Homepage
News
Business
Sports
Entertainment
TV / Radio
Wall
Menzgold: We can't use taxpayers' money to pay locked-up funds of '419' institution – Bawumia
Read Article
Comments (88)
WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
Email This
Print This
Comment to Article
10-23 17:56
Y PROTECT A 419ER THEN?
Well, one who runs a 419 institution is a 419er, so, why protect a 419er?
(click to comment on this comment)
Professor Zagarolo
10-23 17:56
THIS IS RESPONSIBLE LEADERSHIP!!
NANA/BAWUMIA HAVE EMPOWERED OUR YOUTH TO BUILD A BETTER FUTURE FOR THEMSELVES THROUGH HASSLE-FREE EDUCATION FROM BASIC EDUCATION THROUGH TO UNIVERSITY AND BEYOND. LOOK AT NABCO RIGHT AFTER YOUR NATIONAL SERVICE IF YOU DO NOT
(click to read full comment or to comment on this comment)
PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33)
10-23 18:06
MENZGOLD CUSTOMERS
Mahama should be forced to pay Menzgold customers because it is his watch that these Ponzi schemes sprang up. The Menzgold customers should chase incompetent John Mahama for their lock up money. The funny thing is that these
KOAF
10-23 20:13
AKUFFO ADDO IS A CRIMINAL
NAM 1 sponsored the Akyem Sakawa Mafia Akuffo Addo and his criminal organization NPP during and after campaign in 2016 and since the booty is not coming forth they have to collapse Menzigold, Ghanaians sufferings has been tri
NPP SENIOR CITIZEN
10-24 02:43
Re: THIS IS RESPONSIBLE LEADERSHIP!!
419 company was sponsoring your wives foundations. 419 company won ministry of trade sponsored best CEO in 2018. 419 company sponsored Ghana premier league under npp in 2017/2018 season. By the way were DKM, God is love etc l
Manukure
10-23 21:44
Your point?
What is your point? The activities and "achievements" you cite are all part of the 419 scheme. Those high-profile, highly mediatised actions were all designed to build confidence in their greedy customers. By the way: 1)
Yaw Manu
10-24 00:54
The point is.......
Prosecute him. In any civilized country a pyramid scheme is a crime. Why is he still free and what has the NPP government done to recover whatever money he is still living off? The bank of Ghana could have closed him down lon
KOFI BANZA
10-24 03:01
Your point, Manukure?
What is your point, Maukure? The activities and "achievements" you cite are all part of the 419 scheme. Those high-profile, highly mediatised actions were all designed to build confidence in their greedy customers. By the
Yaw Manu
10-24 00:57
A pyramid scheme is a crime
Why not prosecute him. And why was the government people taking money from him if they warned that it was a pyramid scheme a long time ago?
KOFI BANZA
10-24 03:03
Re: Y PROTECT A 419ER THEN?
But NPP appointees, family and friends used backdoor to siphon all the money and allow NAM1 to walk out free with state security protection in his trasaço mansion.
Ranger
10-24 06:15
Yes indeed 419 Scammers
Whose fault those greedy who gave their money away.
How good Ghana got it thanks NPP
10-24 07:13
Re: Y PROTECT A 419ER THEN?
Wow so they knew it was 419, isn't it their responsibility to protect citizens from such businesses, I won't be surprised if men gold paid mp whose money was locked up in the shoddy 419 company.
Kanta
10-25 20:45
BAWUMIA IS AN IDIOT
Are the Menzgold depositors not tax payers too ? I find it interesting as a lot of tax payers were affected . As far as I am concerned there are two types of tax payers but they are all tax payers and they are all Ghanaians ,
Kwesi Owusu
10-23 18:10
Re: BAWUMIA IS AN IDIOT
Your useless rented jailed father is the most IDIOT
AtuZongo
10-23 18:22
Since all of you are blind and dump, the npp will continue to treat you all as such till you open your eyes to see. Capital mumu
Tori
10-23 21:30
Interestingly my father passed on 7 long years ago and was not a useless man as you think. But your Bawumia is, he is just not useless but senseless and irresponsible. I know his older very well and was a very good friend of
Kwesi Owusu
10-24 07:58
U don’t understand what you are saying. The fact that those greedy idiots are tax payers doesn’t necessarily mean that they should use somebody’s tax to pay them. What about those who pay taxes but we’re wise enough t
Fadzi
10-23 18:36
NANA ADDO ENDORSED NAM1.
EVEN THE SAKAWA KINGPIN NANA ADDO HIMSELF ENDORSED NAM1, WHICH MEANS THEY NPP PLANNED TO DUPED GHANAIANS. WHERE ARE THE GOLDS DEPOSITED BY NAM1?
Ofori Atta Akyea.
10-24 07:17
Kwasi Owusu Did BOG warn you? Muuuuu. Kwasiaaaaaa. Greedy bastarddddddd
Yaaaa
10-23 21:24
The irony is these same people are foolish enough to use the tax payers money to celebrate the Abuakwahene Amoatia Ofori Attah's reign. Allow Osafo Mouthful to give our $1mil to his colleagues at Kruls for no work done. Seize
Ojah
10-24 02:53
Well Spoken Dr
EXACTLY TRUE... MENZGOLD CUSTOMERS CAN GO TO HELL...
AtuZongo
10-23 18:21
Re: Well Spoken Dr
GOD BLESS YOU. AND IF YOU OR YOUR FATHER HAS HIS MONEY LOCKED UP THERE YOU WILL FEEL IT BETTER. ETUA WO YONKO'A ETUA DUA MU. MAY I ASK IF YOU HAVE MONEY IN THE BANK. IF YES GO THERE TOMORROW TO SEE THE BUILDINGS BURNT DOWN A
George B Asare Bo
10-23 20:17
Re insult
MENZGOLD CUSTOMERS SHALL SURELY GO TO HELL.BUT PLEASE REMEMBER THAT NOTHING IS PERMANENT ON THIS EARTH. YOU WILL ONE DAY FACE SAME AND I PRAY THAT YOU WON'T COMPLAIN. IT SHALL SURELY COME TO PASS
Sweetie
10-23 20:42
Re: Menzgold: We can't use taxpayers' money to pay
But you can use tax payers money to pay NPP serial callers to spew lies and propaganda which could derail our socioeconomic development. God is watching all of us, and it's time is the best
Ibrahim
10-23 18:26
AND USELESS INCOMPETENT MAHAMA USED TAX PAYERS MONEY FOR ASHAWOS AND YOU ARE HAPPY.... HORRIBLE NDC FOOLSSOJAS
AtuZongo
10-23 18:54
Thank you Mr Vice President — you said it all.
Fadzi
10-23 18:28
YOU'RE BEING SANCTIMONIOUS!
Ok. Again fraud vitiates everything but you keep shielding a FRAUDSTER. Stop being insensitive. Besides, Menzgold operated for 5 years before it's collapse in September, 2019; and you assumed office in January, 2017 which mea
Professor Zagarolo
10-23 19:00
Financial ombudsman service needed
The government needs to seriously consider creating the office of a financial ombudsman. Whoever has problems with an investment scheme, banks and other financial services should not be going to government. The ombudsman wi
Ashootings
10-23 19:27
stop shielding 419 guy
Nobody asked you to use tax payers money to pay depositors......all they want is to use your good office to persuade NAM1 to refund the every pesewa taken....why are you shielding him......why are you protecting him with all
Kwesi
10-23 19:35
Re: stop shielding 419 guy
Eeeh, I thought when NAM1 was arrested and sent to court for prosecution when he arrived from Dubai, u the customers were the ones shouting "Free Him" or u have forgotten!
Kwaku
10-24 11:15
Menzgold: We ca...
Listen to this chief 419er, who is asking you to use tax payers money to pay who, what happened to the nam1's 'soo called freezed asset? Do you think everyone is unwise in this country? It is only in Africa and for that matte
Hamdia
10-23 20:09
MR BAWUMIA AND NPP PLEASE NO ONE IS ASKING YOU TO USE THE TAX PAYERS MONEY TO PAT FOR NAM 1. YOU CONFISCATED THE MONEY AND ASSETS SO THOSE ARE THE MONIES WE ARE ASKING FOR. WHERE DID YOU KEEP THE MONEY. THE MONEY MUST BE SOME
George B Asare Bo
10-23 20:09
NPP let me tell you. Bawumia has sent you to opposition in advance by this Stupid unguarded statement
George B Asare Bo
10-23 20:19
Are you asham of ur self for saying this Mr vice. So u know the person is 419 and u people are still watching him rooming in the country .Am highly disappointed in u.
King bee
10-23 20:42
Bawumia 419 calling NAM1 419??? Hahaha
All MenzGolders must campaign and vote against this Sakawa 419 govt. If NAM1 is fake, why froze his account but have refused to liquidate his frozen assets to pay the customers. Don’t worry, Mahama has promised to come of h
Papa
10-23 20:47
U ARE THE USELESS VICE PRES THE COUNTRY HAVE EVER SEEN. IS VERY UNFORTUNATE FOR U TO MAKE SUCH A RUDE STATEMENT
King bee
10-23 20:53
Nppigs are useless liars
The bastards akufool addo and bawuliar think they have already won the election so they now open their anuses they call mouths to spew the nonsense. The idiots made customers of DKM in 2019 sign an undertaking form which said
Wiseone
10-23 21:07
So when u promised to pay them through that man it was lies. Eh npp.. Oooo no no... Ur disgrace has been phenomenal
MR NOBODY
10-23 21:19
Gross stupidity but you can use tax payers money to share amongst your family members and cronies? You can use tax payers money through NPC to gift monies to chiefs to celebrate their anniversary's, dash the the president's w
Brain
10-23 21:31
Why is npp government protecting nam1
So why is npp government protecting nam1? Why did npp use tax payers money to follow up nam1 when they head he is in trouble in Dubai ? Why did npp government accept money from a 419 business
Nana osei
10-23 22:03
Irresponsible Fool
Look at this idiot. If fools like you can preside over 419 business, why blame innocent investors who see your so called 419 businessman taking pictures with your 420 president?
Sam
10-23 22:17
Why should 419 company sponsor Ghana premier League under NPP. He won the best CEO award under Npp 2018 ? Can someone with head explain???
Nana addo
10-23 22:18
Sakawa government
Anybody that lost money doing this npp government must vote against them, licensed or unlicensed institution, they coursed us too much pain. The Akyem sakawa boi must go
Nana osei
10-23 22:20
Seconded!!!!!!!!!!!
I lost a lot, my investment since 2005 came to a halt in 2017 when Nana took over and you expect me to vote NPP in to power again?? No matter who NDC presents, I will vote for him.
Kwame
10-23 22:49
WeAllhavefriendsandfamwhomoniesarethere
If Mengold Ltd was registered under SEC, Government would have paid some of the money.All the collapsed saving and loans customers are receiving their money due to the fact that the S&L companies was registered under governme
King K
10-23 22:35
Idiot VP, if it's 419 why his he walking around
Nas
10-24 00:42
Sakawa Naada Bawuliar
The Akyem/Asante led NPP politrikcians are at it again. President Naada (liar) knows very well the end is in sight. Who needs a bunch of frandsters to cater for Ghana’s gold royalties. Aaba! Another funnel to drip blood mon
Nana Gyambiby - Jacobuhene
10-24 01:11
The 82 institutions which u gave them a bail out wasn't the tax payers money which was used to pay them?You talk as if the money is from your pocket.The president knew menzgold was a 419 company and was entertaining the CEO N
Kwame Osei
10-24 02:40
So why is the state security protecting
Why is the police protecting NAM1? I still don't get it, how can the state protect a fraudster? I respect Bawumia but he should come again, though I have no investment there but I think government should force NAM1 to pay or
Mahama
10-24 03:18
Menzigold
Where is the millions of dollars the government seized from Menzigold?.Something is missing and the government should account for that.
Emmanuel Adasibo Asumadu
10-24 03:50
YOUR GOVT IS A 419 GOVT
Bullshit lies from Bawumia. You make noise about 419 scam, yet crook NAM1 is walking free while the Attorney General and Police are always quick to prosecute and lock up the little guy who commits a petty crime. You talk abou
Ex-Pope
10-24 03:51
DON'T DECEIVE THEM.
But the 86 banks didn't collapse under Mahama government. It happened after your government came to power and decided to act selectively.
kojo
10-24 05:02
Bald headed comedian veep
Over to you Mensgold customers. You know exactly what to do on Dec 7. The way is ur front nx time vote for a human being!!!
an3lka
10-24 05:48
I'm really disappointed by Bawumia's statement by labelling NAM1 as 419. So he is a 419 scammer and government and the state securities are all aware of this and yet allowed him to be relaxing and enjoying himself at TRASSACO
AJ Smith
10-24 05:51
The money you used and paid KDM is it not taxpayer's money stop the rubbish Bawuma
Michael
10-24 05:56
It is the duty of the state to protect its citizens. If the vice president is telling us that the customers were warned to stop saving at Menzgold, and so the state cannot assist the depositors, then it is unfortunate. The st
Ernest otu
10-24 06:22
what plans do you have for NAM1?
ok. lets forget about the investors for now? Why is NAM1 free? Why has Lawyer Akuffo who teamed up with NAM1 to orchestrate the Ponzi has not been arrested. Bawumia should also tell Ghanaians, why they are protecting NAM
Smart1
10-24 06:33
Akuffo Addo paid DK Poison his supposed loan to the state, even though there was not a scintilla of document covering it. That is why I have always said NPP is a criminal organization. They are Liers, and they are heading tow
CAD
10-24 06:46
Any disappointed old staff of NHIA who will campaign or vote for NPP in December elections is a big fool. We should stay back and allow Dr Selby, Vivian, who had appointed and promoted their family members and friends as well
John
10-24 06:49
Ghana is blessed with highly intelligent veep.
Mtk
10-24 07:00
Ghana is govern by law, and the law do not allow the government to pay such money what can Nana Addo do. If anybody says he or she can pay menzgold depositors money when he comes to power it a lie. Because our laws do not all
Yaw
10-24 07:29
Even Mahama can't pay them with the Taxpayer's money ! Unless from NDC party Funds . NDC duped Ghanaians under Rawlings scheme PIRAM . Again NDC duped you under Mahama scheme MENZGOLD . But as animals who can't be Humans
Ghana must go !!
10-24 07:32
Then why not prosecuting that fraud guy
Kingnarrow
10-24 07:45
Many of the comments show that there are too many, too many buffoons and half baked people in Ghana. When SEC cautioned customers to stop depositing their moneys they said they don't deposit money but only buy gold and heap
ASEMPA
10-24 08:00
Ohkk no problem... If it's a 419 business why is the person who operated that 419 business walking around peacefully like he has done nothing wrong...This is stupidity...You say you cannot pay them because it's a 429 business
Kk
10-24 09:19
Do you folks think before yapping?
If all the so-called 419 institutions were registered with registrar-general as legitimate businesses then they become government certified businesses. Is the Registrar-General not responsible for the validation of business t
Awerego
10-24 09:19
Rubbish
Absolute rubbish. 419 Institution? Really? And your incompetent President gave him a photo opportunity ? Rebecca foundation benefitted? Really? So why are u not arresting him and selling his assets to pay depositors? Bawumia
Bash
10-24 09:41
Bash are u one of those greedy bastards?
This can only come from the mouth of an absolute idiot. What was the reaction of these greedy folks when Bank of Ghana and the government warned them? Instead of paying heed to the warning they rather insulted BOG and governm
Citizen8
10-24 10:34
Most reassuring statement from govt.
This is the most reassuring statement yet to come from government on the Menzgold matter. Under no circumstances should government use taxpayers money to finance some people's greed and idiocy. They were warned but instead of
Citizen8
10-24 10:13
Why are Gold coast customers not paid yet? GN, unicredit were in court still the government paid their customers.
Kooob
10-24 10:17
Goy
Lol you’re still delivering stupidity. Anytime npp wants to say nonsense you opt to do it. Use your head a little bossu, don’t allow yourself to be used. Imagine you finish your second term, what will be your place I npp?
Nan
10-24 10:22
You have my vote cuz of this bold decision! Thanks you
Yp
10-24 10:33
U guys like quick money too much! U were withdrawing all ur monies from banks and giving them to this boy for 10% each month, while u fold ur arms and legs and enjoying easy money without any hard work. Never should the youth
KK
10-24 11:26
One-way punishment by the government.
Why leave the person who setup the unlicensed financial institution to go scot free, but punishing only the customers of Menzgold because they defied all warnings from the Bank of Ghana to do business with Menzgold. This is
Jerry
10-24 11:42
PLEASE ARREST HIM AND TAKE THE CASH FOR
NO ONE HAS SAID USE TAXPAYERS MONEY, IS NAM1S ACCUMULATED WEALTH AND MONEY IN ACCOUNTS INCLUDING HAULD ONES TAXPAYERS MONIES? If the Npp goes by what exactly the former president is saying, they can pay more than 60% of th
Karron
10-24 11:58
Oh
100% correct If fools invested in un logical impossible investment schemes that’s their fault . PONZI SCHEME . Nan1 should be in prison . All assets taken away . Family out in street . Come on ghana . You are saying inves
Kwame
10-24 13:24
Re: Oh
Why did Akuffo Addo freeze the guys assets.. he should sell them and pay the people or he wants share it amongst the sakawa gurus
Sam
10-25 12:19
This guy is talking of tax payers money when no body requested the government to use tax payer s money, what they are saying is that you freeze menzgold assets and they were expecting that you will used that assets to pay the
Anwar sadat
10-24 17:59
Menzgold customers are greedy, period.
Menzgold customers were earning 120% interest. Which business in the world can survive if not a PONZI scheme. You stake banker to banker lotto and lose and ask government to refund your money? TOFIAKWA. The NDC promise is a
?bahemaa Asiedu
10-25 06:19
Vote against NPP.
Any body that worked for any of the banks that NPP collapsed must vote against them. Vote against people who caused you great pains.
Justice
10-25 07:29
Mahama get my vote , only when he pay Menzgold customers from his private Dubai account , before December 7 .2020 !
Ghana must go !!
10-25 09:56
He doesn't need your useless vote..Better keep it for your old man buggy
Sam
10-25 12:15
Just vote the idiot and the old man out of power
Sam
10-25 12:14
Such a DUNCE!
JBD
10-25 16:38
Pls pay noble dream customers
Ama
10-25 17:57
A liar and a husband of Ashiawo Samira.
BUJUBULU
10-25 18:20
But you took money from nam1
All akuffo addo know is too borrow, even menzgold money he borrow.
Kwabena Danso
10-26 01:08
But you can use state money to protect him and beat the victims. Hmmm.
Love Ghana
10-26 13:48
en
Buy & Sell
(41,011)
(17,068)
(17,214)
(1,694)