You are here: HomeNews2024 02 25Article 1918580

Why Kwame Nkrumah threatened to jail Asantehene’s linguist, Ashanti chiefs over cocoa proceeds

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Who killed Mills 2 months ago

What a great man. We shall always remember you oh great one

• Nzema King 2 months ago

President Nkrumah , on hindsight, was too soft in handling those nation wreckers and saboteurs from Asante and Kyebi . The greed and selfishness of Asante was nauseating. Nkrumah should have flushed those Asante rats down the ...

• Sub-humans who are ANIMALS should stop insulting ASANTES 2 months ago

You are a Sub-human feaces shit toilet Carrier, snake eater, and cat eater who are all Blood-Thirsty TERRORISTS

• JkL, Las Vegas 2 months ago

You fool dread

• Mack 2 months ago

Joker.....hahaha.

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

My dear Nzema King, I beg to differ but Felix Houphuet Boigny was a total French rat! He was totally against Africa's progress. He coined the term France afrique. Meaning that France had all the power to control and virtually ...

• Sapphire 2 months ago

That was his biggest flaw but we are all imperfect so let's not be hard on him. Maybe, he was forced by circumstances beyond his control. Above all. I think that Nkrumah was a lone wolf hated by traitors in his inner circle a ...

• Darren Jason. 2 months ago

Listen sapphire, Dr Kwame Nkrumah should have fine a polite way to speak to them than telling them he would put them into jail. If you he Dr Kwame Nkrumah claim that's they would use their own money to marry many wives sit do ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Darren, and, after we the Asantes have brutally colonised the Brongs etc. What improvement did our useless Kings bring to the masses. Apart from adorning themselves with tawdry and tacky gold trinkets and executing people by ...

• BETTER COMPARISON 2 months ago

Valid as your argument may seem, I think it is unfair to insist on system parity between western civilization and that of Africa.
    To have compared a demand for Western-like education and development to what Africa had in the ...

• be wise 2 months ago

Darren, Nkrumah made it clear on not just the three occasions but several... The three occasions were when they visited him at unusual times.

It means that Asante was trying to see herself as though she were above the coun ...

• Take this! 2 months ago

In communism farmers work for the state, no wonder Cocoa farmers are still wallowing in poverty. Communist nkrumah caused this mess.

• Jack Toronto 2 months ago

Nkrumah was truly a dictator.

• Some of these old players 2 months ago

Kwasia...you lazy ass MF .wanted to enjoy from your neighbors sweat...they should have overthrown this fool longtime ago...dumb man..power hungry saa ,sending Ghanas money to other African countries, just trying to rule Afric ...

• ZIIIIIto 2 months ago

Flush your stinky ass, trokosi idiot!

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

The legendary Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah, Africa's greatest personality of the last millennium........ Still....... Never dies! For Osagyefo, it was all inclusive, for the Matemeho brigands and bandits, led by Baffour Akoto, t ...

Gyimii....You see how dumb and lazy you guys are...kwasia..sonebody to farm and you give yhemoney for others to use...why don't u ask them to out in the effort to farm too...gave Northern region free education..how are they g ...

• Eddy the King 2 months ago

Indeed Nkrumah had wisdom , i thank God that he never gave in, Prempeh Il is my Mother's grandfather and at that time Asanti was its own Kingdom so were not thinking of Ghana as a whole nation , i also understand Asanti King ...

• sungod 1 month ago

Nkrumah the greatest not the thieves and criminals of today who are looting the country

• KT 2 months ago

Some of us will never celebrate a tyrant no matter their achievements

• Danso 2 months ago

Very very true and the reason Akufo ado will go down as the worst president ever.

• Kwaku Ten 2 months ago

That is why people like you with no understanding of issues will fade off life for proper and responsible people who benefited from Free Education to appreciate Akufo Addo Nd his contribution to the world.

Tell the womb th ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

#KT... A useless cunt like you have no qualms worshipping some of our useless chiefs calling themselves Kings who did bugger all to enhance the lives of the ordinary folks, yet could easily condemn any soul to death on a whim ...

• Arkman 2 months ago

You are said it all

• Enka 2 months ago

Ogyam thank you

Ogyam, sorry for you. According to Ghana history which tribe brought unification and resisted the British rule in Ghana. The human sacrifice was among all the tribes in Ghana so mention your tribe and I'll tell you they were ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Darren, it is pointless wasting my precious time on a dipstick of your type. After knocking the Brits, you still do not even see you idiocy in calling your idiotic self Darren Jones. Delve into the archives and you will s ...

• HONESTY 2 months ago

Where was the tyranny in Nkrumah without the Matemeho bastards.

Look, my entire ancestors and family are Metemeto but I have found the truth and it is liberating.
    Try and find it yourself.

Listen honesty, your forefathers were part of the Kwame Tua generations. So you only follow political parties with your brain without thinking. JJ Rawlings was brought up by W.K. Harlley who was part those people who overthro ...

• HONESTY 2 months ago

And who tells you I like Rawlings.

Go ask his Jezebel of a wife what I do to her sometimes.

You only know how to assume. Go and learn politics 101 and you would realise some of us seek the well being of a great nation f ...

• Ofui. Matemeho was Nkrumah himself 2 months ago

Go to Komenda and learn Ghana's political history, and who was the Matemeho. Nkrumah refused to account for some money he was keeping for the Independence seeking group, and when he was called upon to account for it, he organ ...

• Shit hole 2 months ago

Another planted tribalism bigot... write up... only the election year does planked journalist like these pop up.. Asantes y3 ekurasi

• Water Yam 2 months ago

Should have sent his bodyguards to pick up the then Asantehene and the linguist all those sub-chiefs. Let them chop firewood at Nsawam. Small small human beings making noise all the time. Contributed little to our independenc ...

• Kwaku Ten 2 months ago

Are u alright upstairs? I don't think so. Visit the psychiatrist hospital and get yourself examined.

• Ciz 2 months ago

Ghanaweb is either running out of stories or is trying to inflame ethnic passions.This story was reported on some days ago with a different heading.This website is proving to be unprofessional

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

That was the first thing I thought of. Why the repetition? Is it to serve a particular purpose of what.

• the Villager 2 months ago

The repetition is good, I did not see the first one

• Bubra 2 months ago

Even BBC recycles from the archive because there's always a new reader. Besides, this is not news, it's a historic narrative that can be repeated over and again. If you don't like it, you can stop reading Ghanaweb or set up y ...

• Ciz 2 months ago

Not to this extent. Plus they indicate if a particular article has been published before.If I ever require your opinion on what you term as historical,I will give it to you

• Agbelimor Paris 2 months ago

Those bastard bushmen always think they are greater than the whole Ghana and I always pray that one day and one day they should dare and bring it on.Their secrets evil deeds against the good people of Ghana will be exposed an ...

• Tim 2 months ago

Another idiot whose kin took part in overthrowing Nkrumah yet wants to act holy online.Talk is cheap.Grow some nall and confront those folks you despise on the streets. Your people will suffer most

• Tim 2 months ago

*grow some balls

Hahaha interesting,let me help to point to you mumu person Abgelimor. Those who overthrow Dr Kwame Nkrumah were your forefathers and here are their names. A.K. Ocran, J.A.Ankrah, A.K.Deku. J.E.Nunoo and E.K. Kotoka. All these ...

Look at this smelling bastard, you're even confused.Kotoka was deceived in taking part in that stupid ideas and he showed remorse and wanted Nkrumah back.

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

That's very true. When general Ankrah was asked about the relevance of the coup he couldn't say anything sensible to the foreign journalist who posed the question. He looked dump and stupid.

• Tim 2 months ago

Being a bastard is common to you people.Even your dead hero former pres .was one.Fact remains your kinsman was instrumental in overthrowing Nkrumah so stop the "holier than thou" bullshit

• Joe Public 2 months ago

@Agbelimor: Kotoka was remorseful? A holier than thou twerp. No wonder, your name is agbelimor which ordinarily translates to cassava dough. Another ewe with a leash around his neck, controlled by asiedu nketia. Twerp. You ca ...

Dumb, bastards don't use their dad's name.Bastards use their matrilineal uncle's name(wofa). Because your mother is not sure who impregnated her,dumb greedy bastards.

• Tim 2 months ago

Haha.....typical weak minded individuals like you will always resort to insults when confronted with truth.We are not related so I am definately not a bastard....hahaha

• Yaw 2 months ago

And after nkrumah used asantes cocoa money to sponsor free education in the North and build the industries in Tema, what did asantes get in return? Ungratefulness. The asantehene knew exactly what nkrumah wanted to do. He ju ...

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

Yaw, even the Gas whose hero brought cocoa to Ghana did not make noise. They should have been the people to hold Kwame Nkrumah for royalties but didn't. So where from the nonsense from the Ashantis?

• Yaw 2 months ago

Kwasia because a Ga brought cocoa into the country, cocoa farmers money should be used to develop other parts of the country leaving them behind. Did you think through what you wrote before submitting. Some of you are fools ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

You mess with Asantes and we will deal with you at the appropriate time. Tyrant Nkrumah was uprooted like cassava while he was in the air. If you wanna educate the nation with our cocoa money, why leave out those who produce ...

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

He will definitely come back. Look at what the Akyems have to you. They have used the NPP to make your so called king look helpless and a joke. The Akyems know how to manipulate you people. They know your weakness which is mo ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

Mr Smith you are just bitter and jealous. Channel your energy to the western regions. They are the most affected na wagymii dodo.

• Truth 2 months ago

Foolish comment

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

Odwan, sub human like you, go to Western Region and see what is going on there in terms of galamsey, and who told you there is no galamsey in the backyard of that trumudie Dormaahene Agyeman Badu aka Nana Jack Daniels?, and f ...

• Nkwantabisa 2 months ago

Infact Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah is a man full of wisdom, a man who knows what is the best for his nation and his people. When shall we get a leader like Nkrumah? Nkrumah never dies.... Viva Nkrumah.

• Alhaj Baakome 2 months ago

Was Nkrumah a judge? How could he jail people who were sent by their paramount chief?, And they say he was not a dictator.

• Kofi Anane 2 months ago

Interesting, so The Asante Farmer's monies were used to develop Ghana.

The cocoa Farmer's had present a proof for scholarship whilst those up north just had to show where they come from or just be at the north to enjoy fre ...

• Skyline 2 months ago

This so called Yaw Anokye guy is just a chronic liar.... Telling lies left right and centre. He should be sent a psychiatric hospital for check up on his brain

• Jack Toronto 2 months ago

Historian Anokye wants to be more famous than Okomfo Anokye.

• Joe Public 2 months ago

You idiotic ewes at Ghanaweb. May evil pursue all of you long before your deaths. Evil people whose only aim is to plunge this nation into civil strife. Curse be upon all of you. Demonic fools

• Efo zelegah 2 months ago

What's eating you up bro? Were your fathers the only people growing the Cocoa back then? Did you think you tribe alone could grow Cocoa and feed the whole country or what?

• Ebentee 2 months ago

Ashanti chief fighting over cocoa proceeds doesn't imply they are the only people farming cocoa as some comments seem to portray. Cocoa was farmed in all the forest regions of Ghana. There was a huge migration to the forest r ...

• NO ONE LIKE NKRUMAH 2 months ago

Oh Ghana. We will never get a visionary keader like NKRUMAH ever again. A visionary who also charts very pragmatic and executable action plan

• ROG 2 months ago

Baffuor Akoto was a most despicable terrorist who committed many atrocities. Worse than Bin Laden. May he rot in hell!

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

Your dictator evil Nkrumah will rather rot in hell, ofui. With the amount of money Britain left for Ghana, plus the natural resources money, with Ghana’s low population at that time, Ghana should have developed more than d ...

Joe wise,are you under Kwame Nkrumah's independent Ghana flag or you're under your so called kingdom flag?As for me Agbelimor,am always under Kwame Nkrumah's independent Republic Ghana flag.That your moshe flag that looks lik ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

I choose Asante flag over Ghana traffic light flag any day because I was Asante first before Ghanaian. You are jealous because your tribe cannot match Asante’s anything in historical achievements. The biggest mistake Prempe ...

Nonsense,how can I be jealous of people or men who chop from their mothers line?And what at all your people get and my people don't get.I had an Ewe president,Ewe speaker of Parliament,Ewe chief with an aircraft etc.Don't bri ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

Every part of you and even your Ewe President is full of jealousy towards Asantes, people like you should be grateful to Asantes for been charitable and sharing, because without Asantes resources, your Ghana would have been o ...

That's the figment of your own imagination,I think you're just a waste and bitter person.If Papa J was jealous towards your people,then why your people gave him their hard working daughter to marry? You're just a bitter man t ...

• Allow me 2 months ago

Ashantis wish Otumfur had the respect and influence like the great Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah

He was great right ,those idiots saying that...go work your tail off and then go pay your lazy neighbor all his bills.Nonsense,instead of encouraging the other lazy tribes to put in the effort n use the Asantes ,Brongs as exa ...

• My oh my 2 months ago

He is my man. He had the foresight and everything was cut short. Ghana/ African would have been like any industrialised country/ contine. African children wouldn't have been dying in the Mediterranean sea and black colour w ...

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

They’re Ghana’s main problem.

• Jidoshaki 2 months ago

That's why his children are paying for his evils he did to Asante.none of his children will enjoy Ghana's political positions.Asantehene that time gave him the name osagyefo.

• Jimbo 2 months ago

Yes, Nkrumah insulted them. Why should he say the Ashant Cocoa Farmers will marry more if he paid them what was due them? That is very irresponsible. Cocoa farmers have been cheated in this country for far too long. Accra Spo ...

• Andrew 2 months ago

Did Nkrumah set up any education funds to help cocoa farmers. Look at the poor state of cocoa farmers in Ghana now. Ghana never had rail line north to south but he gave 6 million pounds to build rail line from Conakry to kan ...

• Andrew 2 months ago

Zema means sub humans, who lived on coconut tress, can even dare to insult ashanti nation .