You are here: HomeNews2019 09 29Article 784642

Politics of Sunday, 29 September 2019


Former MCE beats 2 others to win Binduri NPP primary

Former Bawku MCE, Abanga Abdulai Former Bawku MCE, Abanga Abdulai

A former Municipal Chief Executive for Bawku, Abanga Abdulai, has been elected as the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary candidate for the Binduri constituency for the 2020 general elections.

He polled 332 votes against as against Mr. John Atubiga Arabogo, who had only 14 votes and businessman Alex Joseph Avoka Asuma, who secured 68 votes.

A total of 415 delegates comprising 375 polling stations Executives, 5 elders, 5 patrons, 13 electoral coordinators and 17 constituency executives cast their votes in the Saturday primary in the constituency.

In his victory speech, Mr Abdulai called on the losing candidates, sympathizers and supporters of the party to support him to wrestle the constituency seat from the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

He described the election as a family affair, for which reason he considered his two contenders as his family, and consequently urged them to unite and work hard towards an NPP victory in the 2020 general elections.

Mr Abdulai was optimistic that the NPP will win the constituency seat. He urged the rank and file of party in the constituency to campaign for him.

The former MCE under the Kufuor administration urged members of the party to step up their campaign to ensure victory for the party next year.

He thanked the delegates for their support and urged them to unite for victory.

Meanwhile, the two losing candidates ahead of the results declared their readiness to work with whoever emerged winner in the contest.

In a related development, at Garu in the Garu district, Osman Musah secured 176 votes to beat former district chief executive for the area who managed 143 votes.

At Bawku central constituency, Madam Agbanwaa Gabiana Abugri won with 407 votes as against her closest contender Abubakar Awuni who polled 155 votes and Ayuba seidu who also polled 58 votes.

At Pusiga in the Pusiga constituency, Abdul Karim Dubure was elected as the party’s parliamentary candidate.

He garnered 204 votes to beat the current district chief executive for the area, Abdulai Zubeiru hot got 197 votes.

Join our Newsletter