You are here: HomeNews2020 01 26Article 848404

Politics of Sunday, 26 January 2020


Amoako Atta elected as the presiding member for Abuakwa South

Bernard Amoako Atta secured 69.44% in the second round Bernard Amoako Atta secured 69.44% in the second round

In what appeared to be fierce competition in the Abuakwa South Municipal Assembly in the Eastern Region, Bernard Amoako Atta emerged winner after he secured 69.44% in the second round.

He beat his contender Kwasi Awuah to become the new presiding member for the municipality.

The first round of the election gave Bernard Amoako Atta 20 votes while Kwasi Awuah got 16 votes which did not constitute two thirds (2/3) of the total vote cast.

In all, there are 24 elected assembly members, 11 Government appointees and one traditional leader. The member of parliament and MCE add up to 38 to constitute the 2020 assembly.

Out of the 38 members, four (4) are females representing 10.53% while 34 are males representing 89.47%. Two out of the four females were elected while the other two were government appointees.

It is also interesting to note that only 3 members from the previous assembly were re-elected.

The elected presiding member then pledged his allegiance to be with colleagues whenever they need his services. He also added that he would use his expertise to help raise the revenue in the municipal.

Join our Newsletter