You are here: HomeNews2019 08 28Article 776069

General News of Wednesday, 28 August 2019


RTI Coalition names 13-member implementation committee

The RTI bill was laid before Parliament in March this year The RTI bill was laid before Parliament in March this year

The Coalition on the Right to Information, Ghana (RTI Coalition) has announced the formation of a 13-member technical committee known as the Civil Society RTI Implementation Committee.

It began working on Thursday, 8 August 2019, according to a statement issued on 27 August 2019.

The Committee, according to the statement, will collaborate with key stakeholders to get Ghana ready for effective implementation of the RTI Act from January 2020.

“We recognise the roadmap set out by the Ministry of Information for a full rollout of the law next year. This committee will complement the efforts of the ministry and all other stakeholders to ensure that the measures planned for implementation are actually achieved."

“As part of its activities, the committee has developed a strategic plan to guide the RTI Coalition’s support for the effective implementation of the Act,” the statement said.

The underlisted persons from member organisations constitute the RTI Implementation Committee:

Jeremiah Sam (Programmes Director, Penplusbytes) – Chairperson

Gloria Hiadzi (Executive Secretary, Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association) – Vice-Chairperson

Esther Ahulu (Programmes Officer, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative) – Secretary

Sammy Obeng (Executive Director, Parliamentary Network Africa) – Spokesperson

Affail Monney (President, Ghana Journalists Association) – Member

Akoto Ampaw (Lawyer, Akuffo Addo and Co Chambers) – Member

Beauty Emefa Narteh (Executive Secretary, Ghana Anti-Corruption Coalition) – Member

Collins Osei (Executive Director, Save our Environment Foundation) – Member

Elvis Darko (Steering Committee Member, Media Coalition on RTI) – Member

Kojo Asante, Ph.D (Director of Advocacy & Policy Engagement, CDD-Ghana) – Member

Linda Ofori-Kwafo (Executive Director, Ghana Integrity Initiative) – Member

Mina Mensah (Head of Africa Office, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative) – Member

Naa Ayele Sekyere (Snr. Industrial Relation Officer & Parliamentary Liaison, Ghana Trade Union Congress) – Member

Ugonna Ukaigwe (National Coordinator, Ghana CSOs Platform on SDGs) – Member

Join our Newsletter