You are here: HomeNews2024 01 29Article 1913645

Terror fight, economic sanctions - Why Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger have quit ECOWAS

Read Comments Comments (75)

• misled fools 3 months ago

these fools are being misled by Putin

• Peter 3 months ago

You have to study some history. There was a time in Ghana when. Acheampong refused the US foreign Secretary to visit Ghana under pressure by the then NUGS. Nana Addo has had to kick every ars
    for just three billion. These ...

• Pan Africanist 3 months ago

You and your entire family are fools. Your father is idiot and your mother is Ashawo. So u dont reason. Kwasia gyimie bi ba

• Peter 3 months ago

NPP trade mark. Insults. They are so intellectually deficient. And you see it all over Television and radio. It is either they speak Twi to insult or they speak poor English to explain themselves.

• The Spear 3 months ago

Really?
    I had campaigned since long that we quit ECOWAS because it's not beneficial to Ghana, especially when you travel around the West African sub-region only for Akufo-Addo to completely indulge because of his trotro fre ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

You should rather start thinking where you will be getting your foodstuffs from when Burkina closes its doors as well.
    Ecowas over the years hasn't help itself.
    You can't cross any border peacefully.
    The Yes master must s ...

• Owan Yaw aka Lisiemine Ubi 3 months ago

What a bad uninformed and myopic decision by the three dictatorships. Niger relies a lot on Nigeria for trade and a hub for imports. Burkina Faso relies on Ghana for its imports and exports. These nations could easily be shut ...

• We adore our brave pan Africanists leaders 3 months ago

Sorry !! we admire them for refusing to be puppets.

• They Can Ask to Join Russia! 3 months ago

They are puppets of that fool Putin whose only exports are AK47 and death!

• Joachim Amanor 3 months ago

Africans are very silly, they call leaders aligned to the west puppets and sell outs and the coup makers aligned to Russia as heroes. Bless ya'll , I hope they find something made in Russia that they can buy or replicate at h ...

• Name no matter: 3 months ago

You have your voice on which platform or Parliament House?. Miseducated, misinformed and misguided people leading by misleaders. Y’all are like what the gospel of Matthew describes as sheep being skinned Your misleaders has ...

• Peter 3 months ago

Pro West? It is what the colonialist have convinced you off. What does the West do for you? Exploitation? You think these military leaders are stupid. I don't think so. The average African just had no hope in himself. As you ...

• General Lucifer 3 months ago

The so African idiots calling themselves pro- west are sellouts, traitors and mentally enslaved, in fact brainwashed by the western propaganda machine: their source of information.
    They have no knowledge of self let alone ...

Black Africa is so weak that we can't even build our own highways. All major multimillion dollar projects are contracted to foreigners ( Chinese and others). These weakness is the results of being a puppet of a colonial slave ...

• MARY MAVIS GYAMFIWAA 3 months ago

When was the last time you took your medications? Either you are de compensating, relapsing or you need urgent psychiatric reassessment.

Fat,short and ugly woman heaving insults instead of making a valid case.What was the cause of the unsolicited insults to the gentleman?

What is great about shutting your doors to your neighbours? Aimless shooters , they shoot first and then try to find their target. These fools will run back begging, first to the regional leaders and then to France. Everythi ...

• Agyapa 3 months ago

What have France for them for them to go back to France.Your brain is colonized as your puppet leaders

I agree totally, this is just the beginning of Putin's script to destabilize west Africa. Guns, death and more misery

• Kubut3 3 months ago

These THREE LEADERS LED BY THE YOUNG SCAR FACE FROM BUKINA FASSO HAVE MADE A MISTAKE BY GOING AGAINST THE INTERESTS OF FRANCE AND THE WEST. YES THEY MIGHT HAVE GOOD INTENTIONS FOR THEIR COUNTRIES. BUT THEY WILL NO ...

• Dadabi 3 months ago

Another fool! What has Africa benefited from France? France can't survive on its own without Africa

• Akua 3 months ago

See this fool too,,,, those guys have done perfectly well

You short fat women are the foul mouths in this space, just insult anyone who expresses their opinions! May you live long with your permanent ugliness.

• Dadabi 3 months ago

I'd advise you to read about their agreement with North African countries to use their ports. ECOWAS is broken and all their decisions are influenced by the west.

• Konfo 3 months ago

Fools, you can go to hell with your Putin

• Konfo 3 months ago

• Kwame 3 months ago

What is wrong with you?

• Boye/California 3 months ago

They left because Nana Addo Government and President Tinubu becomes the mouth peace of the West and becomes a puppet putting Sanctioned to your fellow Africans because France and America told you to be a Puppet, Yes l welcome ...

• phillMusa 3 months ago

You are correct Boy/California God Bless you

• John,Tema 3 months ago

Russia has got no role in this ECOWAS politics it is the members of this important organisation that have failed to allow it to grow.What role did France play in undermining and thwarting the effort of ECOWAS to unite and use ...

• LET THEM APPLY FOR VISA 3 months ago

They visit us more than them. We need their visa fees to run our Embassy. Limit it to 3 weeks maximum.

• Ruthan 3 months ago

Myopic and uninformed

• Seabreeze 3 months ago

Blockade them 1000% on all levels.

• Kwaku 3 months ago

Ghana and Nigeria will be starve to death if they try it.We shouldn't think bcoz they are landlocked they are useless.Russia can easily influence Togo or Benin for them to join them for their seaports to be used.

• Ghanaian 3 months ago

Morocco has recently started working with Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso to provide them with use of Moroccan ports as import and export routes for these landlocked countries. The implications for Ghanaian ports are huge if thi ...

• Why Do They Want Us to Fight for them? 3 months ago

They had the French with all their powerful weapons fighting for then they sacked them.They also sacked the UN fotces fighting for them. So why do they want Sgt Ansah from 2nd Battalion Kumasi to fight for them.

Our soldi ...

• Foolish Boys! 3 months ago

In todays world who stages a coup. 3 Poor labdlicked countries taken hostage by a bunch of foolish boys!

• kontomire 3 months ago

In todays world who builds a CATHEDRAL?
    A cathedral with government money when the roads are bad, no medicine in hospitals, workers are not paid?

By the way, what is ECOWAS for?
    If nincomPOOPs like Akuffo Addo and Tin ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

Your father con not do any better. He’s not even know

• Peter 3 months ago

Talk sense and stop the insults.Npp trademark.

• We adore our brave pan Africanists leaders 3 months ago

These are the brave leaders of our time. They have woken up to the abuse by the imperialists and naturally their puppets will not be happy. The French army have been fighting these bandits for years and what was the outcome:

• BANKRUPT PRIMITIVE GHANAIANS 3 months ago

ECOWAS AND AFRICA UNION ARE ALL PUPPETS OF WESTERN NATIONS BECAUSE THE IRRESPONSIBLE CORRUPT LEADERS OF THESE TWO AFRICA BLOCS ARE ALL WESTERN PUPPETS, DEEPLY CORRUPT AND IRRESPONSIBLE PARTNERS OF THE WEST TO RAPE AFRICA OF I ...

• They Can Ask to Join Russia! 3 months ago

They can sign up to join Russia to replace Ukraine. Who cares!

• GOOD RIDDANCE! 3 months ago

Becareful the door doesnt hit you in your face on your way out. You wont be missed. Good riddance!

What have we in common with landlocked majority Moslem countries? They belong in the bottom rung of the human development index and they have poor desire about achieving anything besides reciting the koran word for word. Goo ...

• N. Asante 3 months ago

A race of people who lack critical thinking, will continue to undermine it's own best interest, debunk the aspirations of its fellow neighbours, and remain subjugated by outside powers.

• GO GET A SHITHOLE BURKINA PASSPORT! 3 months ago

N. Asante you are free to join those critical idiots. Who is stopping you. You love the democratic Ghanaian Passport too much that you wouldnt exchange it for that of any of the 3 critical idiots in beret above. Abi?

• JK 3 months ago

JOACHIM A. Rethink. The Muslim countries are not manipulative as west are.The west will manipulate n control u so that u can always be their puppet. How many times does Ghana gone to IMF 17times,n the corrupt leaders not lea ...

• Sister Soulja 3 months ago

Gallant African leaders, we pray for Allah's guidance and protection for you and all citizenry of the three countries.

• GHANA IS ABOUT TO RETURN TO MILITARY RULE AND WE WILL QUIT EXOWAS TOO. THAT IS WHEN ECOWAS WILL BE COLLAPSED AND AND A NEW MILITARY REGIONAL BLOCK WOULD EMERGE TO PROTECT THE REAL INTERESTS OF WEST AFRICA AND AFRICA. 3 months ago

AFRICA HOYEEEEEEEE !!!!!

• GO GET A SHITHOLE BURKINA PASSPORT! 3 months ago

Kwasis, you dont have to wait for Ghana to quit ECOWAS. You can apply for a Passport from any of the 3 shithole countries of Burkina, Malior Niger. We wpuld be happy to have one less idiot amongst Ghanaians. And make sure you ...

• 2 WILL BE DEAD BY DEC 2024 AND 3RD IN ASYLUM 3 months ago

This is my prediction. 2 of these coupists will be dead by Dec 2024 from countercoups and the 3rd one seeking asylum hiding in Nima!

• Kubut3 3 months ago

THE NEXT COLD WAR (THANK GOD RUSSIA IS WEAK) IS GOING TO BE FOUGHT IN SUB SAHARA AFRICA. GHANA SHOULDBBE ON THE SIDE OF THE USA. DAMMN IT.

• William HK Sorkpor ---USA 3 months ago

I share their frustration! I pray for harmony to prevail. Together, we shall overcome.We can't allow the enemies of the ideals of pan Africanism to divide us. Unless we move the capital of the African Union back to Ghana, the ...

• Akua 3 months ago

Well done brothers !! My own Country is equally bleeding from insane corruption under Alhaji Nana Addo. He tricked Ghanaians into voting for him for the first term, and then he stole the election afterwards. God will judge hi ...

• Redeemer 3 months ago

Hell has no furry.

• Paul Cepho 3 months ago

What Colonel, Captain, and General? Where money Burkina Faso? Where money Mali? Nuclear Niger get money. Time bring Niger money Ghana.

• Ato Amaniampong 3 months ago

In real terms of Patriotism and Pan-Africanism, Ghana, Nigeria, Senegal, Cameroon, Ivory Coast are big sellouts. These are the biggest Western Puppets in Africa. ECOWAS and AU are but just remote control tools for the West. T ...

• Prolifically stoic 3 months ago

I hope the rest of the puppet African leaders will follow the lead of these nations and cut ties with our puppeteer colonialists , an organization like ecowas has become a colonial tool to exploit and keep us under their thu ...

• AFRICA NEEDS CENTER OF GRAVITY 3 months ago

The day Nigeria take strong stands leadership position in Africa Political Social Economic interests .That day starts the real true Africa Freedom.

• SURVIVAL. 3 months ago

The way and manner ECOWAS and AFRICA UNION are treating these poor countries is very very bad.Treating them badly to favour the western countries.European Union won't do this stupid thing to a member state.

• Tinubu is Reactionary 3 months ago

Reactionary Pro France/Western Agent Saboteur Tinubu is working Against our brothers Sisters Niger Republic Burkinabes Mali for dared to free themselves from Diabolical France Western Europeans Oppressive Exploitations . ...

• Buluu 3 months ago

I support them 100%. ECOWAS is a useless institution and must be dissolved. What business was they going to do in Niger. Where were they when Alhassan Outtara of Cote D'ivoire impose himself.

• TARKWA NSUAEM DESERVES BETTER 3 months ago

Good move. We are in full support of you

• ECOWAS USELESS NOW 3 months ago

Ecowas was expected to help West Africa grow into a Big player but it is now only about illegal aliens.

• Moyooyo 3 months ago

For security reasons, they leaving is a good idea for the security of our country

• France is culprits 3 months ago

France is culprits for most of problems in Africa Today Our Ecowas has been highjacked by France led Ivory Coast for Subversive activities the Eco currencies Political Economic integration Transportation infrastru ...

• Kwaku 3 months ago

OUR ECOWAS BORDER CROSSINGS ARE LIKE GAZA CROSSINGS WITH ALL THE ATTENDANT THREATS, SHAKEDOWNS AND GOONS. ECOWAS HAS BECOME A NEO COLONIALIST SET UP..

• Ked 3 months ago

Good move after a group led by corrupt old criminals would not offer anything good to its members.

• josh 3 months ago

a good and welcome idea

• Agyeman 3 months ago

Good news.
    That means CITIZENS of Burkina Faso, Mali and NIGER will now have to apply and pay for their VISA fees and attend interview before they can travel to Ghana.
    Good news for our country at least for now.

Ghana ...

• Name no matter: 3 months ago

Kindly check where your where your water resources, meat most of your vegetables comes from, Ghanaians knows how to make noise before thinking. We are the first country to gain independence bla bla bla. Your national team Bla ...

I salute you as a critical thinking Ghanaian. Well said.

• Siro 3 months ago

This is a best decision taken.
    You shall live long