You are here: HomeNews2016 12 08Article 493094

General News of Thursday, 8 December 2016


Weija-Gbawe: Tina Mensah floors Obuobia

The Electoral Commission’s certified results from the Weija-Gbawe constituency show that Tina Naa Ayele Mensah of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has won the seat with 34,216 votes.

The governing National Democratic Congress’ Obuobia Darko-Opoku polled 25,087.

In 2012, the incumbent Rosemund Abrah also of the NPP polled 32,816 meaning Tina Mensah has increased the NPP’s fortunes in the constituency by 1,400 votes.

The two women had a bitter contest prior to Wednesday’s polls.

Pollster Ben Ephson predicted in a pre-election survey that Obuobia Darko-Opoku would lose the seat.