc. Stupid Mahama said free education is 419, certificates of free education are cheated certificates, Akan will never vote for a Northerner to be the lea ...

• Ye de owuo ka 2 months ago

When some serious forward-looking leaders are searching for innovative technologies to confront modern-day challenges, this backward-looking NDC's MP is thinking about the current size of kenkey and other irrelevant issues on ...

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

You seem to be an educated twat just like your useless Idols Akufo Addo and Bawumia. The fact that the Lady quoted hopeless Akufo Addo, in 2016 making a mounting out of a mole hill about the price of kenkey is definitely l ...

• Tijani 2 months ago

Oh Ama Ghana. When? We are still doing kenkey politics in 2024. So sad.

• X 2 months ago

Drama Queen. Unnecessary Histrionic!

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

Daily bread turned in to Daily famine.

• Obrempong 2 months ago

The thinking of Ndc party members makes one
    believes that the party lacks wisemen. How came
    that the female lawmaker compares seven years
    ago commodity prices to today. What is your
    task of being a lawmaker there ? Why c ...

• KG 2 months ago

THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME AN MP HAS TAKEN KENKEY TO PARLIAMENT. MADAM, WHEN PNDC/AFRC WAS RULING US , WE QUEUED FOR BREAD, WE BOUGHT UNCOOKED KENKEY FRO THE KENKEY SELLERS, WE TRAVELLED TO KUMASI WITH BONE SHAKERS. IN 1983 W ...

• KG 2 months ago

MADAM DON'T DECEIVE YOURSELF. I LEAVED IN LAGOS NIGERIA IN THE LATE 70'S AND EARLY 80'S. BREAD, GARI, RICE WAS VERY CHEAP THEN. TODAY IN LAGOS NIGERIA, THEY SELLING BREAD FOR N100.00, RICE BEANS AND EVRYTHING IN LAGOS NIGERIA ...

• Voiceless 2 months ago

Just making a mockery of poor Ghanaians as if they care. Will your Government bring down the prices when voted into power?

• Mubi 2 months ago

This is not first time an MP carried a food item to parliament. It is part of the drama that happens in parliament all the time.

• OB 2 months ago

You don't know what you are saying. How much was your salary in 2016 and how much are you collecting today? Are you collecting the same amount of money that you expect the price of kenkey to be stable? Your comparison has no ...

• Osei Kwabena 2 months ago

SHAME ON YOU. DO YOU THINK PRICES OF GOODS WILL BE CHEAPER AS THE POPULATION INCREASES? GO BACK AND STUDY DEMAND AND SUPPLY. THESE NDC MPS DON'T READ. NOW IIN NEW YORK, PLAINTAINS ARE BEING SOLD FOR THREE FOR $2. CAN YOU BE ...

• Abusua 2 months ago

The NPP's murdering machine is in motion.