You are here: HomeNews2024 02 19Article 1917614

How disagreements between Nkrumah, Ashanti chiefs led to the establishment of CMB scholarships

Read Comments Comments (132)

• Mr Ibu 2 months ago

I think Nkrumah should have locked them up. The Ashanti people always think about themselves. Self-centered

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

Exactly! The deserved to be locked up. They were going to use the money for tonga. Hahahaha

• SACK OKRAKU&GFA 2 months ago

BASTIE WO MAAME TWE! YOUR KOJO BASIA YOU SERVE AS YOUR GOD TOLD THE WHOLE NATION HE WONT LET GOVERNMENT TAKE ANY RESOURCES FROM DORMAA, HAS HE BEEN LOCKED UP? OFUI! DO YOU AND YOUR KOJO BASIA RECOGNIZED ASANTE AS PART OF GHA ...

• Agyenkwa Hustler 2 months ago

Nkrumah was a man of big vision. He just ran into a bunch of brainless idiots who don't seen one single year ahead. They're primitive people who only have one trait, GREED!

• NKRUMAH: A FARSIGHTED LEADER WITH NO EQUAL TODAY 2 months ago

Nkrumah was a true visionary. There is nothing worse than a great visionary surrounded by small or pigmy -minded, self serving assistants.They become a millstone round any great leader's neck and sometimes the best way is to ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 2 months ago

That was as stupid and arrogance as if could be! Someone comes to negotiate with you as the President of the country and you threaten to arrest him without even referring the case to the courts for adjudication? So Nkrumah tu ...

• Get serious 2 months ago

This is a lie as usual to court hatred for Ashanti and Akan Chiefs and farmers in cocoa growing areas that vote in a certain way. The purpose is reinforce the vile propaganda that they who have lived harmoniously with all tri ...

• SACK OKRAKU&GFA 2 months ago

THANK YOU GET SERIOUS! WAS COCOA GROWN ONLY IN ASANTE DURING NKRUMAH' S ERA? WOULD ONLY ASANTES BENEFITS FROM THAT BARGAIN? ARE ONLY ASANTES ENJOYING THE COCOA BOARD SCHOLARSHIPS? THIS IS JUST TO CREATE ENEMITY FOR ASANTES. T ...

• Okponglo Guy 2 months ago

Nana Addo solved the problem with Free SHS.

• Patrick 2 months ago

Brainless people who contributed to nation building through hard work. I wonder what the tribes were doing? What did your father's contributed to Ghana's economics then? What's wrong in asking for a fair share if your hard w ...

• Christian 2 months ago

What's fair share? Think about the most resourced region today, the Western Region people demanding the oil, cocoa, Gold, bauxite, manganese, timber... be given the lion's share of the proceeds - yet they are one of the least ...

• Spark 2 months ago

That is why the chieves advocated for a bit more money .As to if that money would have been channelled into developmental projects is another issue.Decentralization would have served Ghana well. Currently all development is ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 2 months ago

Though I have heard about the agitations some farmers embarked on in respect to the Cocoa prices during Nkrumah’s time. I have never heard the details like this till today. I will do some more research on the subject. Nkrum ...

• Patrick 2 months ago

It’s the same principle. Also note that it wasn’t the fact that cocoa came from the region but the farmers worked hard daily to produced them. In any industry if you don’t look after the grassroots, where the raw materi ...

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 2 months ago

I was just patiently waiting for a stupid comment from one idiot in the room and you just won that trophy.
    Then was mid twentieth century and those morons might be crazy like the horses they rode on to Accra, but anyone supp ...

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Kwasia when our forward thinking forefathers were fighting for fetile lands, your were licking the ass of whitemen....Otwee ...

• Christian 2 months ago

Small minds just insult people

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 2 months ago

Looking for the best business to do? Fix smartphones and earn dollars for the smallest issues. ACT NOW so you don't become a spectator this year. Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. Being intentional is impor ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

Kwasea kwa, you should be grateful to Asantes for at least accepting to allow their resources to be used to develop the country. What annoys me is, then Asantehene and the chiefs were nothing but cowards, they should have sta ...

• Dixon-Stephenson 2 months ago

Someone just mentioned it up there: The richest region, by far, is the Western region yet they don't make the noise you empty-headed idiots and your small-minded ancestors have been making

• Spark 2 months ago

Idiots are the cowards who come from a land of plenty riches but are quiet and suffering.

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 2 months ago

Masa. Just shut-up. You sounding like an idiot.

• Trokosi Julc/pepenii 2 months ago

Who do you want us to think about? Mpepefour or trokosi? tweaaa

• Imhotep 2 months ago

I do not think before independence Ashanti cocoa farmers were paid better than Nkrumah did. The Ashanti cocoa farmers were not ready for Nationalism. Ashantis approach to national development is quite mind boggling. What is G ...

• Fd Ghana 2 months ago

Exactly. The akans in general through their chiefs never fully accepted the other groups as part of us. Npp was formed at Manhyia to execute policies of asanteman and not necessarily the entire nation. They vote for the Npp e ...

Just a word of caution. Akan means -the first (AKANDIFUO). They’re the Bono people. However, most Akans in today’s Ghana came from Bono.

Asantes are one of the sub groups of Akan. They’re a mixed breed of Moshi as w ...

• EYES AND EARS 2 months ago

Oh, they have Mossi blood in them? Hmmmmm!!!

• Akosua Do 2 months ago

I have always wondered how Nkrumah managed to deal with these sluts and keep the Nation together. He might have struggled. Now that they have power, they want to share every resource they find among themselves. Just a bunch o ...

• xxx 2 months ago

Slut is the one who born you in dumsor

• Mr F 2 months ago

From the onset, the Asantes did not support the Unitary Government, One Nation. The royals were not sent to school because a teacher may beat them if they flawed. In some cases, those who went to school had servants who went ...

• Darren Jason. 2 months ago

No wonder you call yourself mr foolish, because your forefathers were evil traitors working for the British. Who gave Dr Kwame Nkrumah the name Osagyefou to him.it's was the same Otumfour Asantehene. Just because Dr Kwame Nkr ...

Hahaha interesting, you call yourself imhotep. Have you forgotten the Ashantis brought unification and all the tribes who join them enjoy together on like the useless tribes who hated unity and try to work for the evil traito ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

Are you serious?, proceeds from gold from both Ashanti and Ahafo in a year is more than 5 years of oil money in Ghana, and since when did Ghana start drilling oil, besides, the oil is in the sea not lands, and since when did ...

• KWAO LAWYER 2 months ago

I am a beneficiary of CMB Scholarship and my dad who was a farmer is so proud of me. If there's any legacy from the cocoa farm that inured to our family, then that's me.

Anytime i hear bad news about Cocobod i feel sad. To ...

• EYES AND EARS 2 months ago

Well spoken! Nkrumah will always be "the stone the builders rejected" but turned out to be the head of the cornerstone. Just compare him to these noise-making idiots of our day.

• TT 2 months ago

What a visionary, that man Osagyefo. Nkrumah never dies indeed.

• 3tw3 kankan mormorni 2 months ago

Nkrumah is the greatest of all, foolish asantes greedy idiots

• Akof 2 months ago

May the good Lord forgives you

• Aaron 2 months ago

Such people with such names are beyond forgiveness.They are condemned

• Akosua Do 2 months ago

My friend, he is right! Ashantis have proven time and again to be foolish, idiotic, and a bunch of thieves whenever they have had power. Check our history.

• Dre 2 months ago

What about your peoples history?

Jealousy and hatred is the beginning of madness Akosua do you must be from those evil traitors whose forefathers were working for the British. Mumu person. Learn common sense.

• Akosua Do 2 months ago

I presume you are one of them. They have no clue how to run a country. All they know is to steal. They don't understand the concept of nature reserve, so they share a national treasure like the Achimota forest reserve among t ...

• Kb 2 months ago

In deed, Nkrumah was a visionary leader! If this account is factual, it goes to support the hero in Nkrumah!
    Hard times in governance does not make heros, rather, hard times in governance only bring out the hero in leaders! ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Kb....these are indisputable facts. When he started putting up schools in rural areas in the Ashanti Region, after getting rid of the apartheid - style African and European only hospitals in Kumasi and building the ultra Mor ...

• they say they say 2 months ago

Not only Sendero but Agyina Karikari, the other Asshole

• Kb 2 months ago

@Nsia: Thank you for providing more context to the publication.

• Perry Skyler 2 months ago

This is what we call leader with vision, ambition and foresight. May he R.I.P. Today we have only men with evil,corruption,wickedness,selfishness greediness and vision less. No sense of direction and purpose on top with the M ...

• asantihene osei tutu alway attacking Nkrumah 2 months ago

when you defeat asantes or NPPs in augments, they will quickly say to don't like asantes. that is why osei tutu is always saying nkrumah hated the asantes. who are asantes at all? corrupt and greedy people.

• Yaw 2 months ago

Corrupt people because they were been cheated and were fighting for their right? After thier cocoa money was used to take care of the country, what did they get back? Ungratefulness. The Ungrateful people

• Yaw 2 months ago

What do ewes and really contribute to Ghana's development? What exactly? Why we should use Asantes cocoa money to take care of them?

• Fuego 2 months ago

The Ahanti man and women matter! Eii these people

Asantes are Ghana’s main problem. The earlier we see that, the better

• Callum 2 months ago

How do you plan to solve the problem since they always seem to be a headache for you?

We need a bold leader like Nkrumah or Rawlings who just don’t give a hoot about them.

• Callum 2 months ago

Interesting.You want someone else to come and solve a problem for you.What does this say about you?BTW,those leaders you describe as bold came and left.Those you seem to despise are still here.You need to find something bette ...

• Lance 2 months ago

At Bastie, you inferior should rather applaud Ashantis for driving a change of development in Ghana, other than that you fool would’ve still lived primitive life.

You’re a dog. You’re inferior to me. Kwasia you can’t even differentiate R from L. Ofuii , Wo maame tw3 s3 national cathedral pit

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Hw3 ne gyimi kakraka bi...Aboafunu bi ba...

• Lance 2 months ago

At Bastie, you inferior should rather applaud Ashantis for driving a change of development in Ghana, other than that you fool would’ve still lived primitive life.

• Kin and Country 2 months ago

Not much has changed then..... Nkrumah would have probably done more if all the tribes had pulled together in the same direction. Now the lobby is done through their political party behind closed door with no Nkrumah figure ...

• Dutt 2 months ago

Most Ashantis will be cursing the author of this article for exposing them. This is what they don't want to hear and if they are told then they take you as their worst enemy. Their men are short in nature and the northerners ...

• Natt 2 months ago

What tribe are you?

@Dutt. You’re spot on. Their mothers are always pimping Asante girls to men for marriage. I can give you a ton of evidence and personal examples.

They’re the worst opportunists ever.

• Elia 2 months ago

Your people must be the best opportunists then.

• ASHANTI SHOULD STILL BREAK AWAY. 2 months ago

Ashantis joining Ghana since independence has.not helped Ashantis as a whole. Despite immense resources we have Ashanti region is still under develop. Let's beak away .

• Joko 2 months ago

The whole chunk of the country’s GDP was from the cocoa sector . Ppl forget that those farms were private property and the land was cultivated by Ashantis with Ewes and Northeners as paid labourers. They had every right to ...

• Sam 2 months ago

There are people who prefer to insult than to verify issues.I sometimes laugh at the level of ignorance.A saying goes"When you point an accusing finger at someone,three point back at you."If only they knew the history of some ...

• Nkonim 2 months ago

I am boiling so much with anger about the comments I am reading now. I was born and bred in Ashanti region and I attended high school in the region. An elite school that I don't want to mention. But please take note of how t ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Nkonim, you failed to tell us the year you were born and when you went to that school. I was born and bred in Kumasi. My parents were farmers as well, but I never got any CMB scholarship. That said, that happened long after ...

• New Sheriff in Town 2 months ago

This Anokye man who claims to come from the Western Region is a fat liar, or is being inellectually dishonest. It is not true that "every ward of a cocoa farmer who showed proof" was given a CMB scholarship. My step-father wa ...

• Exactly 2 months ago

They don't want to hear the truth but just insult Ashantis..let them enjoy their ignorance.Ashantis live rent fee in their heads

• Mr F 2 months ago

WHY WAS THE COCOBOARD ESTABLISHED? I SHOULD BELEIVE SOME FARMERS NEVER APPLIED FOR THEIR WARDS. LIKE AN MP WHO ALWAYS SHOUTED AT END OF PARLIAMENTARY SITTING, 'WHAT ABOUT THE GOASO ROAD?' GUESS THE ANSWER HE RECEIVED!

• Gyatase 2 months ago

This Anokye guy is spewing falsehood.Nana Prempeh collaborated with Nkrumah on a number of educational projects including making vast lands available for different kinds of institutions, Teacher training colleges, , Technical ...

• Okponglo Guy 2 months ago

Well spoken.

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Gyatse, you are taking things out of context. That said, what sort of goddamn achievement is it, if he provided pieces of land for a handful of schools in Kumasi, considering the fact that the whole of Brong Ahafo were part ...

• Troy 2 months ago

Ashanti shldnt have been part of Ghana. Ashanti shld have stood as a country on its own.Ashanti cocoa was used to develop whole country, what did that Nkrumah do for the region.

• Obaa 2 months ago

Any tall Ashanti man, woman, girl or boy you see on the street are not the true breed of the Ashantis. They are diminitive with short arms and legs. Most of them are into shoe shining business all over the sub-region of West ...

• Jack Toronto 2 months ago

Bro. Obaa, stop the foolishness.

• Vasco 2 months ago

Those insulting Ashantis may the Almighty God forgive you all. Nkrumah was robbing peter to pay Paul. Our forefathers suffered in the hands of a wicked leader called Nkrumah. Ashantis are hardworking people who doesn't depend ...

The cacao wasn’t only farmed by Asantes. Bono regions and western regions too. So you cannot claim your forefathers were more hardworking. Do you know the food basket of Ghana ? Should western region also demand a bigger sh ...

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Why not demand for a fat cake if the oil is coming from your yard, what happens to local economic development (led) agenda? Without Ashanti Ghana couldn't have thrived...why were you guys seeking for unitary government, and o ...

Wo ni ne wose dodomu. “Western Ashanti” is an English word. Did your Ashanti primitive forefather speak English ? Ofuii , abrejyie ba

• Akua Bintu 2 months ago

Nkrumah was a very good person.

• Ebentee 2 months ago

Cocoa became like gold after Tetteh Kwashie brought it to Ghana, many wealthy people especially Ga,Krobos etc purchased large farm lands in the forest regions to cultivate Cocoa that's why there are so many Ga settlements in ...

Don’t even mind them. A Ga man brought cacao from Fernando po. Their Asantehene was busily enslaving and beheading people to bury his uncles.

• Lazy man 2 months ago

What was your forefathers doing? What were they expecting as foolish as they were, and even now ..what good use were Ga people besides been sold for salt and gun powder by the powerful Ashanti Kings....Aboabiba

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Ga settlers paa...mention one ..aboafunu ..you people were just defecating along the beach...the only think you brought is cholera, kwashiorkor (Ga word)...gyae gyimi no wate...

• Ebentee 2 months ago

Don't say what you don't know because I am a beneficiary of Gas settling in Akan areas both maternal and paternal. Let me give names of some in Eastern Region. Ntoaso, Daanunmorshi, Duadekyean, owuraku, Papanso, otwe near ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Ebentree, one correction, Tetteh Quarshie, was not the first man who brought cocoa to Ghana as we were taught. That is wrong. Now, the Portuguese, who brought us Plantain, Cassava, Papaya, Mango, Tomatoes etc also brought co ...

• Odo. 2 months ago

Kwame used most of our money for other African countries trying to sell his foolish socialist- communist ideology, and marrying foreign wives. All from our cocoa money. Nkrumah, communist, are not truthful, only deceiving peo ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Odo....another born again idiot with kokonte for brains displaying the usual gross stupidity inherited from his/ her senseless forebears.

• Anony Mous: THIS MAN IS LYING AGAIN 2 months ago

This man is not telling the whole truth or he's purposefully distorting the facts.

In the run-up to the February 1951 legislative election, the first general election to be held under universal franchise in colonial Africa ...

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Wiseman

• Obaa 2 months ago

Just see the way and manner these Ashanti women are always disgracing themselves on the airwaves, even their so-called men of God are not being left out. They fornicate with girls at any time, they are just like rabits. I fee ...

• Anim 2 months ago

Just imagine these chiefs helping Dr. Kwame Nkrumah with this positive idea, we would have had more educated Ghanaians. They hate everybody apart from themselves, how can we then develop as a nation? Just see Nana and you wil ...

Kwame Nkrumah was not a saint nor an angel. He had his own faults as a human being.

Kwame Nkrumah was his own enemy. He was egotistic man. He was full of arrogance of power. Nkrumah himself hated everybody apart from himse ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Anony.....no wonder you haven't got the chutzpah to use your name or a decent moniker. From 6th March -1957 - 6th March 1960 can be classified by any right thinking person as three years. There was a general election held ...

• Yabi Yabi 2 months ago

What the historian and lawyer forgot or did not include in his piece is the fact that Bafour Akoto, who was a jester at the Asantehene palace was the brain child behind matemeho. As a typical selfish, tribal and one lacking f ...

• Elia 2 months ago

What a load of BS.Drop the tribal angle.NDC has ruled Ghana for 20 plus years.How is their developmental record better than NPP?BTW id dont give 2 shits about either party but lets stop peddling lies here?

• Kutu Futuri 2 months ago

Nkrumah was a very wise guy.

• kk 2 months ago

Wisdom foolishly expressed.

• Asante 2 months ago

Every calamity we are going through as a nation is because of Asante man, they sold Ghana to the white man through the C.I.A.....THEY ARE GREEDY SELF CENTERED PEOPLE

• Abbas 2 months ago

Stop the foolishness. What the hell a power did the Asantis had to sell Ghana to the whites ?

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

My brother Ashantis and Akims woks together to overthrow Kwame Nkrumah, Ashantis never want the Independence from the British.

• OZYMANDIAS 2 months ago

Nkrumah was right to say that. He already knew what the farmers would use the extra money for. The scholarship was a very noble idea, but it was later abused by corrupt civil servants who worked at the CMB offices, together w ...

Nkrumah never said. That never happened. The man is lying. Read my earlier post on what actually happened.

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Gyae gyimi no

• Asonaba kofi 2 months ago

The great Osagyefo. A very wise and a patriot. Unlike the leaders of today.

• Nana 2 months ago

Many bright Ashantis were unable to attend secondary school because their parents could not afford it. But children from the north including John Mahama had free secondary education,

John Mahama’s parents were rich enou ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Nana, ignorance is a curable disease. Do yourself a favour. Google... Ghana Education Act 1961. It will come up. Read all the sections, then come back and tell us where Kwame Nkrumah, gave free eduction to only Northerners? ...

• Oklibone Accra 2 months ago

This man paa.is cocoa produce only in Ashanti region?what of western,eastern,brong,volta,central etc.

• Kojo 2 months ago

This is rubbish history, completely made you story,

• Gslow 2 months ago

I have said this on timeless occasion that Asantes are the reason Ghana is not moving forward.

• Yaw 2 months ago

They are reason Ghana isn't moving forward because their cocoa money was used to take care of people's free education? Kwasia what were the other tribes doing then? You contributes nothing to Ghana's development but you don't ...

• Mary Mavis GYAMFIWAA 2 months ago

The farmers children never benefitted from the CMB scholarship.

• Yaw 2 months ago

Asante money was used to established UG and also do free education in the north but what do they get in return? Ungratefulness. Evil Ghanaians

• Dr Culture 2 months ago

Another Asantes bashing from Ghanaweb.
    Did Nkruma make the cocoa farms for the Asantes,this is what you must ASK yaself instead of trying to spread this Fake news.
    After taking over their Minerals on their Land which was ...

• Robb 2 months ago

Ghanaweb wouldn't make money without Ashantis.We are big and relevant...fact.

• Fine man 2 months ago

Kwame Nkrumah boasted that Asante Chiefs would run away and leave their sandals behind because he never read history. In the end, he was the one who ran away and left his sandals behind! Bloody red communist dictator

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Hahahaha Nkrumah made big mistaken he should know better that education is not for Ashantis. The great son of Ghana and Africa may bless his soul and rest in peace.

• Boom 2 months ago

Apparently education is not for you either you gay ,cross eyed beach shitting sodomite...hahaha.Check your sub standard grammar

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 2 months ago

MAINLY THE ASANTESAND THE AKYEMS ARE THE MAIN CAUSE OF POLITICAL INSTABILITY IN OUR BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY, GHANA.
    IT IS VERY UNFORTUNATE THAT THESE GROUP OF TRIBES ARE MAIN THE PROBLEMS IN GHANA. THEY THINK THAT GHANA BELONGS ...

Akyems are good people. The main problem is Asantes. They’re greedy, selfish and inward looking. If I ever become a president of this country, I would ensure they’re dealt with drastically.

• www tings 2 months ago

You'll never become anything apart from the coward you are.Go and look for a pair of balls before you talk..hahaha.Your wishes and hatred are slowly sending you to a coma.keep it up

• Bastie Anusfourhene 2 months ago

Viva anuses.I am biggest anus.I am available for sex work

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 2 months ago

Akuffo Addo also did well in the education sector for introducing free second cycle education, Nana we thank you for our children's education

• General Afrifa 2 months ago

Did you hear those who well the Ashantis labourers ? Your father's well our labourers
    Nkrumah play with us and he died in exile
    Trust Ashantis at each time we are push to the wall one out if us will rise up and do the ...

Kwasia, Prempeh I was bungled like a dog and shipped like a cargo to Seychelles. The British are still reigning and you wish to get their visa.

• Obaa Grace 2 months ago

Those of us in the south, if you visit the Ashanti region and you make acquittance with some of them, their main interest is to visit the south to have the feel of the sea. They always assume that the waves coming from the se ...

• Des 2 months ago

Isnt NDC been prevailed upon to pick an Ewe?What are you saying?

• Kwasi 2 months ago

This Lawyer Anokye's history about the Asantes are full of distortions. There's complete differences between him and Lawyer Obiri Boahen. Obiri Boahen accounts are specific with date and well researched whilst Anokye account ...