You are here: HomeNews2016 12 08Article 493178

General News of Thursday, 8 December 2016


NPP wins Ati Morkwaah parliamentary seat after 24 years

Former Deputy Minister of Health in the Kufuor administration, Abraham Dwumah Odoom is the Member of Parliament-elect for the Ati Morkwaah Constituency of the Central Region.

It is the first time in 24 years that the New Patriotic Party has won the seat in the constituency.

He won with 21,231 out of the 36,506 total votes cast. The incumbent MP Samuel Ato Amoah of the National Democratic Congress, Ebeneza Appiah of CPP, and Ayuba Abu of the PPP, respectively secured 14,887, 115 and 273. 453 ballots were rejected. He shared the way forward with

“I promise a political and economic inclusion, we are one people whether NDC, CPP or PPP we are Twifo Ati Morkwaa because Odoom believes in the ideals of the almighty God.”

Some of his supporters explained that “the man has tried for long, and needs to be given the opportunity to widen the development he is already doing”.

Mr. Odoom has been contesting the parliamentary election since 2004 on the ticket of the NPP.

Report suggests that within a year, Mr. Odoom has constructed 26 boreholes across the constituency and also constructed two major bridges at Akloman and Adugya to ease transportation of farm produce.

In the presidential, NPP secured 19, 274; NDC 16,393; PPP 442; CPP 69; PNC 49; NDP 28, and IND 27. Total Valid Votes 36,282. Total Rejected Votes 723.

The atmosphere at Praso the district capital is currently joyous following the announcement of the results by EC officials.