You are here: HomeNews2016 12 09Article 493304

General News of Friday, 9 December 2016

Source: GhanaWeb

Some ‘big’ NDC MPs leaving parliament

Some popular Members of Parliament (MPs) of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) will be leaving parliament as they have lost their parliamentary seats to candidates of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP).

The NDC which is currently the majority in parliament won 148 seats in the 2012 general elections.

However, in the just ended 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections some NPP parliamentary candidates managed to wrestle the seats belonging to popular NDC MPs.

Foreign Affairs Minister and incumbent Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West Constituency, Hannah Serwaa Tetteh, lost her seat to George Nenyi Andah of the NPP after she polled 25,664 representing 49 per cents of the total valid votes with her opponent having 28,867 representing 62.72 per cent.

Murtala Muhammed Ibrahim, Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry also lost his Nanton Constituency seat in the Northern Region to NPP’s Mohammed Hardi Tuferu.
At La Dadekotopon Constituency, Nii Amasah Namoale lost to Vincent Sowah Odotei.

It is not different with incumbent MP for Madina Constituency, Alhaji Amadu Sorogho who lost to NPP’s Boniface Abubakar Saddique.

These are names of some of the sitting MPs who will not be part of the next parliament:

1. Awutu Senya West - Hannah Serwaa Tetteh
2. Madina - Amadu Bukari Sorogho
3.Ledzokuku - Benita Sena Okity-duah
4.La Dadekotpon - Nii Amasah Namoale
5.Nanton - Ibrahim Murtala Muhammed
6.Akwatia - Baba Jamal