You are here: HomeNews2007 01 24Article 117828

Sports News of Wednesday, 24 January 2007

Source: --

Le Roy names 20-man squad

Isaac Boakye, Joe Tex, Salou and Owusu-Abeyie called
Claude Le Roy has named his squad for next month?s international friendly which will see Ghana take on West African rivals, Nigeria.

The game which comes up on February 6 is the first match of the year for Ghana and it would be played at the Griffin park in Brentford.

Uncapped Ghana internationals, Quincy Owusu-Abeyie and Ibrahim Salou have been handed call ups for the Black Stars? first game of the year.

Strikers Isaac Boakye(pictured) and Joe Tex Frimpong have been also been included in the team.

Injury ruled out Boakye from Ghana?s squad for last year's World Cup finals in Germany while Frimpong makes a come back after almost a year since the 2006 CAN.

The friendly with the Super Eagles forms part of Ghana?s build up towards the African Cup of Nations next year.

Ghana, by virtue of being host of the 2008 African Cup of Nations finals would not be playing any competitive match until January 2008, when the tournament kicks off in Accra.

The game with Nigeria would be the first match against an African opposition for Claude Le Roy who goes into his fourth game as Ghana coach.

Le Roy guided the Black Stars to their double Asian conquest where Ghana beat Japan and South Korea in separate international friendlies in October last year.

The coach drew in his third match in charge against Australia later in November.

Ghana undefeated in four international matches since her round of 16 exit at last year?s World Cup would be making a second appearance in Brentford after playing Senegal at the same venue last year.

Ghana squad:

Goalkeepers: Sammy Adjei (Mohadon Sports Ashdod, Israel), Richard Kingson (BB Ankaraspor, Turkey)

Defenders: Hans Adu Sarpie (VFL Wolfsburg, Germany), John Paintsil (West Ham, England), Francis Dickoh (FC Utrecht, Holland), Habib Mohammed (Molde FK, Norway), Shilla Illiasu (Saturn FC, Russia) and John Mensah (Rennes, France)

Midfielders: Stephen Appiah (Fenerbache, Turkey), Michael Essien (Chelsea, England), Laryea Kingson (Hearts, Scotland) Sulley Ali Muntari (Udinese, Italy), Haminu Dramani (Genclerbirligi, Turkey), Eric Addo (PSV Eindhoven, Holland)

Forwards: Junior Agogo (Nottingham Forest, England), Joe Tex Frimpong (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia) Asamoah Gyan (Locomitiv Moscow, Russia) Ibrahim Salou (Club Brugge, Holland) Quincy Owusu Abeyie (Spartak Moscow, Russia) and Isaac Boakye (VFL Wolfsburg, Germany).