You are here: HomeNews2024 02 21Article 1917894

Bawumia's Tap n' Go ticketing system can never work as 'trotro' – GPRTU

Read Comments Comments (121)

• owusu Benjamin 2 months ago

do' you think Ghana wulli be like this forever.we are waiting for this system

• Togbe Agorkorli 2 months ago

What does illiterate abass Moro know? Once we know the number of stops from, let’s say circle to Kaneshie is 10 stops, and the cost is 10cedis, we can say each stop is one cedi, then work it in the machine…don’t listen ...

• mike 2 months ago

comedy

• Who killed Mills 2 months ago

Togbe. Do we tap 10 times if we are doing 10 stops per your suggestion. Well like you I too think it can work to some degree but that is also exactly what GPRTU are saying. The main challenge I anticipate is how the various t ...

Right, it’s the way we move forward…. I was thinking maybe you tap when you get on, then tap when you get off…..and machine will know the distance or number of stops and subtract the amount for that distant. We need m ...

The money won’t get pulled to one place…each Totro driver will have his own account like a bank . STC n metro buses have accountants

• Yaw 2 months ago

Please can you educate some of us further about how the funds will get to these accounts? You see for STC, METRO MASS, 2M are companies and can therefore have one account so any fare pay in its name but with TROTRO AND even V ...

• Who killed Mills 2 months ago

Each trotro would have their own card reader that deducts preloaded cards, similar to the electric cards/keys and deduct the correct amount from each customer into the trotro's bank account

• Ebenezer 2 months ago

You are rightly on point.

• Sam 2 months ago

The system can be programmed to log your start point on the journey when you tap on. Then when you alight, you don't even have to tap again, the system already knows that that card holder have alighted. The fare is then calcu ...

• mike 2 months ago

You mean people from those countries are not human beings, my friend be careful.

This is Accra!

• Kwame 2 months ago

This Abass guy is just being an NDC: Always NO to any new thing. Please Togbe, forget this man and his ignorance.

• MUTUM BANZA APP 2 months ago

Helloooo... NPP akromfuor nkwasiafuor aban! This is what you will reap when you foolishly, stubbornly, and devilishly set about to reject, ridicule, and downplay every effort at development that your neighbour would initiate ...

• Addo 2 months ago

If you have time to go back to school do that's and learn more to your brain.u hv small brain to think ahead

• Okumaning 2 months ago

Togbe Agorkorli yes Abass Moro comes from mali or whatever its same like your Samira Bawumiah BAWULIAR the extra wife coming from FULANI NIGERIEN. BOMBERCLAT TOGBE AGORKOLI. BOMBERCLAT "AMOADSE"

• Backwards country 2 months ago

Backwards black people’s country don’t want development and progress in their society.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

The Trotro drivers don’t know the Tap and Go will help them. Robbers will not be willing to attack drivers for money because they will know that the drivers don’t carry money.
    Besides, the Police will stop harassing driv ...

• Selfmade KING 2 months ago

And can u imagine, these fellas have positions in ghana? These are the people that are running our transportation system! Can’t believe this from this man!!

With a proper structuring, the trotro drivers can even make
    mo ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

Its rather the OWNERS who wilk make more money and the drivers might not like it. I say this because if any account should be opened it should be in the name of the CAR OWNER but not in the name of the driver. If it works get ...

• WaLL 2 months ago

Mahn.how will it be working.’tap N go system is charge /number of tapping operator will incur let say per tap cost 50pesewas how many people operator commute to get his fuel,dairy sales and his take home after dairy tapping ...

So is it so hard to design an app for tap and go for trotro and taxi?

Why is it so difficult to develop an app for these two vehicles?

I mean there are a lot of app designers all over the world including Ghana that can ...

• The Mothe Serpent Of Corruption 2 months ago

My question is why is that the previous administration introduced it and you came to destroy it and now you want to bring it back because of your evil intent to discredit the previous administration and now that the people ar ...

• Czar 2 months ago

Mahama introduced this back in 2015, it is nothing new, Bawuliar make think wai!,What happened to your economic management team?Mutumbanza!

Mahama introduced OKADA in our nation and not this revolutionary system!

Sometimes we have to our politics aside and support people when they arr doing the right things for us

• Truth 2 months ago

Ghanaians are just not serious at all. When the NDC wanted to legalize Okada operations by educating, training, and monitoring their operations, the whole world wanted to come to an end. So much noise was made by the npp. Tod ...

Again when this system becomes fully operationalized, the trotros don’t have to be full before they move! Just like the western nations where buses runs on time and when is the time for buses or trotros, to move, they have ...

• James st Patrick 2 months ago

That’s a great submission selfmade!

A smart dude

• mike 2 months ago

Do you understand what trotro means or the difference between trotro and bus service?

If the system can work for TAXIS, it can work for trotro too!!

They are all short distance vehicles or Mike?

• Honesty 2 months ago

Do you know some taxis turn off their meter and take money on the side.

I have even seen taxis fighting passengers who insist on getting a receipt.

Of course, there is nothing strange about this system. It can be good b ...

Russia, China, Germany, Britain and even Japan buys technology from American tech companies!!

Most lastest technologies are PATENT which means that government authority or license conferring a right or title for a set per ...

• Honesty 2 months ago

At what cost and at what sacrifice!

And you dare compare your purchases to nations, like China and so on. Very ignorant thinking

All you people know is make yourselves and everyone subservient.

This is why you lots ...

• St James 2 months ago

lol….

U ignorant tho

Selfmade has schooled u tweaaa

• Honesty 2 months ago

Schooled me with his cut and paste! hahahahahahaha.

I have read his comment and can pick him out line by line, but just one line.

'Machines has several parts and these parts are made from different nations with various ...

• Honesty 2 months ago

When you rush to buy technology from other nations, you create jobs for them and destroy your jobs without replacing them.

This also has social, economic and security implications.

So keep on copying without care in th ...

• WaLL 2 months ago

And,do you think Trotro owner after filling petrol will move without passengers .Buddy,Tap N go will be only good for Gov’t mass transit ,VIPs not trotro or taxi!!

This is where u get it wrong!!

U are looking at the short run and not the long term tho!’

Can’t tap and go work for taxis?

And again, if u read my earlier submission, I talked about adjusting the TIMING for the ...

• Err 2 months ago

And you will be the one to buy fuel for them!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Do you see some Ghanaians have become stupidly blind by partisan politics? If Mahama started the program and Bawumia is trying to improve on it, what is wrong? Let us use our brains properly a bit.

Ghanaians are some of the most jealous people on this planet and sometimes it shocks me a lot that a group of people can be so jealous and bitter at the same time!

I don’t really understand this tho that we are so jeal ...

• YYY 2 months ago

He improved nothing. He abandoned the Ayalolo and left the buses to riot. Such stupidity.

• Honesty 2 months ago

It is the arrogance and disrespect from Bawumia and the NPP that is making people reject the idea.

Plus, Bawumia makes it seem as if this is the golden hen that would lay big eggs to fix all our problems.

In the first ...

• kk 2 months ago

Building systems is building the fundamentals. If you know nothing about building the fundamentals you have no business leading

• Nana Addo 2 months ago

But who says he's saying something sensible? He's seen it done somewhere but lacks capacity to redefine it to suit our system hence saying something to represent something after all there are idiots who fall for it...Liar-mia

• KG 2 months ago

CZAR, WHEN DID MAHAMA INTRODUCED THIS SYSTEM? MAHAMA KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT THIS SYSTEMS, BAWUMIA IS TRYING TO BRING PROGRESS TO THE GHANAIAN PEOPLE BUT IT SEEMS SOME PEOPLE WANT TO CHEAT THE GHANAIAN POPULACE SO NOTHING WILL WO ...

• Uninformed clown. 2 months ago

Stop misleading people because of your own ignorance. You hear lies from NPP and take it as the gospel. People like you are the reason we are not progressing as a nation. Educate yourself and stop spewing lies as facts. Maham ...

This is like using 5G…analog dramani was like 2g

Such a stupid idiot who can’t think for shit and this bastard is even having a position in gprtu! Omg! This is the genesis of how our transportation is going to be run eventually and these concerns can be addressed when the ...

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 2 months ago

lol, economist turn into IT laughing stock....smh. if the economy was anything to write home about, you will be busy using that for ur campaign, you realized that book talk is different from reality and practical. you will f ...

IT is part of economic and I guessed u don’t know the modern trends of economic!!

What’s even an economy to u mister?

A simple Economy can be defined as an Economic system in which each and every individual is requi ...

• Dr Digital Bawumia is doing excellent work 2 months ago

This tap and go system build by Ghanaians youth is excellent. For this Dr Digital is doing well. Excellent direction

• James st Patrick 2 months ago

Am very surprised by what the vice president has been able to achieved man!

The man has done well and I know his digitization ll be a game changer for Ghana!

That sector is going to employ huge number of Ghanaians and ...

• Oakss 2 months ago

Do not buy into this. Just another way for the government to take your money.

• Saint Frank 2 months ago

Only the fools and local primitive who never travel outside beforehand will see this a new thing although outside there those buses operate as company not individual as Ghana system some are government buses and other operate ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

When Bawumia was a trotro mate was this how he was operating? Comedian

So what’s the meaning of your comments tho?

For those that have never traveled outside before and are primitive and locals as u put it, is a NEW SYSTEM to them!

U see how stupid u are!

U have travelled outside b ...

• Honesty 2 months ago

Their disrespect and arrogance is behind comprehension.

Don't worry, anything they develop will eventually be enhanced by our people.

My worry, is how we cut ourselves from the over reliance on foreign systems and deve ...

• Abusuapanin 2 months ago

Oh Ghana, so sad. Such illiterate leading the GPRTU. You wanted Dr Bawumiah to contact you first for your input. Ha ha ha. What do you know? Instead of asking to be properly educated about the whole thing, you're opening your ...

• Abusuapanin. Are you stupid? 2 months ago

As if your mouth is not dirty. Fool. It is because of useless sycophants like you that Ghana is stagnant. Animal

• Obibs 2 months ago

Gradually, with such progress, all these transport owners will be drawn into the tax net, which may be the reason this GPRTU guy is trying to kick up against. It will be a brilliant idea if introduced. Vehicle owners would ge ...

• Fulani twe 2 months ago

You are mad. Hahahahahaha. A kwasea man called Obibs

• Honesty 2 months ago

And what do the Bawumia's and their wives do with the taxes, go shopping abroad.

Our people will be willing to pay taxes if they see it is benefitting them and also some so called ruling alites don't live in opulence and f ...

• Honesty 2 months ago

correction, ....elite.

• Na Butu...........Tema 2 months ago

These are the backwards group of Ndc supporters manning Gprtu.

Very simple it's fone in foreign countries.The machine is linked to the drivers momo number and nor car owner..any tap with this pre loaded card it comes as a ...

• Black Stars must win World Cup 2 months ago

Liar. You are a goat. A backward NPP idiot licking Bawumia's anus all over the place. Kwasea

• IMF 2 months ago

Bawumia has destroyed Ghana's Cocoa industry. PBC is in hot soup. Court says their buildings and vehicles should be sold to augment their debts.

• Sir-Riscky 2 months ago

Lol. Why is Bawumia wasting his skills on something he never promised when our economy is in crisis? Has he forgotten the exchange rate has exposed him? He should revamp the economy and stop deceiving himself. Like how? A nat ...

Revamping the economy is creating jobs and this is what the tap and go ll provide

Put the politics aside and bring ideas how this system can function for ghana because it can employ a lot of Ghanaians!

• The demagogue president 2 months ago

Hahaha!!!!
    @Selfmade KING , but Tap and Go will suppress the job of a mate!
    You know? Passion overwhelms reasoning!

By the way! Tell your champion that lies are accepted once, not twice... unless you are nescient.

• Sinohydro of China Loan 2 months ago

I saw Pwalugu Multi Purpose Dam and the place is as bare as Samira Bawumia's pubic hair. What an idiot. U go fit? Bastards

• Kaya Yoo Hostel JRC 2 months ago

We the original trotro mates are waiting for that foolish man called Bawumia in December. Kwasea. Impersonator. He should tell us the number of the trotro he worked as a mate. Stupid man. Liar. This fool has never be a trot ...

• Kweku 2 months ago

It will work because it's working in Malaysia, Singapore, Japan and Korea so it will work if the thieves are willing to stop stealing

• Your mouth like Cecilia Dapaah anus wai 2 months ago

Another animal called Kweku. Is 24 hour economy not working in your Malaysia, Singapore,Japan and Korea? Fool

• R. Y. Sarpong 2 months ago

GPRTU needs to learn how to adapt to changes instead of criticizing Bawumia's Tap n' Go ticketing system. If there is time limit set into the Tap n' Go ticketing system and the ticket is transferrable within the stipulated ti ...

• Dollar is approaching 13 Ghana. Kwaseakwa 2 months ago

You and who should support that fool called Bawumia? Massa. U go explain taya. Who should support that rat? Do you think we are fools like you? Gerrout. Animal

• Cartier 2 months ago

This system is being used in the uk and other parts of Europe .In the uk you can use what is called the Oyster card or use your bank card or mobile phone wallet to pay for your public transport fare .They’re contactless car ...

• Nigeria is supplying cocoa to Ghana 2 months ago

So is 24 hour economy working in UK and other parts of Europe. Do you think TOR managers resign in Europe like at Tema Oil Refinery? Moron

• Criminal 2 months ago

This guy think we are fools

• Nii 2 months ago

All those against this tap and go system by DMB are all objects and particles ( NDC ) ,fools .

• Liteo 2 months ago

Retarded people hate to embrace change.

• Honesty 2 months ago

Foolish people think every change is good and is a fix- all-solution to all problems.

Respect peoples' concerns, that is what a listening govt do and how these technologies you want to copy were built in the first place, ...

• Oyibo 2 months ago

Never say never! What is this man's educational level? What is his qualification for that position? We can never use such people in a nation's development. These people would ensure that the system fails if it's going to affe ...

• Kofi 2 months ago

At least he is a practical man. He is not a theory bastard like Bawumia who escaped from Zimbabwe after destroying their currency

• Honesty 2 months ago

Destroying their currency, hahahahahahahahaha.

Ghanaians don't know, do they?

Thank you bro, you've made my day, hahahahahahaha

• James 2 months ago

The way transport system is run in Ghana is different from how its been done in this advance countries . Our roads are bad , cost of spare parts and everythingthat goes into transportationin Ghana is nothing to write home ab ...

• Bugi 2 months ago

EVEN THE TRO TRO WILL VANISH FROM THE SYSTEM SOON

• Yohannes 2 months ago

When is the soon that the trotro will vanish from the system? . It appears you don't know calender. Go and look at the date. Fool

• Kwami - US 2 months ago

Bawumia is a big scam and a threat to the economy in Ghana

• The truth 2 months ago

Defeatist attitude. In technology, everything is possibly.
    Man can land on moon but someone is saying you can't work a ticket system on trotro

• Yohannes 2 months ago

When are you bringing the sky train? Kwasea. You take the $2 million chop. Thieves

• Kofi 2 months ago

WHY IS IT THAT NO ONE IS TALKING ABOUT THE AIRBUS SCANDAL AND JOHN MAHAMA, WHY IS KISSI AGYEBENG NOT TAKING, WHY IS BRIDGET OTOO NOT TALKING ABOUT IT, ETC

• Rita 2 months ago

It is because that fool Ernest Owusu Bempah of Ghana Gas with his mouth like a pedophile chickened out when he saw the wheelbarrow and the raised rake for a cleaning exercise. He fled frantically. Go and call that fool bac ...

• Sensibilty 2 months ago

Metro Mass has a ticketing system. And please have you heard of ride sharing. Lorry stations will soon be òutmoded and forgotten. You will be left with only old rickety once. Why will uni students wanting to shop in a market ...

• Delegate 2 months ago

Massa stop telling stories. U go explain taya

• Stone 2 months ago

I have evidence that this not a novelty. The Tap n go was introduced by Ayaalolo and Metro Transit as far back as 2016 or earlier. Those who want to challenge are welcome. I have money locked on these two cards now. You wante ...

• SURVIVAL. 2 months ago

In France this card is called NAVIGO.It works on train,buses and trams.So we don't have driver mates over here.There are eletronic devices in the vehicles that validate the cards.You can decide to load your card weekly or mon ...

• NANA SERWAA BRONI ADDO 2 months ago

NOTHING GOOD COMES FROM BAWUMIA. RELY ON BAWUMIA AT YOUR OWN PERIL

• Maame Adwoa 2 months ago

Eiii ghanafo when. Some will never support development all because of free money and bad mentality. God have mercy.

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Bawumia is just a very foolish man, his stomach is very big now full of disease. Fake dollar police officer.

• Citizen8 2 months ago

Mr Abass Moro please don't say something can NEVER work. There's always an answer to a challenge. We only have to do research, understand the problem, propose solutions, try the solutions and perfect them. That's what life is ...

• Honesty 2 months ago

So you know there is always an answer to a problem?

• Bathalomew 2 months ago

@ Citizen8. You and who?

• Sam 2 months ago

That is how far you can think. But let me tell you, it is even the easiest solution that tap and fo can provide for trotro business. If you don't know how a system will work since you are not the originator, don't bastardise ...

• Naomi 2 months ago

@ Sam. Do you think Ghanaians are as stupid as you and your father?

• Abraziaa 2 months ago

This useless and criminals week thinking leaders akufo addo bawumia government only fools and animals understand there don't understand anything

• Afutuo 2 months ago

Senseless out minded illiterate people like Moro Abass want his voice to be heard,one question to asked him : why thousands of people flooded at supermarket and able to paid what they can afford in the store.is these people p ...

• NDC SHALLOW MINDS 2 months ago

LOOK AT NDC LOW THINKING PEOPLE, YOU ARE VERY ILLETERATE. WHAT ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE CAN NOT DO IN THIS AGE OF TECHNOLOGY? THE TAP AND GO CAN EVEN WORK WITH BYCICLE HOW MUCH MORE THOSE RICKITI TROTROS IN GHANA.

LET ME E ...

• Nana 2 months ago

This Abas Moro guy is illiterate and should resign from his post. First of all picking passengers anywhere and any corner should stopped. We have to have stops. Without a designated stop, one cannot drop nor pick a passenger. ...

• Eric 2 months ago

This system would do away with roadside standing n move people to bus stops. This is what done in the developing world no one stands anywhere for bus. So my senior brother not bcos GPRTU was consulted the system would be real ...

• OZYMANDIAS 2 months ago

Give it a try first with a few Trotros, and let’s see how it will work. Not encouraging to pull it down before it is given a try. Illiterate GPTTU chairman.

• Kojo Fynn 2 months ago

Instead of looking for a way to integrate the trotro system into the tap and go system you are busy condemning it. Well, for your information the developed countries tried new things, failed, went back to the drawing board, a ...

• TonyB 2 months ago

Have you forgotten how our Trotro system operates. At times during the peak period passengers struggle to board and so how do they tap and go. Let us be practical

• Kojo Osei 2 months ago

Why we don't want to change? It can work effectively if similar system works in other countries STOP POLITICIZING EVERYTHING IN OUR DEAR COUNTRY WE ARE MOVING FORWARD WITH THE WORLD

• Stone Age AfricansnSe 2 months ago

This moron is ignorant of how computer/ software engineering systems work. The system can be programmed to accommodate short distances within short intervals

• Didi 2 months ago

Backward mentality from Abu Moro

• Kwame 2 months ago

The man of the moment with vision, not small small chick's and small small pigs

• Afua Tricker 2 months ago

There is the need to give it a trial and enforce the rules and regulations on it.We should learn to accept changes for development. The top most must also discipline themselves for the current generation to emulate.

• Yao 2 months ago

You are just daft. The world is progressing.

• William HK Sorkpor --- USA 2 months ago

Dr Bawumia: What next is on your lofty agenda for primitive Ghana? Are we going to land on Mars next week? We have an old adage in Ghana that simply says: "CUT YOUR COAT ACCORDING TO YOUR SIZE". We have unpaved roads and vill ...

• Ismail Addy 2 months ago

I tell you this system will work because it's working in some African states....what are you talking about Mr Moro .... because of the selfish intentions, interests and gains of your trotros drivers that is why you are disill ...