You are here: HomeNews2024 03 04Article 1919822

Sankofa series: What JB Dankwa told Prempeh II to get Asanteman join Ghana's independence fight

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 2 months ago

And during the time Ashanti Confederation was on itself what was Dormaa Hene’s role in the Ashanti Kingdom and how did Dormaa Hene quickly claimed that he is superior to the Asante Hene? I’m writing this because I’m bir ...

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

Kwasia Tutu II is scratching his testicles and laughing hilariously. Hahahaha his uncle Kwame Kyeretwie was scammed by JB Danquah . Hahahaha this is MA TRICKI WO.

NB. Dormaa was only part of Asante confederacy for 3 month ...

• His Excellency The Ugly Dwarf 2 months ago

The traitor JB Dan Danquah is in hell. Forget about him. He actually opposed Ghana's in dependence - travelling all the way to London to tell the British we were not ready for independence and then his party abstaining in the ...

• Fire 2 months ago

How many times do you fools have to be reminded that Asante region was part of THE Gold Coast, especially, after 1902. Kwaku Duah himself said it in his Memphis speech. Youtube it. Asantes are stuck on stupid pretending they ...

• Sylvan 2 months ago

@ Fire, don't mind this revisionist writer. So after the British defeated the Asante and sent the king and queens to islands, they couldn't colonized it. This asantes always made and see themselves above everyone in Ghana but ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

What do you expect if you rope in people to help you in a fight through promises of lies? You will NEVER Succeed. No wonder the Laws of KARMA worked against that particular person. That person started his life as a Con.arti ...

NKRUMAH’S IDOLS ARE THE BIGGEST ENEMIES OF GHANA! I’M TALKING ABOUT THAT KANKAN MOMONE NYAME!

If you are talking about JB Dankwa then you should be ashamed of yourself for making such unguarded comments. So now betwee ...

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 2 months ago

Lol.
    @Stephen Donkor: New York, read your comment and it all sound foolish.
    Associating idol worship to the first President of Ghana was all orchestrated by unpatroitic morons against Ghana's independence, knowing that emp ...

• Joseph Ouedraogo, Guinea Conakry 2 months ago

@Stephen Donkor, New Yorke. Kankan is the second largest city in Guinea and there is no such deity or 'marabou ' (juju) there now or during President Sekou Touré era. Don't disgrace President Nkrumah.

• Rastafarian 2 months ago

You are a fool .
    Nkrumah's legacy can't be compromised.
    He's the champion of Africa.
    A Statue at the Africa union headquarters tells you all.
    Nkrumah never dies .Who told you CPP is dead ?
    His legacy is awakening soon,

• The Voltarian 2 months ago

This article is full of nonsense. Ashantis were in no way, shape or form integral to the fight for independence. There's no such thing as 'the big six', it is only 'the big one': Nkrumah. Traitors and CIA agents like Danquah ...

• Give Your life to Jesus Christ 2 months ago

This writer is purely an uneducated Asante. First, Ashanti territory did not include Bono and Ahafo regions. Secondly, Ashanti territory was officially declared by British as protectorate, which is the same as colony in 1783 ...

• Tokugawah 2 months ago

You are partly right but your dates have been transposed, Sagrenti War was in 1874. Kofi Karikari the Asantehene ran from Kumasi and Simple r Garnet Wolseley sacked and burnt Kumasi to the ground. Karkari begged for a Peace T ...

• Fire 2 months ago

AS PART OF THE TREATY, THEY ALSO HAD TO STOP HUMAN SACRIFICE AND SLAVE TRADE.

YOU ARE REAL BANKYE MORI ( CASSAVA DOUGH)

You are the most unexposed person I’ve ever seen. In the subject of psychology: making generalizations and statements without any scientific evidence or data is attributable to ...

• Kweku Tsin 2 months ago

I see how you qualified it, every extended Asante???. How many wofaasi and great, great, grandchildren do you have to count to find a relative educating abroad. The fact still remains that majority of Ghanaians still live at ...

• Sylvan 2 months ago

Thank you. You have the facts unlike this writer who up this stupid article about Asante monarch being invited, the monarch was a slave to the British empire and shipped to scychelle island.

• onipa 2 months ago

JB is a con.
    He'll never elevate Asanteman over Okyeman.
    He said that to the Asantehene to get his support.
    That family can promise you anything to get power.
    Addo-Dee on my mind.

• Baba 2 months ago

No wonder we are so divided traitors allover

• DANQUAH OUTSMARTED ASANTEHENE 2 months ago

JB Danquah outsmarted Asantehene. He was only interested in being the Prime Minister. Now, when he realized it was not happening under Nkrumah, he mashalled forces around UP, a party based on tribalists from Northern People's ...

• Augustina Quayson 2 months ago

Please Ashanti and the Northern Territories were joined to the Gold Coast Colony in 1902

• Augustina Quayson 2 months ago

Please Ashanti was part of the lndependence struggle. The CYO, Committee on Youth Organization that turned itself into the CPP at Tarkwa in 1949 was made up of the Ashanti Youth Association, Youth Study Group an ...

• Kweku Tsin 2 months ago

YOU ARE TAKING ABOUT POLITICS, NOT independence. The independence struggle started with expensive foreign goods boycott initiated by KING BONNEY of Osu who encouraged all the coastal chiefs from Volta/central/western regions ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Tsin, it seems as if you do not your elbow from your armpit. It is a bit like saying your came through your mum's womb but she did not have sex with your dad. There would have been no Independence without the politics. Our o ...

• Kali 2 months ago

The Asante hene is telling lies. A very deceptive character. The Asante confederacy failed to exist after the defeat in the sagrante war. Asante is liquidated and placed under British rule
    The otumfuor is telling lies. JB ...

• Sir-Riscky 2 months ago

We don't need these stories. What happened after this independence? You overthrew the one who suffered most out of hatred and jealousy and you're speaking of A or B. What was the so-called contributions of these same people y ...

• Igp 2 months ago

If the northern Terroriteries were not under British Protectorate, how come the Britsh ruled them and neglected development to those Terroritories? Why is Ashanti is trying to rewrite history of Ghana? JB Danuah would have ba ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 2 months ago

Are they not the same Akyem Sakawa mafia traitors who are now selling the dignity , the culture and the values of this country for money?
    we still have KWAME TUA AMONG us

• Andrew 2 months ago

We were Oman Asante which is Asanteman so all those making noise about us, should know that without Oman Asante or Asanteman, there would not have been GANA. Nkrumah played smart and changed the initial plans of Prime ministe ...

• ???? 2 months ago

Agenda tabled ….

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

How I wish you Asante aren’t part of Ghana. You’re Ghana’s main problem

• Ghabay,NY. 2 months ago

Asante succumbed to British rule from 1920.Though we were not part of the independence struggle initially, we were still under British rule. Being that we were rebellious and had the tendency to strike at any given time, th ...

• Tupac 2 months ago

Apuu