You are here: HomeNews2016 12 08Article 493065

General News of Thursday, 8 December 2016


Sam George wins Ningo Prampram seat

Sam Nartey George has won the Ningo Prampram seat with 24,156 votes (provisional) beating his main rival of the New Patriotic Party’s Mr Sly Tettey who polled 13,290 (provisional).

Mr George Nartey will be succeeding his former mentor E.T. Mensah who has been the MP for the area since 1996 until he recently lost the ticket to his ex-protégé in the governing National Democratic Congress’ parliamentary primaries.

The race between Mr Nartey George and Mr Mensah was a bitterly fought one fraught with recriminations and violence.

The rift resulted in Mr Mensah refusing to endorse Mr Nartey George sparking controversies that he had aligned himself with the opposition New Patriotic Party to sabotage the party.