You are here: HomeNews2017 04 05Article 525876

General News of Wednesday, 5 April 2017


Nkoranza residents revoke curse on EC

The people of Nkoranza yesterday reversed a curse they invoked on the Electoral Commission in 2015 to prevent the electoral body from conducting district level elections in the area.

This, the people claimed was because they have realized that the new government is taking steps to fulfill promises made to them to pay back their investments.

The people took the decision to invoke the curse at the time they thought their investments in some microfinance institutions like DKM Microfinance, God is Love, Little Drops etc which were operating in the area, were going down the drain when Bank of Ghana (BoG) closed them down.

They blamed the BoG and the then NDC government including then governor of Bank of Ghana for sitting down aloof for that to happen to them hence the curse.

Thus when it was time to renew membership of all district assemblies in Ghana, the people of Nkoranza prevented the Electoral Commission from conducting the election in the districts; and invoked more curses.

The people, since then, have not had functioning assemblies. They described their action as having had a heavy toll on them because politically they don’t have functioning assemblies. More so many people died due to the curse and they have also suffered from lack of rainfall.

They said they are now reversing the curse because the promise given to them by then opposition leader, Nana Ado Dankwa Akufo Addo during the 2016 electioneering campaign is now being fulfilled as DKM, God Is Love and others have started paying part of their investments.

As a result, Nana Nyarko Ababio, the one who invoked the curse in 2015 led the youth yesterday to slaughter a ram and a cock to plead with the gods to let sleeping dogs lie. It is also to pave way for the EC to conduct the district level election to allow them choose their assembly members and have functioning assemblies.

The election is therefore slated for 11th April, 2017.