You are here: HomeNews2024 02 02Article 1914679

Why Nkrumah gave the Peduase house built by market women to the state for use

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Togbe Tsali 4 months ago

The Peduase Lodge MUST be given back to the Nkrumah Family or a new mansion must be built by the state as a replacement.
    All those criminals in government now currently living n enjoying there must be FLUSHED out

• Joe 4 months ago

For your information no govt official lives at Peduasi Lodge!

• Ghanaians say yes to lgbt 4 months ago

Ghanaians are ready for homosexuality and same sex marriage.

• David 4 months ago

Fool. Go your father and uncles

• David 4 months ago

Kwasia. Go marry your father and your uncles

• OSABARIMA MENSA 4 months ago

Which market women? Market women from Makola or Kejetia markets? Ghana and gyimii saa!

• David 4 months ago

Kejetia women were to naive then to support such a meaningful project

• Darren Jason. 4 months ago

Mumu half baked primitive David, Dr Kwame Nkrumah came to power due the great support from the Ashantis who vote majority to the Cpp. Dr Kwame Nkrumah lost power when the Ashantis left him alone due to not listening to Otumfo ...

• DR TRUTH 4 months ago

ANY GIFT RECEIVED BY A SITTINGS PRESIDENT BELONGS TO THE STATE BY LAW. THIS IS TO PREVENT BR8BERY AND CORRUPTION

• Anonymous 4 months ago

Who wrote this Lies. Peduase Lodge is built by Ghana Government.

• Wisefolk 4 months ago

Which Ghana government?

• Aj 4 months ago

Go check your history again
    Mr anonymous

• Kwaku ,Aburi - A COMPLETE LIES 4 months ago

I don't think the person who wrote the story has ever visited Peduase Lodge.How could a private residence have an estate for staff,a poultry farm,a football playing field etc etc.It is a complete lies the ppl of Aburi Akwapim ...

• Nyansapow 4 months ago

That's why nkrumah was light years ahead of his peers, and therefore the hatred by the mati meho cabal

• Sam 4 months ago

FYI Nkrumah never needed to build himself a house. To him Ghana was his property a raised his family at Peduase and Flag Staff House. He wasn't as selfless as you and Samia want to promote him. Why was there no elections for ...

• It wasn't big when it was built 4 months ago

It's obvious you didn't hear Nkrumah's daughter say it was small at first. But the gov. Made it bigger and opulent. Dumb dude

• Joe Wassa 4 months ago

Opportunists.

• Ritewing 4 months ago

Absolute rubbish. Some of us lived through those years. Name the women who you claim built Peduase Lodge. Tell this to the Marines

• OGyam 4 months ago

#Rite bullshitter, why don't you give us the facts or details as to how Peduase Lodge was built or you think we are as stupid and gullible as you are to accept the usual nonsense of "Omoose,, they said" from the ever lying Da ...

• Joe 4 months ago

This is the very first time I am hearing of this.
    Why have we not heard it before?
    If Samia was born there it obviously means it was built before her. She must have heard it from someone else?

• Emma 4 months ago

Her father told her

• Peter 4 months ago

This is not true. Kwame Nkrumah built both the original (older and smaller) and new (newer and larger) Peduase Lodge with Government funds. The land was obtained by Kwame Nkrumah with the assistance of the Chief Justice at th ...

• Johnny,Oyarifa Madina 4 months ago

I had friends and classmates whose parents used to work at Peduase Lodge.I there4 had the opportunity to visit them and play football with them and even sometimes Limann's children.I completely believe what you wrote.One pers ...

• Nana Osei 4 months ago

If it was financed by market women, it was Ga market women.The Ga women who financed him.The Land belongs to the Ga people.The chief Justice then ,was the same man who negotiated for the Airport Lands which belong to the peo ...

• A FOOLISH GA CALL NANA OSEI 4 months ago

A foolish Ga call Nana Osei don't you know that originally even Ayimensah and Danfa belong to Aburi Akwapim.How can Gas own Peduase land in the middle.

• Awuradebasa 4 months ago

Francis Nwiah (AKA) Kwame Nkrumah spent our money on other nations to gain independence rather.

• KingKofi 4 months ago

We are so used to ghanians politicians stealing so much that the truth is so foreign to us. Dr Nkrumah was more than a politicain, he was a revolutionary conscience leader.

• Joy 4 months ago

Kwame nkrumah was a real man. Nana addo and mahama team are all thieves. Alan all the way

• SENDERO 4 months ago

Unbelievable misrepresentation!

Peduase Lodge was built in 1959 by an Italian firm that had won a contract at Tema harbour. It was given to Ghana and a decision at a cabinet meeting was to gift the Lodge to Nkrumah who sol ...

• Tete 4 months ago

This is very close to what I also heard from reliable sources. It was a gift to the state by a contractor...
    Not by any individual or group of persons to KN.
    It's a state edifice and the facilities within and its layout and ...

• Kofi 4 months ago

Our current leader should emulate our first president and stop amassing stolen wealth because karma will not allow them to pass those ill- gotten wealth to their family members. Advice to Ofori Atta(finance minister).

• Kwaku Mensa 4 months ago

And of course,a percentage of customs duty on all imports to young Ghana was deducted and paid into the coffers of CPP for the use of Man of Africa and his cohorts.

• Julius DELLOR 4 months ago

Kwame Nkrumah Purchased The Land To Build Family House For Himself. The Then Parliament Acknowledging The Tremendous Contribution That He Made To The Liberation Struggle UNANIMOUSLY Voted To Build The House For Him In APPRE ...

• Julius DELLOR 4 months ago

Kwame Nkrumah Purchased The Land To Build Family House For Himself. The Then Parliament Acknowledging The Tremendous Contribution That He Made To The Liberation Struggle UNANIMOUSLY Voted To Build The House For Him In APPRE ...

• nii 4 months ago

That is a pure lie.

• Nana Akua Adobea 4 months ago

Peduase is not in Aburi. Stupid journalist.

• Y 4 months ago

Hmmm

• Kontomire 4 months ago

Meanwhile SELFLESS NPP Kuffour has built for himself another Peduase Lodge. Apparently, his Airport residence isn’t palatial enough. A near 90 year old building mansions.
    NPP and Asantefuo and DISPLAY of OPULENCE!

• Kubut3 4 months ago

NKRUMAH ALWAYS USED COMMUNISTS TACTICS. NKRUMAH BUILT THE PEDUASE LODGE WITH STATE RESOURCES. WITH HIS OWN SPECIFICATIONS. TO AVOID CRITICISM FOR BEING EXTRAVAGANT. HE CLAIMED THE MARKET WOMEN BUILT IT FOR HIM . NOTH ...

• Kubut3 4 months ago

NKRUMAH NKRUMAH MADE A SEGMENT OF THE POPULATION VERY LAZY. NKRUMAH,S OPPOSITION CAME FROM THE HARD WORKING COCOA PRODUCING AREAS. MY GREAT GRANDFATHER : A SUCESSFUL COCOA FARMER . NEVER LIKED NKRUMAH BECAUSE OF H ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 4 months ago

Your take on the PEDUASE Lodge is wrong. Misinformation is extremely Dangerous. This Peduase lodge was built by Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and NOT by any market women. This is absolute RUBBISH. Extensions and renovation was carr ...

• Anim 4 months ago

Samia don't worry yourself to explain further. Your father was a good man and he has helped Ghanaians and Africans. It is their fathers who were thieves and they stole our resources after they overthrew Nkrumah. They have mad ...

• Anonymous 4 months ago

Though the Makola Women supported Nkrumah massively those days, they never helped him built Peduase Lodge. The lodge was built by the Ghana Government of that time.

• Gakpo 4 months ago

Tell us more about 'Kankan nyame'

• John 'breaking de 8' 4 months ago

Nana, personally I don't think you can break the eight... how much Noor are we emitting and we gleefully want to accept this tax GH is chocking and we in an election year are going to give excuses about russian Ukrain war or ...

• Dasall 4 months ago

Nkrumah is Ghana, and Ghana is Nkrumah

• Saul 4 months ago

Read and learn.Underthe constitution of Ghana and most countries, a president is not supposed to and even allowed to keep anything that is given as a gift to the president. Anything that is gifted to a president automatically ...

• #GetitRight 3 months ago

Let's stop deceiving ourselves. Nkrumah was declared President for Life. He was more like a deity and did not need private property. He didn't not have a 4 year term or exgratia. He and the state were one. Who needs a house w ...