You are here: HomeNews2019 08 27Article 775625

Politics of Tuesday, 27 August 2019


These are the 23 women who sailed through NDC primaries

Delegates of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) have voted for at least twenty-two women to contest the 2020 Parliamentary elections.

The primaries that were held in 157 constituencies had 524 aspirants contesting in the primaries across the 157 constituencies in the country.

Among the aspirants, 23 women were given the nod to face candidates from the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and other parties. Among the women elected, 7 are incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs).

The incumbent MPs retained include;

1. Helen Adjoa Ntoso (Krachi West in the Oti region.)

2. Ms Linda Obenewaa A. Ocloo (Shai Osudoku)

3. Dr Zanetor Agyemang Rawlings (Klottey Korley)

4. Dela Sowah (Kpando)

5. Joycelyn Tetteh (North Dayi)

6. Felicia Adjei (Kintampo South)

7. Sophia Karen Ackuako (MP for Domeabra)

New female entrants

Among the 23 elected are 16 fresh faces who will face candidates from the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) and other parties in the 2020 elections.

The fresh faces are Mavis Ama Frimpong (New Abirem), Ms Amanda Okyere (Suhum), Dorcas Toffey (Jomoro), Theresah Lardy Awuni (Okaikoi North), Agnes Naa Momo Lartey (Krowor), Ebi Bright (Tema Central), Hajia Zuwera Braimah (Salaga South), Millicent Amankwa Yeboah (Sunyani West), Faustina Elikplim Akurugu (Dome-Kwabenya), Rachel Owusuah (Dormaa East), Madam Rita Odoley Sowah (La Dadekotopon), Dzifa Gomashie (Ketu South), Margaret Quarcoo (Hohoe), Betty Mensah (Afram Plains North), Ms Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui (Awutu Senya West) and Ms Emelia Ankomah (Upper Denkyira East).


Among those rejected in the Greater Accra Region was Sena Okiti Duah, a former MP for Ledzokuku whose second attempt was rejected. Hajia Rukaya Alhassan who attempted in Madina but lost to renowned human rights lawyer, Francis-Xavier Sosu.

Irene Edem Mensah lost in the Anyaa Sowutuom while Suzy Afua Adoboe lost to actor John Dumelo in the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency race. Hajia Mariam Dzifa Ibrahim lost to Sedem Afenyo who polled 559 votes to emerge winner. Hajia had 70 votes.

Human Rights lawyer and former Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, Nana Oye Lithur, who slugged it out with Mohammed Ramadan in the Adentan constituency was also disappointed.

She polled 559 votes compared to 730 for Mohammed Adamu Ramadan, who has once contested the seat on behalf of the NDC in the last general elections.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter