You are here: HomeNews2019 08 27Article 775891

General News of Tuesday, 27 August 2019


Atebubu NDC defies chiefs, elects Sanja Nanja as Parliamentary Candidate

MP for Atebubu-Amantin, Sanja Nanja MP for Atebubu-Amantin, Sanja Nanja

Regardless of the Atebubu Traditional Council’s ban on NDC’s Sanja Nanja that sought to bar him from contesting parliamentary elections in the area, the party’s delegates overwhelmingly endorsed him with 947 votes, as the NDC 2020 parliamentary candidate for the Atebubu-Amantin Constituency in the Bono East Region on Saturday.

The Traditional Council, in April 2016, banned Sanja Nanja, after he insulted the Queenmother of the town, Nana Afia Donyina, on radio, calling her a drunkard, after she accused him of being behind disturbances in the area.

But during the NDC’s parliamentary primaries, the former Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, secured 947 votes as against Peter Boadu Minkah’s 320 votes, ten votes were rejected out of the total 1,267 valid votes cast.

In the Techiman North Constituency, a former Minister for Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts, Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare, was elected unopposed. Others who were elected unopposed were; Pious Opoku (Tano North), Alhaji Collins Dauda (Asutifi North), and Eric Opoku (Asutifi South). The Tano South primaries has been put on hold,

In the Kintampo North Constituency, the attempt by a former Deputy Information Minister, Victoria Lakshimi Hammah to enter Parliament was crushed, after she garnered just 65 votes out of total of 1,290s, with Joseph Kwame Kumah emerging victorious with 532 vote

Join our Newsletter