You are here: HomeNews2024 02 27Article 1918828

Despite secular constitution, 'Ghana is a Christian nation practically' - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (71)

• kanewu 3 months ago

Ghana is 70% Christian.
    Period...Muslims would have sharia law if they were 51% cent.

• Rex 3 months ago

This oluman,what the constitution says is what counts,what u Akuffo Addo or anybody else thinks doesn't matter.The constitution says prostitution is illegal but many people practices it,and so therefore according to Akuffo Ad ...

• YSL 3 months ago

Imagine Mahama had made such comments,they would have quickly attacked him that he is an enemy of Islam and other religions and divisive.

• Alkebulan 3 months ago

That is exactly my thought, but akufo ado has said the Main truth. JM.

• His Excellency The Ugly Dwarf 3 months ago

The devil talking about religion.

• SOS 3 months ago

Well done.

Ghana is a secular nation. Full stop.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

We can never have Sharia laws in a Secular State that is very democratic. Even countries like Nigeria which has a strong Moslem majority does not have Sharia laws because it is a Secular State.

• Ginkor Abdul 3 months ago

Master pls get your fact right.

• MUGU YARO 3 months ago

WHAT HAS CHRISTIANITY DONE FOR GHANA? CHURCHES ON EVERY CORNER. MORE CHURCHES THAN SCHOOLS. WAKE UP GHANA, THE BEST COUNTRIES IN THIS WORLD HAVE THE LEAST CHURCHES

• Yusif 3 months ago

The best countries in the world have the least mosques

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

Yeah right! Ghana a Christian nation of criminals and brigands and bandits and buccaneers and pirates led by AKUFFO ADDO, the bedevilled master and executor of all that is evil and wicked. How can you subvert the constitution ...

• Nana 3 months ago

SO THIS BUFFOONS AND FEEBLE MINDED PEOPLE THINK THAT IF ONE IS NOT A MUSLIM THEN YOU ARE A CHRISTIAN. INTERESTING! IF GHANAIANS CARE TO KNOW IDOL WORSHIPPERS ARE MORE THAN ANY RELIGIOUS DENOMINATION IN GHANA. THIS DECEPTION T ...

• Freewill 3 months ago

I don't know why Ghanaians glorify even the most silliest comments of nana addo. Is it that every Ghanaian is dumb?

• CHRISTIANS? BY OUR DEEDS OR IS IT IN NAME ONLY? 3 months ago

Ghanaians are Christian! What do you mean? Are we following the precepts of the Lord in our daily lives at home, at work and within the larger community?
    Can we truly say that at home we live to please God? Do we respect our ...

• Xyz 3 months ago

This is a saying of the past

• kusie 3 months ago

When it’s time for elections then they start appealing to Christian’s

• Owusu-Afriyie, USA 3 months ago

70% Christian is a Christian majority nation.

But can I also say that Ghanaians, whether Christian or Muslim also partially believes in and worship in the African Traditional way. Go to the Shrines and see how many Christians and Moslems go for consultation in the Africa ...

• Anokwale 3 months ago

Does Frank Agyena- Karikari also go to the Shrine?

No, I don’t go to the shrine but I came to know much because I taught African Traditional religion at the Advanced level of the GCE. Occasionally, I took my students on a Field Trip with my students to some shrines to let t ...

• SOS 3 months ago

No.

Ghana's founding father's defined it as a secular nation.

This was to save us from a future mad men/women from imposing hallucinations, atrocity or abomination on us according to a common dream or something they c ...

• Only fool can say this 3 months ago

You are Christian but lies a lot. Meaning some Christians are liars?

People are Human. Irrespective of religious affiliation, they lie. The people who least lie are African Traditional Religious people. Why? It is because they believe that their deities give instant justice unlike Christians a ...

• Akan Prophecies 3 months ago

THERE THEY GO AGAIN. RESTRUCTURE OF BELIEF IN IT'S MODERNITY .GHANA IS LOSING RELIGION. SO THEY ARE BACK. THE NEO-TEMPLARS, MODERN CRUSADERS STILL HUNTING FOR SOLDIERS. AKUFFO ADDO MUST LEAVE RELIGION OUT OF GHANA POLITICS ...

Akuffo Addo cannot leave religion out of Government and Ghanaian politics because the Ghanaian is notoriously and incurably religious. Tell me one thing that the average Ghanaian does without attaching religion to it.

• KOD 3 months ago

Akufo-Addo never ceases to disappoint! No need for a president to say such a thing!

• Koliko 3 months ago

What is a "Christian nation"?

• HONESTY 3 months ago

Fa wa sem soho ko.

After stabbing us in the back you are now preaching what?

• Bawumia as Muslim President!!!!!! 3 months ago

All Christian presidents have manipulated census figures to make it look like muslims do not have the numbers. Wait, muslims will dominate In Sha Allah after 2025 when Bawumia becomes president.

• Yusif 3 months ago

In your dreams.

• Fisherman 3 months ago

Why is this man always seeking to divide us?

• Yeti sikasu 3 months ago

When bawumia become president Christian will see their smoothness level. Jus wait and see.

• Patriot 3 months ago

I don't blame you but how the African man's brain has been programmed.what will this comments add to the nation?who on this earth is going to be judged based on the religion he or she belongs to?Will this comments bring unity ...

• No name 3 months ago

If Ghana is indeed a Christian country then pass the anti-LGBTQ bill immediately and stop playing politics with it!

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago

Akufo Addo is a hypocrite, he is an old homosexual and now his working for his slave homosexuals masters, NPP is a homosexuals party.

• SURVIVAL. 3 months ago

We have Muslims in Europe but no European nation with christian majority grand muslims holiday.Someone has finished his or her private fasting and you expect me to celebrate a holiday with the one.All christians denounced blo ...

• Jesus 3 months ago

Go your whore mother, kwasia bi ba

• Pablo 3 months ago

2chronicles 7:14-19 is Ghana really a Christian country?

• Bob P. 3 months ago

Your Christianity self be this . When 8 people were killed by your vigilante groups just to make you president tweeaaaa.

• Amos 3 months ago

Our constitution is not secular but multi religious
    The president doesn't understand what a secular state is
    A secular state doesn't recognize any religion e.g France

• SURVIVAL. 3 months ago

France honours all the Catholic holidays. Christmas,Easter,accession of Christ,Assumption of Mary,All Saints Day are all statutory holidays in France.No single holiday for Muslims.

• Owusu-Afriyie, USA 3 months ago

France observe all catholic holidays including CHRISTMAS.
    Stop lying

• SURVIVAL. 3 months ago

You're a big fool.which of the days I mentioned that is not statutory holiday in France?

• Alkebulan 3 months ago

Akufo ado has make sense for once sense 7 years in Power. Ghana is a Christian believer Jesus christ Nation and that the fact.

• SOS 3 months ago

No.

Ghana's founding father's defined it as a secular nation - it has more Christians today but that could change without it being afflicted with religious madness!

The secular nature saves us from the hallucinations, a ...

• Jimmy gyasi 3 months ago

And Saint ANTHONY is the Patron of Ghana ,baptized bythe Portuguese on their arrival in 1471on the shores of Anomabo(Elmina)

• Iceberg 3 months ago

Opana campaigning against Bawumia low key

• Kobina Boafo 3 months ago

Ghana is a Christian nation in words alone but certainly not in deeds. The corrupt, selfish, envious and diabolical ways of Ghanaians, makes us more like unbelievers rather than Christians.

• Roland 3 months ago

The ignorance of our president is beyond comprehension

• The Devils Advocate 3 months ago

Courting trouble with those loose lips again!
    For someone previously claiming to be a human rights lawyer,this is both abominable as well as irresponsible.Trying to justify the fraudulent bogus National Cathedral?Drive the m ...

• SOS 3 months ago

Yes.

Ghana is a secular nation. Full stop.

No more dreams or hallucinations from anybody's God. Let's live in peace, love each other and use our brains.

Time out.

• Bawumia will make it Muslim la 3 months ago

Let's note vote a Muslim at this stage..the world and currently west Africa is porous ..we need to keep what we know. Bawumia will expand Islam in Ghana. The Christians leaders know but bcos they hate mahama still what to rol ...

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 3 months ago

Thank you mr. President it means Ghanaians should not allow any Muslim to be President, a Christian country must be ruled by a Christian

• Sul 3 months ago

GYIMII DE3

• IS THIS NECESSARY AT THIS STAGE? 3 months ago

If you have nothing to say , just keep quiet. The last time a Nigerian President made such a statement regarding Muslim state, we can now see what is happening in that country. A President should avoid sowing religious divisi ...

• Tosh 3 months ago

Christian country indeed! . By our deeds, the devil would even disown us .

• Kotibrim 3 months ago

What is the reason behind such irresponsible utterances? This man is sick

• DD 3 months ago

Mr. President, you have spoken the truth. Please sign the anti lgbt+ bill into law when it reaches your table.

• Kk 3 months ago

Imagine Mahama saying dis.....like hell will break loose...

• Nothing more sad than an African with European mindset 3 months ago

Proof our president has a colonial mentality which is the internalized attitude and cultural inferiority felt by people as a result of colonization. It corresponds with the belief that the cultural values of the colonizer are ...

• Duka daya 3 months ago

Fake treacherous Christians. Hypocrites

• Anti-Devil 3 months ago

If Ghana were to be a Christian nation, Nana can never be a President. He has perpetrated and supervised so much evil in this nation. Demonic regimes only bring curses unto the nation. Godly men bring blessings. We know who a ...

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

NATIONAL CATHEDRAL NONSENSE

Can't pretend to be a Christian when you're engaged in nation-wrecking, corruption, vindictiveness, divisiveness, abuse of power, and neglect of the nation. Only a dumb beggar President will mak ...

• OBRONI 3 months ago

Yet you support real evil. God Almighty shall continue to punish you and your household for mocking Him by supporting LGBTQIUVWXYZ. Corrupt incompetent thief

• Bawumia eyes have died 3 months ago

Thanks for reminding us. No wonder you used that to fool Ghanaians God will punish you

We know what to do in the coming election God willing

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago

Ugly Akims forest old chimpanzee criminal and his illiterates villagers NPP foolsoldiers useless bastards can't reason. You know Ghana is a Christians nation and you want that Fulanis terrorists Muslims to rule over us ? Bawu ...

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

Therefore a Muslim cannot be our president.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 3 months ago

Although Christians are in the majority in Ghana Christianity is not ramned down the throats of other people unlike other countries where Christians are treated like thrash or whatever. But we have huge problems concerning ...

• Sunday+and+religious+gatherings+dress 3 months ago

I never in my life thought Akuffo Addi or anyone in high office or of any standard status will make such a a loose statement.
    Nigeria, Chad, Niger, Mali have more Muslim populations than Christians but neve heard any Head of ...

• Hey 3 months ago

Garbage

• Activist 3 months ago

Akuffo Ado is a liar. That's why he's failing as president.