You are here: HomeNews2016 09 29Article 473451

General News of Thursday, 29 September 2016


Konadu submits nomination forms

Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings, Flag bearer of the NDP Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings, Flag bearer of the NDP

The flag bearer of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings, has submitted her presidential nomination forms to the Electoral Commission to enable her contest the 2016 elections.

Also Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur earlier submitted the forms on behalf of President John Dramani Mahama. The governing National Democratic Congress’ main opponent Nana Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party has also submitted his forms.

Other presidential nominees to have submitted their forms are Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP), Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP) and Hassan Ayariga of the All People's Congress (APC).

The Electoral Commission (EC) is, however, not accepting the GHS50,000 filing fee that must be added to the forms to complete the process because the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) has sued the EC in connection with the fee. The EC has taken such action so as not to be in contempt of court.

So far 23 nominees, including seven independent aspirants, have picked forms to run for president. They are to start filing their nominations between today and Friday September 30.

Join our Newsletter