You are here: HomeNews2024 03 03Article 1919699

The heartwarming story of the Ghanaian police officer who saved Liberia's vice president from jail

Read Comments Comments (58)

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+

• Namo Gbe Mills 2 months ago

One thing I don't understand about you gay people is why you want the whole world to know you are nasty. The gay thing is occult and just as they say to some people sleep with a mad woman before you get your money, people lik ...

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

I am not gay. I only want to cause damage to racist Ghana.

• TRUTH 2 months ago

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL GHANA,

MR DAMPARE, I SALUTE YOU THIS MORNING,

Your man has done well and he deserves an Post duty Award for remarkable wisdom and kindness.

Now you gay, do we look like we hanged our last gays in 183 ...

That thing about hanging the first blackman to arrive at a crime scene is very true. Once I was on a bus that could not move because the white police had blocked the road so I got off. As soon as a police man saw me he starte ...

• Kweku Tsin 2 months ago

This story happened in the 90s, nothing to do with Danpare.

• EKOW ADDISON 2 months ago

The story is about Ghana Police Service as an institution but not about any individual.

Thanks

• Kk 2 months ago

You are.

• OneGh 2 months ago

Then you have to stand well.

• 0542358020 2 months ago

Ghana says YES to LGBT.

• AD 2 months ago

You are one, if not why posting such stupid things here, do u understand what racism is fool

Very true AD. If you are not a thief why would you portray yourself as one morning , afternoon, evening.

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 2 months ago

I love and women, but I and may others don't go about shouting it on the rooftop. Why are guys try to impose? Having cycled two months out of the year, to MARCH FORWARD, here's the best business to do - or to sponsor a rela ...

That Policeman can lead the country better than bawuliar and Airbus combined. We as a country have the men but the good ones want nothing to do with the current system. I am prouder of this Policeman more than any sportsman

• Banana Republic 2 months ago

$3000 and kooti refused am. Chai dat kooti for be IGP

• Joe 2 months ago

A few good men

• Wumpini 2 months ago

If He had took the money...this day would probably not be here. Good policing it was by officer Ekow

• Kass, New York 2 months ago

GOOd NAME IS BETTER THAN MONEY.

• Kk 2 months ago

Oh, what a story.

• VILLAGE HEADMASTER 2 months ago

Kudos officer Addison.dis are the kan of ikelebe(police) we dey yield for, imagine $3,000 in today's Ghana? we salute u well well but i no say some 24years back dia was discipline in ur work but 2day some ikelebe man or woman ...

• Injustice 2 months ago

A truly heartwarming story. May God continue to bless Mr. Ekow Addison for the faithful service. May you live long, wealthy and healthy.

For His Excellency the Vice President of Liberia, God richly bless you and grant you ...

• Ewvevi 2 months ago

Hmmm. I want to hear the version of the driver and the two people who joined the bus. Why would they go and report armed robbery at the naval base, when they are actually the alleged robbers? As for me, I take this VPs story ...

The Driver's sister was a police inspector or something and the case went all the way to the police headquarters and the VP was treated like a suspected until the Police up to the senior level realised the truth. Maybe we sho ...

• Ewvevi 2 months ago

Thanks for this explanation. That's why I said"with a pinch of salt. Thanks

• Odasani 2 months ago

Ah! What would the driver go and tell the car owner, seeing that he didn't have the car? His only defence was to come up with a lie that the car had been stolen from him. And it's obvious that he had been in the robbery busin ...

• Odasani 2 months ago

Ah! What would the driver go and tell the car owner, seeing that he didn't have the car? His only defence was to come up with a lie that the car had been stolen from him. And it's obvious that he had been in the robbery busin ...

• Paapa 2 months ago

No, you are wrong in your assessment. Unfortunately, unemployment has given some people another way of earning money, these people (two guys plus driver) has been robbing people this way on that route. I bet you, they know s ...

• Joe mens 2 months ago

Cock a Bull story.It doesn’t add up.They buried money and went and show Police where it was buried.Vice President tell the truth and whole truth

• Kk 2 months ago

Can you tell us what doesn't add up? He is talking about what happened to him 24 years ago and you are here talking rubbish

• Ewvevi 2 months ago

Hmmm, my broda, hmmm. They say the case went all the way to senior police level and they saw that the Liberians were innocent. Aaa well. Whom are we to judge. In Ghana sef, a whole chief justice was alleged to have asked for ...

Please stop such ill- comments about this wonderful story.

Note that JOY NEWS can not cover the whole story.

Your comment is rather unfortunate to say the least.

EKOW ADDISON

THE INVESTIGATOR

Sorry to use such uncouth statement against the Vice President.

For your information, the other two Liberians and the Togolese escaped to take refuge at Petrol Filling Station situated about 150 meters away from the scene ...

• FOYOOSIS 2 months ago

So far, the only good, honest, trustworthy police investigator in Ghana. This is the right time for the Liberian VP to reach out to him properly to enrich his life for dedication he showed un his work and also saving his lif ...

Not everything is about money. The VP just came and enriched him. With Honour.The policeman did not look broke to me. He looks healthy and well dressed in the video I saw

• NNN 2 months ago

This is a lesson to the young men and women especially Nokofio people,Ghana Police and every one who likes quick gratification ,the policeman rejection of the monetary offer has come back to bless him.

• HENRY, SPAIN 2 months ago

GOOD POLICE OFFICER. THE CHOSEN FEW.

• Sammy 2 months ago

Aww heart warming. Those were the days
    when people with love for policing were recruited. Same cannot be said for protocol inspired police recruitment we see today.

• Do good today 2 months ago

Reap reward 24 years later. Whatever you Do will follows you. Now His reward is more than 3000 US.

• Ike 2 months ago

Exemplary leadership for all.
    Well done Mr. Eddison and thank you Mr. Vice President for this sense of gratitude in your heart.
    God bless us all

• Rex. 2 months ago

I salute u Sir Addison! God bless you.

• Rex. 2 months ago

Ghanaweb; The website name should be changed to LGBT+ website rather for allowing P Djamgbe and Co. for constantly using the website to promote LGBT+ agenda.

• Sarfo Bedoako 2 months ago

Kwasia Akuffool Addo, can you see the Ghanaian police 24 years ago and the Ghanaian police under you today?

• Job 2 months ago

This former police officer has be honored by the state. He has shown that not all our police officers are corrupt. Well done Mr. Addison.

• Jujucalbash 2 months ago

The most powerful+233547122212 Africa spiritualist

• SARFO GYAMFI 2 months ago

Kofi Boakye would’ve turned the whole 40,000 dollars
    into counterfeit in a night as he turned that cocke in to
    konkonte

• Agyeman 2 months ago

You can how childish this whole story is.
    Imaging people like these becoming heads of states.
    No wonder Africa is where it is in terms of development.
    Child's play and jokes everywhere.
    NSƐM HUNU nkoaaa

• Yao Coulibaly 2 months ago

Some get rich early, some in mid life and others in their old age. Rtd Officer Addison ur time is now.

• Redeemer 2 months ago

You think everyone believes your cook story?

THE TRUTH WILL ALWAYS STAND.

The full story is loading................

Have a good day.

EKOW ADDISON

THE INVESTIGATOR

• Bastie is a SATANIC HOMOSEXUAL 2 months ago

Bastie is a SATANIC HOMOSEXUAL 1 hour ago
    Bastie is a Satanic Homosexual

Bastie is NOT Bono, but a Foreigner, with the history of carrying Shit / Feaces / Toilet Carrier, in his DNA Ancestry

Bastie is also, a 419 Cri ...

• Xyz 2 months ago

Congratulations officer Addison

• .com 2 months ago

The only Addison in Ghana who has done the will of God. Bank of Ghana boss will never do that and will even do it late on his good side as defunct noble dream microfinance and others keep waiting to be paid off after ten year ...

• Jokoto 2 months ago

A terrible interview loaded with leading questions and edited out the crucial information on the price (gift) and the body language from the 2 guys

• Abdul 2 months ago

This is a great example every Ghanaian should appreciated.

• Sebastian Deh 2 months ago

This story doesn't wash for me. At what stage did they bury the $40,000 ?

For your information,the said amount of $40,000.00 was buried by the Vice President after he escaped from the scene of crime in the nearby bush heading towards Ashaiman Timber Market.

Thereafter, the two managed to come As ...

• Later rains 2 months ago

Some people would definitely be blessed only in their old age. There is hope for everyone ,just behave Well and leave all to God.

• BEN ATKINSON . 2 months ago

DO WE STILL HAVE SUCH HONEST POLICE OFFICERS IN GHANA .????..