You are here: HomeNews2024 02 29Article 1919240

What happens if Akufo-Addo refuses to assent to the anti-LGBT+ Bill

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Prudhomme 3 months ago

Akuffo Addo cannot sign this foolish bill into law because it violates the human rights of some Ghanaians just as it also violates the Ghana constitution.

All emotions aside, the bill is garbage. I do not like gays person ...

• Bobo 3 months ago

This will go against NPP party come December 2024.

• Future president 3 months ago

The battle has just begun. We can liken this bill to marrying someone that your parents do not approve and threaten to disown you should you go ahead and tie the knot.

Akuffo Addo assenting to this bill will surely incur t ...

• Mr Smith 3 months ago

Mr. Future president, your real name would do. You are making too much sense. The president has already committed himself through the BBC or CNN interview and MAY have accepted some monies associated with it. He will most lik ...

• Future president 3 months ago

I can swear, there will be a lot of shenanigans and back and forth until nobody is talking about it anymore
    In the end there will be a secret voting and the required 2/3 votes will not be obtained.
    It's not over till is ove ...

• P Djamgbe 3 months ago

This bill doesn't need Akufo Addo's approval - he has just ten months to vacate the Presidency. Whether he and his Western homosexual donors like it or not the bill has been passed. And if the next government refuse to sign i ...

• His Excellecy The Ugly Dwarf 3 months ago

Slap the Chimp!

• Rt 3 months ago

Lol

• Jules 3 months ago

NPP people start with the excuses... Aduru ho..

You guys are soo predictable

• MB 3 months ago

Future president, so what has the support of the donor partners done to our economy, in significant terms, before the advent of the bill. What was the effect of their support when inflation was hovering over 50% some few mont ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

Many people never cared about LGBTQI+ Nonsense until they started demanding certain rights that are unacceptable to Ghanaians and their culture.
    We knew that Gays and Lesbians lived with us since time immemorial. We never bo ...

• Adondon 3 months ago

Are you listening to yourself? You not linking them already signals of violating their human rights.

• Jules 3 months ago

who is the architect of Human rights? By that definition, I could marry my sister if its about human rights and freedom.

COUNTRIES HAVE DIFFERENT CULTURES AND CAN UPHOLD THEM AS THEY PLEASE.

Human rights law is nothin ...

• Don reason 3 months ago

If he didn't sign God will when he goes someone intelligent will sigh

• NANADDO: M'AY3 GHANA GREBUUU 3 months ago

Hahahaha ... @Prudhomme!! You filthy son of a prostituting whore..!!!!!! Look, we already know who your DEMENTED APPRENTICE LAWYER is, so don't worry your foolish self at all. We know crazy idiots and homeless bastards like y ...

• Yeti sikasu 3 months ago

You are a gay Coward. A demon in human flesh

• P Djamgbe 3 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 3 months ago

This is a good opportunity to impeach this good for nothing mother serpent Akuffo Addo. This useless old man just came to waste our time and money and destroyed our democracy. If imbecile Akuffo Addo fails to sign the bill, w ...

• Kofi Akakpo 3 months ago

It will mean he is a gay or a homosexual

• HE WILL NOT GO ON RETIREMENT!! 3 months ago

We will force him into a third term!!

• Kofi Ackom 3 months ago

Let's wait and see what the president says.
    He's either with the people's representatives or against them.

• NDC MPs ARE ON THEIR OWN!! 3 months ago

What does Akuffo Addo have in common with NDC MPs. Nothing!

• Kofi Adu 3 months ago

The President will not sign the bill, because he doesn't want to do anything with Sam George.

• MADAM GADZEKPO U RE A DISGRACE TO MOTHERHOOD 3 months ago

I DON'T EXPECT THIS OLD JUNK TO ASSENT TO THIS MUCH AWAITED PASSAGE OF DIS PROGRESSIVE BILL. HE HAS DEMONSTRATED HE BELONGS TO THE WEST, DANCING TO THEIR TUNE AND SINGING THEIR PRAISES. BUT HE IS ALREADY A BIG DEAD GOT IN GHA ...

• PizzaMan 3 months ago

The bill literally violates Article XXI, Chapter V of the 1992 Constitution that guarantees and protects the rights of persons, which includes their rights to freedom of expression, peaceful assembly and association. Article ...

Pizza man, have you finished delivering your Pizza to your LGBTQI+Nonsense people. What the LGBTQI+Nonsense have done is a Choice but not a Right. Just understand and deal with it.

• PizzaMan 3 months ago

Oh!

LGBTQIA+ is very much a naturally occurring phenomena and has been observed in nearly all species of animals on this planet as backed by Science. All you Homophobes are like a dime a dozen, a severe lack of cognitive a ...

• Donatus 3 months ago

Article 21 (e) Association does not include associating with terrorists, armed robbers and coup plotters.

• PizzaMan 3 months ago

Lol, this is a new one.

Tell me, how did you come to the conclusion that the mututal love of two consenting partners of the same sexual orientation to that of Terrorism which is the use of force or violence against persons ...

• Donatus 3 months ago

Massa, you don't understand article xxi. You are confused.

• PizzaMan 3 months ago

Talking to mirrors can have a severe impact on your mental health, I suggest you seek a psychologist.

• ABUFUS3M 3 months ago

NDC NKWASEAFUO CANNOT JAIL SOMEONE BECAUSE OF HER SEXUALITY. ARE 5THEY GOD TO JUDGE? I AM NOT GAY OR LESBIAN NEITHER IS ANY OF MY RELATIVES OR FAMILY BUT YOU CANNOT INFRINGE ON SOMEONE'S RIGHTS BECAUSE YOU SIT IN THAT STUPID ...

• J0eY l0nD0N 3 months ago

Stop yelling in cyberspace, fool.

Go and try that openly in dubai and you will see the meaning of stoning to death.

ABUFUSEM, do you know the difference between a Choice and a Right? What the LGBTQI+ Nonsense people are trying to make is a Choice. That foolish Choice is at variance with our rich tradition and culture. Ghanaians will never ...

• Knowledge 3 months ago

Stop there you can’t deceive us, apparently you are one + your relatives. Doom idiot

• He will not sign and this will be election issue 3 months ago

He will plug npp into a big problem and bawumia will have to take a stand.

Parliament will sign this eventually you see

• Zionism is racism 3 months ago

Akuffo-Addo is in a dilemma: assent to the bill and face the wrath of his masters the immoral and callous USA or reject it and divide the country. Meanwhile, sign the petition launched by Now at Gaza ceasefire change.org.

• NDC MPs ARE ON THEIR OWN!! 3 months ago

Go ask your mama to sign the dillemma herself.

• Then we vote ndc and mahama 3 months ago

They are not on Thier own..npp should fool on

• Era of the con men 3 months ago

It isn't only Akuffo Addo who is in a dilemma over this bill, but every freemason in Ghana is. That's how come Afenyo Markin was trying to water it down.

• Kobie 3 months ago

The bill can wait on the table. The sponsors and the promoters can assent it when they come to power one day. Nana Addo I know won't even look at it let alone append his signature to it.

• NANA SHOULD DUMP IT IN THE GARBAGE BIN!! 3 months ago

Where this obnoxious bill belongs to!

• NANA ADDO WILL SIGN A SHIT 3 months ago

Nana Stubborn Addo will surely send this LOW IQ SAM GEORGE'S UNCIVILIZED, DISCRIMINATORY AND RELIGIOUS MOTIVATED BILL BACK TO MAD SENDER SAM LOW IQ GEORGE AND HIS LIKES ( VILLAGER SPEAKER BAGBIN )..... Nana Addo is ...

• Knowledge 3 months ago

You sounds cursed

• Jehovah 3 months ago

There have to be a televised voting in parliament for the whole nation to see.The NPP MPs can decide to intentionally be absent in parliament and their consituent will show them n the election in 2024.

• Benjilo 3 months ago

He will surely go mad for 7yrs before dying.

• Donatus 3 months ago

We will send him to ADX Florence.

• Kofi Seaman. 3 months ago

President Akuffo Addo is not a president unto himself but to the good people of Ghana whose interest he MUST serve. The people are saying they want the bill to be passed so he can not say otherwise. If he chooses not to sign, ...

• Gustavo 3 months ago

The issue is they have taken over 600 million from the Swiss government not 5o pass the bill. They have refund the money. 5hey are in hot waters. They can take them on 8f they fail to refund money.

• Otis 3 months ago

if he refuses ghanaians will know he was not joking with his "bound to happen"comments and he is ready to give ghana to the devil

• Miagy Soft 3 months ago

We will his stupid black ass if he doesnt sign ...

He akufo Addo took monies from the lgbt community for the 2016 elections with the promise of helping them with their efforts to impose this inhuman act in ghana.

• KINGDUS 3 months ago

He has no reason to refuse it. It must be signed to keep our Sovereignty

Sign or go to opposition period. Trumu party.

• Johnathan 3 months ago

NDC started this law, they claim Mahama is going to win (which I agree to) why can't they wait till he's in power, then he can sign?

Npp stoled the election, so what do you expect? He must sign it in to law or his party will go to opposition assap.

• Zakarakis 3 months ago

The eyes of all Ghanaians are on Akuffo Addo to see if he is a BRAVE AND STRONG MAN to sign the bill or whether he is WEAK AND A COWARD not to, sign it.

• Miagy Soft 3 months ago

Boys go chop his punk ass gala, abi he doesnt sign then it remains not a crime.. Stupid boy president !!! Make he no sign we go chop his stupid poopwd ass, stupid boy like him, Arrr this tin is Ghana's president ...

• Munafiki Bawumia is a disgrace to Islam 3 months ago

Just waiting patiently to see if Akufo-Addo who promised to build a cathedral for God will not sign a bill into law against homosexuality, the greatest abomination unto the same God. Just waiting.

• OBRONI 3 months ago

Ghanaians shall know the true colors of who they wasted their time to vote for. " it is bound to happen " is real evil and highly corrupt to the core. God Almighty shall continue to punish his reign with painful and severe si ...

• HUMAN RIGHTS 3 months ago

Nana is a Human Rights Lawyer so I am very confident he will never append his signature to a law that seeks to take away the inalienable human rights of Ghanaians .Nana as in the case of the recent capital punishment law ...

• DROP THE OBNOXIOUS BILL IN THE GARBAGE BIN!! 3 months ago

That is where it belongs!

• Joy 3 months ago

Nana addo make it law to punish the doers of this LGBTQ publicly. Look these people are enjoying their sexual preferences secretly as we the straight people do. but why do they need law to govern them? Stupidities. Sex is a ...

• Kwaku Mankata 3 months ago

This apkopklonto man may not sign it

• NANA WONT SIGN THIS STUPID BILL 3 months ago

THAT ALL ITS GOING TO DO FOR GHANA IS HAVE THE WEATERN WORLD STOP ALL THE MONEY FLOW AND FININCIAL AID TO US IN GHANA SOMETHING THAT NONE OF YOU GHANIANS SMALL BRAIN EVEN CONSIDERD

• Koji Mensah 3 months ago

NPP is not that stupid to throw an election over LGBTQXYZ. NDC will win easily by campaigning on only this wedge issue!

• and 3 months ago

This law cannot be come law because Akuffo Addo will never sign after you NDc members have been calling him names and insulting him . Wait for Mahama to come and sign for you if only it will not have elapsed .

• Onipaba 3 months ago

The President is smart enough not to sign such a bill. He will ask for amendments that will delay until he leaves. Ghanaians are a bunch of funny people, we cannot meet our basic human needs like water and food, electricity a ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

Yes,if he is daft enough to do that, we will make sure NPP gets just about 50 MPs during the next elections.That will make them think.Look, nobody troubled the arse burglers in Ghana until them decided to shove their nonsense ...

• FIRST LEARN TO COUNT PINK SHEETS! 3 months ago

Have you managed to train your illiterate NDC Foolsoldiers how to count pink sheets?

• Kwesi 3 months ago

If i am President i won't ! Because it will block many Ghanaians chance. Let almighty God djudge.

• Kobina Boafo 3 months ago

Akuffo Addo, the British intelligence operative will only promote the interests of the decadent West, of course for a fee.

• The voice of the people is Gods! 3 months ago

Thank God the people of Ghana have spoken!

• MOST GHANIANS HAVE PEA SIZE BRAIN !!! 3 months ago

IF YOUR PRESIDENT SIGN THIS BILL ,YOU ALL GOING NEED TO GET READY FOR HARD LIFE WITH ZERO WORLD FINAINAL AID ,AND ZERO INVESTMENT IN GHANA BY INVESTORS . ARE YOU READY TO STARVE SOON?

• Kaplorkor 3 months ago

OH MY GOD !!!! IS PUTTING YOUR KOTE BORTOR IN SOMEONE'S SHIT HOLE (TRUMU), A FUNDAMENTAL FREEDOM ?. BULUUUU. KORSIAAAAA, GOD FORGIVE US OUR TRESSPASSES, BECAUSE ANIMALS SELF, WILL NOT DO THESE DISGRACEFUL ACTIVITIES. P ...

• remarks here expose stupid Ghanaians villagers 3 months ago

saying god this god that please where was god during covid 19 was he not the 1st to shot down your churches and run away? was "God" look the other way when people die or starve during corona ? where so stop the God bull s ...

• WaLL 3 months ago

If majority approved the bill and President refuses to sign then it becomes redundant ,the repercussions lay on the president and his gov’t!!

• You guys don't read..it's not up nana addo 3 months ago

If he refuses to sign parliament will pass to law..he has no choice to stop it...if he refuses we know he is for trumu..and parliament will pass into law if he does that..no one can stop it into law..he has 7days..it's up to ...

• Ebefa 3 months ago

To be perfectly honest in my humble opinion without being sentimental, of course without offending anyone who thinks differently from my point of view, but also by looking into this matter in distinct perspective and without ...

• Kweku Tsin. 3 months ago

Ghanaians should tread carefully with this bill. What is the rush? Is it more important than pressing economic,health environment and a host of issues facing us in this climate change era?

• Kwam 3 months ago

That will be a cross for him to carry, that each Ghanaian youth that engages in homosexual activities on Ghanain soil ilhas his blessing. He should wash his hands off and accent to the bill if that is what we want.

• VILLAGE HEADMASTER 3 months ago

Ghana pipo be dat. So we can say majority of the pipo of dis contri no like or make i say hate trumu trumu A GOOD ONE THERE. Why bcos the contri is made up of Christians, Muslims and Traditionalists SO WE SAY NO. Mr Presiden ...

• adom 2 months ago

SO WHAT IS THE POINT OF BUILDING A HOUSE FOR THE LORD IF YOUR ENTERTAIN WHAT HE HATES. MAY GOD HAVE MERCY ON US AS A COUNTRY AND SHOW OUR LEADERS THE RIGHT PATH.