You are here: HomeNews2020 12 30Article 1143455

General News of Wednesday, 30 December 2020


Aquinas 2000 year group elects national executives, targets NSMQ

The past students are reorganizing to support their alma mater The past students are reorganizing to support their alma mater

A five-member executive board has been elected to lead the national body of the 2000 Year Group of, undoubtedly the best day school in West Africa, St. Thomas Aquinas Senior High School as they reorganize to support their alma mater.

The election was held at a recent meeting at Cantonments where the Catholic boys day school is located with all courses fully represented as well as participation from old boys outside Accra and in diaspora via Zoom.

The 2000 Old Toms (as former students of Aquinas are affectionately called) elected a banker with a wide range of experience in marketing, operational and retail banking, Sylvester Romeo Martey, as President; a medical doctor, philanthropist, and entrepreneur, Dr. Brainerd Anani as Vice President; a chartered insurance professional, Henry Kingsley Owusu Adiefeh as Secretary; IT Operations Specialist Rodney Tetteh as the Organizer; and an Accountant Jerry Mac Mensah as the Deputy Organizer.

They were tasked to steer the affairs of the Year Group and liaise with the mother association (Old Toms) in the coming years including the welfare of members, projects for the school and resource the science department to compete and win laurels for the school in various competitions.

Though not exhaustive, the 2020 Year Group considered the e-library and refurbishment of the school’s physics laboratory as projects that can be executed in giving back to their alma mater. It was realized that the school is in need of a well-resourced standard physics lab.

At the meeting, members resolved to adopt the National Science and Maths Quiz as a special project to improve Aquinas’ chances of winning more trophies and not just putting up a good appearance at the science competition.

As a result, an NSMQ committee was commissioned to bring the group’s vision to fruition. It is chaired by Jerry Mac Mensah with Jerry Eden Ayivor as the Vice. Other members of the committee are: Osei Sarfo, Dr. Aristides Narh Hargoe, Patrick Adjei Adjatey, Jeffrey Nansaalor, Victor Attram, and David Mawuli.

A Welfare Committee was also formed to work on a welfare policy to guide the activities of the 2000 Year Group of Aquinas SHS.