You are here: HomeNews2019 08 24Article 775082

General News of Saturday, 24 August 2019

Source: Class FM

NDC race: Dumelo wins, Oye Lithur falls

Actor John Dumelo has won the National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary primaries at the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency with a resounding victory to contest on the ticket of the party in the 2020 parliamentary election.

He award-winning actor turned politician beat his only contender Afua Adoboe with a huge margin.

Mr Dumelo polled 768 votes while Afua Adoboe polled a paltry 99 votes.

Meanwhile, NDC stalwart and former Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection Nana Oye Lithur’s bid to lead the NDC in 2020 parliamentary election at Adentan constituency failed.

Nana Oye Lithur who polled 558 lost to Mr Adamu Ramadan who polled 730 votes. One vote was rejected.