You are here: HomeNews2024 02 08Article 1915834

The Lowdown: Why Accra became the most air-polluted city in the world and how you can protect yourself

Read Comments Comments (24)

• OSABARIMA MENSA 3 months ago

There are too many jalopies spewing junk out of their exhausts on Accra roads. Most vehicles on our roads are only fit for scrap.

• Yaw 3 months ago

This type of pollution has nothing to do with exhaust fumes. The wind from north-east comes with fine dust particles

• Gabaa 3 months ago

This cannot be true. Have you been to Deli and Mumbai

• Adam 3 months ago

It s harmattan season . Why are we pretending this has never happened before . And for pollution go to India China USA

• Sosoman 2 months ago

Exactly, New Delhi is like hell. here we go again. They have found out that dirty December is bringing financial benefits to Accra and Ghana as a whole so start destroying it.

• Tony 3 months ago

The rural folks who have thronged Accra to occupy uncompleted buildings have matters worse by constantly burning their trash instead of paying for their trash to taken away.

• OsiAdeayo 2 months ago

You're right! Accra, must be decongested.

• Tony 3 months ago

..made.. be*

• Wise 3 months ago

This is not correct. Accra is experiencing its normal HARMATTAN weather which from ages, has been occurring around this time of the year..The GAs call it Arabatta and January is named after this weather in Ga. Our scientists ...

• Nii Bokete 3 months ago

This is fake news. Accra has not passed India and China. Watch the racist Europeans start their bullshit while they present looting Ghana. Shame on the Swiss company. Paris has bed bugs etc. go there and say that. Nkwasiafout

• Watershoes 3 months ago

Some false BS information. I think the company is looking for business or as usual trying to spew negativity where it does not exit.

Check worldpopulationreview website and see for yourself.

• Anti establishment 3 months ago

India is most polluted country more than Ghana

• Pelicles 3 months ago

Daniel Oduro, please go to India city of Calcutta, and see what pollution means. It is the harmattan season and we shouldn't pretend as if the skies are falling on Accra.

• Anonymous 3 months ago

Lies. How big is Accra?

• Boye/California 3 months ago

When Nana Addo promised to makes Accra one of the Cleanest Cities of Africa it's just a joke and people are getting sick at all times because of the air-polluted city in the world what a disgrace and shame all politicians are ...

• Errant nonsense 3 months ago

Who are these half literates spewing such nonsense?. Is it because they are from Switzerland? Nonsense.
    Did these fake researchers compare with Damman, Delhi, kolkota, Lahore etc. ebufu s3m kwa!

• Conscious mind 3 months ago

Trotro transport system must be faced out and replaced by city line busea that can also
    be converted to electric or any form of renewable energy.

• Papillon. 3 months ago

Just the perfect excuse for the government to start charging everybody for breathing oxygen. How about our polluted water bodies? Give us a break!

• Adjei 3 months ago

Let's stop leaving in denial Nd find solution to this. Let's consult Chinese technology make rainand bring the early rain clouds to move from Prampram to Abugri Mountain. This will likely spread as far as Kasoa and winniba

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago

Try me and vote for me i will make Ghana great in Africa. I will make Accra the cleanest city in Africa and skytrain will run all over and build airport in Cape Coast, the galamsey will be free for each Ghanaian and my police ...

• Chief 3 months ago

We all know this is a ploy to justify your stupid emmision levy

• Raymond 3 months ago

Give us scientific evidence and don't throw the dust into us because of your stomach . what do you say about India and the Nigeria pollution . Please check the word records of pollution

• Sharpener 3 months ago

What happened to making ACCRA the cleanest City in e world?

• Sosoman 2 months ago

Here we we go again. Have they seen Mumbai, New Delhi it's like hell of a hell. They have found out financial benefits Accra and Ghana is getting because dirty December so they've to put Accra in a black list of polluted ci ...