You are here: HomeNews2019 02 23Article 725596

General News of Saturday, 23 February 2019


NDC race: Omane Boamah votes for Mahama, disregards ‘mischievous fake ballots’

Former Communications Minister, Dr. Edward Omane Boamah was among seven hundred delegates to cast votes at the New Juaben north constituency this morning in the ongoing flagbearership contest which has since been peaceful.

Speaking to journalists at the polling center, Omane Boamah was confident his former boss, John Mahama will emerge victorious, explaining his victory will rejuvenate the party's base ahead of the 2020 polls.

The former communications minister mentioned, his respect for all aspirants is unquestionable but In view of the situation currently, John Mahama is the best option to help secure power in 2020.

He went on further to note that, Ghanaians need the NDC back into office to restore their hopes which has been dashed by the Akufo-Addo administration and therefore cannot afford to disappoint them.

Reacting to allegations made by Prof. Joshua Alabi, and Alban Bagbin that seals on ballot bags have been broken, Mr Boamah asked the general public to ignore images circulating on social media purported to be ballot papers for the elections.

Touching further on that, he expressed disgust at how mischievous members of society have planned to spread fake news and videos in order to create fear and panic.

"I've seen some fake packs being shown on social media and all. You’ve been here, have you seen any of those things? Sometimes we need to correct some of these things,’’ he asserted

Prof. Joshua Alabi and Second Deputy Speaker of parliament, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin fumed over tempering of ballot boxes.

The two NDC flagbearer hopefuls have alleged that seals on bags containing ballot papers for the party’s presidential primaries tomorrow have been tampered with.

Omane Boamah also expressed delight in the smooth manner in which the police service has so far handled the elections.

About 260,000 delegates are expected to vote in the election in all 275 constituencies across the country.

Seven people in including Goosie Tanoh, Former President Mahama, Professor Joshua Alabi, Mr Alban Sumanu Bagbin, Mr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, Mr Sylvester Mensah and Alhaji Nurudeen Iddrisu are vying for the sole ticket to lead the NDC into the 2020 polls.