You are here: HomeNews2024 02 17Article 1917379

What Togo’s first president said about Nkrumah taking over Western Togoland

Read Comments Comments (123)

• IRS 2 months ago

to abolish the barrier where are the tribes supposed to be? How nice would it have been that Ghana. Togo and Benin as one country?

• Ghanaman 2 months ago

The Western colonisers knew exactly what they were doing in creating the borders of African countries. They created borders to create disunity in each country with different ethnic groups. If national borders were determined ...

• Jude 2 months ago

If Togo joined Ghana it would have strengthen the Ewes in Ghana. They would have voting power just like Asantes

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

Thank you IRS. Wasn't it the West who created the borders in the first place? Looking at the tiny nature of Benin and Togo, it is clear that they were originally part of Ghana and should have rejoined Ghana when we gained ind ...

• GHANAWEB, THIS IS NOT TRUE! 2 months ago

The decision to let Germany pay reparations after defeat spelled condition to relinquish her colonies. The Germans had Togo, Cameroon and Namibia. They held territories in Burundi, Tanzania and Rwanda as well before the 1st W ...

• Liar-in-Chief 2 months ago

You gave yourself away with your halfwit analysis. Cocroach.

• Who Killed Mills 2 months ago

Basically Africans are a piece meat shared out to the europeans. Now our hands do not have eyes to see. Our eyes do not have a leg to take us where we need to go. We have been disabled. We can only become abled bodied if we c ...

• Abass 2 months ago

Exactly what Kwame Nkrumah was fighting for and some SATANS in Ghana then teamed up with our colonial masters and eventually over-thrown Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. Nkrumah was fighting for artificial barriers or borders crea ...

• Baaba nuhu 2 months ago

Selfish Kwame Nkrumah. It was Allah who overthrow him.

Oh baba. You no get sense.

• Tito 2 months ago

Hahaha

• Srth 2 months ago

You are fool to think so, study political history. You will understand and be educated

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

Idiot. God doesn't engage in coups. Is it Allah that has Boko Haram carrying out its destructive escapade in parts of Nigeria? Nkrumah and Olympio may each have had their reasons for taking the positions that they took, but y ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 2 months ago

EWES HATED NKRUMAH FOR THAT: THE CAUSE OF KOTOKA’S REMOVAL OF NKRUMAH. EXPLAINED!

Reading from the article, Kotoka was also doing the bidding of Sylvasno Olympio to remove Nkrumah who forcibly integrated his Ewe tribe i ...

• Acheampong 2 months ago

Why can’t you mention Late General Afrifa within the kotoka coup de tat?

• Dogo Yaro 2 months ago

Maaaaan! I wish I know you in person!!! You are so full of knowledge!

TRUST NO MAN: HATE NO MAN!

Who is the satan? Nkrumah was also a nemesis or a devil to some Ewe leaders including Kotoka, the mastermind of the 1966 coup, who wanted to pay Nkrumah back for overthrowing the government of S ...

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

Stephen Donkor, you're just an ignorant twister of facts, and your gross ignorance is pathetic. Kotoka was not the mastermind of the 1966 coup.; the masterminds of the coup were Busia and Danquah Traitors, and their main cond ...

• The Spear 2 months ago

@Ex, you really have so much time for this Ghana hater, an unpatriotic professional prevaricator? When has he ever made sense in all the submissions he's been making on Ghanaweb?

He's a pedantic, pretentious thorough-goin ...

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

Trump University graduate donkey Stephen Donkor is like benign cancer; if left untreated, it'll become cancerous and do more damage than one can imagine. That's the reason why bastards like the ignorant Stephen Donkor and Kwa ...

• Isaac 2 months ago

Don't lie J.B Dankwa died before Nkrumah was overthrow the real mastermind of that coup is the C.I.A of America, America promised the greedy coup makers $45 million at that time

• Abednego 2 months ago

NDC Ayigbeweb..... Typical Cock and Bullshit story!!

SOME FACTS IN THE STORY CAN’T BE IGNORED.

In fact the story has some substance that can’t be ignored, considering the events that transcended Nkrumah’s removal, and the reason why JJ Rawlings also formed the Dzeloko ...

Complex. The trick is never to forget the history and using that history to see. History is our eyes

• Ojah 2 months ago

LIKE ONE OF MY GOOD FRIENDS ALWAYS SAYS TO NUTS LIKE YOU, 'PLEASE GO EXERCISE SOMETHING'!

• Nobie 2 months ago

The Plebiscite in which the Ewes voted to become part of Ghana was held on 9th May 1956. It was organised by the League of Nations and the United Nations, not Kwame Nkrumah. It is true that Africa would have been better off ...

• Efo zelegah 2 months ago

Even with this division, Ghana Ewes are almost same in population as asantes. About 4.2M Ewes compared with about 5M Asantes. The major difference between them is not the population, but socio-economic development.

• Tonto 2 months ago

Ewes 4.2M and Asantes 5M? Only in your dreams. O Ayigbes! Why are you so obsessed with your Asante benefactors and superiors? When did you conduct this census? Don't you Togolese know that the population of Asantes extend bey ...

• Ashanti Korshiokor 2 months ago

Mr asantiman, live and let live. You are ashanti and so what. Osafo Marfo said u guys are just opportunistic rat shit eaters. He said ashantis were not part of independent struggle. Offui, learn sense.

• F**kAsantes! 2 months ago

Look at this cow-dung twit!!! What makes you Asantes feel like you are superior in Ghana? You forgot the EWEs fought your British war with you! Ingrates! Hooligans!!! Pull your literacy deficient heads out of your RECTUMS and ...

Tonto the matemeho. so disappointed in you. You are so shallow you look like a goat joining humans to eat at the same party. please go away and eat grass

• Abena DAPAAH is a THIEF 2 months ago

Why compare the Ewes to Asantes but not Fantis, Dagombas etc or any other tribe in Ghana? You see, we are our own enemies. We are Ghanaians fighting against CROOKS we voted for. A better Ghana for all Ghanaians should be our ...

• Geoffrey 2 months ago

4.2 million Ewes. Hehehehehehehehe. Must have counted all the living and the dead to reach that number.
    Continue comparing your miserable selfish to the Great Asante Kingdom.
    They're far gone. Concert people.

• Okponglo Guy 2 months ago

Africa Unite! Stop this Ewe Ashanti hatred. It was Ewes and Asantes who clteamed up in the army to stage all our coups. When NAL opposed PP, that was when the division started. And then Jerry came and made it worst with t ...

• kanewu 2 months ago

Where did you get your fake numbers from.
    Asantes are at least 15 million in Ghana

• MAN JUSTICE 2 months ago

NONSENSE. What have the supposed independent African countries and their stupid corrupt leaders done to remove the artificial borders imposed on them. Africans for ever blaming someone for our own created calamities.

• Papa 2 months ago

By your logic, Nigeria would have been the most admired African country in the world, having 3 major ethnic groups forming Nigeria. But I bet to differ, Biafra would have been far better a nation than the present day Nigeria ...

• Nii Quaye Larbi 2 months ago

Poor History Lesson From.Ghanaweb .

Western Togoland is not what is now known as Volta Region . False ! Anlo lands ( Aflao , Keta areas ) and Tongu lands ( Sogakope / Mepe / Adidome areas) are all in present day Volta Reg ...

• Mavis Agbotsi 2 months ago

You are perfectly right. Those along the coast were long ago a British Colony. Ashanti, Bono, Eastern and North Western were NOT part of the British Colony/Gold Coast Colony. Also, those in the Togoland from Adaklu up to Bawk ...

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

@Mavis, the Dutch colonised the whole of the Western Region including Western North of Ghana. Western North as a new region was part of the Gold Coast handed over by the Dutch to the Brits. Just as Keta was part of the Gol ...

• Vinnie 2 months ago

There you go again.. Borlaweb trying to resurrect the western togoland nonsense again.. I keep saying this.. NDC and borlaweb keep your hands off Ghana.. You can not and will never succeed in creating a civil unrest in Ghana. ...

• GHANA HAS NO INTEREST IN TAKING OVER PRESENT TOGO 2 months ago

Why dig up these issues now? Present day Ghana and present day Ghanaians have no interest whatsoever in incorporating the nation of Togo into Ghana. Why would Ghana try to absorb a country that would almost certainly become h ...

• SAEED OSMAN 2 months ago

These are the idiots behind Africa disunity and continue suffering.

• Geoffrey 2 months ago

I hope these Togolese monkeys in Ghana, realise it's not too late to pack back to their hopeless motherland Togo, and leave the lands for the original owners, who are my people, the Akwamu people.
    Pack your bags and leave ou ...

• sonofgod 2 months ago

foolish olympio. you were better of being integrated into ghana . nkrumah was right and never dies

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

Typical political rubbish from selfish self centred politician who is rather full of himself. The guy never mentioned the improvement of standard of Living of his so called people.But mainly on free movement.

• Chris Stephano 2 months ago

You are narrow-minded. The free movement of people and trade means what to you? You are an illiterate.

• 3dem 2 months ago

And what do you think was going to be the effect of free movement of goods and people??? Where are your brains pull it out from where ever it is hiding, this is embarrassing....

• Bad 2 months ago

Ghana would have lost most of the Volta River. Akosombo and Kpong projects would not have been possible. Nkrumah was indeed smart.

• Oye Onye and Kuffour ABEKA 2 Trokosis . 2 months ago

Volta River is and was never controlled by Ewes or Trokosis ! One third of present day Togolese lives in Ghana
    , around New Edubiase . So what is he saying ? Didn't he come to accure Aborso Glass Factory built by Nkrumah ...

• silly response 2 months ago

What is clear is that if transvolta Togoland had become part of Togo, we would have lost our biggest fresh water body, the Volta, Oti! Now, we have all this vital fresh water resource to ourselves! Stupid tribal bigot who do ...

• These rat shit soup eating ashantis wont learn 2 months ago

@Oye Onye Kufour, you are so dumb that you don't think beyond your ugly nose. For your information, Transvolta Togoland goes all the way to some parts of the Northern part of present day Ghana. Foolish ape!

Primitive juju folks in 21st century !

• Rat toilet eaters 2 months ago

Who worships juju in this 21st century than ashantis? Your whole existance is premise on sikadwa conjured by a juju man called Komfo anotse. Hypocrites

Who told you ? Is the Volta not running through Gold Coast before it enters the sea ? Is Asuogyaman part of Ewe ? After all the Volta is just a boundary and not for Ewes !

• 3dem 2 months ago

You are just a loud illiterate….

• Jojo 2 months ago

Olympio didn't have the foresight and depth Nkrumah had.Just imagine a United States of Africa

• Bulu 2 months ago

You have started again because the elections are drawing near. Transvolta Togoland begins from Ho to Bawku not Ho Kpandu and Hohoe but also Biakoye Buem Kadjebi Nkwanta Dambai Krachie Dagbon Nanumba Mamprusi and Kusasi or Baw ...

• Tonto 2 months ago

Those ethnic groups you mentioned are not Ayigbes and they made it clear during the 1956 plebiscite that they did not want do be part of your western Togoland project; hence they voted to be part of Ghana. Ayigbes were dragge ...

Wow, Tonto!

• Gbemela is a SATANIC Homosexual 2 months ago

Breaking News and Crime Alert !!!. — Bastie is a SATANIC Homosexual

Bastie is a TERRORIST member of Alquedas, and ISIS TERRORIST Organizations

Bastie is a dangerous Enemy of Ghana, ENEMY of Asante Empire that stretch ...

• SENDERO 2 months ago

Nkrumah engineered his overthrow and assassination. Ghana recognized the new government as soon as the coup was announced.

Togo was a sovereign State that chose to remain Independent and would have no truck with any pipe ...

• be wise 2 months ago

You see, when you are not intelligent enough, you are incapable of providing precursors to events in history. Time may not permit me but I am gonna try and put some sense in my writing. Probably that will help you understand ...

You are informed. No insults though. So who are leading the Pan African cause today?

• be wise 2 months ago

I must admit, my brother, that pan-african-ism is dead. Those making the noise are only debris.
    We have fine minds like Pro. Lumumba of kenya etc but despite their good hearts and wishes, there are again more fools to handle ...

Thanks Mr Be Wise, very good insight. Funny how life works. The fool gave me an opportunity to get to hear the history from you. They say when life gives you lemon , make lemonade and when life gives you shit, make manure and ...

• Koliko 2 months ago

Ghana Guinea Mali Union? Thank God that did not succeed. Ghana would have had to deal with all the jihadists in Mali now. That country is full of jihadists. Sekou Toure of Guinea was so disliked that when his death was an ...

• Nsia 2 months ago

@Be wise, I am glad you've knocked a bit of sense into the non-thinking head of the useless Sophist and wise acre called"Sendero". His visceral hatred for Nkrumah is beyond description. He is in the same camp as weasels and d ...

• Bastie is a SATANIC Homosexual 2 months ago

BREAKING NEWS. — Bastie is a SATANIC Homosexual, and also, a member of Alqueda, and ISIS TERRORIST Organizations

NOTE. The Public should report Bastie to Interpol, FBI, BNI, and National Security

Ghanaweb is behind ...

• Allow me 2 months ago

Can Asantehene enter Canada?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Yes he can. He can enter as a Diplomat and he would be covered by diplomatic immunity. If he dares to enter Canada as the Asantehene, l tell you he will be shoved into the nearest prison. In the Western Developed World, the l ...

• Ofui 2 months ago

America has extradition treaty they enforce vigorously. If Asantehene has any legal issues in Canada, they would have extradited him to Canada during the many trips he made to that country. You can't get over the sounding def ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

#Ofui... You idiotic comment does not say much about your intelligence, does it? Do you know the difference between USA aka America and Canada? FYI, they are two separate countries. Why do twats like you even bother to comme ...

• Bastie is a SATANIC Homosexual 2 months ago

BREAKING NEWS. — Frankie and Bastie are SATANIC Homosexual Partners , and also, members of Alqueda, and ISIS TERRORIST Organizations

NOTE. The Public should report Bastie to Interpol, FBI, BNI, and National Security

• Frankie, and Bastie are SATANIC Homosexuals 2 months ago

Frankie and Bastie are SATANIC Homosexual Partners, and also, members of Alqueda, and ISIS TERRORIST Organizations

Ghanaweb is behind B ...

Forget about bastie for he is just a common fool. It's those MPs and Minister, Napo the idiot is called who wanted to introduce LQBT to our kids at school when he was education minister. They say bawumia is thinking of making ...

• Jay 2 months ago

What's the crime of asantehene in Canada? And have u even travelled to Europe, America before and u want to be little the great king with Canada, is Canada better than UK

• Selfmade KING 2 months ago

You can clearly see that, the guy was a political dwarf challenging a political dinosaur!

He explanation didn’t make any sense at all! He was a walking contradiction becasue he wanted independence for his nation and t ...

• kabanda 2 months ago

Dear Ghana Web,
    1. western Togoland is not the current Volta Region.
    2. Not all the former western Togoland are part of the current Volta region.
    3. Not all ewes were part of Western Togoland. Some were already part of G ...

• Kilogram 2 months ago

The presidency has announced that Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia is acting as President.

This was contained in a post made on Facebook by the Jubilee House on President Akufo-Addo’s official handle, February 14.

• Monkey 2 months ago

The bush ashantis learn this history proudly Ewe

Monkey, learn history. The people you call bush were your allies.

• Barb 2 months ago

Look who is talking about history. Your ancestors named your tribe after a brain dead animal.Look up your tribe name in any dictionary. Better to be a monkey with an appreciable I.Q.

• zewuzevi 2 months ago

@Barb, you are misinformed. why don.t you go to your dictionary and look up the pronunciation of the 'brain dead animal' and Ewe as a tribe/ethnic group. sorry, shs did not help abi?

• Truth 2 months ago

We are learning from the various submissions but the insults are destroying the beauty ofnit all. Let try to debate, share opinions and so on on subjects without insults.

• Trokosis have taken over Ghanaweb 2 months ago

I smee Fiifi Kwetey's hand in this write up

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Africa United in my mind. The son of Nkrumah is here, i still going to take the whole Togo.

• La pleasure man 2 months ago

First get rid of the bedbugs in your kiosk, son of Nkrumah..
    The infected sours on your back are causing high fever.. so that explains your hallucinations.. just walk to Cape Coast and go and beg for coins from the whitemen ...

• Wahab 2 months ago

Well , anything that stands in the path of unity of the African peoples for is a nonsense and waste of time our uncle Olympios stance is one such example - a tribal bigot !

• Sad 2 months ago

Why fail to mention that Eyadema was sponsored by Nkrumah to assassinate and overthrow Olympio?

• JB Danquah was making bombs in Togo to kill Nkrumah 2 months ago

The matemeho NPP people were being helped by Olympio to make bombs to kill Kwame Nkrumah

The Ewes should know Olympio and the Ewe elite were NPP sympathizers, not Nkrumahists.

• Johnny 2 months ago

Nkrumah did not incorporate WT into Ghana. The project was in gestation long before the Osagyefo became Leader of Government Business during the transition (1951-March 6, 1957. The 1956 plebiscite in which the majority voted ...

• Johnny 2 months ago

Correcting: 'any'... Study Group's...

• WELL SAID JOHNNY 2 months ago

WELL SAID JOHNNY. It is amazing how many folk jump onto the unregulated and barely moderated Ghanaweb comments section and post opinions about things and express opinions about issues they have zero knowledge about.It is trul ...

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

Lot of mistakes in this article. French and not the British took over Togo. 2nd, Trans Volta Togo Land and Olympio bought Glas Factory from greater Tarkwa. Try again. World War 2 the German soldiers were here. Try again.

• Togbe Afedi 2 months ago

The stupidity of Nkrumah
    Not allowing Ewes to leave Ghana, which was their wish.

• Akapko Patron. 2 months ago

Togo is still Ghana land as we gave them their land. And so Togolese must be thankful to Ghana.

• Kwaafeny Cesse Mugu 2 months ago

Kwame Nkrumah était très intelligent et très audacieux. Le Togo était une terre que le Ghana leur a donnée, donc ils devraient être très reconnaissants envers le Ghana.

• These same people voted against African Unity 2 months ago

Olympio was the same person who was fighting against the unification of Africa. He supported JB Danquah and his terrorists to make bombs in Togo to kill Kwame Nkrumah. The assassination attacks on Nkrumah's life were planned ...

• Kojovi Akplormada 2 months ago

The truth is that, our (Ewe) ancestors are not happy about the horrible state in which the British and French stole Eweland and shared it among themselves. We ( Eweland ) had our systems of governance before the Germans came ...

Sylvannus was Ghanaian in a way, Ghanaian educated etc.

Ewe nationalism is very much alive just like Akan Nationalism Today, they live in the NPP and NDC.

Nkrumah had the solution. African unity. Get rid of the coloni ...

• Nana Yaw 2 months ago

Western Togoland, now Volta Region? Are you guys a bunch of illiterates?

• Novis 2 months ago

This is poor journalism! The plebiscite of 1956 was for a union government with the Gold Coast not integration. The two have different meanings and anticipated outcomes. Unfortunately, this was not to be.

• Analyst 2 months ago

General elections are approaching and some some people are beginning to whip up anti-Ewe sentiments again?

• Anim 2 months ago

All these small Western colonies in Africa affected our continent seriously. The forebears of the West and America did well by uniting their nations and people. They are enjoying today. Our forebears in Africa led by Dr Kwame ...

• kanewu 2 months ago

Ghana would have been better off without Ewe's.
    We have enough coastline to create another 'Volta river'

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

No… Asantes are Ghana’s main problem

• Barb 2 months ago

Then do something about it

Bastie ANUSFOURHENE lmaooooo

Bastie ANUSFOURHENE hhaa

• Bastie Asantefourhene 2 months ago

Someone’s uncle was promised King of Ghana, but was scammed. Hahaha

Bastie aka ANUSFOURHENE lmaoooo

• Joy 2 months ago

Kwame nkrumah was too great. Look his hidden stories to improve west Africa and Africa was too much . Mr olympio knew Kwame nkrumah was great to be given that useless land for a good purpose and yes Kwame nkrumah did and wa ...

• They should have let them go 2 months ago

They don't appreciate what Nkrumah did...they should have joined Togo so France managed them...

• To every fool in the comment section 2 months ago

So it's clear ewes are not ghanaian

• Ochee-Do-Chee 2 months ago

Every president wants a bigger territory to rule. The same reason Olympio was also advocating for a "United Eweland" joining his territory! Just the WARPED 'smarter/wiser' than thou mind of the politician.

• Kofi Ghanaba 2 months ago

Western Togoland was for Nkrumah's taking.The determination was done by a plebiscite before Ghana's independence.Those Ayigbe people who always fight for independence when the NPP of UP tradition is in power should stop.When ...

• PREPS FIADZIGBE 2 months ago

WHO CARES WHAT TOGOLAND WAS AND WHAT DR. KWAME NKRUMAH DID 60+ YEARS AGO. WE NEED AFRICAN UNITY, PROGRESS AND DEVELOPMENT. WHAT IS TOGO DOING TO ACHIEVE THAT?

• Yabi Yabi 2 months ago

Do you tribal morons listen to yourselves or to each other when you write your infantile nonsense? Your respective tribes are so mighty or brave yet the Gold Coast was a colony of other European nation states until our indepe ...

• SOS 2 months ago

It's all done now so let's move on.

A tribal Ghana or a tribal Togo is is in no one's interest in the modern world of diversity.

Forward Ever.

• George Avortri 2 months ago

Your understanding of the Western Togoland issue is wrong. The plebiscite was for a political union with Ghana, not integration. Please check your history well; has the union been effected before Nkrumah invaded the territory ...

• George Avortri 2 months ago

Your understanding of the Western Togoland issue is wrong. The plebiscite was for a political union with Ghana, not integration.
    Please check your history well; has the union been effected before Nkrumah invaded the territo ...

• Grandson of Sylvanus 2 months ago

It hurts to see my grandpa again!