You are here: HomeNews2019 08 27Article 775687

Politics of Tuesday, 27 August 2019


Defeat of some MPs at NDC primaries were predictable – Aseidu Nketia

General Secretary of NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketia General Secretary of NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketia

The General Secretary of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia has described the defeat of some sitting MPs at the party’s just ended parliamentary primaries as predictable, reports.

Though some big names fell and up to nine incumbents would not get the chance to be in parliament in 2021, General Mosquito has described the development as “predictable”.

The party began its parliamentary primaries with 524 aspirants battling it out for spots in 163 constituencies on Saturday, August 24, 2019.

It was the first batch of the primaries which was held on Saturday, but the date for the second batch yet to be announced.

Joseph Yieleh Chireh lost the Wa West slot to Peter Lanchene Tuubo, the former Executive Secretary to the immediate past Inspector General of Police (IGP), Mr David Asante-Apeatu, who resigned from the Police Service to venture into partisan politics.

Other incumbent MPs who lost their bids are; Emmanuel Nii Okai Laryea [Amasaman constituency], Mathias Kwame Ntow [Aowin constituency], Amenga-Etogo [Chiana Paga constituency], Ras Mubarak [Kumbungu constituency], Francis Dakura [Jirapa constituency], Kwesi Asiamah [Buem constituency], Aziz Abdul Muniru [Akan constituency] and Eric Osei-Owusu [Afram Plains South constituency].

Former Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, Nana Oye Lithur also lost her bid to represent Adentan in Parliament.

But the General Secretary has said every avid political watcher would have seen the signs on the walls that these casualties were going to occur.

Former Deputy Minister of Communications, Felix Kwakye Ofosu, Ghallywood star, John Dumelo and Human Rights lawyer, Francis Xavier Sosu are also the new faces who pulled a surprise at the poll, hoping to represent the NDC at the Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese, Ayawaso West-Wuogon and the Madina Constituencies respectively, should they go on to win the ultimate at the 2020 parliamentary elections.

Join our Newsletter