You are here: HomeNews2024 01 25Article 1913064

Essien, Mourinho and 4 others: Here are the possible replacements for Chris Hughton

Read Comments Comments (113)

• Macdarling 4 months ago

Ghana Problem is that our Black Stars have become Black Squids, with the exception of few notable players, like Kudus, Semenyo and Panstil.

Most of our players are too selfish, theatrical, cannot keep the ball and cannot ...

• Kk 4 months ago

Semenyo is a player to you! Tweaa. He is so useless and tactless. Can’t shoot, dribble etc. He only commits fouls. We should agree that our team is bad. We need to rebuild all over again.

• Almighty St. Ghfuo: Gh leaders a re fools 4 months ago

the problem with bstars not performing is squarely with the gfa. they always imposing their agency players on the coach. even when the coach tells them hey, your agency player is not good and cant deliver. they use bribes or ...

• Blessed Man 4 months ago

Please remove Essien from the list...who has Essien coached??? This is not the time for scientific experiements with the Black Stars,....to start mixing sulphiric acid and stuff!!!

• Who killed Mills 4 months ago

true we love Essien but does he have the experience

• Almighty St. Ghfuo: Gh leaders are stupid 4 months ago

didnt you read the artikle? why ask stupid questions? look at what senegal n morocco are doing. they both have local coaches. essien is a fmr player. he understands what it takes to win trophies at the elite level. he is also ...

• Kofi Akwetey 4 months ago

Please name the "agency players" imposed by GFA in this AFCON squad.

• Sylla, Atlanta 4 months ago

Kofi, do a little research and find the players in all the national teams and their association. You’ll also learn why the national teams have been doing so poorly. Grooming their players for exposure and sale to enrich the ...

• Tk 4 months ago

Just mention their names and you are beating about the bush

• Nbc 4 months ago

No George Boateng!!!!!!!! Wabon forking! He was with Chris Houghton.

• Blessed Man 4 months ago

Look as a spiritual man, looking at the situation, I can tell its not the fault of the players,...someone has cursed the Black Stars, and untilk they get to the bottom of it, they will lose games in strange ways. The losses a ...

• Who killed Mills 4 months ago

Blessed man, as a spiritual man, can you tell us who killed Mills

• Angel 4 months ago

As a spiritual man stfu!

• Thunder ?? 4 months ago

Is your mother who Kill him odwen

• Asanteniba 4 months ago

I have always wanted Asa G. will with sule will be a compact decision

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 4 months ago

Ok. Being intentional is important for achieving personal success & skilling up is a big part of INTENTIONALITY. This day, unleash your potential this new year! Tired of unemployment, cashlessness? Take control of your life w ...

• SA 4 months ago

you can bring Alex Ferguson, nothing will change. The problem we have is not just about coaching - the whole system is rotten- from the presidency-the GFA, THE PLAYERS AND US THE SUPPORTERS

• Paa Pee 4 months ago

Very good point. These fool only think about replaces coaches. Even Pep will fail.

• Alhaji Musah 4 months ago

I agree with you

• Saku 4 months ago

Please can we try Morhino as black star coach

• Askantwi 4 months ago

No no no no and no. The only right coach for the black stars is Herve Renard. By hook or crook we should get thi no nonsense guy.

• Oklemekuku 4 months ago

Mou is not interested in managing national teams now, otherwise he would have been in charge of Portugal. Essien is half baked

• the Villager 4 months ago

Either HERVE or my sportsmaster J. E. Sarpong are my picks. Forget the rest.

• K B 4 months ago

Essien pls pls don't make mistake for that decision pls pls stay where you are pls

• Donkomi 4 months ago

You can't win a tournament with individual players but a team. Is there any Ghanaian who was expecting more than what we gotten to ? If there's any then that person is no a keen follower of the game football. If you like comb ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 4 months ago

There we go again with extremely hasty decisions about sacking and employing a Coach instead of finding out the Root causes of the Decline of Football performance in the Black Stars football team. Even the Head coach from M ...

• Bastie Asantefuohene 4 months ago

We don’t want Essien , trumu trumu promoter

• JonFade 4 months ago

punhco forget about ghana. ghana is most ungrateful nation. caseclose

• Kk 4 months ago

What is Essien doing in that list? He was never committed to the cause of the Black stars. He should go coach Chelsea not the black stars. Spare us this gibberish.

• Esien hatters. Leave Him alone 4 months ago

That’s a lie. You are the Esien hatters, what has he not done for Ghana. Most of his serious injuries were in National games he played for Ghana.
    Ghana has never had his equal yet.
    He can do the job but I will advice he ...

• Askantwi 4 months ago

You are wrong! Essien refused to play for Ghana under Mourinho advice at the World Cup in South Africa. Both of them should never be considered. Is either Herve Renard or Akwasi Appiah if we decide to have a local coach agai ...

• Nyansani 4 months ago

Essien in 2006 also refused to play for Ghana in the Afcon. He feigned injury and was playing for Chelsea while others were in Afcon.

• Change GFA 4 months ago

Everyone in GFA should go. From the President to the gateman all corrupt!!! And the 120 idiots club owner who vote.... how stupid

• Kofi 4 months ago

Why the Gambian coach ? Pls pls

• van-ess 4 months ago

Mourinho 'on holiday' with BS will be better... no nonsense for a year... things will fall in place... just try it

• Kk 4 months ago

Ghana should go in for Mauritanian Coach. He is the best for the Job

• St. Ghfuo: Gh leaders a re fools 4 months ago

what trophies has he won? zero.

• ROGUE LAWYER 4 months ago

without COACH AKWASI APPIAH , I repeat Ghana BLackstars will remain winless and dismantled.
    GOD WILL NEVER TAKE THE CURS FROM THE TEAM
    it is better you dissolve it for Ghana to have NO NATIONAL TEAM like we HAVE NO NATIONA ...

• Judge 4 months ago

Huh the corrupt, visionless and incompetent GFA don’t get it the 90% problem with Ghana football is not about a coach it’s about the quality of players and team work. If ministry of sports and GFA don’t restore or reviv ...

• Paulus 4 months ago

Thank you my brother, apparently you are one person who has spoken the real issue amongst the entire comments. The real issue lies with the GFA management and the ministry of youth and sports. Those people must be sent packin ...

• Toto 4 months ago

Prosper Ogum. He understands the local game. He will do well without GFA interference.

ogum is good but he has to prove himself in africa n gfa/govt must sponsor him for foreign training he has won gpl trophy and deserves the support

• Duka daya 4 months ago

The value will be the same. You can’t plant beans and harvest maize. They will all fail.

• coaches 4 months ago

Otto Addo coach for the snr team
    Essein for under 20
    Boadu for under 17
    Ogun local scout

all form part of the new tech team

• Anokwale 4 months ago

I agree that Otto Addo is the obvious choice. Contract through WC qualifying. The tasks is to build a team that can actually win matches convincingly.

• Emperor Rasheed 4 months ago

@ Anokwale.No more experiments with Black Stars again. We don’t need Otto Addo who has not coached any club or Country. This guy sweats on the touch line even more than the players on the field. What is his track record? I ...

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER aka K20 MMADP 4 months ago

THEY SHOULD GIVE BLACK STARS TO GHFOU PERIOD. HABAAA...

• Whoever brings George Boateng's name up is nuts!!! 4 months ago

How can u bring the name of any of those useless ones on the technical bench as possible replacement?? U must be crazy

• Fangajie Ushawu 4 months ago

Ghana Black star for now, doesn't need any replacement of couch. But a restructuring of the entire body, infact from the GFA to last person holding position in the Association.

• Philla 4 months ago

Not until Okraku and Randy Abbey are removed from GFA management our national team will continue to retrogress

Absolutely!!

• ZIGGY LALA 4 months ago

we should go back to the basics and find out how the late Ben Koufie developed and nurtured the best players the country ever had. likes of Stephen Appiah, Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari etc. E do not even a training field an ...

its starts with colts. gfa must also fund training facilities for the bstars n b queens. build a hotel n training pitch for both teams. inter colleges n regionals must be promoted. these will feed the lgs n various national t ...

• Don Boi 4 months ago

The same old story of Ghanaian journalist... Replacement, Replacement, Replacement but they will not help to find the root cause of the mess caused by the Sports Minister & the GFA.
    The sports minister is Bawumia's boy that ...

• Temptation 4 months ago

What's our actual problem we can't allow our local people to coach and always depending on white useless coaches amassing thousands of dollars not cedis from our banks....
    We're stupidity foolish

• Kofi Bediako 4 months ago

For Ghana to succeed we must be self-reliant. We must depend on the players in our local soccer teams and select a local Coach. They'll respect each other. They'll play as a team. Teamwork and mutual respect are the keys to ...

• Saul 4 months ago

Ghana is a very strict ,uncompromising coach who won't take no nonsense. ESSIEN is too soft to coach Ghana blackstars.

• Miagy Soft 4 months ago

Not Essien, what has he done in coaching, some updates requrued...

• FTT 4 months ago

Give it to Essien

• Gg 4 months ago

The problem is the material to use to do the job. Chris made a mistake by sticking to the old two defensive players in the middle and that will not bring anything these days in soccer where every team is playing progressive f ...

• Black magic healer asian Egyptian Indian acaya 4 months ago

Meet Dr lord Dickson power black Asian spiritualist in Ghana for three week meditation healing great amal hamza powers u can chart him on wasap 004 47 49 17 22 2 48 good person have u head about great amal hamzad Angel have u ...

• Frank USA. 4 months ago

The GFA president should also go. Poor leadership of the GFA is causing all shameful disgrace to Ghana. The sports ministry should take a strong decision against FIFA and sack the GFA president and restructure Ghana ...

• K pee 4 months ago

We don't want a defensive coach but offensive coordinator coaches for the national teams

• Andy M. 4 months ago

There we go again, Ghana. The problem is that we have not invested in the game and we want to reap. The solution to the problem is for us to start afresh. Recruit good materials for the under-17 and the under-20 teams, groom ...

• Nana Amoako 4 months ago

If you bring Manchester City coach, who has led them to 2 or 3 championship in the Premier and the players are not committed, it won't change anything. If you watch the on going AFCON, you will notice how some of these player ...

• CAN YOU MOURINHO?? 4 months ago

Ghana is not serious as a country.

• Theophilus Botchwey 4 months ago

The problem of the national team is not a coach is our poorest players .

• PRAISE 4 months ago

GFA must apologize to Kwesi Appiah, .

• Osebo 4 months ago

Ghanaian are not talented in anything but funerals
    Club

• Onyitu 4 months ago

Why George boateng? Don't do that mistake again.

• Old Player 4 months ago

Oh FA . Get a local coach. Select 25 good players from Ghana and take them to Brazil for a 6 to 8 weeks training session and see the results. Some the current players play with no commitment. Bring back the inter Schools s ...

• SACK OKRAKU NOW 4 months ago

OKRAKU AND HIS GFA GANGSTERS WILL SABOTAGE ANY SERIOUS COACH WHO WILL BE BOLD TO OBJECT THEIR SELECTION. SO THE BEST THING IS TO GET THE SPORTS MINISTER TO DISSOLVE THE GFA, SACK THE MINISTER, GET A NEW GFA BOSS AND MEMBERS A ...

• James 4 months ago

Please, leave out Essien and Mourinho in your jokes. His must protect his dignity by rejecting any offer of coaching the national teams at this time..

• Dr Who 4 months ago

Ghana need players of quality not managers with high credentials to perform some kind of magic with the lack of quality that is available to work with.

• MICHEAL ASIEN IS A GAY MAN WHO HAS PUBLICLY SUPPORTED TRUMU TRUMU IN THE UK 4 months ago

GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE BLACKSTARS. HE IS A GAY MAN AND A GSY ADVOCATE AND MUST BE IMMEDIATELY ARRESTED AS ...

• MICHEAL ASIEN IS A GAY MAN WHO HAS PUBLICLY SUPPORTED TRUMU TRUMU IN THE UK 4 months ago

GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE BLACKSTARS. HE IS A GAY MAN AND A GSY ADVOCATE AND MUST BE IMMEDIATELY ARRESTED AS ...

NEVER MICHEAL ASIEN! GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE BLACKSTARS. HE IS A GAY MAN AND A GSY ADVOCATE AND MUST BE IMM ...

NI GAY CIACH PLEASE!!!!! NEVER MICHEAL ASIEN! GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE BLACKSTARS. HE IS A GAY MAN AND A GSY ...

NO GAY COACH PLEASE!!!!! NEVER MICHEAL ASIEN! GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE BLACKSTARS. HE IS A GAY MAN AND A GSY ...

WE DONT NEED ANY GAY BAD LUCK COACH! NO GAY COACH PLEASE!!!!! NEVER MICHEAL ASIEN! GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE DONT EVEN NEED HIM AS A BALL BOY FIR TGE B ...

GFA LEADERSHIP MUST ALSO SACK ITSELK! BUT WE DONT NEED ANY GAY BAD LUCK COACH! NO GAY COACH PLEASE!!!!! NEVER MICHEAL ASIEN! GHANA SHOULD NEVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO APPOINT TRUMU TRUMU ASIEN FOR THE JOB AS BLACK STARS COACH. WE ...

• Frihor kor 4 months ago

Forget.....Michael Essien respects himself and his privacy. He won't stoop so low and attract insults from fools.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 4 months ago

Essie should be at his present place where he is very much respected. If he should leave for the Black Stars job, he will regret. The very Ghanaians who are urging him on will be the very people crying for his blood if the Bl ...

• Kk 4 months ago

Those mentioning the name of Essien as a replacement of Houghton are sick.what do you take Ghanaians for? Nonsense. What coaching experience does Essien have?

give the job to essien but hire a td to give him direction from time to time. these greedy, selfish gh leaders wont pay for mourinh or rennard. they would rather steal the monies n let the cash sleep n snore in foreign accts. ...

• Makaa-maka 4 months ago

I don't think this piece is from GFA outfit but rather, from gullible bloggers. What has Essien achieved since turning a coach ? Essien himself knows that he comes nowhere near the black stars coaching and he dare not to appl ...

• Jonathan 4 months ago

I will go for Renard....perfect

• Okipat 4 months ago

Why not falling on legends like Abedi Pele, Anthony Yeboah, Tony Barfo and my good friend HERO who doubles as the Assemblyman for the Beppo Electoral Area in the Prestea Huni-Valley Municipality. To me, the latter is the best ...

• Buy new iPhone 4 months ago

www.appleiphonestore.com

• Nii 4 months ago

Why the rush. Can't we withdraw from this international competitions and try reorganizing ourselves

• Co2 4 months ago

You can bring thousands of dead horses of coaches it will not work, if we know what is good for the black stars we'll not be fooling around the GFA is making fool of ghanaians these things has happened for so many years and ...

• Alhassan Mahafuz. 4 months ago

Morihno can't handle an African team due to his disrespect for authority. I recommend Reiner

• Kigbafori 4 months ago

We need our style of play that’s all if not even Ancheloti will fail

• Ck 4 months ago

Even if we hire Pep Guardiola and our players are not ready to die for mother Ghana we won't achieve anything we will continue to struggle against countries like Djibouti and Eswatin. Football its no longer about skills alone ...

• Kofi 4 months ago

Oh Ghana! So everybody now knows the root cost of our problem and it's the Coach?

• Love Ghana 4 months ago

Look at Senegal national team right now, they have kept one coach for years and they are on top of Africa. Football is not changing coaches anytime the team looses. Ghana need a plan and must stick to the plan for the team to ...

• Nameless 4 months ago

CK AKONNOR. Daaasooor

The only solution is to dissolve and reconstitute the entire GFA (God, what the hell is the job of the management committee, the team manager?).

• Akpe Apology 4 months ago

This is how the nonsense starts, with media speculation and cheap lobbying.

• Kwame Unknown 4 months ago

Let's get mouringho and have Michael Essien his assistant coach for 3 years, and then when mouringho leaves, we give the coaching job to Michael. We have to use the monies received from fifa ⚽️ to do this project in order ...

• Moonstone 4 months ago

Ghana does not need a foreign coach that we will spend so much on him. We have the players but just that they don't have any love for the country. They prefer to die for their foreign clubs than to die for their country. That ...

• Upnaija 4 months ago

Ghana must go

• Judas 4 months ago

Esien and Jose, will be fantadtic to lead the black stars but Herve, is also good for us.

• Angel 4 months ago

Head Coach Mourinho, Assistant or technical Coach Essien.

• Whyte Mensah 4 months ago

Ghana should forget about Michael Essien. He will continue with the back passes system. He is very known of back pass. Ghana needs a coach who can teach the team to progress the ball not back passes.

• Bob Lee 4 months ago

NO COACH NOT EVEN KLOPP OR MOURUNHO WILL SUCCEED WITH THE BLACK STARS IF WE DON'T DEAL WITH THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST HEAVILY ENBEDDED WITHIN THE GFA MEMBERS WHO HAVE TEAMS, MANAGE PLAYERS ETC.

• Gana 4 months ago

Essian should be on hold for now, the others are ok to compete for the slot

• Emmanuel 4 months ago

We don’t need a coach now The government should have a say in the GFA affairs so that we are banned for us to take time and plan our future Black Stars well

• Manaodo@gmail.com 4 months ago

Nobody can make the Black Star an efficient team until we ride of corruption in the whole country.

• T. Tempo 4 months ago

Imagine Essien assisting Morinho for Ghana

• DORKUCHO TANIHU 4 months ago

FIRE THE ENTIRE GHANA

• Mr Etwe 4 months ago

You should be smoking a dope weed to say Mourinho would come coach Ghana. Pass me the last bit…

• amin.abdullah1919@gmail.com 4 months ago

These guys will woefully failed you, especially Michael Essien,be serious and take local experience coaches and stop wasting tax payers money.stop using emotion and be discerning.